Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1

Thomas Nelson So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1

Young New York socialite, Isabella Kirkwood, whose life revolves around an unlimited expense account with Daddy's MasterCard, Broadway just down the street, attends a private school, and has an A -list of friends, has her whole life pulled out from under her!Daddy's found another woman, Mom met some factory worker from Oklahoma on the internet and now they're packing up to move there to join him! To top off the nightmare, he has two bratty sons and she's now supposed to live on a farm. How will she ever survive this nightmare? Is Oklahoma really where God wants her to be?
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Review 1 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Queen of One-Liners!

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
So Not Happening is just fabulous! At first, I didn't quite know what to think about this 16-year-old spoiled brat of a girl who was a New York transplant in Oklahoma. I mean, Bella's a little self-absorbed, a little snobbish, but she's all kinds of snappy--as in the Queen of One-Liners--except when she says a little bit too much on a blog for the whole town of Truman to see. Not that there's a lot of folks in Truman, but there's enough there that her friends scale slides to zero really quick!
So, while she recovers from all that drama (not to mention the drama at home), she makes one friend, then two, and then, she scores a spot on the newspaper staff with the most horrible editor on the planet. (Really, this guy does NOT make a good first impression.) While on her very first assignment for the paper, she overhears a sneaky conversation between a couple of guys, and her radar goes up fast. And wouldn't you know...when she tries to take it to the editor that it could be a great tip for a story, he brushes her off! But patience is key here, and before they know it, they are almost in over their heads with the story of the school year.
I never expected all the twists and turns that took place in this story. First of all, it's down right hilarious in some places. I cannot remember the last time I read a novel and laughed that much! Secondly, there's a little mystery on the side that pops up about halfway through the book that had my jaw on the floor by the time it was solved! Third, there were life lessons galore, and they fit in seamlessly through the whole story. Not only were they for Bella, but for her mom, dad, new stepdad, and stepbrothers. I highly recommend So Not Happening, especially for the older teenage audience. And who am I kidding...this grown-up loved it, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Fabulous!

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to read the first novel in Jenny B. Jones' acclaimed young-adult series, The Charmed Life, after reading two of her adult novels. Although there are teenage elements to the plot, I found the novel very enjoyable and relatable. Bella Kirkwood is a self-centered and somewhat spoiled girl at the beginning of the novel, but she has a good heart which makes her likable. Over the course of the novel, Bella re-evaluates her priorities, while maintaining her wit and humor.
On the surface, So Not Happening looks like a light read. How seriously can one take a book with a cover featuring a designer handbag an a cute pink pig? Yes, the cover is quirky, as well as the plot in some places. Jones balances quirks and humor with infusions of faith, suspense, and drama. Together, these elements create an engaging and steady plot. I highly recommend So Not Happening to both teenagers and adults. Will I read the next two books in The Charmed Life series. Of course...that is so happening!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sunshine
I absolutely loved this series! IT's got everything; HUmOr, ROmAnCE, aCtIOn, MysTeRY and DRAMA! IT really gets you thinking about yourself and who you want to be. it sure did to me.It's hard to find a good teen fiction book, and this really is an answer to prayers. The only downside is a bit of it is too unrealistic. But I can handle that after so many dissapointing books! Good on you Jenny, this is one of my favourites now! Be sure to grab a copy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
J
Wow, don't judge this book by it's cover. When I recieved it I was hesitant because of the pig on the front, but after the first few chapters I knew it was a winner!The book begins with Bella, who seems to have it all: loyal BFF, amazing boyfriend, unlimited money, and a New York home. But then she moves to OK with her mom. Her life is radically changed and all she wants to do is go back to NY.But then, she becomes involved in a mystery including a suicide, car crash, and school suspension. What is going on? Bella ensues to find out. She meets Luke, her newspaper editor. They start things out on the wrong foot, and Bella is convinced that he is her worst nightmare. Too bad that he is amazingly hot and smart. The two work together to solve this mystery, and at times tempers flare.The story begins to build when Bella and Luke are caught in a dead-end trap and the only way to get out is to...well you read the book!When we reach the crisis Bella is in deep trouble and only Luke can save her. Will he? Or is it really Luke that needs the saving?This book was amazing. I really loved how the two of them grow closer and Luke stops being so annoying. This book had me turning the pages as fast as I could and definetly wanting to read the sequel. If you like mystery, a bit of suspense, and a school drama, you will love this book!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2009
Jenny B. Jones characters are people you enjoy spending time with. Even the spoiled little rich girl who learns how to cope with her new life and doesn't die. How many of us are thrown out of our comfort zone? This hilarious book makes me stop and think about serious things. I like that in a book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Jenny B. Jones is the queen of all things funny. So Not Happening has it all. Romance, intrigue, humor, mystery, yummy kisses, hilarious and memorable moments, etc. The author's unusual way of phrasing things is always original and the character's internal dialog is often downright hysterical (like one character's thoughts about the mixture of pills they are forced to take.) I've learned to read Jenny's books in the privacy of my own home to avoid potential embarrassment in public. Yet, the author has her serious moments, too. While dealt with in a light-hearted manner, the issues her characters encounter are not easy. On a stress scale from one to ten Bella ranks about a twenty in this story. When things get bad the author turn it up another notch and increases the pressure. She had me squirming with the suspense element, too. The plot was very strong and the tension kept building. The subtle attraction between Bella and several other characters made me smile, too. I loved the way the author drew her characters together in a romantic sense. That undercover stuff was especially delicious in one particular scene. It's hard not to impart a spoiler here because I want to tell you what I loved so much about that scene, but I'll refrain. Bottom line...I'm hooked on this series and I've only just started it. Not only is this book making my best fiction of 2009 list, it's also presently my favorite Jenny B. Jones story. I didn't think anything could top her other YA series with the psycho grandma, but she did it with this book. I highly recommend anything this author writes because there is always a solid message underlying the story that inspires me. The author knows human behavior and her characterization is flawless. She's the best author in the CBA when it comes to developing likeable, unique, quirky characters who are memorable, and yet very real at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Morrill
So Not Happening possesses every characteristic Ive come to love in Jenny B. Joness booksan effortless flow that keeps me turning pages, a wit that makes me laugh out loud, and wonderful, cringe-worthy catastrophes that make me both wince and chuckle.At the start of So Not Happening, I was so not sure how Id like spending 326 pages with Bella Kirkwood. The girls a snob and needs some serious work. But within the first chapter, Jones had me rooting for her. Watching Bellas transformation from local pariah to local hero was a delight, and Im counting the days until book two releases.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carman Boley
I adore this book! It is a perfect mix of: teen drama, mystery, romance, faith, comedy, and hilarity. I laughed the whole time! Jones is an author who can make you live the story right along with the characters, throw twists and turns that you never see coming, and make you learn a lesson even when you don't realize you are learning anything-besides how long it takes to literally laugh your head off. I hope you read this book, because I'm pretty sure you would love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
As I writer, one of the challenges I face is coming up with original plot ideas. The Bible is clear that there is nothing new under the sun and that certainly goes for plot lines. But sometimes, you come across a predictable premise told in an incredibly fresh and entertaining way. That was So Not Happening.The novel follows the classic city mouse in the country format. Isabella Kirkwood is a spoiled daughter of a plastic surgeon forced to go to live in Truman, Oklahoma with her mother and her new husband and her two step brothers. She has to leave everything she knows and loves (including her access to fashionable clothing) to learn a new way of life, one she doesnt like. But she soon discovers that God may have sent her there for another reason. Bella is the most lovable brat Ive read about in a long time. She is funny, sassy but not so much that you cant connect to her plight. You almost feel sorry for her because she really believes that her New York life is better. And the best thing is that there is a serious plot to the book. Its not completely about Bellas whining (which would have been annoying because she whines a lot). It had a solid mystery going that kept me guessing till the end. The supporting characters were great (Robbie her little step-brother is hilarious) and have some surprises up their sleeves.I think the biggest surprise is that this book is YA, but it doesnt dumb it down. I totally enjoyed it for someone my age (and Im well beyond YA age, trust me.) I got halfway through it and told my 14 year old daughter that she had to read it. Its a great read. Finished it in twenty four hours!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emily
This book is so awesome!! I read Jenny B. Jones' first book series A Katie Parker Production, and thought it was hilarious!! She did not disappoint me in this new series!! It took me awhile to get hooked, and as soon as I was hooked, I couldn't put it down!! The ending is amazing, and Jenny has not lost her touch for adding little funny and quirky things in her books!! Trust me you will not be disappointed!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
Jenny Jones has done it again! So Not Happening is a great story filled with wit, humor and memorable characters. I laughed out loud so many times, but I could also sympathize with Bella through all the ups and downs of her new life in Oklahoma. I will look forward to reading more of Bella's adventures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
allison pittman
...so loved this book! Even though her life is every high school girl's fantasy--from the wardrobe to the car to the boy(s)--Bella is so genuinely real, you not only want to be her, you want to know her. She's funny without being silly, and her flaws don't oome across as contrived, which happens in so many books in this genre. What I love most is that the Bella we meet on the first page is largely the Bella we see on the last page. No super-spiritual transformation, just an honest bout of self-examination. Bella has a lovely, natural relationship with Jesus Christ, presented as something organic to the character. It's a quick-paced engaging story--great mystery, super-fun characters with a multi-layered message. Buy this for your daughters to give them a clean, healthy escape. Then read it for yourself and give a wistful sigh that your teen-age years weren't nearly as enchanting!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
I found myself smiling and laughing out loud as I read about Isabellas adventures in Oklahoma. I jumped into reading this book without knowing anything about it. Let me tell you what a treat I found. It was a great surprise to discover how funny this author can be. Not So Happening, reminded me of Paris Hilton and Nicole Richie trying to live on a farm. Isabella Kirkwood totally reminds me of these two gals (Paris and Nicole in the reality show where they had to do normal chores while living with a regular family on their farm.) It also reminded me of the show Lizzie McGuire and how her cartoon conscience would talk to her and help her make the right choices.Isabella describes her week to a friend, My mother just married a six-foot-five farmer, I have two new brothers preprogrammed to hate me Bella then describes the reaction she had to her new room on the farm,. I stare. Mute. Appalled at the dcor around me. I think 1970 came for a visit, threw up, and never leftBella writes in her blog to her readers,please keep me in your thoughts and prayers I will be living on a farm complete with dirt roads and cows ladies my situation is dire. This town probably has no fashion. No style. No Starbucks, people! War criminals probably see better conditions Yes, Bella is dramatic, but thats the appeal and fun of her character.Bella is thrown into circumstances totally foreign to her and doesnt really know how to react. All she thinks about is how to get back to New York where her father lives and where she has lived all of her life. I love how Jenny has Isabella Kirkwood uncover a mystery and learn about the really important of life. I cant wait to read the next installment of this series. You can read this with your daughter or by yourself. Jenny takes you into Isabellas world quickly. Youll be entertained and learn a few things along the way. Its a great blend!www.psalm516.blogspot.com
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Bella Kirkwoods mother is getting remarried, whether Bella likes it or not. But thats not the worst thing that could happen to this Manhattan girl. Bellas new stepfather lives in Truman, Oklahoma, and, since Bellas dad is going through a selfish phase, she has no choice to move from her fast-paced uptown life to Cow Town, USA.Bella start out okay, but a harsh venting session about small town life on her old Ask Miss Hillard blog gets the wrong kind of attention: the Truman kind. She quickly becomes a social outcast in Truman and must start over if she is going to survive at all. She joins the school paper. While sitting in a dumpster on the lowest assignment ever, she overhears something more rotten than the banana peel stuck to her arm: a real story! This could be Bellas chance to move from social outcast to acceptable human being. She chases the story of a lifetime, despite the fact that her super hotbut extremely bossy and annoyingeditor tells her its too dangerous. But as usual, Bella gets more than she bargained for.Having absolutely loved the Katie Parker books, I was not at all surprised that Jenny B. Jones new series would have me laughing out loud. Jones has a knack for wonderfully sarcastic characters and books you cant put down. Her characters are true to life in the best ways. I highly recommend this new series and am anxiously awaiting Bellas next adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jessica Epps
After reading the Katie Parker Production series, I knew that I would love anything that Jenny B. Jones wrote and I was satisfied again when I recently read her latest book, So Not Happening. This book has the witty, funny humor that seriously made me laugh out loud but it also had a mystery/dramatic twist to it that I really enjoyed. Jenny B. Jones writes humorous fiction novels for young adults that are fun and easy to read! Its great to finally find an author that can write about spiritual journeys in a relevant, modern way! I highly recommend this book to any teenagers or young adults! I cant wait to read the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Lee Miller
So Not Happening totally happens. I spent a day reading and laughing myself silly with my eighteen-year-old looking daggers at me, making me shut up till she could get her mitts on Jones fourth outing. The book was so captivating, I took it with me to friends' and finished reading it over pizza. My rudeness is so the fault of Jenny B. Jones hilarious prose. I refused to give the book up until I went back and reread my favorite partslike the kisswhile my daughter stood by tapping her foot.Lest you think So Not Happening only appeals to women old enough to have eighteen-year-olds, my daughter devoured the book in one dayguffawing all the way. The opinion of two generations at my house is that we so, so adore Bellas romance. The love interest has brains, brawn, and Jesus. What more could a girl want? Seriously. Bella is lands on an Oklahoma cow patty with a new step father in lycra, a loathing step brother and a high school that turns on her in twenty-four hours. She copes through sarcasm that is both laugh-out-loud funny and full of angst. So Not Happenings rapid-fire pace and well-conceived plot knock Jones novel out of the park, making her four for four.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather
If you've ever read Jenny B. Jones books about Katie Parker, you'll love Bella Kirkwood, too! Jenny captures the spirit of a true New York socialite who is forced to move to the cow fields of Oklahoma. From high class to "normal" class, you are captivated by the mis-fortuntes Bella faces. It will make you laugh till your sides hurt and wish that the #2 book in the series was already available. Teen girls and adults alike will love it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for So Not Happening, Charmed Life Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2009
What do you get when you take Paris Hilton, marry her mom to a small town Oklahoma farmer with a secret regarding spandex, one step brother that is a brilliant, 6 year old, wannabe super hero and another step brother who drives a hearse to school. Mix in some mysterious deaths, some friend issues and the downside of blogging and what do you have? You have Bella Kirkwood, Jenny B. Jones' newest heroine and you have a hit!I loved this book! I ate it up and can not wait until the next book comes out. This is listed as a YA book and is wonderful for that, but lest you think it is not for adults, let me settle that issue right now - if you love a little humor mixed in with your mystery, drama and comedy then you will love this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.