Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3

Thomas Nelson So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3

When the Fritz Family Carnival makes its annual appearance in Truman, Bella's keen reporter instincts tell her the bright lights hide more than they reveal. Her suspicions are confirmed when one of the stars is murdered. Though the police make an immediate arrest, Bella doubts this case is quite that simple.

She needs her crime-solving boyfriend, Luke, more than ever. Problem is, his ex-girlfriend has moved back to town, giving Bella some murderous thoughts of her own. Then again, there's no time for a relationship crisis when Bella's doing her best to derail her father's wedding and stay one step ahead of a killer.

Is God sending her a message in all of this madness? With a murderer on the loose and her boyfriend's ex on the prowl, this undercover clown has never had more to juggle--or more to risk.

Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Review 1 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
This review is fromSo Over My Head - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very easy to download...

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rebekah
Location:nicolaus, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book, great price, easy delivery...thank you!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not my fav in the series, but still a good ending.

Date:December 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loaded with snappy dialog and hilarious situations, So Over My Head was a good conclusion to the series. I didn't like Bella as much in this book as I did in the other two, but I was still rooting for her when she uncovered different things that needed to be exposed. That chick was still very stubborn, but always tried to do the right thing, and I had to admire that about her. She also had issues with men that made her afraid to trust. This was well done, and very realistic. I loved how she had developed a pretty strong affection for her new family throughout the series.
Luke was the perfect hero for Bella even though they were not together through the majority of the story. He had her best interests at heart, which was admirable. I loved how Bella still got all weak in the knees whenever he was around. The closer, the better. The author really knows how teens think, and it shows in her writing. She even knows how to make morbid things sound kinda funny, though a few times I found Bella's flippant inner thoughts (about the dead) a bit condescending. That inner dialog didn't bother me much until the third book for some reason. But it wasn't annoying enough to keep me from enjoying the book. Jenny is still my favorite YA author. Always will be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
My teenage daughter LOVES all of the books in the Charmed Life series! In fact, after she read the first one, she said I had to read it too. I enjoyed it also and we argued over who would get to read #3 when it arrived! That's a pretty good book! I highly recommend this book as well as the other two before it. We bought the series and my daughter has loaned them to all her friends...and they love them too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
If only my high school life could have been as exciting as Bella's. No wait, an ex-boyfriend who cheated, a murdered circus star, a new boyfriend stalked by his ex, inability to trust him, a father marrying the wrong woman, and a mother dealing with a new marriage is more than any teenager should have to handle. But handle it Bella does and she does so with humor, sensitivity, stubbornness, and a personality that draws the reader into the story until the last page.Jenny B. Jones has a great way of telling stories for young people that will entertain all ages and teach important messages also. I highly recommend this book and the others in the series also; So Not Happening, and I'm So Sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
In this final book in the Charmed Life series, Bellas life is a little difficult. Being forced to deal with her fathers upcoming marriage to a woman Bella has doubts about, not to mention the soon-to-be-stepmothers evil little sister, is a big enough problem. Add to that her boyfriends ex being back in town, and the fact that she seems just a little too interested in Luke for Bellas comfort. But, Bella is never happier than when she is using her sleuthing skills, so, in addition to all this, she takes it upon herself to find the killer of a murdered carnival worker whose body she was unfortunate enough to be the one to discover.Jenny B. Jones can write a great story. This is definitely one of her best. I loved this book! Jenny writes mysteries from Bellas perspective that will captivate kids of any age, whether 13, 93, or anywhere in between. This book pretty much has it all. Romance to make you sigh. Humor to make you laugh out loud (I know I did). Wit to make you grin and take notes from the master. Suspense to make you read as fast as you possibly can. And in the middle of it all, a subtle yet uplifting message of faith throughout our trials and trust despite our fears. This series is highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Just when we all thought that Bellas life was roses, things start to smell bad. While shes on assignment, covering the circus thats come to town, Bella discovers a dead body. The police make an arrest, but Bella is sure theyve got the wrong guy. Then Bella catches her boyfriend kissing his ex! So she focuses on finding the real killer. Only problem, the real killer might be focusing on her! Sigh. I love me a good Jenny B. Jones book. Yes I do. Heres another wild tale of Miss Bella Kirkwood and her charmed life. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and I may have had to lock the door just in case there were any deranged circus performers in my neck of the woods. All in all, a completely satisfying end to this series. Nothing left to do but make everyone else read these books while we wait for Jenny B. Jones next installment of hysterical teen novels. Hope the wait isnt too long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jane
I have to admit I thought the first two books were better, but I have to hand it jenny b. jones. She knows how to end a series well! I gave it a 4 out 5 stars because I did have a few problems with the book. First of all I think Luke and Bella's relationship was almost borderline. Almost everytime they are alone, it seems they are very closing to making out and a couple of times there is some heavy kissing going around. I think their passions could have been toned down a bit and the story would have still been enjoyable. Also I thought there was almost too much going on. Bella had to deal with a murder mystery, parental problems, her relationship with her father, mystery of her father's finance, and boyfriend problems. Yet, like I said before, the author handled it nicely. She tied up all the loose ends with happily ever afters. One has to love that. Oh and the murder mystery is definitely something to enjoy reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
There is nothing I dislike more than a book series that gets worse with each installment. Like the author ran out of steam after the first book. But that is not the case with the Charmed Life Series by Jenny B. Jones. Each book in the series is better the previous one and the third book of this series, So Over My Head, is a great read.Jones has a way with character development. I greatly appreciate the way she has metered out Bellas personality changes over the series of the books. Bella is a very different person than the first book, but her changes are realistic. She changes in the right areas but stays the same in others. Her quirky outlook on her life in Truman and her sense of style are just as strong as they were in the first book. I like the fact that Bella remain the same in the areas that made me fall in love with this book series in the first place. Trouble finds Bella despite her attempts to avoid it and Jones does a great job of making Bellas penchant for drama believable. Even some of the stranger personalities, like Ruthie are endearing. Ruthies character brings funny and enjoyable new perspective of Bellas crime fighting exploits. And Cherry, the new addition to the cast, provides a good balance between Bella and Ruthie.Great pacing is another one of Jones accomplishments in this book. The book flowed smoothly from scene to scene, quickly sucking you into the plot. And even though this book is considered YA, the mystery angle is solid. Jones accomplished something that I enjoy when I read a good mystery: she had me guessing about the whodunit until the end. And when the protagonist was revealed, it wasnt a complete shock, but it was a believable surprise. Jones did a great job of hiding the clues in plain sight. So Over My Head brings to mind the Nancy Drew books I loved in high school, except with a little more spunk and a lot more fashion. And I renew my position that Ill take Bella Kirkwood over Bella Swann any day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Morrill
I love how everything Jenny B. Jones writes is bursting with personality. Even the dedications in her books are fun to read. It felt like this book had more going on plot-wise than the previous two. Bella was balancing two mysteries, working undercover, dealing with murky family stuff both in Truman and New York, and sorting out her own trust/relationship issues. All these story lines were woven together skillfully. And I thought the "behind the scenes" stuff in this book were really fun. Though I only noticed the asterisks about half the time because of how involved in the story I was. And, obviously, it was funny. But I just expect that when I see "Jenny B. Jones" on the cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
A J Hawke
Newly single, stalked by a killer, and in desperate need of some chic clown shoes--Bella is one skinny mocha frapp away from total meltdown.When the Fritz Family Carnival makes its annual appearance in Truman, Bella's keen reporter instincts tell her the bright lights hide more than they reveal. Her suspicions are confirmed when one of the stars is murdered. Though the police make an immediate arrest, Bella doubts this case is quite that simple.She needs her crime-solving boyfriend, Luke, more than ever. Problem is, his ex-girlfriend has moved back to town, giving Bella some murderous thoughts of her own. Then again, there's no time for a relationship crisis when Bella's doing her best to derail her father's wedding and stay one step ahead of a killer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
At the top of my list is a book that I finished last week and really enjoyed. A kick back, relax, have a few laughs and solve a couple mysteries kind of book. Jenny B. Jones has finished her series with Bella Kirkwood and while I'm sad to see her go, I love the way she has ended the series. Take a look at the titles..."So Not Happening""I'm So Sure" and now..."So Over My Head"Just the titles make me smile. I'm not sure why the 3rd cover was changed from the dog to the girl but even the covers are clever (I liked the dog better). So anyway, the story is great as we encounter Bella and her quirky, crazy family. Her step-dad, the pro wrestler in spandex, her step-brother that drives a hearse, her dad who is getting remarried, the little demon girl that comes with her dad's fiance and of course her boyfriend (ex-boyfriend) Luke and his ex-girlfriend Ashley. And at the same time, the bearded lady is killed at the circus and Bella is convinced she can find the killer - of course it means she has to get a job at the circus as a clown in order to keep tabs on everybody... in the process it looks like someone knows she's snooping - is she in danger now? Catch this one (and the whole series) this summer to find out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
G. Hoffman
Whats better than a circus with clowns, a unicycle ballet (a skill Ive been meaning to take up), and a bearded lady? Aside from a good waxing (for the bearded lady, of course), nothing! Ms. Jenny B. Jones writes yet another knee-slapping, laugh out loud, hysterical book that is a must, must, must read!Our favorite accidental detective, Bella Kirkwood, finds herself in over her head when she stumbles across the dead body of the Fritz Family Carnivals fat (and also bearded) lady. Although another carnival member is arrested, Bella doubts his culpability, and decides to find the real murderer. Even though Bella doubts this mans guilt, there are a few things she doesnt doubt. For one, shes certain Lukes ex-girlfriends is interested in nothing other than stealing Luke back. Bella also knows her dads fiance is up to no good. All she needs now is to prove it!Expect nothing short of crazy schemes, a ride on a Ferris wheel, a creeper, and an undercover operation for Bella to bring a murderer to justice, figure out what to do with Lukes ex, and stop her dads wedding. All in a days work, right? Bellas friends and family are a whole cast of characters, and I love Ruthie (a kooky, crack-up), her stepbrother Budge (who works at the Weiner Palacethat alone is hilarious), her step-dads crazy wrestler friends, and a 13-year-old trapeze artist. If youve read books one and two, book three is a requirement. And if you have yet to pick up a book by Ms. Jones, definitely check this series out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
So Over My Head by Jenny B. Jones is a teen read full of zaniness interspersed with suspense. The quirky characters face both ordinary and unbelievable situations, throwing in plenty of sarcasm and humor. This chick lit offers not only shopping and fashionable New York, but murder and mayhem in Truman, Oklahoma, in addition to romance with some sizzle and silliness.Isabella Kirkwood stars in her third book (Its not necessary to read the others to enjoy this one). This time Bella uses her crime-solving talent to solve the mystery involving the Fritz Family Carnival and Circus. She manages to write for the high school newspaper, with editor boyfriend Luke, and work as a clown by night at the circus. Her nosiness nearly gets her killed. Oh, a dog plays a key role too, so pet lovers will be happy.Add in a plastic surgeon father, who plans to marry a gold-digger, and Bella almost has more than she can handle. Her time is split between Truman, with her mom and stepfamily, and Manhattan, with her dad and his suspicious fiance. The importance of relationships comes throughwith boys, with family, and with friends. Bella is fortunate enough to have a crazy sidekick in Ruthie, who sticks with her through danger and depression.The exaggerations in the book will help readers not to take themselves too seriously. They may laugh, they may cry, they may get mad at the crazy characters, but I doubt anyone can read this novel without reacting. Even though its over the top, as the title implies, it makes you look at life a bit differently than before you plunged into the adventure with Bella.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna La Komy
I love this author, I have read all her books. These books are great for all ages. We have four generations in our family enjoying Jenny Jones. Bella is smart and funny and Luke sounds a bit like my husband. Try to read the books in order as you won't want to miss anything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Georgiana Daniels
The third book in "A Charmed Life" series, So Over My Head packs in a bearded lady, murder, parent troubles, and romance with humor and fun. A satisfying conclusion to the series, but can it be read as a stand alone. However, just for fun read all 3 books because I guarantee you won't regret it! It's perfect for the teen in your life, or for yourself if you love a quirky blend of humor, mystery, and a dash of teen drama.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Lawless
My 12 year old daughter says this was a great mystery/romance and was sooo good.My 17 year old daughter says that it was very good, as Jenny B. Jones' work always is. She would recommend the Katie Parker series over this series, though, because she feels that those books were much more natural--the Charmed Life series started to seem a little forced to her by this book. Then again, she's very much not a diva, and she's secretly afraid of clowns. Overall she still liked the book a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for So Over My Head, Charmed Life Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin Caroll
"In this latest edition of the Charmed Life series, Jenny B Jones pulls out all the punches. Characters full of..well, character and a plot that keeps twisting will keep readers turning the pages"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.