Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1

Thomas Nelson Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1

Fleeing a vengeful stalker and desperate to help her daughter, Betsy, speak again, Allie Siders finds a safe place for them at the Bluebird Ranch, a home for troubled children---and abused horses. Owner Elijah DeAngelo welcomes them, but foreman Rick Bailey is guarded. Can Allie and Rick put aside the past to save all they hold dear? 320 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Review 1 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can always count on a Colleen Coble book to be well written and have a terrific blend of both suspense and romance and this book did not let me down. Her characters and story line were flawless. She brings in God and faith into the story which is always a plus for me.
This series is set in Texas at a ranch that rehabilitates horses, and sometimes people. Allie and Rick were well suited and had the right amount of chemistry. I didn't put this book down until I finished it.
Can't wait to read the rest of this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

every page is interesting

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I have read all of Colleen Cobles mystery and suspense books. That is what I mostly read. However when I received an ereader as a gift and this was a free download, I decided to try it. This book was excellent. No boring descriptive pages. The story line was great and I couldn't put it down. I am loaning my ereader to my mother so she can read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
This review is fromLonestar Sanctuary - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Avid Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loaded this book onto my ereader and really enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
This review is fromLonestar Sanctuary - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
lindybee
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this book because it kept my attention but was not so deep i had to struggle to read and enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
This review is fromLonestar Sanctuary - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
bpsmomt
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book read it in one night! Kept you guessing right up till the end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
This review is fromLonestar Sanctuary - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It is an excellent book.

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Turner
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It keeps you reading from the time you pick it up. Once you do it is hard to stop reading until you finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
This review is fromLonestar Sanctuary - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still reading. Characters are real. Story interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
darlene
Loved the plot! Didn't realize when I started it that it would be so suspenseful. I didn't give it 5 stars cause some of the wording was not easy flowing. I had to reread a few dialogues. Will definitely be reading the next 2 in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
MARY
I don't like to read, but I could not put the book down. I read the book in less than two days. Once you get started you are hooked into the series. This should be on audio!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Glenda
loved the book could not put it down. I would love to read the next book to see what happens to betsy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Constance
While the book was full of suspense and I couldn't put it down, I stumbled through parts of some conversations that didn't flow naturally. Also, some elements of the plot were completely unrealistic which I don't prefer even in fiction. This book had the potential to be better than it was.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather Berrio
Colleen has a wonderful way of drawing the reader into her stories. This book had a little bit of everything - mystery, compassion, suspense, passion and an overwhelming amount of grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
brooklyn
these books are the best. i love the series and i really wish she woult write more books in the lonestar series. i read this book and i couldn't put it down along with the second book in the series "lonestar secrets". theses books are my favorite books and made me want to go out west to live on a ranch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Colleen Coble has captured my heart with her latest hero in Lonestar Sanctuary, the story of a single mother in trouble who seeks out her deceased husbands best friend for help. Allie is running from a killer bent on torturing her, while seeking treatment for her young daughter who hasnt spoken since witnessing her grandparents fatal plane crash. Several intriguing principles come into play beautifully in the story especially with regard to how Rick bears the responsibility of caring for his best friends widow.This Christian romantic suspense novel is an incredible read that you will pick up off the shelf again and again. The rustic Texas small-town setting is a character in itself. The sub-plot of the ranchs existence to help troubled kids is heart-warming, as is Allies search for questions about her past. Colleen Coble brilliantly weaves multiple elements together to create a multi-faceted tale that enchants and entertains.Perhaps I take my entertainment too seriously, but this book has also changed the way I am praying for my husband right now. Ricks struggle with the past and his desire to take good care of Allie and her daughter and be an honorable man has led me to pray that my husband would be like David, a man after Gods own heart. Not perfect, but willing to admit mistakes, deal with them and seek to be a better man, closer to God and those he loves, as a result.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2009
This was my first Colleen Coble book, but after reading it, I want to read more of her work. The novel is an exciting ride from the first page. Allie, Rick, Betsy, and the others are engaging, and so well-developed that they are real to you. Even the minor characters are so real that what happens to some of them literally made me cringe. Colleen also did a great job of sprinkling in humor and some touching, romantic moments. The only place I see holes is in her conflict development. Colleen seems to have piled a lot of problems--Allie's Irlen syndrome, the illegal immigration thing, the custody problem--on top of each other. She also has an annoying habit, at least in this book, of resolving such things in a matter of what is the equivalent of a minute and a half in the book world. Next time, I hope she doesn't try to cover so much ground. But that aside, this book was terrific. Good work, Colleen--I look forward to the next book in the series and whatever else you have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Siman
I really liked the book. It kept me in suspense to find out what happened. She is a very good author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
BRenda R.
This is an excellent mystery. I love the way Ms. Coble builds the suspense even until the end of the book. I am adding her books to "must reads" and "add to my collection". I always like a good Christian mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Engberts
I won't give the details of the story. However, I will say that I was captivated from the beginning. The story was well written, kept my attention throughout, and a good read. I can't wait to get hold of other books written by Colleen Coble.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gjackson
I already love this author before purchasing this book. I have a love for animals and this book is awsome as it is about people and how animal help to make them well. A must read book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lonestar Sanctuary, Lonestar Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Stokdyk
Wow...one of her best works yet. The characters and situations had me in suspense, shock and awe throughout the entire book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>