Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Anathema

Thomas Nelson Anathema

Hannah Swartz is betrothed to Noah Whetstone, but her heart belongs to Reece O'Connor, an Englischer. After the death of her parents, she flees her Amish community with Reece, only to learn that he's not quite the man she believed him to be. After four years of marriage and the loss of her baby, Hannah leaves Reece to reinvent her life. She never gave up on finding her parents' murderer, and when her family members are threatened, she believes Reece will stop at nothing to get back at her for leaving him. He even claims that their daughter is still alive. Will Hannah be able to save her family and herself from the person who has held a grudge against them for decades?
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Anathema
Review 1 for Anathema
This review is fromAnathema - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hannah Swartz is a faithful girl in her Amish community, at least until she meets Reece. One fateful night, her parents are killed and she finds herself letting Reece take her away from the only home she has ever known in Parke County, Indiana. Finding forgiveness for her parents' killer impossible, she believes Reece is her only chance of a happy life.
But four years into her marriage, she leaves Reece in hopes she can do better for herself. Returning years later to her community, she sees a chance at redemption from her anathema. But will decades of hurt come back to destroy the few people left in her family? Or will bigger lies forever shatter any hope of return and acceptance?
While I immensely enjoyed the storyline, I thought the author gave away an important element and key fact too soon into the book. It would have been nice to not have discovered the truth so soon. But the overall plot kept me guessing and wondering what else could possibly go wrong. The Amish community's reactions to the shunned Hannah reminded me too much of my own experiences when I left my own church, and I really sympathized with her plight. There are many rich word pictures and colorful depictions of Amish life, and as a reader I got a true sense of what it could be like to be in that life. I couldn't put the book down and I read it in a day. I would definitely recommend this book and author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Anathema
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exciting

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:Norway
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't usually read mystery. This book I could not stop reading. It was thrilling all the way through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Anathema
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Double Murder, Love Forgiveness and Redemption

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colleen Coble in her new book "Anathema" published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Hannah Schwartz.
From the back cover: When Hannah refuses to forgive a terrible sin she becomes "anathema"-shunned. But the real question is, can she forgive herself?
Visitors come to Parke County, Indiana to enjoy the lush farms, to buy the Amish quilts, and to experience the peaceful ways of the Amish families who live there. But when a double murder rocks this quiet community, the Amish residents resolve to forgive even this unfathomable offense.
Hannah, however, finds forgiveness out of reach-both for the murderer and for herself. She harbors a secret shame: while the crime was committed in her own home, she was out meeting with her forbidden love, her English beau, Reece.
The elders of the community insist that Hannah must forgive her family's killer or be shunned. When Hannah refuses, she runs away with Reece, leaving behind the only life she's ever known.
Years later, Hannah must journey back to the place she no longer calls home. Can she find the forgiveness and belonging she so desperately desires?
A double murder, secrets, unforgiveness and bad choices are all ingredients in this new thriller by Colleen Coble. Hannah has made some really bad decisions and is trying to put all of that behind her. In order to finish her second book she needs to go home again but fears there will be no acceptance for her there. Ms. Coble has given us a story full of mystery, suspense, murder and betrayal. There are also the themes of love, forgiveness and redemption. This is a fast-paced read with surprising twists and turns that will keep you flipping pages to keep up with the story. Ms. Coble has done an outstanding job.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers . I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Anathema
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hannah Swartz is a faithful girl in her Amish community, at least until she meets Reece. One fateful night, her parents are killed and she finds herself letting Reece take her away from the only home she has ever known in Parke County, Indiana. Finding forgiveness for her parents' killer impossible, she believes Reece is her only chance of a happy life.
But four years into her marriage, she leaves Reece in hopes she can do better for herself. Returning years later to her community, she sees a chance at redemption from her anathema. But will decades of hurt come back to destroy the few people left in her family? Or will bigger lies forever shatter any hope of return and acceptance?
While I immensely enjoyed the storyline, I thought the author gave away an important element and key fact too soon into the book. It would have been nice to not have discovered the truth so soon. But the overall plot kept me guessing and wondering what else could possibly go wrong. The Amish community's reactions to the shunned Hannah reminded me too much of my own experiences when I left my own church, and I really sympathized with her plight. There are many rich word pictures and colorful depictions of Amish life, and as a reader I got a true sense of what it could be like to be in that life. I couldn't put the book down and I read it in a day. I would definitely recommend this book and author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Anathema
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was like a yummy bowl of ice cream!

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wife and Mom
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I just finished reading this book and I loved it. It kept me interested and it was so hard to put down. I Told my husband I was sad I finished it because I wanted to keep reading, even when it was done. Like a yummy bowl of ice cream, you want more because it was just so good : )
Interesting characters, great story line and written so I could picture it all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Anathema
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was an interesting read. Mystery, romance, Amish faith... it was all there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Anathema
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy Jackson
This was an excellent read. I don't normally read "mysteries" and had never read a book by Colleen Coble since I rarely read outside the Amish genre. I found this book to be extremely riveting. The depth of the characters drew me in. I hope Colleen tries her hand at writing another "Amish" book and I will not hesitate to read it as she is an extremely talented writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Anathema
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sommer
I just discovered Colleen Coble and this was the first book I have read by her. It was a great book! The story keeps your attention from beginning to ending. I look forward to reading more and more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Anathema
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Coble has the ability to keep you in suspenseto the end. The barn burnings, murders ofher parents and fleeing her abuse husband make Hannah's life a mess. Get ready to try and figure out the killer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Anathema
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela Venable
This book is exciting. It will hold your interest and helps you to learn about the Amish faith. I would recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Anathema
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Johnson
I loved this book. It had enough suspense in it to keep you reading page after page without wanting to stop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Anathema
This review is fromAnathema, Large Print.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill Hawkinson
I am like a young girl waiting for each new Meg or Trixie Belden book series waiting to come out with all of Colleen Coble's books. I own them all and have read them all in the last several months. Whenever I get a free moment, I read her books! This book is so insightful in revealing the Amish way of life. I was inspired spiritually when I read this book. I enjoy the best kept secret of finding out who the "bad guy or girl" was! Colleen is an anointed author. Keep on writing, Colleen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.