Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson House of Wolves

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson House of Wolves

A mysterious book with a dangerous secret. An evil brotherhood out to conquer the world.One man stands between them . . . with his family in the balance. In the twelfth century, Henry the Lion collected the rarest relics in Christendom. And to protect his most precious acquisitions, he encoded the whereabouts in a gorgeous illuminated manuscript called The Gospels of Henry the Lion. The manuscript has been showing up and disappearing ever since. No one knows where the relic has been hidden . . . or its ultimate power. Only one man holds the key to the mystery. He's carrying it in his briefcase at his son's school for show-and-tell, and he thinks it's a fake. But he's about to find out just how real it is.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for House of Wolves
Review 1 for House of Wolves
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gwen
If you are looking for a Christian read this is not it. While the book is both interesting and keeps you wanting to continue, language and content is OK. There is no references to any committment to God in any way although it is religious in content. Why are so many authors now using "ground" to denote floor area. Ex; He fell to the ground (when he is in a house). Am I the only one to notice this?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for House of Wolves
This review is fromHouse of Wolves, August Adams Adventure Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
KarenBrowning
What a rush ... can't wait for the next in the series. Read it on vacation and want to read the next one soon. Hurry please.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for House of Wolves
This review is fromHouse of Wolves, August Adams Adventure Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judith Warner
Again August dives into adventure, mystery, intrigue and action on every page. Great reading I recommend to my friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for House of Wolves
This review is fromHouse of Wolves, August Adams Adventure Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
House of Wolves was amazing. I loved the fact that the author used fact and fables regarding Hitler's obsession with relics to come up with one dynamic tale. Only I wouldn't recommend getting attached to some of the characters as they tended to get picked off by the killers along the way. This novel sort of reminds me of Relentless by Robin Parrish or Germ by Robert Liparulo in that it is fast paced and there is a serious manhunt going on with many casualties and a lot of gruesome stuff done with knives. Oh, and things blowing up, lots of chasing scenes, and shooting guns, etc. Doesn't that just sound like an action packed story? It wasn't too gross for me, though, and I tend to be a wimp.The quality of the author's writing and the plot was very well done. Bronleewe has a unique story telling style. For people who like "National Treasure" and "Indiana Jones" type stories, this is sure to please. I also loved how things turned out in the end for the main characters. For an action/thriller type novel, this ranks toward the top of my list. The twists and turns were believeable and well done. It held my attention and the plot details fascinated me. I don't know how the author kept track of all of that information and how he tied it together, but it seemed flawless. Great story! I can't wait for the next installment!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for House of Wolves
This review is fromHouse of Wolves, August Adams Adventure Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tara Robertson
I thought this was a great adventure book that reminded me of Indiana Jones. I really enjoyed the plot twists and the engaging characters. I love that I didn't know the ending until I had actually read it! I wish I had read the first book in this series but it did not affect my understanding of House of Wolves. I fully intend on reading this whole series by Matt Bronleewe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for House of Wolves
This review is fromHouse of Wolves, August Adams Adventure Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
William Jaco
It is ashame that we have to wait until next year for the next book. I read it in two days and found that I couldn't put it down. I would recommend this series to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for House of Wolves
This review is fromHouse of Wolves, August Adams Adventure Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dona Watson
Reading House of Wolves was an enjoyable experience. Although this is the second in what is to be a five-book series, I had no trouble following the characters and never felt at a disadvantage for not having read Illuminated, the first book. House of Wolves kept me up at night, turning page after page until I finished the book. Matt Bronleewe skillfully combined tidbits of historical fact with intriguing fictional narrative involving believable characters and tied it all up with a satisfying finish.In terms of theme, Matt Bronleewe has deftly woven into a great story characters who struggle with forgiveness, responsibility, and restitution. This world we live in is not always an easy place and we all have to deal with these issues at one time or another. Matt Bronleewe gives us a good picture of the pain experienced by many estranged partners and shows by example one of the paths that may be taken to resolve said differences.I highly recommend House of Wolves for anyone looking to read a thrilling mystery with a solid Christian foundation. I look forward to the next edition in the August Adams Adventure Series by Matt Bronleewe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for House of Wolves
This review is fromHouse of Wolves, August Adams Adventure Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
This August Adams Adventure is a step up from the first one and I cannot wait for more! This is a book that will do well in all markets, Christian or not. Non-stop action all the way through, with just a hint of romance. The adventurous journey that one takes with the Adams family through this book is one of a kind with the excitement levels of Indiana Jones and think International- National Treasure. I really liked this one, I would get into details, but really I do not want to give anything away, so all I can say is just read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for House of Wolves
This review is fromHouse of Wolves, August Adams Adventure Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chadd Rondo
I have been waiting a year, an agonizingly long year, for the follow-up to last summers debut novel from Matt Bronleewe, Illuminated. With its fast-paced, thrill-a-minute, mystery-infused, action-packed plot & a cast of characters who literally seemed to jump off the pages, I was enthralled immediately - thus the long & agonizing wait for Bronleewe to bring us the next installment in this series.Well, House of Wolves is here, & if there was ever a concern that this second novel might not be able to live up to the first, page 1 resoundingly silenced that worry. From the first paragraph of the prologue set in AD 1181 Germany, the recount of Henry the Lions meeting with the Black Vehm, the secret society that will play a pivotal role in this tale, I was hooked.August Adams, the principal character of the series, an unlikely adventurer & unwitting hero, becomes entangled in the schemes of the Black Vehm as they seek to find an ancient prize - one so powerful that Hitler himself searched for it half a century ago with the knowledge that possessing it would shift the worlds balance of power in his favor.Bronleewe shows marked growth as a novelist, proven by his ability to create a truly complex yet enthralling plot while also continuing to develop further the characters that we grew to know & love in Illuminated. There are also new additions to the cast of characters who, through surprising twists & unexpected turns, add to the mystery of just who exactly is on whos side in this wild ride of intrigue.Bronleewe has truly outdone himself here, setting himself up as a master of the literary adventure/mystery thriller. August Adams is the new Indiana Jones... & I cannot wait to delve into whatever treasure-hunting, clandestine-revealing, secrecy-unraveling, clock-beating predicament he finds himself in next summer in, The Deadly Hours. The countdown has begun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for House of Wolves
This review is fromHouse of Wolves, August Adams Adventure Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jake Chism
August Adamss life is somewhat back to normal after his adventures involving the famed Gutenberg Bible. Normal soon flies out the window when a mysterious birthday gift arrives from his estranged father. The gift is a copy of The Gospels of Henry the Lion, a famous rare manuscript that is said to hold dark secrets. When a dangerous assassin from the Black Vehm shows up to take the book, August realizes that his copy is in fact the original. The Black Vehm has been searching for the book for centuries, and more importantly the secrets that are hidden within. Once again, August and his family are the only ones who can stop a secret society hell-bent on world dominance. Matt Bronleewe stormed his way onto the scene last year with his exciting debut, Illuminated. Ive been waiting anxiously for months now to see if his follow up could hold up to the first book. Not only does House of Wolves hold its own, but it far surpasses my lofty expectations. Everything that made Illuminated so enjoyable is on full display here: secret societies, engaging mysteries, relentless action, dangerous locations, and gut wrenching tension. Bronleewe continues to grow as a writer, especially with the complex plotlines and character development that we find here. While this story is chocked full of historical facts, Bronlewees engrossing style makes even the most mundane details exciting. I found myself continually flying through the pages with reckless abandon so I could get my hands on one more piece of the puzzle. The addition of some new characters is welcome and makes the story that much more enjoyable. House of Wolves is an absolute thrill ride and August Adams is quickly becoming one of my favorite characters. At the end we are left with the perfect amount of closure and a delicious taste of what is to come. August Adams is back next summer, and I cannot wait to be blown away again. www.TheChristianManifesto.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.