Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Long Way Home

Thomas Nelson The Long Way Home

Charlie West was an ordinary high school kid who went to bed one night and woke up in the clutches of terrorists and wanted by the police for murder. Now, with both the terrorists and the cops on his trail, Charlie makes his way home to find some answers. Hold up in an abandoned mansion, Charlie is joined by his high school buddies as he tries to find the truth about a murder he can't remember-and recover the love he can't forget.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Long Way Home
Review 1 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable read for the whole family.

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gerald Russell
Location:Ulysses, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second in the Homelanders series keeps your interest and makes you ready for the third. There is usually a let-down about the second in a trilogy because it has to keep up with the pace of the first without letting the "cat out of the bag" in regards to how it all ends. This author was able to keep the action moving and allows the drama to continue without any slowing down as you near the end. The whole family devoured the first two in this series and we are eagerly awaiting the arrival of the third.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
shashank agarwal
The story is about a boy entangled in unprecedented circumstances that lead to have him run for his life not only from the hooligans called the homelanders but the guardian of law as well.Charlie West went to bed one night an ordinary high school student. He woke up a hunted man. Terrorists are trying to kill him. Eager to clear his name, Charlie heads back to the most dangerous spot of all, the hometown where it all happened, and takes up residence in an abandoned house.The police want to arrest him for the stabbing death of his best friend. The plot kept me stick to the novel, it startled me just imagining what it would have like been into that situation and actually have no idea why you are in that ...I must say in one thing that the book had very less content and instead of being a 2oo sumthing book i read completely in just few hours. The next worst thing about it was when the author would go and keep on writing what the boy was thinking , even if you actually skipped these few paragraphs you would ave missed nothing and on the other hand gave very obscure details of other important thing that should have been mentioned with great preference.But if we skip these minute drawbacks the novel is a nice delicacy to lay hands upon. Also made me anxiously wait for the next part of the very interesting novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dotti Head
This was a super book. Read the first book in the series-The last thing I remember. Only thing wrong is the third series doesn't come out until Nov of 2010.Very good books .Ccn hardly wait to see what happens as both books leave you in suspence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nathan
Book two in the homelanders series is absolutely increible! It takes the intensity that built up during the first book, and ramps it up even more. Charlie manages to meet up with old friends to help him try to clear his name, and figure out who really killed his best friend, all while trying to stay away from the terrorists who kidnapped him in the first book. To read my full review, go to my blog at http://divingdeepernow.blogspot.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erika
I read this book together with my 8 year old son, and boy did we enjoy it. This book reads like an episode of some action series, or a great movie. The story line is just so exciting and really makes you not want to stop reading it. We both fell asleep at times wanting not to stop. This is the second book in the Homelander Series, but even though we haven't read the first one, the author does a great job of telling the story that it catches you up really fast. Now there was a little violence in the story line and maybe that is my only complaint, but it really wasn't all that gruesome. It does reference from time to time that the lead person in the story is looking to God to help him get away from the people that are wanting to do him harm, my 8 year old thought that it was "cool" that a super hero trusts God. This book opened up a lot of good conversations in and out of our night time reading. We defintely are going to read the first book and can't wait to read the third book that comes out this November. All in all a great read to enjoy with your older kids together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joy P
The Long Way Home was written for a younger adult audience by Andrew Klavan. This is the second book of the Homelanders series. Charlie West woke up one morning and could not remember a year of his life. He has been convicted of killing his best friend and is running from the police. To make matters worse a group of terrorists are also after him. Charlie has no clue why. As Charlie begins to uncover the things he cannot recollect, he begins to wonder if he truly is good or bad. Through it all he knows deep down that he couldn't have done what he was convicted of, he loves his God too much... but if it wasn't him, who is it? What does the death of his best friend have to do whith a group of terrorists?I have to admit I was rather sceptical as I first got into this book. It read very much for JR High-High School, but it was definately a page turner! I read it in 2 days. It reminded me somewhat of a Christian version of Borne Identity. It kind of leaves you hanging by the end so now I want to read the next book in this series.I did not learn any deep spiritual truths through this book, but I do not believe that is the intention of the book. The story did show that as Charlie kept on going, he knew where his belief lied and that was in God. Nothing else could make him sway.I recieved this book through Thomas Nelson Publishers' blogger book review program, booksneeze.comIf you love to read, try it out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tarran
How do you know if you are good or bad? Who can you trust? These are two questions that ran through Charlies mind as he tries to figure out what is going on. The Long Way Home begins with Charlie looking for answers to Alexs death and quickly changes to him, once more, running for his life. The police and the highlanders still after him even though he still has no memories of what happened. Through this story he meets people who try to help him find out who killed his friend and how to clear his name. But is anyone as they seem? Is Charlie the bad guy like he starts to believe? As he finds some answers, more questions arise and he realizes that the problems are rising quickly also. He has to figure this out without being killed or putting his friends in danger. Honestly, I didnt find the writing style to intriguing and came off to me more of a list at points...but that might be his style and no disrespect. Within the story it gives many examples of great friendship and had many ideas that gets you thinking. If you like mystery with some suspense, I would recommend this. It isnt one of the best books I have read, nor it is definitely not the worst. I enjoyed it once I got used to the writing style and will get the next one. This is something for kids. If you are looking for high suspense or something that isnt predictable and makes your mind wonder all over, I am sorry I wouldnt recommend this. Still, pretty interesting read and it did keep my attention. Thank you Andrew Klavan and no disrespect man, just my opinion and dont take it offensively I do believe God is working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
lauren
The Long Way Home by Andrew Klavan is the second book in the Homelanders series which goes further into the year of Charlie Wests life which is a mystery to him. He finds himself being chased by an organization called the Homelanders and also by the police who are looking to place him back in prison for murder. Throughout the book, Charlie questions if he is good or evil, and if he was actually capable of murder. Through past relationships in his life, he begins to piece together the events of his missing year.I found myself completely enthralled by the quest of Charlie to find out what happened during the past year of his life. The book was a quick read, and was correctly marketed to the juvenile market. I also found the presence of American patriotism a positive in this book. In addition to Charlies faith in his country, he also knows the difference between right and wrong; he is steadfast in his beliefs even when faced with teachers who will question and mock his views. This is a great example for the teenagers who may be reading this book. You do not have to merely agree with those who say things that counter your beliefs, rather you can question them in a respectful way, as Charlie did. I cannot wait for the next book in the series which will be coming out in November of 2010. Even though I received this complimentary book as a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program: BOOKsneeze, I will be purchasing the first and last book in the series since the second book left me eager to read more about Charlie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
The Long Way HomeThe Homelanders, Book 2By Andrew KlavanCharlie West is your average teenager trying to make it through high school, spend time with his friends, and continue his karate training. But in an instant his life changes. Now Charlie is on the run from the police for murder, and even worse, running from terrorists that want to kill him. He has lost his memory and begins to doubt whether he is the good guy anymore. The Long Way Home continues the story from The Last Thing I Remember.I have not read The Last Thing I Remember, but after reading The Long Way Home, I would like to read it. Andrew Klavan keeps the readers attention very well with lots of action, as well as a great plot. Though a bit easy to figure out whodunit, this is a great read for tweens and teens. My church library will be thrilled to have this series available in the juvenile fiction section.http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=1595547134&title=The_Homelanders_#2__:_The_Long_Way_Home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy Leicester
Ive read one other book by Andrew Klavan (his most recent Empire Of Lies) but this book, The Long Way Home is the first book of the series The Homelanders that Ive read. This is book two of a three-part series. The third book is due to be published in November 2010. (It might be good to wait until November and the publication of the third book before you read this oneyou wont have to suffer the agony of waiting for nearly a year before you find out what happens.)There is no table of contents, which works well for this story. Its delivered in Parts (1 .3), with 29 total chapters. The narrative reads exactly like Mr. Klavan talks when he tells a story (see pjtv.com for his 5-part ghost story from Christmas 2009). The timing and intonation are compelling to the point where youll lose sleep if you start to read it at bedtime.The foundation for the story is good vs evil, and the story makes clear, in an unobtrusive way, who and what is good and who and what is evil. There is no foul language in the book, and the relationship between the hero and his girlfriend is handled with delicacy and authenticity.In summary, its a beautifully crafted story, suitable for young adults particularly and any adult who likes a good solid mystery tale. Do be sure to pick up the first book of The Homelanders series, The Last Thing I Remember, and make a note to pick up the third book in the series, The Truth Of The Matter come November.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2010
In book two of The Homelanders Series, Charlie's journey picks up after a month of hiding out and being on the run. All the action of the first book is present in the second. He does give a recap of the first book about three chapters in, as he's running from the terrorists who are trying to kill him. Charlie returns to his hometown where his three best friends are waiting for him. They know without any doubts that he's innocent and they want to help clear his name. I admire that Charlie sticks to his convictions and trust in God to guide him. Without this, the story would be like every other action/adventure book out there. Though Charlie doubts himself, and wavers back and forth thinking, "What if I really did all they say I did?" he never wavers in his faith. And lastly, I loved the way it felt like an action movie! Even when he thinks back to the times when his life was normal and he could actually remember, the writing kept me in suspense! I'm definitely looking forward to the third installment, The Truth of the Matter, coming at the end of this year. This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denise
Book Two does not disappoint! Full of action and suspense, this book will grab you from the first page. Although marketed for teens, I would recommend The Long Way Home for readers of all ages. I cannot wait until Book Three is released in November 2010 so that we can read the rest of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Long Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
This book - and the first - are filled with action, suspense, and a very likable hero, Charlie. The books aren't typical Christian fiction - not much of a Christian message, but they are clean, cursing-free, and have a great plot and story line. Teens and adults that enjoy fast-paced suspense will enjoy this series.There is a lot of mystery in these books - Charlie has no idea what has happened to him in recent months, and has the law chasing him for crimes he doesn't remember committing. One downside, is these books end leaving you wanting more, but that can be a good thing too.The books are hardcover, and definitely worth your time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.