Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3

When Hurricane Katrina strikes New Orleans, forensic entomologist Nick Polchak signs up to help with the recovery effort. He is known as the Bug Man for his knowledge of insects and what they can reveal about the dead. The government's mandate is clear--rescue the living first, recover the dead later...but what about the evidence?
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
Review 1 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathey Conner
The Bug Man series is very well written and really interesting. Very true to life, (eveything doesn't always turn out the way you think it should). I plan to read them all. Loved it!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Hunt
i was very disapointed that there was no Christian influence/reference. the story was good and there was nothing offensive but this was not a Christian novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2009
This was another great Bug Man story.The 1st two were a little faster paced,but this one showed Nick's "human" side of him that I liked.I'm looking forward to book #4 that I'm starting tonight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
MICHELLE WILLS
This was an amazing book. I couldn't put it down and didn't want the book to end. I must confess this was actually the first time I had read anything by Tim Downs, but will definitly not be the last. It was so realistic,esp. since it was hurricane season when I was reading it and Ike had just rained terror on Houston. He just has a way of bringing it all to life and making you feel like you are an observer on the sidelines. I love the characters too. I borrowed the book to a friend and she loved it as well. Trust me, this is an awesome book - esp. if you like CSI - you will love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Mirandona
Another good "Bug Man" story. This one moved a little slower than the others, but turned into a great read the farther you got into the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janet Everett
I thought this was a great read. It brought the tragedies of Katrina to life for me, plus there's the bonus of a who-done-it and "The Bug Man" Nick's relentless need to get to the bottom of things. Very nicely done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lis G
This was not my favorite Bug Man novel but I still loved it, especially seeing Nick tangle with his emotional side. I did think the real setting of Hurricane Katrina was a bit distracting at times but I didn't think it hurt the story overall. I know some may disagree but I don't mind at all that Tim Downs doesn't preach a strong Christian message in his books. I read them because they are great stories that don't have the foul language, sex and gore that most mainstream mystery novels have. That's enough of a blessing for me! That, and I think I have a bit of a crush on Nick Polchek. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
rv rick
i liked: that this fictional story was created around a true event in a real city based on real circumstances. this made the events plausible. a good blend of murder mystery and science. filled with suspense, drama, action, adventure, and humor. very interesting characters ranging from everyday average to highly complex. the transition from chapter to chapter allows the reader to stay plugged in yet catch a breath for the next episode. science fans and detective enthusiasts will lap up the technical lingo and dialogue. entertaining to read. i disliked: although not gory, some of the descriptiveness from the examinations/findings of the corpses/victims painted vivid pictures on the imagination. some inclusion of real-world drug use and consequences. for a christian fiction, no mention of God, providence, encouragement, biblical values, or spiritual matters. not for preteens or your church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Louise Bloom
As I noted in the front of the book when I put it in my church library if you are a CSI fan READ ON, but if not put it down!!!!I have enjoyed all the Bug Man books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
OLGA
I love all the Bug man series Nick is great and he has an awesome sense of humor I love the suspense also Tim Downs is one of my favorite authors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mark
This was a very gripping story, and hard to put down, but whatever happened to Christian fiction? This book has no mention of God in the character's lives. They don't pray, or do anything Christian. The main character curses, but thankfully it just states that he cursed. I like good reading, but I read Christian fiction for more than the lack of curse words and sex scenes. I like to read about God working in the lives of the characters, and have gotten encouragement from books that do so, but books like these are not Christian fiction. It is a clean secular novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beverly Lawrence
As usual I was enthralled from the very beginning of this story. I didn't want to put it down. Nick Polchek is a very interesting character and I highly recommend this story as well as his first two stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheri Guillet
This last book in the bug man series was disappointing. I loved the first two books; they had humor a strong story line and complex characters. "First the Dead," spent too much time describing the setting. Character development was weak and secondary. I did not feel attached to the characters. There was not even a hint of a spiritual message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
gertrude
great book good story line follows along with the other books in the series..theres a lil polchek in all of usstory is up to date and well written hard to put down once you start reading it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for First the Dead, Bug Man Series #3
This review is fromFirst the Dead, A Bug Man Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2008
Tim Downs is back with another Bug Man Novel! I cheered as soon as I heard he was bringing Nick Polchak back as the main character in a novel. If youve read Chop Shop and Shoo Fly Pie, then you know why I was so excited. If you havent, race out and get those books now! Nick Polchak is like Grissom from CSI: Consumed by his job, dedicated to finding the truth, and unable to let go once hes on the trail of a murderer. This time Nick is headed to New Orleans hours ahead of Hurricane Katrina. While everyone else is focused on taking care of the living first, Nick wants to ensure no murders are covered up by the hurricane. Once he finds his first body that clearly wasnt killed in the hurricane, hes off to the races, with all his idiosyncrasies kicking into high gear.With this novel, I anticipated who the bad guys were from about page 100, but that didnt keep me from flying through the novel. I couldnt imagine how Tim would pull it altogether. Even as I began to figure it out, I was drawn in by his tight plotting and great writing style.Tim is one of those authors who pours on the description where it will help the story and backs off where it would only bog things down. His main characters are multi-dimensional and complex. If this is your first novel with Nick, you may wonder whether youre supposed to love or hate him. If its your third, youll love the way Tim adds depth to his development.While published by a Christian publisher, this book (and others by Tim) do not contain a shoe-horned in spiritual plot. Instead, the book is all about the story and its another great one. If you like tight suspense that keeps you guessing, even as you begin to figure out who did it, youll like this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.