Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Saint, Paradise Novel #2

Thomas Nelson Saint, Paradise Novel #2

Carl Strople awakens inside a nightmare. He's been kidnapped and held prisoner for who knows how long, his recall erased. Now with new memories and special training, he's being molded into a killer for an extraordinary mission. And the woman crying beside him is his wife, Kelly. . . . Isn't she?
Average Customer Rating:
4.29 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
Review 1 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An intense, intelligent allegory that pulls you through so many twists and turns, you want to get into the next chapter to see if you've got your facts right! Then you find out...maybe not....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karl
This book is a Ted Dekker fan must read, it's fast paced, and has some very good plot twists. The action is intense, the villain is probably the best ever to be put into a book, the book is just fantastic. You must read this after Showdown! do not just pick this up thinking you won't be confused if you don't read Showdown. There are a ton of things in the book that talk about what happened in Showdown. Saint isn't as intricate as Showdown; Showdown is much more in depth, while Saint is purely adrenaline laced and filled with chases. It's a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
J.D.Miller
I must admit that this particular book doesnt have as much Christian reference as some of Ted Dekkers other books but it did have a plot that suggested the fight of Good against Evil and of how Good always prevails. The people that said they probably wouldnt read another Ted Dekker because this one wasnt up to their standards sadden me so very much, for Ted Dekker writes so many other awesome books that arent as scary as this one. Books like: Thunder of Heaven, Heavens wager, and When Heaven Weeps are very Christian based books while this one is designed to be a thriller and not to mention to be read after Showdown. If your a trill book seeker then I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint - mass market edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Amazing, amazing story, and I'll be the first to say I'm hard to please when it comes to reading. It kept my attention really well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Duncan
Do you struggle with the truth....what have you been told? Ted Dekker delivers another fantastic story that continues on from Showdown. I couldn't put it down, a definite for any fan of TD. A superb story that hints on the truth that each person is used by the supreme God of all to do his bidding. Be mindful of what you know!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint - mass market edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rae
Absolutely incredible book...I stayed up all night just to finish! Well written with a great story line!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint - mass market edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beth Gerster
From the very first chapter this book has you guessing and second guessing. If you ever think you have it figured out you better think again. I felt so connected to the characters of this book I would find my stomach tying into knots in the intense parts. I hated to come to the end of this book.(So will you.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2008
I enjoyed Saint. Now, there have been a lot of negative reviews toward this book, and yes, I can partially understand why. It's not Dekker's deepest novel, but it does explore the theme of having faith in God, and the power that God can work through us when our faith is in Him. Consider this the novel counterpart to the movie 'Shooter,' only with a redemptive Christian theme. I found it to be very engaging, and I was very intrigued by Carl's enigmatic character. Also, Englishman is probably my favorite villain to ever appear in a book. Read this, and try not to let any of the negative reviews sway you from it. Although, I would recommend reading Showdown first, as certain plot points in this book will make more sense if you do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Larry Ray
It is fast paced like many of his books are, however, I don't feel it was up to his usual compentency. While the plot is certainly fascinating, you get the feeling that he was in a hurry to get it written, and the charactors were not properly fleshed out. I intend to give my copy away, as the book just didn't give me that, when finished, "Ahhh, that was good! I'd like to read this again sometime!" feeling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint - mass market edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ayo Ibitayo
This was one of the best books I have ever read by Ted Dekker. The main character is like Jason Bourne, an international assassin, trained harder than anyone else. This book was astounding! It is especially exciting for any die-hard action seekers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy Dedeaux
I teach high school English classes, and my students are required to read. I discovered that my most reluctant readers love Ted Dekker. I brought his books from home; word of mouth spread quickly after the first students read Saint and Showdown. I now have a waiting list to borrow his books. Dekker's books are spellbinding, psychological, edge of your seat, can't put down masterpieces. Thanks for writing something I can feel comfortable about recommending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
annie
i have read many of ted dekkers books and this is one of my favorite. i loved the book so much i couldnt put it down until i was done with it. i would suggest reading showdown before this one though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Curtis
Wow. This has to be the best Dekker book I have read. Great original plot. For those who thought that this lacked a spiritual emphasis, think of it this way, this is not my little pony. I found a clear Christian message in here. Just because its different than Billy in Sunday School Land doesn't mean that it is not Christian. But to each his own I suppose. If you don't like how he writes, then don't read his books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jeremy
I read this book during the 2006 Christmas season and couldn't believe what I had wasted my time on. I felt cheated, even violated. Granted, the beginning of the book was very intriguing, however, it quickly turned sour. First, the author should have made it more clear that Saint was a sequel to Showdown, which I have not read nor ever will, before I bought the book. Like many of the other reviews on this book declare, there were almost no Christian themes in Saint. I mean, c'mon! Johnny and Kelly run off together ,unmarried, in the end of the book. The Christian morals pretty much just get thrown out the window there! Johnny also coolly shoots an unarmed hostage in the head. Dekker makes no effort to show this act as wrong. It's as if Johnny is somehow exempt from God's morals. The author also seriously twists scripture, saying that Sampson went blind because God gave him a special power. (This happens to the main character.) The idea is that in order for God to give someone a gift, the person must pay a large price. The book was very new-age and incorporated things like mind-over-matter and force-like powers, which Dekker pathetically tries to "Christianize". The book as a whole had a dark, nauseous, out-of-control feeling to it, to the point of almost being maniacal. Some of it was so absurd it would be hard to digest even were the book pure fantasy. Hey, I'm 18, but even I can see that Dekker needs to seriously shape up and carefully consider the message he's sending to his readers, Christian and non alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2007
A great read! I recommend reading Showdown first, as some plot points will make more sense if you do. I didn't, and still enjoyed the book, but I would have enjoyed far better if I had read Showdown beforehand. Anyway, this book is highly entertaining, and has an underlying theme of faith. Definitely worth your time. A must-read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
T.E. George
Ok already. Apparently everyone else thinks everything Dekker does is a 5. But, I don't give out many 5's. It's kind of like when they started giving out perfect scores at the Olympics. What do you do when someone does better than perfect? Showdown was magnificent and Saint is nearly that. Dekker does a very good job of creating heroes who aren't always heroic. Saint struggles with identity just like we all do in one way or another. Who is he really? Who can he trust? Why should he care? Will what he is in his heart win over what others have manipulated him to become? All these question are answered at heart-thumping speed. And, like Showdown, don't expect this one to be a leisurely read over the holidays. Read page one and you probably want stop until your finished! Now back to the 5 thing. The Circle Trilogy (Black, Red, White) was a close to perfect as a writer can get. It should become a classic. As far as I am concerned, Dekker set the bar so high with The Circle Trilogy it will be hard to rate anything higher. Now we can all catch our breath and wait for Skin to come out in a few months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Anderson
I was looking forward to reading this book and then I purchased it for a friend as a Christmas gift and even though House by Ted Dekker was one of his favorite books, he couldn't seem to find himself enjoying this one. I was nervous to read it. I had read most of Ted Dekker's other work and thoroughly enjoyed every book and was scared this one just wouldn't be up to par. YOU MUST READ SHOWDOWN FIRST! That was his problem and the reason why he couldn't understand what was happening in this book! No, it doesn't have any overt Christian themes but you can see where it relates to God and has some spiritual significance! I know this book is getting mixed reviews but personally, I enjoyed it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jacob W.
This was an awesome book, fast paced. What I thought was cool is that it was connected to a book that is almost a completely different story. The book did have a Star Wars meets Bourne Identity feel to it but that is what I thought was cool. The ending showdown was a little disappointing but the meat of the story was so good it was almost impossible to get a satisfying ending. Other than that it was one of Dekker's best books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carissa
This is a very good Ted Dekker novel. However, I would recommend reading Showdown before Saint. It makes a lot more sense if you do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Saint, Paradise Novel #2
This review is fromSaint, Paradise Novels Series.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
J Cash
This was the first Ted Dekker book I have read and it will probably be my last. There was hardly anything "Christian" about this fiction book. The first part of the book was alright as a thriller, but the second half was a confusing mess that was never really fully explained (unless maybe it would help to have read his other books).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>