Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition Dark Brown, Thumb Indexed

Thomas Nelson The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition Dark Brown, Thumb Indexed

The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition, is the perfect resource for students of the Bible, Sunday School teachers, and pastors. Blending technical expertise and practical application from leading scholars, it offers comprehensive study tools to take you deeper into God's Word. With a supple genuine leather cover, clearly written articles, and reliable study notes, this Bible is the ultimate gift to celebrate the 400th anniversary of the King James Bible.

Features include:
  • More than 5,700 in-depth study notes
  • Supplementary articles on "How to Study the Bible", introductions to the Old and New Testaments, and more
  • 8 pages of full-color maps
  • Concordance
  • Personality Profiles and Archaeological Notes
  • 10-point, easy-to-read type
  • Words of Jesus in red
  • Presentation page
  • Thumb-indexed
  • Gilded page edges
  • Two ribbon markers
  • Genuine cowhide cover with spine hubs
  • 9.75" x 6.75" x 1.75"
Includes a 24-page full-color historical booklet commemorating the 400th anniversary of the King James Bible.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition Dark Brown, Thumb Indexed
Review 1 for The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition Dark Brown, Thumb Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Saw Dust
Location:Suffolk Va
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want to grow in the Lord the study bible is the one to get.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition Dark Brown, Thumb Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best study Bible out there

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gara Gifford
Location:New Brighton, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a beautiful Bible. As a study Bible, I think it is second to none. The quality of the workmanship is also excellent. It is a tremendous value if ordered through CBD, as I have seen it priced well over $100 at stores.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition Dark Brown, Thumb Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best study bible around

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
christian59
Location:york, ME
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
looking for a great study bible was a task and trying to save money, so i came across CBD, and i taken by the 400th anniversery of the King James Bible, but i decided to get the imperfectly printed one. i was not disappointed, a little light block on the cover did not deter me from the powerful word of the King James Bible, and it was a great investment at a great price, it is a well published bible, the leather feels great, and the timeless and reliable word of God is reliable in the KJV. and the thumb index is a great way to find scripture fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition Dark Brown, Thumb Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Nothing really compares to it."

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Rivera
Location:Millersburg, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
Just received my Black (w/ thumb index) Bible, and it doesn't have 400th Anniversary Edition embossed on the spine. Also, it is NOT the 1611 KJV text. It does have a really has a nice size font and type for easy reading. I really like the leather, quality of inside covers, and the spine hubs (which gives it an old-fashioned look), which I'm hoping makes for a more durable book (as another, more expensive Bible, deemed as top-of-the-line, isn't). I have seen many Bibles that are bound with covers that just look cheap and this is NOT one of them. My only beef, like an earlier review, is a quality issue, just the Presentation (and part of next page) has a little tear at the top and the entire page has wrinkles in it- like it had been handled before. The 2 markers were wrinkled up in the pages, when they are usually stretched the length of the page, wrapped around the bottom of a section of pages, and brought back up, so that they aren't wrinkled. The Bible wasn't shrink-wrapped (don't know that they are), but it appears that someone may have had it and returned it. Neverthless, The notes at the beginning of each Book, center-column Scripture references, and notes at the bottom of the pages, make for a nice informative Bible. There is no Apocrypha between the Testaments (New Testament has words of Christ in red). It does have a section there containing a history of the "Silent Years" called "Between the Testaments," "Harmony of the Gospels," and the end has the "Teachings and Illustrations of Christ," "Parables of Christ," "Miracles of Christ," "Prophecies of the Messiah Fulfilled in Christ," "Monies, Weights and Measures," "Jewish Calendar," "Prayers of the Bible," "Index to Annotations," a 128-page Concordance, and an 8-page map section. This was previously published in 1988 as the "Liberty (University) Annotated Study Bible," so it is not a new edition; just repackaged to take advantage of the 400th Anniversary- which other publishers may be doing also, and although it may seem a tad unscrupulous with this method of promotion- their saving grace, and bottom-line, is that this is a nice Bible. I have 12 other Bibles (as far as leather or bonded-leather editions), and this one is the nicest quality, and probably has more information than most laymen want, so it presents very well, and is a good investment. If you want to give your Pastor or your Bible College student a gift (as far as a general study Bible), this is probably the best because of the quality in relation to the price. However, if you want a more information-intensive Bible, there are 2 other Bibles that would fill the bill: Hebrew-Greek Key Word Study Bible and the Dakes Bible (both available here at ChristianBook.com). This is a Bible you can be proud to own and have sitting on top of your desk; and to leave as a legacy. I haven't really seen anything that compares to its quality. To sum it up- along with being a good study Bible, this is an impressive read-every-day and take-to-church Bible and I highly recommend it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition Dark Brown, Thumb Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is A Veryy Good Bible !!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
dugan
Location:Ky
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a Very good Bible...I was looking for the Liberty KJV Study Bible Printed a Few Years ago. It had A larger Type & also a Bolder type as well making it very easy to read...This Bible Has all the Features the Type is a little lighter. The 400 year AE Information Was included in a seperate Folder.. Not part of the Bible Proper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition Dark Brown, Thumb Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product a very good information that are not

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
DBlessed1
Location:Willingboro, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good product in which a lot of work went into its production. It worth purchasing because the concordance realy help in sermon preparation and it is good for an indept bible study. The inclusion of the history of the KJV really help those who want to know how come KJV edition.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition Dark Brown, Thumb Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Dissapointed

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
ekjust
Location:Beverly Hills, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well, Although the Bible comes with a very nice box & book commemerating the 400 anniversary, the Bible itself has NO commemorative to it. I expected a page or something to say 400 anniversary, nothing. ON top of that, the spine had a scrape on it. I called CBD, and they nicely sent a new one, WELL, that had the same scrape, same spot. I again called CBD, they again nicely sent another one, & it AGAIN had the same scrape..........Dissapointing
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The King James Study Bible, 400th Anniversary Edition Dark Brown, Thumb Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, Best Bible I Have Ever Seen

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matthew
Location:Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recieved my study bible just yesterday its all i hoped it would be, one of the best bibles I have ever seen. It is very informative and answers many questions that someone might ask while reading a regular KJV bible. I did ask if this contained the Apocrypha I was told that it did, but unfortunataly it did not. But it was still well worth the money. mine had an thumb index in it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.