Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2

Thomas Nelson A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2

Having fled their homeland of France because of the persecution by Louis XIV, the Clavell family seeks refuge in Switzerland. However, the king is not about to let the recently widowed Madeleine, his childhood sweetheart, escape that easily. He sends musketeers to kidnap her and her oldest son, Philippe, holding them captive in his opulent palace. King Louis is suspicious that Philippe could be his son, and he's enraged by the growing affection of one of his courtiers for Madeleine. Will Madeleine escape the king with her life or lose everything that she's fought so hard to keep?
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Review 1 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
After being rather disappointed with the debut novel In the Shadow of the Sun King in the Darkness to Light series by Golden Keyes Parson I wasnt in a terrible rush to read the second novel in the trilogy A Prisoner of Versailles. However, I had it on hand, and decided to read my way through the continuing adventures of Madeline Clavell.In many ways, Prisoner offers readers of historical romance more of the same; King Louis XIV is still obsessed with the sassy yet vulnerable (and apparently irresistible) Madeline and will stop at nothing to have her. Its back to Versailles for her as shes torn from her family by force, this time taking her oldest son with her (whom Louis suspects is his own child.)This book is better written than the first, with fewer modernisms interjected into the text (though I did still spot some) and there are even some moments which are genuinely moving emotionally during the first portion of the novel. While there was nothing terribly original here by way of plot, it was still a read that kept me moving through the pages at a fairly good clip as I followed the story line and many adventurous episodes encountered by the Clavells.In any case, I wont be finishing out the trilogy, as I suspect it will be more of the same: a two-dimensional Louis trying to seek out vengeance on the Clavells. Honestly, Ive had enough of that story line, and I dont feel deeply enough for the characters to see them through to the end. Farewell Clavell family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linore Rose Burkard
Prisoner of Versailles is the second book in the "Darkness to Light" Series by Golden Keyes Parsons, from Thomas Nelson Publishers.I was pleasantly surprised with Prisoner. Although I enjoyed the first book (In the Shadow of the Sun King), this book was better. The story was fast-moving, the heroine was more sympathetic, and there were lots of "King Louis" scenes, which to me make up some of this author's best writing. There was more of a romance, which is always enjoyable, and a bit more character-development of the key players. (The author still has room to grow, here, but it's nice to see how she's already improving.)I have to admit that I'd enjoy more authentic-sounding dialogue, and costume description of the ladies, including the hair styles; not in every word or sentence but a bit more to keep me in the time period. But anyone who enjoys a good historical setting with lots of action (derring-do, musketeers, royal courtiers!) will want to read this book. I was happy to return to it whenever I got the chance, and it has a satisfying ending--along with (happily) the promise of another sequel, which I look forward to.Thanks to Thomas Nelson for providing me with a review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2009
The French Hugenots are a piece of history that most people don't know about. During the time of King Louis the XIV, he believed that everyone should be Catholic and the Hugenots were persecuted for their faith. Prisoner of Versilles is the sequel to Shadow of the Sun King and is even more gripping than the first one. Golden Keyes Parsons has created a family that is so real you will feel like you on going on their journey with them. Madeline grew up with the King and they once loved each other, now he wants her back even if its by force. With no regard for her family or home. In book one she travels to Versailles to beg for her family and home in the name of the old days. The King is not convinced and she must flee.Now we follow Madeline as she tries to get her family out of the country and away from the King's reach. She is thwarted and is taken back to Versailles, against her will and with her oldest son. Can she be like Esther and save her family at the cost of herself? Is her son really the heir to the throne?I was completely swept away by this story. The only good thing about this book ending is that I know there will be a third book to come out and I can't wait. Step back into history and walk the pathway of the past as you read this book and fall in love with Madeline's story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
A Prisoner of Versailles by Golden Keyes Parsons is the second book in the Darkness to Light saga about the reign of Louis XIV. Madeleine Clavell and her family thought they had escaped the long arm of the king, until their whereabouts in Geneva are disclosed, and Madeleine and eldest son Philippe are captured and forced to return to Versailles and Louis' control. Pierre Bovee's aid to the Clavell family has also been discovered, placing him in the Bastille and unable to rescue Madeleine. I was thrilled when I first heard about this exciting series that captures the opulent lifestyle of the Sun King along with his persecution of the Hugenots. I am descended from Hugenots (one who served as a bodyguard to Louis' queen and escaped with her help) with the last name of Du Puy, so characters with that name were a bonus for me. Parsons portrays the suffocating voluptuousness of the French court along with its machinations and the need for constant wariness. Madeleine and Pierre's love story is beautifully rendered along with their battle to align their newfound faith with living under the king's thumb. Filled with romance, action, faith, and rich history, this is a terrifically enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terese Kraus
Rich, well-researched historical detail, a compelling plot that keeps you turning the pages, great character development, romance, an inspiring spiritual messagewhat more could you ask for in a historical Christian novel? Golden Keyes Parsons delivers all this and more in her newest release, A PRISONER OF VERSAILLES, which continues to follow the life of Madeleine Clavell and her unique relationship with King Louis XIV of France. Readers were introduced to the saga in N THE SHADOW OF THE SUN KING, and the unpredictable story continues to enchant in this book. Because Parsons is descended from the French Huguenots around whose history the story evolves, the writing is heartfelt and laced with heroes who fled France to avoid religious persecution. This is a strong novel of faith, hope, love and courage under the most difficult of circumstances. Be prepared to be captivated and swept away into the world of 17th century France.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roseanna White, Christian Review of Books
A Prisoner of Versailles is a fabulous continuation of the Darkness to Light saga, and I loved it even more than the first book. I'm a sucker for romance, so I really appreciated that this one had more of a love story. And I hear that the third book will have even more romance, so I'm really looking forward to that!Prisoner was packed with adventure, intrigue, and a faith thread to touch your deepest heart. Most of us have never faced an authority that forbids us to worship as our heart tells us to, but Parsons brings to life the cry of the heart that the Huguenots must have felt. This a rich tapestry of a book, one that will paint a vivid picture of the past and bury itself into your heart. I definitely recommend A Prisoner of Versailles--it will capture you, and you'll be happy to be caught.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruth Axtell Morren
Wonderful story which kept me up till the wee hours reading. Very good faith them interwoven into the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melanie Dickerson
This is book two of the exciting series chronicling a Huguenot family, the Clavells, who are persecuted for their faith by the Catholic King Louis XIV of France. It continues where the last book left off, with Madeleine, a wife and mother who was once the childhood sweetheart of King Louis, forced to flee with her family to Switzerland. Her husband is on the brink of death and the ruthless King of France will stop at nothing to have her back at Versailles.In this book, the life of handsome courtier Pierre Bovee is in danger because of the aid he has given to Madeleine and her family. When Madeleine becomes a prisoner, along with her oldest son, Philippe, it becomes a question of who will rescue whom, especially when a former enemy proves himself a great friend.This is an exciting, fast-paced adventure, with romance and characters of faith and virtue. I enjoyed it very much and am looking forward to the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Like the first book in the series, this book is just nothing short of sweeping and majestic. I really felt like I was in Versailles and could picture the palace and its grounds in my mind's eye. The splendor of everything is described in full detail and it's easy to picture the luxury and excess of royalty vs. the humble surroundings back with Jean and the rest of the family. Madeline's adventures are extremely fascinating as you don't know what's going to happen to her fate or that of her son's. I enjoyed her relationship with Pierre and am looking forward to seeing what happens with the pair. While there is talk about the battle between Catholics and Huguenots, the story is not preachy. Instead faith is scene in a historical context, it is what you are as opposed to how you act.I think, though, my favorite part of the book was the bringing to life of French history. I think the author did an outstanding job at the historical research, from details of the palace to what the prisons were like. I especially thought it was interesting to bring up the Man in the Iron Mask and the possibilities that could have come from this arrangement. The only small flaw I had with the book was that I felt that Madeline seemed to get over what happened to her husband rather fast. I just didn't feel like enough time had passed. Other than this, I really enjoyed this book. The story is extremely well researched and the plot is very fast paced. I found myself glued to the pages and didn't want the story to end. I am eagerly awaiting to read what happens in the next book. Until then, I might have to brush up on my French history after all. VERY Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dina Sleiman
Theres something about the writing of Golden Keyes Parsons that speaks deep to my soul. Her journeys through history never fail to leave me in a cathartic pool of tears. Her new release, Prisoner of Versailles, was certainly no exception. Prisoner of Versailles is the second in the Darkness to Light trilogy, and like its predecessor, In the Shadow of the Sun King, takes place in the majestic court of Louis XIV. I have to admit, I love all things French. I had the pleasure of visiting Versailles last year, and these books sweep me right back to the grandeur and elegance of the palace. In this second installment the beautiful Madeleine and her eldest son, Phillipe, are imprisoned within the glamorous walls of Versailles. Outmaneuvered my the magnificent sun king who wants her for his own, and convinced that God has abandoned her, Madeline feels she has no option but to turn to her own plans and save her family. This story is filled with dashing heroes, intriguing history, and thrilling adventure.The book is also rich in spiritual depth. Perhaps the most important message is that even when we give up on God, He still never gives up on us. I adored the way Gods mercy and grace chased after Madeleine. I look forward to the next novel of the Darkness to Light saga coming next year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Therese Stenzel
Between the compelling premise--a woman pursued by the King of France, the vivid descriptions, and the intriguing plot, I found A Prisoner of Versailles an even better read than the first book in the series, In The Shadow Of A Sun King which is up for Book Of The Year! To me, the back cover copy captured the essence of this book--Will Madeleine escape the king with her life, or will she lose everything that she's fought to keep? This is a must read for every historical reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2009
Prisoner of Versailles is a great read. I couldn't put the book down. I seriously was reading it every chance I could. Golden does a fabulous job of bringing you to the court of Louis XIV and the city of Versailles. You feel as if you are experiencing the exciting court life full of courtiers, double talk, glamour and glitter.Madeleine is finally safe and happy. With Pierre's daring rescue of Francois, she is reunited with her husband and out of France and in the safety of Switzerland. But not for long. King Louis XIV's long arm extends all the way to Geneva and she and her oldest son, Philippe, are kidnapped and brought back to the glitter of court life and the king.King Louis suspects that Philippe is his son. Madeleine must play the game in court life and convince the King that he is not Philippe's father so that he will let them go. Anyone can look at the boy and know that Francois is his father. But Louis isn't interested in the truth about Madeleine's son. He has other ideas and longs to have the same relationship with Madeleine that they had as youths and he'll use everything he can to get that. Including her son.With his new found faith, Pierre knows court life is no longer for him. The appeal is gone. He comes back to make amends with his father and say a few good-byes. Unfortunately, someone has gone to the king and told him that Pierre has betrayed him by reuniting the Clavell family. That went against the kings orders and he is labeled a traitor. Louis XIV has Pierre thrown in prison. Pierre, still in love with Madeleine, fears he will not be able to rescue her this time.Madeleine finds out that Pierre is in prison. She loses her faith in God. She has lost her husband, Pierre is in prison, her little girl is sick, and she and her son are prisoners. It's obvious that God doesn't care, so Madeleine takes things into her own hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Prisoner of Versailles, From Darkness to Light Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Johnson
I HAVE ENJOYED THIS BOOK AND THE PREVIOUS ONE IN THE SERIES. I LOVE FICTION AND ESPECIALLY HISTORICAL FICTION. I GOT A NEW UNDERSTANDING OF THE PERSECUTION OF PROTESTANT CHRISTIANS PREVALENT DURING THIS PERIOD IN FRANCE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.