Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson His Steadfast Love

Thomas Nelson His Steadfast Love

In one of the most heartbreaking times in American history, a Southern preacher's daughter makes a tragic error that pits her against the very people she loves most.

It's the spring of 1861 on the Gulf Coast of Texas. Although Amanda belle never thought she would marry, her attraction to captain Kent Littlefield is undeniable. When Texas secedes from the Union, her brother Daniel marches off to war to fight for the Confederate States and Kent remains with the Union troops.

Her heart is torn between the two men she loves and the two sides of conflict. When she turns to God for help, Amanda expects direction and support but hears nothing. Is God listening to her anymore? Does He not care about the atrocities of war and which side He is on?

Average Customer Rating:
3.68 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
1
23 out of 2592%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for His Steadfast Love
Review 1 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT CIVIL WAR DRAMA!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
HIS STEADFAST LOVE by Golden Keyes Parsons is an interesting and intriguing inspirational historical romance set in 1861 Texas during the Civil war era. How can you chose between love and family?But during the Civil war era that is exactly what Amanda Bell must do.Captain Kent Littlefield aligns with the Union, while her brother,Daniel aligns with the Confederate states,Amanda finds herself in a conflict of the heart. Filled with the atrocities of war,faith,the chaos of war,internal struggles,romance,and love. Fast paced story of love and decision that could cause one to lose their life,the other their heart. A must for anyone who enjoys historical romance,fiction,Civil war era,inspirational stories and love. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details at the author's website,Thomas Nelson, and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Golden Keyes Parsons' latest historical tale set during the Civil War is as much enthralling as it is heartbreaking. From the gruesome battlefields to the spacious plantations, life is sure to never be the same again as brother is pitted against brother and masters against their slaves. The harsh backdrop of war is difficult to read, but necessary to understand the difficulties facing a Northern officer, a Southern lady, and a courtship between them.
Fans of Civil War era fiction may not enjoy this particular story, considering 5 years of history are condensed into one novel. However, the love story is one that fans of historical romance are sure to savor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was a good historical novel...

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
iamjenai
Location:Manila, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
His Steadfast Love is a Christian book about two people in love divided by the Civil War. Amanda Belle and Captain Littlefield romance blooms before the war started. The two met while attending a church service. When the Civil War erupted, Captain Littlefield went back to his duty as a captain from the Union Troop (North). Unexpectedly, Amanda's brother signed up to fight for the South - the Confederates States. As Captain Littlefield has so much respect for Amanda's father, being the town's only pastor, he formally asked Reverend Belle's permission to continue communicating with his daughter but was surprised when he refused saying that he simply cannot allow his daughter to communicate further to someone from the North.
The book is rich in American history, it was interesting to read something about the Civil War. In this book, the war started because the North wanted to free the slaves while the South didn't agree with this. I thought the book was okay for a historical novel though I wasn't sure about the romance part. I just didn't feel Amanda's connection with Captain Littlefield. I guess maybe because the author focused on the war. The slaves jargon also annoyed me in some parts of the book.
Overall, His Steadfast Love is recommended for readers looking for a good historical novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Y'all will love this story.

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The setting for this romance brings the history alive and Ms Parsons gives us a wonderful insight into the lifestyle of pre Civil War Texas, during the war and after the war. The history breathes as our hero and the heroine's brother are in battles and moving around the country during the war. Our heroine experiences many changes to her lifestyle and grows, sometimes tenuously, in her faith and mettle through those changes. The ravages of war and its effects cannot daunt the love our hero, Kent, has for Amanda, even though they are from opposing sides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Historical Fiction!

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imagine if you will, being in Texas just on the Gulf. It's the spring of 1861 and Amanda Bell is the oldest of four sisters and a brother she is helping to raise along with her father, Pastor Ezekiel Bell on their southern plantation. Her mother passed away and left Amanda tasked with raising her siblings until they are old enough to fend for themselves.
However with the rivalry between the North and the South, the stirrings of a Civil War is on the horizon and Amanda's only brother Daniel is willing to go to war to defend the South's position on slavery. What he doesn't seem to understand is even though they treat their slaves well, they are still not free. However Pastor Bell provides his blessing over Daniel as he heads off to war along with his childhood friends and Amanda is helpless to stop him.
When Amanda meets Captain Kent Littlefield during a church service, she finds her heart pulled in a way she hadn't expected. Now that the war has begun, Captain Littlefield has been called to duty fighting for the North, which now puts her at odds with the man she loves from the North, going to war with the brother she loves from the South. Will either of them return home from the war? Or will this war keep her love at a crossroads she can never hope to cross battle lines?
In the latest novel by Golden Keyes Parsons, His Steadfast Love, shows the horrors of what men, fathers, sons and families had to endure when our own country went to war against itself. In the end, lines were drawn and even when the war ended some feelings would never be resolved over what men had witnessed during their time of war. This is a chilling, fictional account of the Civil War that was waged in regards to the issue over men's freedom within our own country and along the way, God and love will prevail.
I received His Steadfast Love compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and was amazed at this fictional account of one of our countries bloodiest battles on our own soil and the amount of lives that were lost in the war. Amanda Bell is a strong woman character I could relate to, who was willing to put aside her feelings of duty to her family and learn to listen to her heart and God's word. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and would recommend this to anyone who loves historical romance!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
CaElRo
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A book that tries to encompass the years of the American Civil War in 287 eBook pages (print copy has 336 pages) is going to be, well, choppy. Even more so for this novel as it starts before war is officially declared. Our novel starts during September 1860 and carries through the start of the war, the entire length of the war (April 1861-April 1865), and continues on after its end.
Amanda and Kent's relationship is rather far-fetched. They meet, hardly talk, exchange a few glances back and forth yet find themselves in love with each other. Their only obstacle at that point was that Amanda was torn because her mother, before she passed, asked her to take care of her younger sisters. Amanda concludes that she cannot marry until her sisters are grown, perhaps married themselves.
Fast forward to March 1861, and Kent arrives at the Belle ranch stating that Texas has seceded from the Union and they are now at war. A bit of historical inaccuracies as Texas seceded in February 1861. Texas joined the Confederation in March of 1861, but war didn't actually start until April of 1861. The reason to Kent's arrival is he's heading north and requests permission to write to Amanda while he's at war. Amanda's father nixes that idea as Kent's a Yankee and Texas is now part of the Confederacy. I found this rather confusing as the entire family was welcoming to Kent prior to this event. While the Civil War era is not an era that I'm most interested in in American History, I do know that hostilities between the North and the South started way before March 1861.
The story brings Kent and Amanda together at various times before the book's ending. We also have Amanda wrestling with the concept of slavery. Her family, of course, owns slaves. I was never fully sure if Ms. Parsons view of the reason for war was to end slavery or if it was to keep the Union together. This gave the novel a wishy washy feel, making me feel like no one had any idea what was really going on. While Amanda was conflicted, I felt that it encompassed the entire story.
There was also a small subplot of Amanda's brother, Daniel, and his intended (also Amanda's best friend), Claire. Their reunion reminded me too much of the movie, The Best Years of Our Lives, and the storyline of Wilma and Homer.
I really think that Ms. Parsons wanted to portray the horrors of war. And I got that from this novel. I really feel that she wanted to write about the destructiveness of war. Mostly how it destroys our fellow man, both physically and mentally. But the storyline was sparse. It was too big to tackle in 336 pages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Civil War buff, maybe biased opinion

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathleen L. Maher
Location:Breesport, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book came free to me in exchange for a review. It had some very nice merits, and a few inspired moments. I will focus on those, but to explain my lower star rating, I had a hard time with its slow pace and somewhat wooden dialogue between hero and heroine. Of course not everyone would feel this way. Other elements of the book kept my interest through to the end.
Highlight: The research that created some of the glimpses into 1860 Texas was a definite highlight. A look at a Civil War prison camp in Tyler, Texas was of particular interest to me, as a student of Elmira's infamous POW camp. I feel it was authentic and well handled, and worked seamlessly into the plot. Also, the details of southern custom, food, dress, and habits really came together with a nice texture, creating a warm and accessible background for a young southern lady during this period of history.
Highlight: The relationship between the heroine Amanda Belle and her slave Washington struck a note of originality and enlightenment. This was the best part of the book for me. Washington was neither stereotyped nor was he a two-dimensional caricature of a black man held under an oppressive system. His inner strength and faith resonated. The heroine's inner conflict revolving around the culture of slavery found a fresh take as she acknowledges Wash's humanity and the unfairness of his lack of prospects, while still ordering him around at her beckon call. I appreciated the author's depiction of the duality of human nature, and felt it was the most honest aspect of her characterization.
Highlight: Although I wasn't captivated with the romance, I did enjoy the overall themes. The author portrays how unforgiveness can cripple a man more than physical infirmity, and how grace and faith can heal an impossible rift in country, in family and in love.
If the reader is new to the American Civil War, this would be a good book to grasp an overview of that time in history. I found the story a good snapshot of life during the conflict, and in many ways Amanda Belle and Kent Littlefield are every southern woman and every northern man caught up in forces beyond them. What makes their story inspiring is the role of prayer in causing all things to work together for their good in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

His Steadfast Love - A Review

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr MaryAnn Diorio
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
His Steadfast Love by Golden Keyes Parsons is a story of God’s faithfulness in the midst of the most serious conflict, confusion, and controversy. Against the background of the Civil War, Amanda Belle, a supporter of the Confederate cause, falls in love with a Union officer. Both she and the man she loves are devout Christians and both are praying for victory for their respective sides. Yet, how can God answer both of their prayers if one of them is not on the side of truth? And where does the truth lie? This central question is resolved by the end of this entertaining and inspiring book. Packed with emotion, this story will captivate you from beginning to end. You will laugh and you will cry as God’s answer to division emerges as unchangeable and constant as ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well-crafted story!!

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Budding Violinist
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Another day, another book. Some days I marvel at the type of books that interest me. But sometimes, I'm not surprised. Golden Keyes Parsons' newest book is definitely one of those.
There's a strange interim period for many Southern states between December 1860 and April 1861. Following the election of Abraham Lincoln, the state of South Carolina seceded from the Union in December. Several states followed suit. Lincoln was officially inaugurated in March, but the war did not officially begin until the firing at Fort Sumter in April 1861. At that point, several key wavering Southern states joined the Confederate cause.
Parsons begins her book during this interim period in Texas. Texas stands as a rather unique state as it had recently acquired statehood & was immediately faced with the question of slavery. Still dealing with the threat of Mexico, Texas was occupied by Federal troops protecting the state from Mexican encroachment. In this context, Amanda as the daughter of the local pastor, meets Captain Kent Littlefield. Though attraction is almost immediate and mutual, Amanda refuses to consider marriage as a possibility because she vowed to her mother that she would look after her younger siblings. As she grapples with this monumental task, Texas secedes in March 1861 and Federal troops are recalled.
Parsons does a remarkable job using the historical context and presenting the reader with the dilemmas of war and of slavery without letting the setting overshadow the storyline. Amanda is lost in love primarily because of a familial vow. Although her family is tested by war, she ultimately has to make her decision based on the advice of close friends and through petition to the God who oversees her and her family.
It's convenient that Federal troops come to Texas once more and now Lieutenant Littlefield crosses her path again. Amanda is faced with the matter of loyalty to the Confederacy or the Union multiple times in this work. But Parsons' genius lies in revealing the complexity of ordinary dilemmas, the tragedy of death, and the confusion of young adulthood that many face no matter where or when.
[I received a free review copy of this work from Thomas Nelson and was not required to give a positive review.]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A must read for Civil War lovers

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Wilder
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amanda Belle is a woman caught between the sides of the Civil War. Her father is a slave owner, her brother fights with Terry's Texas Rangers, and the man she loves is an officer in the Union army.
I'm also a sucker for Civil War stories, and in this book she mentions the oft-forgotten, destined to fail Red River Campaign of April-May, 1864. I love the way she wove Amanda into the reason for the failure of one of the Union Army's more disastrous late campaigns.
I'm a Confederate through and through, just so you know. I thought Golden handled the complexities of the war with grace, humility, and a light touch without ever playing down the wounds inflicted on both sides. Not once does she tell the reader what to think. Nor does she take the easy way out of turning every Southern character into an abolitionist. I hate it when authors do that.
At first I wasn't sure how the title related to a Civil War story. I kept thinking it was odd. After reading the book, no other title would work. It beautifully sets forth the theme of the book, without slapping you upside the head with it.
If you love Civil War novels, this one is a must-read. My only complaint is I wish more of Kent's POV had been included. In a romance, his POV is always my favorite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fair Treatment of a Difficult War

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Margaret Metz
Location:Midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This author did a fantastic job researching the era and allowing the reader to see through the eyes of characters on both sides of the conflict.
There is plenty going on to keep the plot from dragging. Whether you're with the families left behind and struggling to deal with how to survive on less, trying to get supplies past enemy troop lines and waiting to hear from loved ones or your the soldiers dealing with fighting and sometimes dealing with capture, it's not boring.
The characters feel authentic as well. They all seem true to their own roles. Amanda's family is Southern through and through. Her brother, Daniel, can't wait to fight for their way of life. Her father is a man of deep faith and convictions.
Before the war she meets Captain Kent Littlefield. He attends their church and talks about settling in the area. The rumors of war have already started though, and her father forbids the blooming romance. His family also discourages him.
I liked the strength of the two characters individually. I already mentioned how much I appreciated the approach to the story. No one side contained all the heroes or all the villains. The romance didn't feel as strong to me though. Maybe because of their limited time together. Some of the other relationships were much stronger and interesting.
I want to thank Thomas Nelson for providing my copy in exchange for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kianna Rose
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"His Steadfast Love" written by Golden Keyes Parsons is the riveting novel of young Amanda Belle.
Life was simple for Amanda and her family, until war erupted. The Civil War. Father against son and brother against brother was the fate of America at this shameful point in her his
Being raised southern, Amanda's family strictly believes in the south's way of life. Daniel, Amanda's younger brother, enlists in the confederate army to protect his home, rights and views. What pride the Belle's must feel for this brave young man entering into the bloody war that they hope to win! Amanda feels fear. Her mother's last wishes were for Amanda to care for her siblings when she died. How was she going to protect her brother out on the bloody battlefields? What's more, Amanda's heart is torn between her father's wishes and the man she loves. She has fallen in love with the enemy, a handsome Union soldier by the name of Kent Littlefield.
I enjoyed the richly entertaining plot of this book. Through out this read, I learned more on the Civil War period, a stain in our country's cloak of greatness. The author intelligently weaved appropriate romance and history into this book. Several questions, though, were left unanswered. agree that the author lacked to include which side Amanda Belle was really on. During the war, she seemed to sympathize with the slaves and the future that awaited them if they were freed.
I'd recommend this book to all who enjoy a well-written historical fiction novel. My reason for choosing this book, was for the fact that it covered one of my favorite eras and time in history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good book filled with tough decisions about love

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
court
Location:dallas, tx
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
his steadfast love
this is a book of decisions and choices. Amanda falls for a norther man while she lives in the south all if fine until the war breaks out and she still had to keep that promise to her mom to raise her younger siblings. what will amanda will she go against her father wishes what about love? does it really conquer all? fear and promises combined? i loved this book and recommend it.
this book was given to me free of charge by booksneeze.com i am not paid and these are my own opions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Comfortable Read

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amanda Belle is a sophisticated southern woman. She happens to meet Captain Kent and after many meetings in her fathers church, she is secretly attracted to him. After a promise she made to her dying mother, to take care of her siblings, she knows love for anyone is out of the question. Then to everyones horror the glorious America begins war against it's own brothers. The country is divided in two: Confederates against the Union. Amanda's brother enlists in the Confederate army, to keep the sunny south independent. Captain Kent has enlisted in the Union army, to keep America a united nation and fight against the view of slavery. Amanda is torn between her loyalty to her native land and brother, or her heart and Kent.
As the war progresses so does Amanda's love for Kent. She knows her situation is impossible, but nothing is to big for the Lord, right? Kent experiences the many horrors of war. The only thing that keeps him going is the beautiful memories of the woman he loves, Amanda. With the country on two opposite sides and families on opposite sides a marriage between the two is highly unlikely.
With the fear of loosing her brother or the man she loves has Amanda's at a constant fear of the unknown. She still has to care for her young sisters and father, oversee the slaves work, and make supplies for the army. Through this time she begins to question God. She is confused on what side she is on. She believes cruel treatment of slaves is wrong, but she still owns them. What side is God on? When she does not receive any answers, she turns her back on God.
What will become of Amanda. Will her brother and the love of her life return to her? Will she ever be able to give herself to God completely again? Journey with this woman through one of the most uncivil times in history.
I thought this was a very sweet book. It was a nice, quiet read. It definitely did not have a fast pace rhythm but was still interesting. I thought the story was very complex and interesting; two opposing sides tugging at one woman's heart. This book was romantic, adventurous, and sad. After discussing with another reader about this novel we both agreed that the author never clearly said what side Amanda was on. I also would have liked the book to have had a little bit more pages in the end, to completely end the book.
I would recommend this book to all those who enjoys a nice paced book, and people who enjoy the Civil- War period. I would give this book a 4.5 out of five.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting, but I didn't love it

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sasha
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just finished reading His Steadfast Love by Golden Keyes Parsons. The story follows Amanda Irene Belle and Kent Littlefield and how they meet, fall in love, and endure a relationship throughout the Civil War. They are on opposite ends of the war - Kent Littlefield is a major for the Union and Amanda is a southern lady from Texas. The two meet in Texas and fall in love, only to have war come knocking on their door. The two are faced with families who disapprove of their relationship, as well as the war itself. They make it through the war with God providing ways to see each other and correspond. The story follows not only their personal journey, but Amanda's journey to trust God in all situations, even when she feels that God is not there.
I really wanted to love this book, but in the end I think I can only give it three stars. What I did like was the references to God and faith. It wasn't just a clean book, but a Christian book. From a Christian publisher, that scores points with me. That being said, I just never connected to the characters. I actually disliked Amanda. I thought there were some really sad moments in the story, and really I didn't feel that everything came together until the last 2 pages of the book. It is a page turner, I liked the historical aspects, but the story didn't really grab me.
I received a complimentary copy of this book and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I think Golden watched Gone with the Wind...

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our country is pretty divided nowadays, but I just can’t imagine living during the Civil War. What an awful time for our nation.
His Steadfast Love takes you to coastal Texas during the conflict between the North and the South. As the war dawns, Amanda Belle falls in love with a captain of the federal troops. When Texas secedes, Captain Kent Littlefield must return north to fight with the Union soldiers. Amanda’s own brother enlists with his fellow Johnny Rebs.
Amanda’s father forbids any contact with a northerner, so a courtship with her beloved Kent seems doomed. But when her father’s disapproval is no longer an issue, Amanda’s brother’s bitterness threatens to keep the hatred against the north (and Kent) alive.
I am always a bit nervous when reading a new-to-me author, but I really enjoyed this introduction to Golden Keyes Parsons. His Steadfast Love felt like I was watching Vivien Leigh in Gone With the Wind; and although Amanda is nothing like Scarlett O’Hara, many of the struggles, emotions, and even circumstances seemed much the same as I was immersed in the story.
I loved the rich, historical detail, as well as pertinent quotes from leaders and writings of the era that Golden included at the beginning of each chapter.
His Steadfast Love was an easy story to enjoy!
*I received a free review copy from Thomas Nelson. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Historical Read

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
BookNook
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
His Steadfast Love was an enjoyable, light read. The era it was set in- the Civil War -was an interesting one. The love story between Kent and Amanda was very sweet. It was inspiring to see how loyal they were to each other despite many cultural differences; the most prominent difference being their differing views on the Civil War.
The plot of the story moved steadily on to a satisfying conclusion. There were some bumps on the road that I did not see coming:-) The only drawbacks to this book is the conclusion- yes, it was satisfying, but I wish the author would have cleared some questions I still have. For example, what side is Amanda really on? Besides the somewhat loose-ended conclusion, there are no other drawbacks to this book.
Another thing I really enjoyed about this book was the spiritual journey of Amanda. It was heart-wrenching to see her heart grow cold towards God and heart-warming to see her heart begin to warm and finally be re-kindled for God.
This book is a nice summer read (or should I say winter?:-) and I would recommend it to those who enjoy Historical fiction, especially the era of the Civil War.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for His Steadfast Love
This review is fromHis Steadfast Love - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

his steadfast love review

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I received "His Steadfast Love" by Golden Keyes Parsons (an e-book) for free from http://www.booksneeze.com/. This novel takes place in Texas during the Civil War. Amanda Belle is a Southerner with a soldier-aged brother, Daniel and a beau, Kent, who is stationed in Texas but from the North. Shortly after the book starts, the Civil War breaks out, sending Daniel to fight for the South and Kent back North. The story follows the Amanda as she is torn between her loyalties to her country and her budding abolitionist beliefs. She also plays both sides in serving Kent and Daniel's causes.
This is not a real deep book. It sticks with the niceties and doesn't get to involved in any particular issue. It is mostly a romance. Again, not racy or even particularly passionate. It is a nice, tame romance, fit for any age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Only OK

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Texas, 1861. Amanda Irene Belle is in love with a Union Army officer....which presents problems as her family is a group of born-and-bred southerners. Can she and and Captain Kent Littlefield overcome the obstacles to their love and make a life together?
I had never read anything by this author before, so I didn't really know what to expect. I wanted to like this book, but it just didn't grab hold of my emotions in any way. I was rather indifferent to Amanda and Kent. I didn't hate them or anything, but I can't say I really liked them. They were just...there. Also, may I just say, I did NOT approve of the two of them meeting together secretly at night? True, nothing happened, they only "talked"...but I still don't think it was appropriate. Especially after Kent had just promised Amanda's father he wouldn't talk to her again! Just sayin'. Also, Kent's letters rubbed me the wrong way. I don't rightly know why, but they annoyed me.
The book wasn't all bad. Strangely enough, I liked the story between Amanda's brother Daniel and his fiance' Claire better than I liked Amanda and Kent's story.
I received this book for free from Booksneeze.com in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for His Steadfast Love
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Convinced

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I usually enjoy historical novels set during the Civil War. I struggled with this one, though. To me, the forbidden love that was the focus of the plot was unreal. It couldn’t have existed. This made the rest of the story unbelievable as well.
"His Steadfast Love" opens with Amber and Kent meeting for the first time at her father’s church. Kent is a soldier from the North, stationed in Texas just before the war. Amber and Kent see each other at church four or five times, always surrounded by other people. Then Amber’s father invites Kent to Sunday dinner. Accompanied by Amber’s brother, Kent and Amber take a walk on the beach where Kent suddenly tells the brother and sister that he’s opposed to slavery. Amber and Daniel are offended at his disapproval of their way of life, but suddenly Daniel sees a few dolphins and Kent takes the moment to pull Amber into his arms to ask if he can call on her. He had just picked a fight with her and before that they had hardly talked—ever. Amber asks Kent to please wait.
The two don’t see or communicate with each other for six months. Then Kent shows up for an unexpected visit. His purpose: to tell the family that the nation is at war, to declare that he is on the Union side, and to ask if he can keep in touch with Amber. Her dad says absolutely not and sends Kent away.
It seems to me that six months before the Civil War, tensions between the North and South would have been so strong that Amber and Kent would never have been attracted to each other. He probably wouldn’t have even been welcomed into a Southern church. But even if he had been and they had been interested in one another, they didn’t have time or opportunity to develop the deep and committed love that is the basis for the whole story. This made the book very difficult to read.
Thomas Nelson Publishers sent a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>