Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook

Thomas Nelson Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.306 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
10 out of 1471%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Review 1 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT RESOURCE FOR BIBLE STUDY!!!

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
TUEY
Location:BKK, Thailand
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's really a good resource for insightful study of the Bible!!!
Thank you so much for this great book. God bless you richly till it overflows.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes me want to come back.

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
MissRoselady
Location:Twin Falls, ID
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first on-line order for a book from Christianbook.com. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the book I ordered and the reasonable price. I will definitely choose this website in the future when I need something. In fact since this order, I have already ordered a new Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
rpmyers10
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While the book has many maps and charts that would be useful they are to small to comfotably read when attempting to print maps they print out so small they are of little value
i expected to use this resource alot and find it actually to be of very limited vaue certainly not worth the purchase price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Recommended

Date:November 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deaninwaukesha
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nelson’s Complete Book of Bible Maps and Charts is a worthy addition to any one’s library. This is the third edition of this book and it’s made more useful with the addition of downloadable maps and charts.
The book contains at least one chart for every book of the Bible, and many, many maps of the geography that pertains to this book.
I found the book well laid out. The order follows that of the Protestant Scriptures. Each book has a section of Author, Date, and Theme and Literary Structure. There is an “At a Glance” chart, an outline of the book as well as time lines and maps when applicable.
Even though I have a Bible college degree and have been a Christian for 50 years and a missionary for over 35 years, I have found myself referring to the book again and again as I prepare for classes, talks, or my own personal Bible study. The charts break down the material so simply and clearly.
The only glitch I’ve had is downloading the maps and charts. Some of them are not complete.
Regardless, the book is worth the price.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 (PDF file) : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Where are the maps?

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
BatZion
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
When I read my Bible, I want to know where the places are, both geographically and in relation to other locales, so I can see how far someone traveled, etc. There are just not many maps in this book! There are some charts, but this book is mostly textual overviews and history of each book of the Bible. That is alright, but it shouldn't be titled "Maps and Charts". What few maps and charts there are cannot be enlarged to a readable font on my Nook, so for that reason I would not recommend this book in e-format.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

TRIPLE A rating!!!!

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
PrincessInPink
Location:Whitehall, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE maps that help me place the "where" of what the Bible speaks of...and this book is AMAZING at doing that. And because I purchased it as an ebook I can open up a window on my laptop (along with other windows) when I'm doing Bible study and have a wealth of information on my screen (as opposed to dropping books, pages getting blown by the fan, etc.) LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good resource

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Erik
Location:Seoul, Korea
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, this is a very good resource. The only complaints that I have is there is difficulty to print the charts and sometimes navigation is challenging in the reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Graphics and tables too small!!!

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chew Keng Sheng
Location:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am not very happy with the ebook version of this book. The tables and graphics are too small! I am sure the printed version would have great and clear graphics.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
William Choi
Location:Daejeon, South Korea
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this e-book into my i-pad.
Generally speaking, the contents are good enough.
But, to my disappointment I can not read the tables and charts because the letter is fixed small and unclear.
I cannot make the letters in the charts larger.
I can't read them at all. Do I need to buy paper book again? ㅠㅠ
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Maps and Charts

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Micki
Location:Pace, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tool to use when you are trying to understand where and when things are happening in Bible times. The Charts are easy to read as well as the Maps. I would definitely recommend this to anyone in Studying the Word of God!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great tool for Bible Study.

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Johnny
Location:Chandler, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've found this book to be a great tool for clarifying and understanding God's Word. I've also used it as tool for Bible lessons. It's great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
ilovejesus
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this to stay "not lost!" It is fun to know where all these places are they talk about in the bible. Before a place was just a word. Now with this book, a place is a location. In other words, this book is awesome.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Digital Version of Classic

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
David R H
Location:Buffalo, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This updates the printed version of Nelson's Charts and Maps in electronic format. As with past versions, it goes book by book with good internal index.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very well laid out.

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Montana Dew
Location:Rancho Murieta, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very satisfied with this product. However, it is missing one feature which I would like. When I come across a place name in the Bible, I would like to have a alphabetical listing referencing a map showing the location of that place name.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
This is the third edition which includes color photos. The Bible version used in this book is the New King James Version. This book is a wonderful tool to use when studying the Bible. I am a visual learner so I greatly appreciate this book's visual overview of the geograhy, politics, events, people, and themes of the Bible, maps, and charts covering all the books of the Bible in order. There's a variety of charts such as "At A Glance" charts that give a summary of each book, comparison charts, and reference/cross reference charts, etc. I love the layout. Very easy to use and pleasing to the eyes. I especially like the fact that we are permitted to copy the charts and maps in this book for our personal use or for use by study groups. It became such a valuable resource in our homeschool. It helps make the Bible come alive and exciting. It's a book that will be used over and over again. I highly recommend this book.~I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Nelson's Complete Book of Bible Maps and Charts 3rd Edition is a must have for any serious student of the Bible. This book is a fantastic resource that breaks down the Bible by book with maps, pictures, and history of each. It also offers a breakdown of the message of each book with comparison to other books on occasion. I loved the maps of the journeys of the patriarchs and from Exodus and the harmony of the Gospels. The pictures of places now really help make the stories I've read come to life now that I have a physical location to place them in. All the maps and charts are also downloadable online and can be reproduced as well. This book's data really brings the Bible to life. It's a book, just like the Bible, that I will never truly be finished reading because of all of the information included.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ben
I read Nelsons Complete Book of Bible Maps and Charts, Third Edition, and I was very impressed. Not only did it contain a veritable wealth of information, but also full color illustrations and photographs. Thomas Nelson was generous enough to make all charts reproducible for group study and use. The maps were quite accurate, even though I had first expected them to be scholarly maps and charts (partly the reason why I had wished to review the book in the first place). The information alongside the charts was sometimes surprising, but highly informative. The book also gives some help with Apologeticsfor example, did you know the Aramaic in the book of Daniel is early Imperial Aramaic, consistent with a proper 6th century B.C. date? The combination of maps, charts, and almost a handbooks introduction (it isnt quite as detailed), makes for an interesting read, though I think I would have preferred it if Thomas Nelson had created some all-new maps, detailed, scholarly ones, to put into this third edition. I found the book useful, detailed enough for church and study use, but not detailed enough for heavy scholarly use. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Chock full of outlines, charts, pictures, and maps, Nelsons Complete Book of Bible Maps and Charts is a fantastic visual Bible study resource.My favorite part: how the book is organized. The book is divided into Old Testament and New Testament and then each book of the Bible is given its own chapter. Having the book set up in the same order as the Bible makes research super simple. If youre studying Nehemiah, you dont have to flip through pages and pages of maps to find what Jerusalem looked like in his time. Find Nehemiah in the index and then youll have all kinds of Nehemiah information at your fingertips.Author, dates, outlines, timelines, historical background Another great part of Nelsons Complete Book of Bible Maps and Charts: COLOR maps! These maps (as well as all of the other charts and timelines) are reproducible for use in a class or Bible study setting. Also, you can download free .pdf versions of all of the maps and charts at Thomasnelson.com/MapsAndCharts.I am a visual learner, so I really appreciate Nelsons Complete Book of Bible Maps and Charts. Having so much information all in one book is an invaluable resource for any Bible student.***Check out more book reviews on my blog: thecreativesideofsteph DOT blogspot DOT com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jean
Sometimes when I study my Bible, I wish I knew more about biblical history. I wonder about the Bibles authors, and I try to understand specifically where in our modern world certain Bible events happened. So, when I had the opportunity to review The Third Edition of Nelson's Complete Book of Bible Maps & Charts, I jumped at the chance. Im glad that I did, because this excellent reference book has become my most used Bible study guide. The maps and charts exceeded my expectations. They are beautifully illustrated and easy to understand. Best of all, they go beyond the basics. ( the journey of the Ark of the Covenant, the floor plan of Herods temple, etc.)After you buy the book, you can go to the Thomas Nelson web site and download a free copy of the charts and maps for your non-commercial use. What a great idea for bible study groups and Sunday school classes!All of the material is presented in a style that is interesting and easy to read. Along with the helpful visual aids, Nelson's Complete Book of Bible Maps & Charts includes a brief overview of each book of the Bible, its possible author(s), an outline of the book and related dates, and its theme and literary structure. Readers will also find historical articles providing insight into Bible times.This 500-page softcover book is an indispensable resource guide, perfect for Bible study and simple enough to use in a homeschool curriculum. The average retail price of around $14 is a bargain, especially because it includes the free downloads.I highly recommend that you add The Third Edition of Nelson's Complete Book of Bible Maps & Charts to your home library. It is one of those reference books that won't stay on the shelf gathering dust.Thank you to Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze program for providing a free review copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nelson's Complete Book of BIble Maps and Charts, 3rd Edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Syler
Nelsons Complete Book of Bible Maps and Charts is an exhaustive compilation of color charts, maps & other Bible study tools. Thomas Nelson published this edition with photographs & reproducible materials, making studying the Word of God more enlightening for student and teacher. This complete reference book will be a choice resource for church leaders, community group facilitators, and all students of Gods Word! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>