Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story

Zondervan Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story

The inspiring story of an inner-city kid with poor grades and little motivation, who at age thiry-three, became director of pediatric neurosurgery at John Hopkins University Hospital. It reveals a man with humility, decency, compassion, courage, and sensitvity who serves as a role model for youg people {and everyone else} in need of encouragement to attempt the seemingly impossible and to excal in whatever they attempt. Dr. Carlson also describes the key role that is highly intelligent though relatively uneducated mother played in his metamorphosis from an unmotivated ghetto youngster to one of the most respected neurosurgeons in the world.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Review 1 for Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Miraculous Neurosurgeon

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
geewillicker 777
Location:Petaluma, Calif.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Ben Carson, was the first Doctor in the world, to seperate Siamese Twins.
He started as a kid without a father, and with a mother who workd three jobs, to pay the bills.
Ben was having problems in school, and his Mom, who had only a third grade education, and couldn't read, told her two sons, that they had to read a book a week, and write a book report, and then give it to her to read; but they didn't know she couldn't read.
Ben started reading history and archaeology books, and while in school, he was able to answer all the teachers questions; and went from dumb Benny, to the most knowledgeable person in class.
Before Ben performed any operation, he would Pray to God, and have his whole team be all Christians, who also prayed before surgeries.
Dr. Carson soon, at around 35 years old, seperated twins, in Africa, a well as other countries; from his position as Head of Pediatriac Neurosurgery, at John's-Hopkins Medical Clinic.
He is now running for a position in the Us Congress.
He is a Christian and world renowned Authority on Seperating Siamese Twins.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very worthwhile read

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
nel1942
Location:Imler PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just in the past year have I become aware of Ben Carson and have been fascinated with his wisdom and his life history. Even as he gives a first hand account of his many accomplishments, I don't hear pride, but a humility for what God has allowed and enabled him to do in his life. Though he worked hard and studied long, it was his faith in God that brought him to the successful person he is today. I have passed my copy along to my sister.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bloomandgrow
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book should be a must read in every school/homeschool in America. Truly inspirational. Dr. Carson speaks in his book as if he were talking directly to you. His humble personality shines through in every page and keeps you engaged till the end. Easy to read and understand. My 12 now 13 year old loved the book and has been motivated to learn as Mr. Carson learned leaving no stone unturned. Thank you Dr. Carson for being such an incredible role model and sharing your story.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Men of character

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ranpat
Location:Portland, Or
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ben Carson and his brother grow up fatherless (earthly). Their mom is working 2-3 jobs so is also absent much of the time. Their upbringing is very low economic standards. Mrs Carson emphasizes to her sons how they can do better. With God, there is nothing they can't do, no matter the circumstances. Both sons end up hearing Mom's message, accepting God's love and streching to do the absolute best they can.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
dmm060843
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read the book "Gifted Hands", over 15 years ago, and several weeks ago I was so honored to hear Dr. Carson speak. I ordered several books - some to keep and some to give away to other members of the family who had been there. He is a truly gifted Doctor with an awesome attitude about working hard to make your dreams and your calling come true, no matter what your cirmstances have been in your life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An inspiring story about an inspiring man

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christine M. Irvin
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You don’t have to come from a privileged background to be a success in life. Ben Carson is living proof of that. Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story, written by Greg and Deborah Shaw Lewis, is the story of this brilliant and renowned pediatric neurosurgeon who works at John Hopkins Hospital.
Ben was born in Detroit, Michigan in 1951. When he was eight years old, his parents divorced, leaving his mother to care for Ben and his younger brother, Curtis, by herself. Their mother had to work several jobs to make enough money to provide for her small family. Times were tough and the family had to move around several times in order for them to survive.
This meant Ben and his brother had to change schools several times in their young lives. After a move to Boston, Ben and his brother went to a small, private school in Detroit, where they both did well and were ahead of most of their classmates. But, after the family moved back to Detroit, the boys discovered their previous education had been inadequate and they were behind most of the other students in their classes. This led to teasing and tormenting from them, and Ben was called the “class dummy.” He almost let that defeat him.
But, he developed an interest in science, and was fascinated by rocks. He read everything he could get his hands on about the subject. When his science teacher brought in a rock, a piece of obsidian, Ben was the only student in the class who could identify it. Ben, and his teachers, discovered that Ben had a special aptitude for learning, especially when he read about something. He used his love of reading, and his special talent for learning by reading, to eventually excel in his studies, not only in grade school and high school, but also in college. Ben went on to be a neurosurgeon and has become the leader in his field.
In telling Ben’s story, the author touches on the issues divorce and single-parenting, as well as racism that Ben had to deal with growing up. But, Ben was raised by a Christian mother who taught her boys the love of God and the desire to live a good Christian life. The underlying theme throughout the book was Ben’s reliance on God and his belief that God wanted him to be a doctor.
What I Like: Everything. This is a truly inspiring story. Even though it was written for children, I very much enjoyed reading it. In fact, I enjoyed it so much I want to read more about this incredible man.
What I Dislike: Nothing.
Overall Rating: Excellent.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Kauffman
I just finished reading this amazing book and was inspired and blessed as I read about the incredible surgeries this world-famous doctor performed! His faith shines through and God is a very important part of his life. This book is an autobiography which makes it even more interesting! It takes you into his life-from his childhood(which was far from ideal) to being a highly praised neurosurgeon. A must read!! Especially good for teenagers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
KRS
Gifted Hands is an absolutely amaxzing book. A librarian reccomended it to me, and I truly loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2001
Customer Avatar
S. Schulz
God indeed gave Dr. Ben Carson "gifted hands," and today this awe-inspiring man is using this gift to save children'slives and give hope to their desperate parents. Equallyamazing is the miraculous way Dr. Carson's life was changedthrough God's power, a mother's love and encouragement,and his own hard work and selfless attitude. I plan to makethis required reading for my own teenager.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.