Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Green, The Circle Series #0

Thomas Nelson Green, The Circle Series #0

You've experienced life, death, and mystery in Dekker's Black, Red, and White. Now complete the circle with Green! This nail-biting prequel or sequel (depending upon your perspective) will capture your imagination as you step on the battlefield at Migdon and take in Dekker's gripping saga of love, betrayal, and sweeping reversals set during the apocalypse. 400 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (90 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
9
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
5
10 out of 1377%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Green, The Circle Series #0
Review 1 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yvonne
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book was as good as the other 3 books in this series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A excellent book showing good vs. evil

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lonewolf
Location:Marietta Ga
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didnot buy this book from you all. I can't afford to buy them now. I check them out from the library. I only read Green. I am waiting to see when the rest of the series will come to the library. But this is a great book. I could not put it down. Mr. Dekker is a truly a gifted writer and keep you turning page after page not wanting to put it down. Keep on writing and soon I will be able to purchase his book from you instead of going to the library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
WhiteSoxMan
Location:Hudsonville, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book, as all of those in this series, is a great read. Captivating action, great plot, and the theme that transcends all of it. God with us!
This was a gift to a granddaughter; I had already read the book. We were thrilled to be able to give this gift to her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant!!!

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cybilgirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say that Ted Dekker is a mastermind when it came to this book. I was already a Circle fan, and Green just topped it all off for me. I did read, Black, Red and White before Green and I do recommend reading those first. But when I started Green I couldn't put it down, it is a phenomenal book, and Dekker is a brilliant writer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I don't know why people are hating?

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Zach Walters
Location:Saint Peters, MO
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay... so everywhere I looked I was seeing people posting about how this is not christian, too gory, occultist. That is wrong. People spend too much time trying to avoid the facts of this world. Dekker shows the truth of how the world is and puts it to a religious theme. He shows how as a christian that we can't lose our faith and have to keep striving for GOD. This book was full of very christian values. Yes there is gory scenes throughout, but they serve a good purpose and teach us. This is a GREAT book and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone! Very easy to get into and hard to put down. (P.S. I only made an account simply because I couldn't stand people arguing to get rid of this book [especially one woman who managed to get it banned from their school library. You can't shelter kids forever especially your 15 year old son])
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ted Dekker has NOT succumb to graphic violence

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pollo Loco
Location:New Orleans, LA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have seen other reviewers bash this book for graphic violence and inappropriate language - Ted Dekker would not stoop to that level. He has no reason to. In this series, Ted Dekker masterfully tells the story of God's endless and undeserving love. Although, this is my least favorite in the series, it still is a good read. I love the fact that you can begin the series with any of the four book and not to lost. Another entertaining thing he did was somehow intertwine this series with the Showdown series of books! Not so much so to take away from each series, but enough to get you thinking - if that makes sense. :-) All in all it is hard to imagine one not liking Ted Dekker. Just remember - it is a fantasy book and meant to be fun. In no way does he neglect God nor write inappropriately in this book or any of his book for that matter!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to pickup and impossible to put down.

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
DaPrinceOfDaWes
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to read a book for summer reading and luckily this year we could choose any book we wanted. Long story short, I saw an ad advertising the book and decided to give it a try. Im glad I did, it is not only the best Christian-fiction I have ever read... but the BEST BOOK I EVER READ. Its an intense thriller with lots of exciting stuff going on. Just when you think the action is over something big happens. Only complaint is that there was a lot of blood. In one scene 200 dead priests lay scattered on the ground from cutting themselves to give their blood as a sacrifice. So forewarning, there is a bit of gore. But, the violence is not as bad as it is said, in this book many of the characters try to not be violent at all costs. But there are a few who like to suck peoples blood instead. (lol) Im still finishing but its a great book. I hope you found this review helpful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much needed book

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
CFantacy
Location:Lincoln, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a much needed book to tie togeather the color books series with Showdown and Saint. Although the circle concept is not new, Dekker uses this vihicel to tell the Bible in a marriage of Tolkien and CS Lewis.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Interesting to say the least!

Date:May 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book was way out of my comfort zone and there was many parts that I had to skip because of the gory or some rude language that I did not feel to be Christian! The only reason I gave this book a two star was because of the ending when the reader can FINALLY see the triumph of good, but otherwise I was not impressed and don't plan to read anymore books by this author.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another hit from Dekker

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Green is Book Zero, both the final and first book of Ted Dekker’s Circle Series. This novel picks up with Thomas of Hunter and the Circle ten years after the events in the novel White. But now the Circle is breaking. The followers of Elyon have begun to doubt that Elyon will return for them as promised. Some doubt he ever really existed at all. To make matters worse, it is Samuel, Thomas’s own son, leading this turn from Elyon. Thomas must fight to keep the Circle together. Their hope lies in the Lost Books of History and making a way from the future world back to our world.
Ted Dekker, the author, says you can read Green as either the first or last book of the Circle series. I admit, I was doubtful. But I can now see how it works. The story does indeed come full circle. But I must also admit that I was left with a few questions. I am hoping these questions will be answered for me when I re-read the Circle series or the Paradise series. Or when I read the Lost Books series. Yes, they are all connected… in quite an amazing way. Despite the questions I was left with, and what I found to be a slow start as a new character was introduced, I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. As usual, Dekker’s symbolism was beautiful. The mirror to the Christian faith is wonderful. And once the story really gets going, it’s a page-turner. If you love fantasy, this one is definitely for you. If you love symbolism, I strongly suggest this book. Another great novel from Ted Dekker.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
DEKKER FAN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful beginning and ending to the series! Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Mr. Dekker went to far...........

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
PinkOne
Location:Corvallis, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew to expect that a Dekker book was kind of on the weird side. But sorry Dekker went too far on this. It contains way too much unnecessary graphic violence. Our 15 year old and I were reading at the same time. I was a little ahead of him, and I came to the point where I told our son no more. And he did tell me he was caught up in it, but understood why we wanted him to drop it.
Our son attends a Christian school and after I spoke to the librarian about my concerns for this book she said she would take some time to review it. As it turns out there were some others who questioned it. I am happy to say the book has been removed from the shelf of our school. Kids get enough violence just by being here on this earth. Why would we deliberately shove more in their precious minds? Let us not wrap the millstone around our own necks.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Darker Dekker

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca V.
Location:North York, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was first introduced to Dekker through the original Circle trilogy which I must say I enjoyed immensely. I had afterward read a few of his more recent books and was disappointed with the amount of violence and overall "darkness" but despite that I was thrilled to learn Dekker was expanding the trilogy. So I ran out to purchase Green when it was released and began it soon after. I immediately noticed a change in Dekker's writing style (which was welcome) but also a change in the heart of this series. The book was quite graphic. I understand Dekker's love of symbolism with the use of blood but this was a bit much. Though I did enjoy the tie-in of bringing the story full circle, I felt it lacked the redeeming factor of love that the original trilogy had. I feel that with Green, as with his other more recent titles, Dekker is more interested in appealing to his secular demographic (in the name of "outreach") than creating books that glorify God through beautiful expressions of His love for us. And really, isn't that why we loved the Circle trilogy in the first place?
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeremiah
I found this book to be a perfect way to bring the Circle trilogy "full circle" (pun slightly intended). I'm a huge Dekker fan and when I heard this book was coming out it went right onto my CBD wish list. A must read for all Circle lovers!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anna Edwards
I found this book to be a good read but not on par with the first (last) three. It does bring the Thomas Hunter thing full circle. I did identify with the doubts of the Circle and was convicted when reading about Samuel. I was rather disappointed with the ending.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
jelvon doran
I loved the Circle Trilogy so much I assumed I would enjoy Green also. But in truth, not so much. There were parts of the that actually made me feel sick to the stomach. I soldiered on with it but unlike the Trilogy which left me feeling homesick for the characters in the book, when I finished Green I was relieved.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
D. Higgins
A very fast, entertaining read! Dekker paints vivid pictures of love, glory and evil in this book. I have read the Black, Red and White books first, and I feel Green was a good choice to save for last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jim Fields
[Note: Thomas Nelson sent me a free copy of this book for the sole purpose of providing an accurate and unbiased review.]In 2004, Ted Dekker completed an unusual feat when he released Black, Red, and White. The tag line was Three novels. Two Worlds. One story. The Circle Trilogy, as it came to be known as, cemented Dekker as my favorite author. Now, hes pushed the boundaries again. While Black, Red, and White really ought to be read in that order, Dekker wrote Green to function as Book Zero, turning the Circle Trilogy into a real circle.From Thomas Nelsons site: Green brings full meaning to the Circle Series as a whole, reading as both prequel to Black and sequel to White, completing a full circle. This is Book Zero, the Circle Reborn, both the beginning and the end. The preferred starting point for new readers and the perfect climax for the countless fans whove experienced Black, Red, and White.Does he pull it off? How well does Green work as the linchpin for this series? Your answer to that will depend on how much you want things to make sense. I was constantly checking new information against what I remember from reading the Circle Trilogy as well as Showdown and Saint (from the spin-off Paradise series). There are more books (the six-volume Lost Books series and Sinner) that, as I understand it, would really help someone get the full appreciation of the story. Or maybe if Green was your very first foray into this literary universe that would be better, too.I recommend you make it an all-or-nothing experience. In my opinion, it doesnt work well as an in-between type of novel. Otherwise, you know enough for certain details to make sense but not enough to grasp the whole story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Stewart
My son said he enjoyed the book very much since it was a gift for him. Ted Dekker is one of his all time favorite authors.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Green, The Circle Series #0
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
The first books I ever read by Ted Dekker were the "Circle" trilogy, loved them. I started reading more of his books and noticed a disturbing trend which has magnified intensely with "Green".A talented author, Dekker's writing is growing darker, more graphic and more blood driven with every new work he puts out. When I heard someone refer to him as a "Christian version of Stephen King" alarms sounded. Can there be such a thing? Walking away from this book and this author. Something I should have done several books ago. Ephesians 4 is ringing through my mind."I will set before my eyes no vile thing. The deeds of faithless men I hate; they will not cling to me." Psalm 101:3"Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness?" 2 Corinthians 6:14"The night is nearly over; the day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light." Romans 13:12"For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light." Ephesians 5:8"I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness." John 12:46
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.