Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Angel Song

Thomas Nelson Angel Song

Annie's return to Charleston was supposed to be a happy occasion. Instead, she's mourning the death of her sister, Sarah. As she and carpenter Ethan McKinney get the family homestead ready for sale, Keith, her 12-year-old neighbor with Down syndrome, claims he can see angels. Could he be right---or does he have an overactive imagination? 320 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angel Song
Review 1 for Angel Song
This review is fromAngel Song - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

superseded expectations

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
mandyqks
Location:Shropshire, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I admit to hesitancy around purchasing this book. My reasons were that it would be easy for the topic of Angelic assistance to come across as subjective or cheesy even. I should have known better from this classy author. It was a page turner. I felt upbuilt and enlightened by the clever depiction of the struggle HUMANS are caught up in, between Christ's Kingdom and Lucifer' s pseudo kingdom in opposition. I borrowed the author's approach, soon after finishing the book to witness to a loved one with some success! I've always found it difficult to approach the subject of Satan and his fight for our ownership. An absolute top read; entertaining, gripping, suspenseful and faith building. I really came to love and relate to the characters. Wish I could live there! Try it and see for yourself. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding and Forgiving Yourself

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review : Angel Song - Sheila Walsh & Kathryn Cushman - August 2010
For Anne Fletcher it has just been her and her younger sister Sarah for the past seven years after their Grandmother who raised them passed away. Arriving in her hometown of Charleston from New York , Anne was supposed to have the most amazing weekend and break from work as her sister Sarah was graduating- a weekend not to be forgotten . However when tragedy strikes , it becomes not only a weekend that won't ever be forgotten but also the weekend that became the start of a change in Anne's life. Coming back from their night out, they had a car crash and Sarah passed away. Now Anne must learn to live without her sister, her last living relative and family. However Anne, is finding it difficult and believes she is turning nuts as she keeps hearing the same song over and over again. Is Anne hallucinating or is the sound something related more to another H-word "heaven". Sarah's neighbours and friends Tammy and her son Keith and brother Ethan have been a rock for Anne during this time. Keith , a 12yr old with Down Syndrome's is convinced that what Anne is hearing is in fact the voice of Angels.
As the story progresses we see Anne caught in between two worlds and two guys. Her previous life in New York as a designer and the guy- a big flash Architect and her new life , the new Anne whose been touched by angels in Charleston and the hunky odd-jobber Ethan.
Will this be the time that God will finally allow Anne's heart to be opened and recieve the healing and forgiveness she has needed for such a long time?
New York and Charleston- Stand aside and be prepared for out with the old and in with the new Anne.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

heartwarming story

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This story was both sad and heartwarming at the same time. After Ann Fletcher loses her sister, Sarah in an accident, she begins to be haunted by a tune that she hears. As Ann readies Sarah's home, the home they both grew up in, to be sold she meets a carpenter, and her neighbors, Tammy amd her son, Keith who has Down Syndrome. Keith draws pictures of Ann with angels in them. This disturbs her at first but then she begins to look forward to the pictures. Does the tune and the pictures have something to do with each other? Will she listen to the angels and open her heart to God? This story is lovely but it is a bit predictable. I didn't find that to be a bad thing. This book did cause me to think about angels and the role they may play in our lives. If you are a fan of christian fiction I think you will enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Earned Book of the Year

Date:December 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynn P
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heartwarming story of the life of Anne Fletcher. The tragedies that she's had to face from as early as childhood up to just recently has closed her off to her life's full potential. After losing her sister, she has to go back to her roots and face everything while trying to escape. The storyline gripped me from page one, reading about little Keith, her next door neighbor's down syndrome son and how he helps bring her back to life. Full of love, compassion and forgiveness. You don't want to miss this Women of Faith Book of the Year. It totally earned it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
jkdaet
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Angel Song by Sheila Walsh & Kathryn Cushman.
The book is about a woman called Ann Fletcher. She is an interior designer, very career orientated, but returning home for her sister Sarah's graduation. They have no parents and she hasn't been home in many years. She has bad memories of her home life so has good reason to stay away. She doesn't get much time to enjoy her sister's company as tradgedy touches them. It is then that Ann discovers her sister had many friends, among them a boy who hears and sees angels. Ann begins to develop friendships with some of her sister's friends, but is frightened by their faith and concern for her. As she grows more comfortable with them she realises that she needs the comfort they offer.
I started this book a bit skeptical about the subject matter, but I enjoyed it. I enjoyed the direction the book took, not being to wishy washy about faith and not too pushy either. As a work of fiction it is easy to read and touching. I would have liked more focus on God, andn how to become a Christian too, as others who read the book who are not Christians might not know. The book assumes a knowledge of salvation on the part of the reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Allison
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Angel Song by Sheila Walsh and Kathryn Cushman is a beautifully written book. The plot surrounds two sisters. One who stayed in their hometown and one who has run away. The second returns only to have tragedy strike. People come into her life and shake her to her core. One being the child of the first sister's neighbor, who has Down's Syndrome. Will God reveal himself? What about the music that no one hears? Are angels all around us?
This is a book is a wonderful read that make you really think. It may even change some of your beliefs about angels. Walsh and Cushman do a wonderful job giving you mental pictures of what is taking place. This book is a book that you will not want to put down until finished. I give it two thumbs up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vickie Gress
This book will speak to your heart, and teach you also. that every person is special to GOD , I thinkit is a book you will want to read again vickie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Chaffin
I read this book in two days...once I started it, I couldn't stop! Wonderful book...loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela Winters
Angel Song is a story of redemption. Ann Fletcher returns to Charleston to see her sister Sarah receive her Masters Degree. Soon after her arrival, tragedy strikes. Left by everyone she ever loved in her life, Ann Fletcher feels that she is undeserving of the attention she is receiving from friends of her sister Sarah. What will it take to prove to Ann that she is worthy of not only their love, but the love of a God she no longer believes is? She soon realizesby Gods hands outstretched through her sisters friendsthat the live she has been living is empty of anything meaningful. Even though I enjoy different genres of Christian fiction, the only books I generally find hard to put down are suspense stories. Angel Song was an exception. I felt as if I knew the characters of Angel Song personally. I especially related with Anns neighbor Tammya homeschooling mom of a special needs child. Laced with just enough romance to be heartwarming, Angel Song also shows what can happen when we slow down and re-order the priorities in our lives. After reading Angel Song, you will be reminded that we just never know when we might be entertaining one of Gods angels. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction. Written by best-selling author and Women of Faith speaker Sheila Walsh, along with Kathryn Cushman, Angel Song is available for purchase from your favorite Christian book retailer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Rice
Angel Song was inspiring from the moment I began reading. Im not certain I can do the book justice with my review. The story of Anne Fletcher, an upcoming designer living her dream in New York City, God sends both people and angels into her life in order to reveal himself to her. Anne returns to Charleston to see her younger sister, Sarah, receive her masters degree, but finds herself riding in the back of an ambulance, watching helplessly as Sarah fights for life. She is then thrown into the lives of those that love Sarah. She is forced to face her past and see what her future holds. This book had more than one message we could all take to heart. Loving and accepting others and evaluating what God intends for our lives. The lesson of accepting loss and His Will for our lives was perfect timing for me. Sheila Walsh and Kathryn Cushman have a winner with this book. I highly recommend it!Thank you to Book Sneeze or providing me a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not compensated for this review and was asked for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lorie
Anne Fletcher made a life and a name for herself in New York City, far from her painful childhood in South Carolina. During a visit to attend her sister Sarahs graduation, Anne finds herself in the middle of a tragedy. Several of Sarahs friends and neighbors reach out in love to help Anne. As the story unfolds we are drawn into Annes struggles to accept love from other people as well as from God.The cast of characters in this book is outstanding. One of the main characters is also one of the most likeable - a 12 year old boy with Downs Syndrome who sees and hears angels. Even Annes hardened heart cant ignore the warmth of his love. His mother Tammy is the kind of neighbor anyone would love to have. There is Ethan, the handsome carpenter whos bumbling ways have childish charm. The corporate bully acts as the protagonist of the story. Then there are the angelsThis has all the elements of a great summer vacation novel. It is uplifting, inspirational, it even has a bit of romance. It is a quick and easy read. This is one of those stories that I did not want to end. Highly recommended!*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for a fair review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
paula
Angel Song. An evocative title. A wonderful book. Author Sheila Walsh is best known as one of the Women of Faith speakers, and an accomplished non-fiction author and musician. This is Sheilas first foray into fiction, and it is well worth the time it took to write and the time it takes to read! (Although I am not familiar with co-author Kathryn Cushman, I will be checking out her solo projects.) The storyline grabbed me from the prologue and didnt let go until the last page. And then left me wanting more!! The characters were captivating- I found myself relating to most of them at one time or another throughout the book. I heartily recommend this book, and sincerely hope Sheila is planning a sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Shrader
Loved this book. A real page turner! Felt like I was right there with the characters. Pure enJOYment!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
I definitely loved the subject in this book. Angels are something that most people, including Christians, dont seriously think about very often. It really made me think and want to do a little more reading about angels and their roles in our lives. There were some things that I didnt quite agree with, because I believe differently in those areas, but for the most part I liked what the book had to say. Ethan is a really sweet male character, but I didnt fall in love with him. I think that is because the main focus of the book is Ann and her coming to terms with her past, more than on the romance between her and Ethan. I enjoyed this book, but its not one of my favorites. However, the writing is good and I would recommend it to someone who favors this type of book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Goetsch
I love this book just as I have the other three books that Kristine Cushin has written. I read one of her books and went right to my computer and ordered her other two. I couldn't wait for this one. I have seen Sheila Walsh at a Woman of Faith Conference but haven't read any of her other books. The book keeps your attention all the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hollie
Angel Song, by Sheila Walsh and Kathryn Cushman, is an inspirational romance novel about an agnostic, Anne Fletcher, based in South Carolina and New York. Anne Fletcher has returned to her hometown of Charleston to attend her little sister's graduation from college. Before the two ladies can attend the graduation, they are in a car wreck and Anne's little sister dies. Anne is left floundering in a community of Christians, encountered by a repeated song in her dreams, buffeted with a handsome neighbor, and a little boy that sees angels. Anne has to work through her sister's estate, and questioning her religious beliefs, while trying to keep her job back home. Overall, I found the story rather interesting. While the main character is agnostic, the whole story was not obsessively centered around trying to get her to convert. It was subtle, and did not overwhelm the story. The overall message of the story succeeded at being inspirational, and the romance of the story did not drown out the rest of the plot. The little boy in the story was a particular treat to me. I really enjoyed his part in the story. The story was woven together well, and I would recommend others to read it if they enjoy inspirational romances. *I acquired this book from booksneeze.com*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kellie Raih
Angel Song, by Sheila Walsh and Kathryn Cushman is a tremendous book about love and second chances. Ann Fletcher, an interior designer from New York, travels to visit her baby sister in Charleston to celebrate her sister receiving her masters. After an enjoyable evening together, a tragic accident happens, and Ann finds herself alone, no family, no friends, in a house she hasnt lived in or seen for over seven years. As Ann prepares the house to be sold, she is welcomed into the neighborhood by Tammy and Keith, Sarahs neighbors. These two characters are vivid and their faith is quite a contrast to Anns lack of faith. We see how broken Ann is by witnessing her life as she travels back and for to New York in order to perform her job as an interior designer. With a new client she is trying to score, and with work becoming overwhelming, she realizes that she can not make enough trips to Charleston. I loved the characters in this story and the way they developed, the way they work their way into the hearts of the read and how believable they are. I can see how this story won novel of the year, and is part of the Women of Faith Series. For anyone that simply wants a good read or a chance to look deeper into their hearts this is the book for your. It is a beautiful book who has ever wondered about Angels and their role in our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicky
This book exceeded my expectations. I was not going to request it from Thomas Nelson and kept going back to it. Since I love fiction and I knew Kathryn Cushman was a good writer I decided to go for it. This book did not disappoint me-not in a page turning kind of a way-but a genuine, good storyline. Anne Fletcher is not a Christian and goes back home to Charleston to see her sister Sarah receive her master's degree. An unexpected car accident with Sarah hurt the worst. On the way to the hospital she is talking to someone and humming a song. Anne finds this strange since there is no one else in the ambulance but her. This tune will haunt Anne in the hospital, dreams and in Sarah's house. Anne needs to sell the house to get back to New York for her job and with the help of Ethan Mckinney who volunteers to get the home in shape. A neighbor and her son Keith help Anne try to make sense of what has happened. Keith has Downs Syndrome but believes he can see and hear angels. He lets Anne know they are all around her and looking out for her.God starts to reveal Himself to Anne but will she open her heart to receive God's healing love?Loved how Anne went from "all about her" to a caring and loving person. This story just flowed with an ease that most stories don't. Great collaborations between two wonderful authors. Hope to see more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
"Angel Song" is an inspirational romance novel (with a Christian/non-Christian romantic attraction, though at least the guy really does keep his hands off and a distance between them when he realizes Ann doesn't share his faith). This novel will probably appeal to those who enjoyed the "Touched By An Angel" TV show.The world-building was excellent, bringing the jobs and locations alive in my imagination. The symbolism with the house worked well for me until the end, where it got heavy-handed. The pacing was very good, and the suspense was created by the question of how much Ann is willing to give up in her efforts to become a well-known interior decorator. However, after the initial set-up, the story became predictable which stole some of the tension.The "good" characters were nice and interesting, but I never felt like I really got to know the "real them." They seemed more like a role with some surface facts attached. This was partly because Ann kept others at a distance, but, even with her, I couldn't understand why she reacted so strongly to her past. I kept thinking there had to be more, something that reinforced how she dealt with her feelings of abandonment.Ann figured that if Christians still suffered pain and tragic accidents, that was proof God didn't exist because you'd think God would at least help those who worshiped him. The main supernatural events were troubled dreams, hearing divine music others couldn't, and seeing angels. The main spiritual topic was how God uses angels to help humans. Jesus was only mentioned once, and never to Ann.There was no bad language or explicit sex. Overall, I'd recommend this novel as enjoyable, clean reading.I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Angel Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sheila
Imagine leaving New York City to return to your childhood home in Charelton, South Carolina, to attend your only sisters graduation. You meet a man on the plane who has the potential to change your career. Your head is spinning with all the possibilities. Thus begins the story of Annie Fletcher. After a wonderful dinner with her sister, Anne Fletcher finds herself riding in the back of an ambualnce following a horrible accident. Anne tries to comfort her sister Sarah, who is severly injured. Sarah seems to be talking to someone other than Annie, who hears strange but beautiful music. At the hospital Annie is told Sarah is in surgery so Annie goes to the hospitals chapel, here she hears the same music, she is imformed she is the only one hearing this music. How strange. When Sarah does not survive the accident, Annie is left in the care of Sarah's wonderful friends including neighbot Keith, son of Sarah's best friend. Keith is "special" and tells Annie that the music is from the angel and they are always there. This is a very good book that will give you many aha moments. There are many layers to this story, I loved the story of Keith, it protrays the life of Down's Syndrome children very acurately. The settings are described very vividly. The characters have many heart warming qualities. I highly recommend this book. I love books that leave me satisfied and feeling like the story gave me a life lesson. I was given this book to review by the Thomas Nelson publishing Company free of charge, but the review is completely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>