Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series

Thomas Nelson A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series

John and Abby were the perfect couple. After an ideal courtship, they married and had the perfect family. But now they are about to lose it all: on the verge of having an affair, John is no more the man Abby married than she is the long-ago girl of his dreams. They make the sad decision to divorce. But when they gather their three children and are about to tell them the news, their daughter makes an announcement of her own: she's getting married that summer.Determined not to ruin their daughter's season of happiness, Abby and John secretly agree to put their divorce plans on hold. But as the wedding nears, they wonder: is it possible to find joy, after all these years, and perhaps the time.to dance?
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Review 1 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I cried and I laughed!

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Following Abby and John through their struggles was truly sad. Watching what Satan can do to people who get their eyes of Jesus long enough not to be able to tell His voice from the enemy's was so true to life. Thankfully it ended well, or I would have been very upset, and unable to recommend this book.
It's a book every young woman should read, even mature teens, so you can see the traps that are laid for the happily married by the enemy of our souls. Very well done!! I hated putting it down, though I would not call it "entertaining". There were many light moments, and wonderful memories from their early years together.
Definitely NOT suitable for younger teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

At times it was difficult to read due to packaging

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely loved the book. Karen Kingsbury has got to be one of the most inspirational authors of Christian fiction. The analogies used prompted me to pray over some of the verses quoted.
As always, Ms. Kingsbury weaves a page-turning story that is not sappy or unbelievable. The events of John and Abby Reynolds and their family are typical of what most families entail as they progress through life. Though trials from family to family are different, they do exist.
My only "issue" is that the formatting in the e-book version had an unusual high number of errors. I suspect part of the end of the book was missing, but since I'd read the sequel first, I wasn't disturbed by that.
Apostrophes were missing, and often the letter "I" was replaced with the letter "E". It was often enough that I am confident it was not due to a traditional "typo".
These "issues" are minor in my opinion, but worth mentioning. I'm sure that as technology advances, so will the quality of the e-book. It won't prevent me from downloading other books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book!

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nichole
Location:Elmendorf, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A beautiful but heartbreaking love story. This book helps remind you that with God all things are possible. John and Abby married for almost 22 years have drifted apart to the point of divorce.
The love they had was dying behind fading faith, work and every day busy life that they let get between them. The battle that rages between Satan, personal thoughts, and God’s unwillingness to give up is so powerful.
I loved this book because it truly held marriage up in high esteem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A True to Life Read!

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjs
Location:Sunrise, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A perfect couple...does it exist?? Everyone thought John and Abby were perfect. What people did not know that they were about to call it quits on their marriage. How had things gotten so bad? Is it possible to fix their marriage? The one thing they did agree on was to wait until the after the wedding of their daughter to tell their children that they were getting a divorce.
I have read a few of Karen Kingsbury books and have really enjoyed them. This book was not a disappointment. Wow, what a great book! Although this is a fiction book, I have heard many couple battle with many of the same issues that John and Abby had to deal with. The characters were well thought out, the plot made sense. This book was very well written! I will definitely be looking for the next book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Karen Kingsbury never lets you down in her writing

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
tlebrun
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading this book made me think about how we communicate... are we really talking and listening to each other? Are we putting God first... and then each other next... and then our son... and so on? I believe it is a good thing when God uses something that causes us to evaluate our life... and the choices we are making.
I will say, I did need to find the second book in the series... I had to see what would happen to this couple. I knew it would be that happy ending... but I had to finish their story. Both books are good...Karen Kingsbury is great at writing about real life situations.... and illustrating how God wants us to handle tough situations. Good book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hold on to this book..an absolute favorite.

Date:December 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
bookaholic
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Time To Dance was a book I recieved and couldn't wait to jump in and read it. Once I started, I couldn't put it down. The characters are so real and the situations outlined in this book are ones almost everyone can relate to in one way or another. When you find the love of your life..how do things spiral out of control? And maybe what's more important..how do you find it again? The answer is simple, and yet probably one of the hardest to follow: God.
I appreciate how this book is written. Because the topic throughout this book is marriage, divorce, God, family and love, it was written carefully. There was nothing that made me uncomfortable or unsure..simply satsified and content.
I loved this book and the way it made me smile, cry and really evaluate my own life.
Great read..
To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. I also must say that the opinions are all mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2010
A Time To Dance by Karen Kingsbury is a Christian drama novel about John and Abby, a couple who have been married for over 20 years and are the brink of divorce. At the time they are planning to announce their divorce to their children, the oldest child announces her engagement to Matt, her boyfriend. Throughout most of the book, the couple tries to conduct business as usual without their children finding out there is trouble in paradise. The resoning for the divorce is that Abby has gotten too busy to cater to John and John has taken up with a co-worker, Charlene. John and Charlene have never had sex, so he claims it is only friendship. Clearly it is not and this is flaunted to Abby at every opportunity.
This book will stir up plenty of emotions while reading it. The more prominent emotion will be a deep hatred for John. Frankly, John is a self-centered ass and can't be trusted. You will find yourself asking "are men really this stupid?" As you read further you will discover, "yes, they are." He eventually comes to his senses, but it literally takes an act of God to get him to see the light. The spiritual point of this book is that what God has but together, let no man seperate. It is repeated over and over. At first I wanted to stop reading this book, but continued and I am glad I did. It is a moving and well written book. It certainly makes one think about marriage, family, and their personal relationship with God. Stirs up the emotions, that's for sure. I wish John had been a little more likable, but I guess if he was, he probably wouldn't have been in the trouble he was in. Two thumbs up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A romance that deals with real issues

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Myheart623
Location:Janesville, WI
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A Time To Dance" by Karen Kingsbury is a great romance that deals with the real issues that couples may have in their marriage. The couple in the book are struggling with their decisions, and how those choices have placed them in the position they are in. This book shows what can happen to a marriage when it is not tended to. Through the book the couple learns that only with God can they overcome the obstacles in their marriage. Divorce rates in this country continue to rise and many families are torn apart because of it. Marriage should be a commitment for life, in the good or bad times. Kingsbury uses this book to show how God wants us to save our marriage and how He could help you do it. This book will make you evaluate your own relationships but it is also an intriguing and interesting romance that will draw you in from the beginning. It is an inspiring and uplifting story of how you can change your life. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone in a relationship.
I received a free copy of this book as a part of the Booksneeze program. All my opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Another great book by Karen Kingsbury

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
shlynn
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
From my perspective as a newlywed, this book is a great reminder of what can happen in a marriage if you stop tending to it. The story is of John and Abby Reynolds, their marriage that has fallen apart, and the façade they parade in front of their children along the way. Although their love story is like that of a fairytale romance, John and Abby have become so consumed with themselves that they have stopped loving each other they way they once did.
Much of the book is devoted to John and Abby’s individual thoughts—their memories of how they fell in love, milestones in their family, and the emotions they work out in their heads as they process their marriage having fallen apart. I found myself wanting more dialogue in the here-and-now instead of daydreams of the past, although their love story was quite sweet. While reading the book, I did want to know what would happen in their family and if or how things might be resolved between the couple, but this book didn’t have the strong sense of suspense as other books by Karen Kingsbury. The book’s message, however, was powerful: that love endures all things and God’s design for marriage is that it should be for forever.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Case for Marriage

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’d never read a Karen Kingsbury novel before, so I was thankful when Thomas Nelson Publishers sent "A Time to Dance" for my review.
In this book, Kingsbury makes her case for couples to fight to save and strengthen their marriages. It’s a fictional story, of course, yet it serves as a parable. First, through a series of flashbacks, Kingsbury shows how a series of minor and seemingly innocent choices can slowly, but firmly drive a couple apart. Then she shows how God can act in so many ways to pull them together again. His Spirit spoke God’s Word into their minds. He used people in their lives to gently confront, encourage, pray, and even speak of regrets, making characters think. He caused them to remember happier times and even intervened miraculously. Again, it is a fictional story, yet our God truly does work in all these ways. Our marriages matter to Him.
Kingsbury closes the book with a heartfelt and non-judgmental letter to readers, emphasizing God’s view of marriage, its value, and the need for couples to protect and cherish theirs. The book is a ministry. I’ll look forward to reading its sequel someday. (This story is self-contained; the sequel must tell what happens next in this couple’s life journey.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Time to Dance by Karen Kingsbury

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:oh
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
John and Abby Reynolds have been married for over twenty years when circumstances and hurts lead each of them to question whether they should stay in their marriage, or whether they will pursue the new relationships that each has found themselves in. As they come to the realization that they have grown apart and make the decision to divorce, they receive news that pressures them into holding off on dissolving their marriage, at least temporarily. As memories and reminders of their good times together start to resurface, Abby and John sort through the past and decide maybe they can try again to build a future. While I am not a fan of romance, which I believe is a big part of what this story is, I do like that there are several real life situations that this family is dealing with, and that not all the answers come easy. Overall, a good read if you are looking for an uplifting relationship story. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Desiree
I received a complimentary copy of Karen Kingsburys book, A time to dance. Kingsbury has done a fabulous job of depicting the ups and downs a married couple may experience in a marriage. I appreciated that she dealt with many issues that affect married couples across America. The characters in the book are struggling with their decisions, and how those choices have placed them in the position they are in. Through the book they learn that only with God can they overcome the obstacles in their marriage. Marriage should be a fundamental aspect of our society. Unfortunately, divorce rates continue to rise and families are destroyed. I think we lose sight of what it means to stay with our spouse through the good and bad times. It seems that too many people bail on their marriage, as soon as it gets too hard. Kingsbury shows how valuable marriage is, and why God wants us to work to save it. This book will not solved Americas divorce problems, but maybe the reader may come to evaluate their own relationship and why it is worth saving. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and am currently reading the sequel to this book.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Once I began the first page of Karen Kingsburys A Time to Dance, I couldnt put it down. In one day, I spent a lifetime with the Reynolds family, not merely reading about their journey, but walking beside them. Ms. Kingsbury has created characters you want to pray for, cry with, and even slap at times! While reminiscing with Abby Reynolds about the good times in her marriage and pondering where it all went wrong, and experiencing the same shame and frustration John knows as he wonders whether its even worth trying to right a capsizing ship he promised would never sink, I learned more about myself, my own struggles, and Gods unending grace than a hundred platonic Bible studies. Rather than Christian fiction, A Time to Dance could better be labeled the true story of a thousand different lovers. Throughout the pages of this book you will come face to face with your own lifes story if not the events, the emotions; if not the exact circumstances, the same sinfulness. Man or woman; newly-wed, recently widowed, or never married; baby Christian or life-long believer, you will be glad you took the time to read the love story of John and Abby Reynolds. And you will benefit from what you will have learned. Even if you fail to grasp the power of prayer, note the worth of witnessing, or recognize the passion found in purity, you will be convicted of your own complacency in life and in love. May you be blessed by Karen Kingburys A Time to Dance. And may we all heed the still small voice beckoning us, along with the Reynolds, to soar as eagles. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emme
Alright! A new book! I think this book, A Time to Dance, by Karen Kingsbury, is from the Timeless Love collection, which has three books, all about the same people and their lives, and I think that this book is beautifully scripted, with lots and lots of exciting and romantic moments that made me swoon. So here is the short plot: A couple decides to divorce, but their daughter is getting married (got to love the irony there), so the couple decide to postpone their divorce. But as the wedding nears, the couple decide to try again with each other to reclaim their former happiness throughdance? Anyway, I really liked it, it was well-written, and it is a good read, especially for those 20 minutes before going to bed, I think. Not terrible exciting, but a good little thing to have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Time to Dance, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
A story about new life in the Lord and marriage but also real struggles and doubts; Kingsbury captures it all in A Time to Dance. A quote that caught my attention in this book is The eagle is the only bird that doesnt run from trouble. Instead it uses the storms of life to take it to a higher place. A Time to Dance helps us to see that we cant run but we need to run into the arms of God. Well, Kingsbury has done it again! She has an amazing way of grabbing the readers attention from the beginning and keeping it until the very last page. I received this book at about 1pm and was done twelve hours later (with a few short breaks). Kingsbury has been given an amazing gift to write but she is also sincere in her relationship with the Lord and listens to what the Lord is teaching her and calling her to write about and that comes across in her books. A Time to Dance is a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.