Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series

Thomas Nelson A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series

After nearly divorcing, John and Abby Reynolds have renewed their vows and are feeling like newlyweds. Together they know they can handle the issues of their past, the questions from their children, and even the high school politics that drain the joy from John's coaching career. But then tragedy strikes.

An accident tears at the hearts of their family and the depth of their existence. Fumbling for forgiveness and hoping for a miracle, John and Abby must remember what is important and cling to that above all else. Together, they're determined to move on with their lives. But is "together" enough for a future they never expected?

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Review 1 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an awesome book!!

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading A TIME TO DANCE, the book that precedes this one, which I purchased on sale, I was not going to get this book, b/c it was a bit pricey for me. But I am so glad I did. It was even better than the first book!
Tragedy strikes the idyllic life of Abby and John... how will they overcome this? But they serve a miracle working God. So they trust Him for a miracle and learn many valuable lessons about their life in Jesus they would never have learned without this time of testing.
I won't tell you how things turn out - that would not be fair. But I will tell you that John and Abby come out of this difficult time stronger in their faith, smarter about God's plan for them, more in love with each other, and with a new vision about God's love and mercy.
Please treat yourself to this book. It will not let you down. EVERY teenager should read this story! And adults, men or women, will be blessed by it, for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book!

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy G
Location:Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John and Abby Reynolds have just reconciled their marriage in the previous book in the series, “A Time to Dance”, and they are now ready to enjoy their newfound love for each other when tragedy strikes. This book is a story of how believers can make it through tough times by depending on the Lord for strength and comfort. It is not easy, but they come out on the other side as even stronger people, and are testimonies of His grace to others around them.
I love Karen Kingsbury’s books. Her writing is current, with wonderful descriptions of the people and places in her stories. I feel like I really know these people, and wish I could sit down with her characters for coffee to hear their stories. The story of the Reynolds includes marriage issues, parenting issues, job issues and personal spiritual struggles. As a mom of three boys I also could relate to the sporting side of John’s job as a football coach. This book was an encouragement to me because I know that at some point in my life, tragedy will come, but I know that God will be there to help me through it. I was disappointed that there were only two books in this series, and wanted to hear more about this family’s journey. But Kingsbury has so many other books to enjoy, and I can’t wait for her next series. I highly recommend her to any readers.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Time To Embrace is a story about family, faith, and forgiveness. John and Abby are a long-time married couple who have recently reconciled after being on the brink of divorce. Their rekindled relationship is strong, as is their relationship with their three children. John is a high school football coach and teacher who at the start of the book is being met with a difficult season and a complicated backlash from parents.
An accident involving both John and two of his students suddenly and violently changes everything, and forces them all to draw on their faith and their strength as they navigate through the resulting aftermath.
This was a touching book, and a quick read. The characters were strong and likeable, especially John, and the message was inspiring. My only real complaints are 1) some unnecessary and confusing subplots (for example, a son with a porn addiction. It was introduced, then quickly dropped, and really added nothing to the story) and 2) the miraculous and neatly tied up ending. I understand what the author was trying to do - demonstrate the power of prayer - and it was evident in the way everything unfolded. But prayers don't always turn out the way we want them to, as we aren't the ones in control. I felt that the message would have been even more powerful if she'd gone in another direction, and shown the characters' acceptance of a different outcome.
It was still overall a good book and an inspirational story, especially for anyone struggling with their faith.
isclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A story of love and forgiveness

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Time to Embrace is the sequel for Time to Dance from the Timeless Love Series by Karen Kingsbury.
John Reynolds is a dedicated football coach. He has been with Marion High since 25 years ago. He is not only a coach, he's also act like a friend, and a father to the students too.
After nearly divorcing, John and Abby Reynolds have renewed their vows and are feeling like newlyweds. They rebuild their trust, appreciating each other, experiencing a season of joy and restoration.
However, ever since this year Marion High football team does not perform so well in the matches, the parents started to make complains. Parents seem to be only concern about winning, and whether their son is getting more playing time or not. They overlook if their son is having the right attitude. There are even some players involve in illegal street racing, drinking and some even bullying other students. Parents write a letter to the Sports Director and requested Coach John to be fired.
Abby is a very supportive wife to John. Especially after overcoming the crisis in their marriage, they treasure each other more and make time to enjoy life.
One night after finishing up work in the office, John met with a car accident, that change his life totally after that.
A Time to Embrace is a realistic fiction story. Many of the issues told in the book could happen to any family. It is also a story of love and forgiveness. There are many different emotions are shared throughout the story. The Reynolds family learns to cope with John's condition after the accident, forgive the student who hit him. The accident also made the students and the parents realize what they have done wrong.
There are a lot of spiritual content in this book. And the faith to God is keep on being tested. I enjoy reading this book very much. It made me think - what I can enjoy today, do not mean I may have the chance to enjoy it tomorrow. So treasure what we have now. Another thing that made me ponder a lot is - forgiveness. Forgive a person may not be an easy task. Especially if you have done it once, and now you are doing it second time. It is something that I still have a lot to learn.
I rate this book 4 out of 5 star.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful, enjoyable read

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Evangeline Han
Location:Melaka, Malaysia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Time to Embrace is a story of love and forgiveness. Having weathered a near-divorce, John and Abby Reynolds are met with challenges that will put their faith in God and in each other to the test. A highschool football coach, John is struggling with work problems. As if that is not enough, tragedy strikes. John’s and Abby’s lives will never be the same again.
I found some parts of the story a bit “long-winded”. There were a few events in the story that did not need somewhat repetitive, long conversations.
However, I thoroughly enjoyed reading the whole book. The overall plot was excellent, and many of the issues told in the book could very happen in many families. This book is the second book in the Timeless Love Series. I have never read the first book, but reading A Time to Embrace has made me want to read the first book, A Time to Dance.
In conclusion, despite the lapses at the “long-winded” parts, I have found A Time to Embrace a delightful and worthwhile read that many novel readers would love. The themes contained in the book are very relevant and although this might seem a bit far-fetched now, I hope that this book will be turned into a movie one day.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect ending

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
A Time to Embrace is a typical Karen Kingsbury novel. Her books are very readable and engaging. This is the story of John & Abby Reynolds. John is a high school football coach and has hit some snags with his students' parents who are pushing to get John fired. He's been accused of allowing his students to drink and street race. John has reached the point where he's considering resigning. Abby & John were on the verge of divorce when their oldest daughter got married. Through the planning of that wedding, God miraculously rescued their marriage, but they haven't even told their children how close they came to splitting.
After a football victory, John decided to go to the school and grade some papers just to unwind. Two of his star players challenged each other to a race--on the street in front of the high school. As John leaves the school for the night, he's broadsided by Jake, the star quarterback of his team. The wreck leaves John paralyzed.
Throughout the book, Karen deals with some pretty strong issues: pornography, anger, divorce, abortion and several crises. I felt that she dealt with them honestly. The story is pretty predictable, but you wouldn't have wanted any other ending.
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Thank you to Thomas Nelson for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Time to Embrace by Karen Kingsbury

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carl S
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second novel in a series, the first being A Time to Dance. Each of these books follow the story of Abby and John Reynolds, a couple who has been married twenty plus years and been through countless obstacles. As the novel opens, they have just rekindled their marriage after it almost ended in divorce. They are ready to face a joyous future together and have never been more in love. However, trouble brews when John’s high school coaching job is threatened. John ends up in a horrific car accident that renders him paralyzed. The couple is now faced with how they will cope and whether or not their family will make it through the many obstacles they face. This is a typical Karen Kingsbury novel filled with tragic situations conquered by faith. A feel good if somewhat predictable, story. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Life isn't this perfect, but God is glorified

Date:December 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
gingerly
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I decided I wanted a break from non-fiction for awhile. Karen Kingsbury is one of those few Christian writers who thinks Christian fiction should be more than just clean fiction. I trust her as an author and she didn't let me down. I really enjoyed this book. It deals with forgiveness, trusting in God's sovereignty, and the covenant of marriage. A Time to Embrace is a follow up to A Time to Dance, which I loved but read so long ago, I only vaguely remember the details of it. No matter. This book stands alone.
I was a little irked that all the loose ends are tied up in one perfect bow at the end. Life doesn't always work that way, and more importantly God is glorified whether we receive the answer we wanted or not. But other than that, it was a great read. Not just pleasant, but convicting-- what Christian fiction should be.
I received this book from Thomas Nelson for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!!

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot say enough good things about Karen Kingsbury's books! I absolutely love reading all her books and am so excited to have a chance to review this one!
Like many of her other Books Kingsbury brings her characters to life, giving them depth and giving enough detail on them that you begin feeling like you know them! I've read "A time to dance" and loved that book so I knew that this one would be fantastic as well! (I wasn't disappointed)
The book focuses on the main characters Abby and John and after living through huge trials and temptations (you can read about that in "A time to dance"!) they are faced yet again with tragedy. Kingsbury takes us through their struggles, pains and joys as they face this new chapter of their life.
Wonderful book, I fully recommend it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is hard to put down.

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
kdmom02
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the book, A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series, by Karen Kingsbury from Booksneeze. I chose this book to review because I have read so many of Karen Kingsbury’s books in the past and enjoyed them tremendously.
This is the 2nd book in the series and starts out with the recommitment of a troubled marriage. This book is very hard to put down. It flows so easily and the characters are so lifelike. I laughed and cried with the characters in this book.
I think this book would be a great gift for anyone that enjoys a good read. All Kingsbury fans will love it as well. I give this book 5 stars and would highly recommend it.
I was given this book free of charge from Booksneeze to do a review. This review is my personal opinion of the book and I was not required to give a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bethany Marks
I love to be able to take the time to read a great book every night before bed. After the chaos of the day is over and the kids are finally bathed and tucked into bed then its mommy time! And my fav thing to do during mommy time is read!Just recently in exchange for a book review as part of BookSneeze book review bloggers program Thomas Nelson sent me this complimentary book A Time To Embrace by Karen Kingsbury to read that is part of the Timeless Love Series. John and Abby Reynolds have finally joined together to get through a difficult time in their marriage that almost ended in divorce in the first book of this series. Now in A Time To Embrace their renewed committment is put to the test. Major stress occurs with Johns job and then a tragedy happens that could rip them apart once againI found this book to be very fast paced and enjoyable to read. I really had a difficult time putting it down to go to sleep. And couldnt wait for the time to keep reading to find out what would happen. I found myself weeping for the characters and what they were struggling through and laughing at the tender moments shared between Abby and John. Kingsbury does a great job at making her characters relatable to the reader and I enjoyed her smooth style of writing. Another great read from Karen Kingsbury! I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Time to Embrace, Timeless Love Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Sikora
Karen Kingsbury has a new book out! I have read TONS of her books and have loved every single one. This is another one that did not dissapoint! If you like her style of writing, then you will most definitely want to read this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.