Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1

While home on Christmas holiday, a seventeen-year-old Senate page takes her dog out for a walk and never returns. Reporter Cassidy Shaw is the first to break the story. The media firestorm that ensues quickly ensnares Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce and FBI Special Agent Nicole Hedge ... who just happen to be Cassidy's best friends. It appears the young page was romantically involved with a senator-a senator now under suspicion for her disappearance.
As time begins to run out for the missing girl, Cassidy, Allison, and Nicole fight to locate her before its too late, even while each fights her own personal battles-a stalker, single-motherhood, and an abusive relationship.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
0 out of 20%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Review 1 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth the time

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Swifty2012
Location:Topeka, KS
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I honestly don't know why i spent my money on this... I bought this book with high hopes and was severely disappointed. The charecter development was terrible and i couldn't relate to the characters at all. Some people might like this book but it just was not for me...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly masked account of Chandra Levy murder

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr. Helen
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No real writing skill here. Lacks character development and interesting plot description. Ho hum.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa7491
this was a very good read and I enjoyed the mystery about it. The characters were flawed and well described which I also liked. The only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars was there wasn't as much spiritual content as I prefer in a Christian novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Freda Lucido
Great book! Really liked the characters and I didn't want to put it down. Waiting to read the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
This book was another surprising read of the year. I was really amazed at how into the book I got and found it to be an intense all night page turner. I don't watch Fox News so I honestly didn't know who Lis Wiehl was when picking up this book. Other than the Bill O'Reilly endorsement on the front, I had no idea this was a book by a newscaster. It all makes sense now though because this is a story that could be ripped straight from the headlines. It was really interesting to see the story from three different angles - the lawyer, the investigator and the reporter. What I found unique is that usually the reporter tends to have problems with everyone else because their first thoughts are to promote themselves with the story. In this book, however, the reporter allows the clues to come to her and doesn't go out hunting for them. This could be due to the fact that she respects her friends and their feelings even though she is trying to climb the career ladder as well. I really enjoyed reading the mystery about what happened to Katie and I felt the suspense building up throughout the entire book.Katie's blog entries were well written and did sound convincingly like an actual teen would have written then. It was a little difficult reading the entries at first because the story went from third person to first person abruptly but this qualm was erased after you got used to it. The ending was one I didn't see coming and it also raised questions about spousal abuse from a different perspective. I felt the book was extremely well written and it gave an insider's look to what goes on during a crime investigation. The women are likable and I'm eager to read more about them in future books. The story is not preachy, faith is a topic brought up, but it is not in your face. This was a great thriller and a must read suspense book. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the Triple Threat series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brita Carlson
The Face of Betrayal by Lis Wiehl was an outstanding book. I'm sad that I have to wait till April 2010 for the next Triple Threat Book. The Triple Threat Club is comprised of three very motivated friends in their respective fields of crime fighting. I enjoyed reading about women who are struggling with insecurities, self-doubt, and personal struggles yet to be revealed. This book had it all with the twists and turns and the waiting for the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
CeeCee, booksplurge.blogspot.com
This story hooked me from the first page. Lis Wiehls experience as a former federal prosecutor and legal analyst and commentator on the Fox News Channel, gives this story a realistic feel. Told from varying viewpoints, each character moves the plot forward by adding a new layer to the story. Even Katies blog entries reveal her character and inner yearnings through her written thoughts. This aids in moving the reader closer and closer to the exciting conclusion. Im usually good at figuring out the culprit, but this one was surprising.My only quibble was the second mystery subplot. As a reader, trying to keep straight the characters and scenarios concerning Katies case was enough. The added task of trying to keep track of an additional case was indeed suspenseful, but also distracting. Another problem I had with the story is it read more like a mainstream novel, featuring nudity and other irresponsible behaviors without any faith element.An excerpt of Hand of Fate follows Face of Betrayal. Looks like that book will be interesting too. I look forward to reading it April 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Polly Smith
I really enjoyed this mystery, hard to put down. Hope there are more like it. Have passed it unto friends now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Constance E Hanson
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Everything was so relevant to life in todays society. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.ConnieRhinelander, WI
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Campbell
I flew through the pages of this book and could not put it down. The author wrote a gripping novel. Three friends, a reporter, a prosecutor, and an FBI agent, form a club called the Triple Threat, which was named after a dessert. With the author's expertise as a political pundit and her past experience as a federal prosecutor, along with her father's knowledge in the FBI, a compelling story was woven. This book was the first in the series and I'm eagerly waiting for Lis Wiehl's next novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2009
Face of Betrayal by Lis Wiehl with April HenryFace of Betrayal is an exciting story filled with suspense, mystery, and emotion. A 17 year old girl is missing and three women, affectionately calling themselves the Triple Threat Club, are working hard to find Katie Converse before her body is found. One woman is a prosecutor, one an FBI agent, and one a TV news reporter. Through each womans effort, more of the story is revealed as the reader tries to determine whether Katie is still alive, and if not, who murdered her. Face of Betrayal is well-written and pulls the reader in instantly. A word of caution for those choosing to read this book because it is labeled Christian fiction: drinking wine is mentioned on several occasions and the word hell is used four times, but not in reference to the place (pages 234, 238, 252, 271). Due to this, my church library will not be able to put this book on its shelves. There are references to church, being a Christian, and praying, but there is not any relationship with God illustrated in the writing. I still enjoyed the book very much and would tell others that enjoy suspense and mystery that it is a great read, but I would not really market this book as Christian fiction. http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=1595547053
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
J Jones
Face of Betrayal is a story about a teenage girl who goes missing while at home on Christmas break, and the three women who work together to find her. The three women call themselves The Triple Threat because they come together from different angles. One of them is a prosecutor, one is a news reporter and one is an FBI agent. I was so excited to get this book I always love a good crime and who-dun-it story. But, I was a little disappointed when I started reading it. It was hard to keep track of the different characters in the story who they were and what they did which was pretty frustrating. The story was also written in a little different style than I am accustomed to reading; each chapter is fairly short and jumps from view to view 4 different characters views in all.Overall, it was a good story and got more and more interesting the deeper I got into it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2009
"Face of Betrayal" is the story of three women whose jobs bring them together so that a strong friendship is born. One is a federal prosecutor, one a reporter, the third an FBI special agent. They find their paths crossing as each plays her unique role in fighting crime; they call themselves, The Triple Threat Club.In "Face of Betrayal," a teenage girl is missing, a senate page. Entries on the girls MySpace page lead Allison (the prosecutor) and Nic (the FBI agent) to suspect murder or suicide, rather than kidnapping. Because the girl is a senate page from an influential family, the case quickly becomes big news, keeping Cassidy (the reporter) busy.At the same time, Allisons life is threatened and Cassidy becomes involved in a complicated relationship. These story elements, along with hints about Nics mysterious past add drama to the book while letting us get to know the main characters.I enjoyed reading "Face of Betrayal," though it was a little bit graphic for my tastes. If you are a fan of crime dramas, youll like this book.Following the story, there is a thought-provoking discussion guidevery well-done. There is also an interview with Lis Wiehl by Bill OReilly where we learn how her career experiences helped her to create The Triple Threat Club and where she promises a sequel to come soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2009
This was an exciting book, but I feel it departs a lot from being a Christian fiction book. The word "hell" is used a couple of times as an expletive, the 3 main characters discuss how they lost their virginity, and there is a scene where one character is naked with her boyfriend - a little too descriptive.There is a lot of alcohol consumed by 2 of the characters, which some Christians defend, but does it belong in a Christian book?The story was interesting, but I will not be reading more from this author. and am about to avoid Thomas Nelson books completely.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Face and Betrayal, The Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Face of Betrayal by Lis Wiehl with April Henry is a fiction novel that pulls you even with the first sentence. There is a sense of suspense within the first couple of sentences that has the reader wondering what is really going with Katie and who she is meeting up with, especially with how her dog reacts. Throughout the book there are many relevant issues presented and discussed for todays society including online predators, spousal abuse, friendship, online networking sites and infertility. The Triple Threat is what three friends with expertise in different areas call themselves as their experience and work allows them to make great strides with cracking cases as they are working on now with the disappearance of Katie. The suspense throughout the book keeps the reader turning the pages and the legal aspect and other subplots and current issues tied in holds the readers interest. I was happy to see that a sequel is already being worked on as this is a series that I am sure many will enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.