Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay

Thomas Nelson The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay

Unleashing God's Truth, One Verse at a Time!

Featuring the word-for-word accuracy of the New King James Version, The MacArthur Study Bible is perfect for serious study. Dr. John MacArthur has compiled more than 20,000 study notes, and numerous charts, maps, outlines, and articles to create The MacArthur Study Bible. No other study Bible does such a thorough job of explaining the historical context, unfolding the meaning of the text, and placing it within a theological framework. It has now been updated with an abridged topical index and an exhaustive NKJV concordance.

Teeming with beneficial Bible helps, The MacArthur Study Bibleis among the elite of Bible study tools. Over 35 years of Bible study are packed into one volume. The extensive verse-by-verse study notes provide a one-stop way to do your Bible study. Just a few of its numerous features are:
  • Over 600 pages of revisions and updates
  • New 125 page NKJV concordance including people and places
  • New concise Topical Index
  • More than 20,000 study notes
  • Introductions to the Bible
  • Thorough Book Introductions and Outlines
  • Outline of Systematic Theology
  • Concordance
  • Index to Key Bible Doctrines
  • Messianic Prophecies in the Old Testament
  • Timeline of Old Testament Kings and Prophets
  • Timeline of New Testament Chronology
  • How We Got the Bible
  • How to Study the Bible
  • Harmony of the Gospels
  • Over 50 Bible Maps
  • Full-Color Maps
Other Features:
  • 8.5-point text
  • Double-column format
  • Center-column references
  • Bible reading plans
  • Index to Key Bible Doctrines
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Presentation page
  • Family record section
  • Gold page edges
  • Blue & Butterscotch "LeatherSoft" Imitation Leather
  • 9.75" x 7.00" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
44 out of 4794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Review 1 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good quality and service

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Zeke
Location:Freedom, Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great resource for the study of God's word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for the first time Bible owner

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Darla
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible has study notes laid out in a way that is easy and accessible for the first time Bible reader. The resources are available in such a way that it is not intimidating. Also, the large print is a big plus for the older reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

covers so much material

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Idaho mom
Location:Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can understand why this was rated such a good study Bible, it is just packed with so much stuff, I am so happy with it. I got the NKJV but I wish it had come in New Living Testament.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful bible

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:Red Lodge, Montana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great referrences and maps. Outstanding commentary
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for Our Pastor

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kiwi
Location:North Las Vegas,NV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible was purchased for One Special Pastor who ministers to the elderly in Senior Homes. We as a group of women purchased this bible to thank him for all that he does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great study bible

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Graymont, Il.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is identical to my personal bible and was a gift to a brother in Christ that has become my friend. I do prison ministry, and have given many bibles and bible dictionaries to the men who attend my bible studies in the past couple of years. I have purchased all of them from your company.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful Bible

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
nmbr6kid
Location:kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both study with McArthur's study Bibles and enjoy the study notes a great deal so when we have a friend in need of a Bible, we buy them a similar Bible. This one is particularly attractive and the recipient was quite pleased with it. Terrific value!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful gift!

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
smokey
Location:camden,NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recieved this as a father's day gift from my wife. It is great! Extremely well built. It's large print and it is so much easier to read now! I have another MacArthur study bible that was givent o me as a gift as well several years ago, this one tops that one! I am going to purchase another one for the pastor at our church!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it.

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bro Pat
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the Bible in every way. The only thing that I don't like about it is that it is so big and thick. I guess I didn't realize I was ordering the large print Bible so that is my fault. Everything else about it is wonderful. Thank You!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

extensive study bible

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rkfd
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally dissatisfied due to bent pages
Was contacted by customer service and was given options to resolve dissatisfaction.
Very pleased with customer service
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Leonhardt
Location:Punxsutawney, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT study bible. Study Notes are excellent. This is now my favorite study bible and I highly recommend it to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great tool for learning and understanding

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
tootsdad
Location:Rocklin, Calif.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
There simply isn't enough space to express my appreciation for Dr. MacArthur regarding all of the helps in this Bible. Wonderful and very enlightening, as are all of his countless writings.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great study bible

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
goodnews
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my wife, she liked mine so well she wanted one of her own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

excellent study material but heavy to carry

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lady Di
Location:New Bern, N.C.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will use at home for study but not for my church Bible. Because of the large print the Bible is thick and heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Darrell
Location:NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is great for long periods of reading, because the print is larger. It has superb study notes that aid in understanding Bible passages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very good study bible.

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
carl
Location:Newport News, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wish the words spoken by God where printed in red, other than this it is a great bible.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sally Day
Location:Savannah, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice study Bible. I love the large print and study notes. The only downside is it is A VERY LARGE Bible-not easily carried to church. So, I use it at home and carry the smaller one to church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study Bible and resource

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric Smith
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great study Bible to have from a pastor/teacher I admire and learn from. This Bible has large, readable print, has maps, outlines, and concordance, as well as appendices that go through the character of genuine saving faith, an overview of theology, and a read through the Bible in a year chart. The commentaries by John MacArthur are grounded in the sovereignty of God, the sinful nature of man, historical background, and, of course, the Gospel. For instance, his comments from the first chapter of Genesis shows his trust in the text that it is a literal 24 hour day and his comments in Ephesian 1 emphasizes God's sovereign will and matchless grace in our salvation. I have many Bibles, dictionaries, and study books when I'm preparing a lesson for my Bible study, but I find the commentaries of the scriptures from MacArthur the most insightful. My only negative is the traditional red lettering of the words of Jesus is not present here, but it's a personal preference. I highly recommend this Bible as a study tool, and of course, for just being the Word of God.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best study notes

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monmon
Location:Oakland,tn
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's the best study bible I ever had. Everything in one bible. The only one thing I would really want is a red letter edition bible. I know every word are GOD'S words but I like to have the words spoken by our Lord Jesus on earth be in red which signifies the blood He shed for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The NKJV MacArthur Study Bible: Revised and Updated, Leathersoft, Butterscotch/Blue Jay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This bible is exactly as advertised.

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
harry
Location:Bronxville,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MacArthur is very reliable as far as the true Word is concerned. He has not diluted the messsage and offers many referrences.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.