Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3

Thomas Nelson Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3

The Triple Threat Club novels follow three fiercely intelligent women-a TV reporter, a Federal prosecutor and an FBI agent-as they investigate crimes as current as today's headlines. The Triple Threat women have faced intense situations before, but never such a cunningly cold-blooded murderer.

Elizabeth Avery is a stunningly beautiful woman. But her perfectly managed exterior hides the ice cold heart of a killer. She ingeniously manipulates everyone who crosses her path to do exactly as she wishes--from crime reporter Cassidy Shaw, who thinks Elizabeth is her new best friend, to a shy young man Elizabeth persuades to kill for her. As Elizabeth leaves a trail of bodies in her wake, Federal prosecuter Allison Pierce and FBI agent Nicole Hedges must piece together clues from seemingly unrelated crimes. Can they stop her before she reaches her unthinkable, ultimate end-game?

Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
29 out of 3388%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Review 1 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cassidy Shaw has met a new friend and soon introduces her to her two other best friends, Nicole Hedges and Allison Pierce. Cassidy will do anything for a story for her job as crime reporter. Elizabeth Avery is Cassidy’s new friend and is a master manipulator. She cons Cassidy into buying her new clothes and lies fly out of her mouth as easily as air. Cassidy has no idea her new friend is a sociopath, an expert liar, as well as a murderer. Cassidy feels empty inside and thinks maybe Elizabeth’s friendship can help fill that void.
Nicole discovers something that will change her life forever. She pushes away Leif Larson, who she had begun to think of as her boyfriend. She tells no one about what is stressing her out initially. She thinks she can handle it on her own. She dives in to work, trying to find out who killed a young intern reporter at Cassidy’s TV station. She is also helping Allison gather evidence to convict another murderer, who is also a medical student.
Allison is faced with a decision regarding her down-and-out sister, who has reappeared in her life and begins to live with Allison and her husband as she has nowhere else to go. Lindsay promises she is clean and sober and has left her loser boyfriend behind. Allison also knows something is wrong with Nicole, but can’t get a straight answer from her. Once she finally learns what is going on with Nicole, she decides to pray for her and show her Christ by loving her and supporting her with mercy and compassion. Allison is also intent on catching two criminals and putting them in jail for a very long time.
While there is a ton of action and lots of thrills, an interesting and entertaining plot, I really wish there were no sexual situations in the story. The plot moves along quickly and I couldn’t put the book down. I have really come to enjoy these three female characters and almost feel like they are friends of my own. I hope the next book can maintain the high energy, but without the sexual situations. The next book in the series is titled, Eyes of Justice. I look forward to reading about the Triple Threat Club’s latest adventure in fighting crime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart of Ice is amazing!

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josh Phelps
Location:Berea, Ky
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another homerun! That is how I would describe this next installment of the Triple Threat Club. Heart of Ice, by Lis Wiehl and April Henry is riveting and will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the novel.
When multiple bodies turn up Allison, the federal prosecutor, and Nicole, an FBI Agent must figure out who is responsible. Insert Elizabeth who has the gift of manipulation and can get most people to do whatever she wants them to do. From getting free clothes to having people kill for her, she won’t stop until she gets what she wants. This poses a problem as she friends Cassidy, the reporter and third member of the triple threat club. Read along as the one hits close to home for all of the ladies as they search out the truth.
This book is full of twists, turns, and surprises that will keep you reading and not wanting to put the book down. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes murder mysteries. You will not be disappointed and you do not need to read the other books in the triple threat club, but they are just as exciting. This book is written with a Christian perspective but also tends to lean towards general fiction.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's Ok...

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Simka
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is the third in the Triple Threat series featuring: Allison, a federal prosecutor; Nicole a FBI agent; and Cassidy a TV journalist. These three intelligent women investigate a new cold-blooded murderer-- Elizabeth Avery. She is beautiful, smart and clever, but under all of that she is cold, calculated, and a manipulative person. But more important than that, she is dangerous. After the murder of a reporter, she catches the interest of the 'Triple Threat'. They must connect the pieces to catch Avery before it is too late...
Overall, I must say that this book was OK. It wasn't terrible and it wasn't over the top. Knowing who the culprit was before hand was a clever idea, but I find it took out the fun of 'guessing who did it'. There was good action, and twists and turns that were very commendable.
*I received a free copy of this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze. The opinions I have expressed are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting Thriller

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elizabeth is a sociopath who likes to lie, steal and manipulate others. It makes her feel strong and powerful, like she felt when she had Sara's house burnt down. Sara deserved to be punished. Joey Decicco loves lighting fires, so when Elizabeth pays him to light a fire at a house, he is happy to oblige. After all, he'd do it for free. Unfortunately, Joey isn’t as clever as Elizabeth, which means that Elizabeth has to do some of the hard work herself… and the body count begins.
Heart of Ice is the third Triple Threat novel, following Face of Betrayal and Hand of Fate. The Triple Threat Club consists of Cassidy Shaw, TV crime reporter; Allison Pierce, federal prosecutor; and Nicole Hedges, FBI agent; all now working in their hometown of Portland, Oregon, often on different sides of the same case.
The action shifts between Elizabeth and the three Triple Threat women, who are all convincingly portrayed with a refreshing realism – none are too perfect. All have their own personal issues that occasionally interfere with their personal lives, and with their ability to connect the dots regarding Cassidy’s new friend, Alison’s sister and the missing TV intern.
While certain plot elements make it clear that Heart of Ice is part of an ongoing series focussing on the three women, their cases and their personal lives, this is not intrusive nor does it assume any prior knowledge – I read the book without having read the first two, and didn’t feel I was missing any vital information. The plot is underpinned by the case of the so-called Want Ad Killer, but it is immediately apparent that this is the ongoing sub-plot, not the main focus of this novel.
Heart of Ice is an excellent read. Although published by a Christian publishing house, there is no overt preachiness (although as a Christian reader I did note some Christian themes at certain points), and I am sure anyone who likes their thriller or suspense novels without strong language or any gratuitous sex scenes will enjoy Heart of Ice. Liz Wiehl and the Triple Threat Club are a welcome new addition to my reading list. I’ve already bought Face of Betrayal, and will be looking out for the release of the next book.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and Booksneeze for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent suspense novel

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rocknb61
Location:Chocowinity, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Triple treat novels deal with three independent and intelligent women - a TV reporter, a Federal prosecutor, and an FBI agent. In this third book of the series, Cassidy Shaw, TV reporter, has made friends with Elizabeth Avery, a fitness instructor. Cassidy introduces Elizabeth to her two best friends, Allison Pierce, federal prosecutor, and Nicki Hedges, a FBI special agent. She envisions all of her friends getting along and doing things together. What she doesn't know is that Elizabeth has dark secrets. There are several plots in this one book, but the authors tie them all together and doesn't miss a step. Allison and Nicki are working on two seemingly unrelated crimes. And Elizabeth is doing anything it takes to reach the goal she has set for herself - even murder! I like the way the authors bring everything together and at the same time give you information on the personal lives of the Triple threat ladies.
Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through Booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
Posted by Shirley at 11:35 AM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Kept Me Interested

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
hanni2
Location:Deland, Fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love fast paced thrillers and mysteries. But I don't like graphic descriptions that make my stomach hurt and give me nightmares. I was very pleased to find that Heart of Ice by Lis Wiehl met both my criteria perfectly.
Heart of Ice is the third of three books in the Triple Threat series. The main characters are Allison, a Federal Prosecutor, Nicole Hedges, an FBI Special Agent, and Cassidy, a crime reporter. The three friends bring their special skills together to solve crimes in their hometown of Portland.
The villain in Heart of Ice is Elizabeth, a beauty queen who uses her charms to lure her victims in. She deceives everyone she meets, uses them for her purposes and then disposes of them. Literally.
I enjoyed this book. It was a quick read with a good story line. The author gives the reader a chance to become familiar with the characters without giving too many details for the side story lines. The three main characters are diverse enough to be interesting but have enough in common to make sense to the reader that they are friends.
The author created Elizabeth to be calculating and vicious. The reader gets a clear picture of the way that Elizabeth's mind works. But I appreciated the fact that while enough was implied to write the story well, graphic details weren't used.
I'm glad I had the chance to read this book. I'm always looking for new authors to try, and I'll be looking up the other two books in this Triple Threat series.
This book was given to me by BookSneeze. The opinions are mine all mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous Crime Story!

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Triple Threat Club is once again put to the test as they attempt so solve seemingly random crimes crimes across their home city of Portland. Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce works to solve the murder of a local news intern, while FBI agent Nicole Hedges works to prove that murder suspect Colton Foley was indeed responsible for the deaths of women around the city. News reporter Cassidy Shaw seeks to boost ratings and secure her position by being the first to scoop the other anchors - and by following the life advice of her captivating new friend, Elizabeth Avery. With murder, arson, and drownings making the headlines, can the trio put aside their own health issues and relationships in time to find the killer - before one of them becomes the next victim?
I was worried about reading this book before the others in the series, but Wiehl does a fantastic job of catching the reader up at the beginning. While I knew I was missing backstory, the author rapidly and smoothly fills you in on the highlights and keeps the plot moving right along - and it does move! This story is a terrific blend of murder mystery and everyday life - which makes it seem very real. From health scares to family problems and weight gain, Wiehl puts the reader in the middle of a believable and fast-paced tale.
As soon as I finished this book, I went in search of the first two - and you will, also. This page-turner is not to be missed!
I received a free copy of Heart of Ice from Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

NOT appropriate for CBD to sell

Date:February 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Librarian
Location:MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book doesn't even qualify for a '1' rating. I'd have given it a '0'!!
I bought this book for our church library at a Christian Book Store. I thought I could trust books published by Thomas Nelson but I have been proved wrong. The first two people who checked it out couldn't get past the first few chapters. One read the ending to see if it was redeeming, but she said it wasn't. So I took it home to read. It was so unedifying and a few 'Christian' words tied in did not make it an appropriate book for Christian audiences. Too much attention on the sociopath character(s).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Action Packed Thriller

Date:January 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have thorougly enjoyed everyone of the books in the "Triple Threat" series by Lis Wiehl and April Henry. "Heart of Ice" is no exception. It is a fast read with plenty of action and thrills. There is deception, arson, and murder. We also get an inside look at the personal lives of the three main characters: Alison, a Federal prosecuter, Nicole, an FBI agent, and Cassidy, a television reporter. Together they solve the the crimes conceived by Elizabeth, who has a heart of ice. (They know her personally, but did not suspect her until...). Elizabeth is pretty and winsome, but lethal. You don't want to cross her. And Nicole's daughter is alone with her for a swimming lesson. Will Nicole get there in time and be able to save her daughter before its too late? One of the members in the Triple Threat Club is also on Elizabeth's list. Who? You will have to read the book. Most of the time, Elizabeth gets other to do her dirty work. She doesn't get too close. But this time she as to take matters into her own hands. Will she get caught and how much evil will she conceive?
I had been looking forward to this book since I read the last one in the series, "Hand of Fate". I have read the books and also listened to them on audio books. I enjoy them both ways. Now, I look foward to the fourth book in the series. I highly recommend this book. You won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heart of Ice is the third book in the Triple Threat Series by Lis Wiehl. I was disappointed when I found out it was the third in a series--and I was reading it first. From past experience, with other authors, it's sometimes hard to follow characters, story line, etc. if it's not the first in a series. But I can assure you that this book isn't like that. The characters were well laid out and the story was easy to follow.
Three female friends from high school realize at their high school reunion that they all fight crime in different ways--a TV reporter, a federal prosecutor and an FBI agent. They pool their resources, as they can, and fight crime together. But this crime caught them unawares. Cassidy, the TV reporter, met Elizabeth in an exercise class. Elizabeth was the instructor. Cassidy was drawn to her and desperately wanted to be her friend. In fact, she introduced her friends, Nicole & Allison, to her--hoping they could all hang out together. Elizabeth is the person with the heart of ice. (And is revealed as that early on in the story.) She has diabolical plans to make sure she's the only person in her boyfriend, Ian's, life. But Ian has an ex-wife and a son whom Elizabeth has to eliminate. The rest of the story leads from one path to another to make that happen. Elizabeth is a pro at hiding who she really is.
There are several twists and turns in this story--but it's pretty easy to see what's coming. For that reason alone, I give this story 4 out of 5 stars.
Thank you to Thomas Nelson (BookSneeze) Publishers for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspenseful and entertaining

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Theresa C Shell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the first book I've read of the Triple Threat Series, and I enjoyed it. It was light reading, suspenseful, with interesting characters--and it takes place in Portland Oregon, which happens to be one of my favorite cities. The "triple threat" is made up of Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce, FBI Special Agent Nicole Hedges, and crime reporter Cassidy Shaw. These good friends are able to investigate and solve crimes, and also support each other through every-day-life. Heart of Ice is unique from other crime mysteries in that the perpetrator, Elizabeth, is introduced from the beginning--as someone the other characters know well. There is plenty of suspense, however, since the reader has inside information into the killer's background and sociopathic mindset which the characters do not have. A few scenes were almost too intense/graphic for me, and since the book does realistically present situations of theft, murder, manipulation, arson, fraud and a bit of sexuality, I wouldn't recommend it to teen readers. It's not obvious that this book is Christian fiction, though one character does have spiritual convictions (which are subtly displayed). Had I picked this up in an airport (for instance), I wouldn't have guessed it was Christian at all, though the language was clean, and I suppose the darker elements (murder, etc.) could have been even more graphic. I'm interested to see if there may be Christian themes in the series overall. I received a complimentary copy of this book as a part of the Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogging Program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to put down

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer H
Location:Bath, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED “Heart of Ice” by Lis Wiehl (with April Henry)…I couldn’t put it down once I started reading it! From the very first page of the book, I was already “into the book” – {the story line started from the first paragraph, no excess “fluff” at the beginning of this book!}
“Heart of Ice” is the third book in the “Triple Threat” series. It follows three friends – a TV reporter, a Federal prosecutor and an FBI agent – as they work together, each in their own special way, to investigate and solve crimes. These three women are all very intelligent, but they all have their own “down-to-earth” personal problems – relationships, family, health, weight – to deal with (which makes it very easy to relate to each of them.)
The main “plot” in this book deals with an extremely manipulative woman with a “heart of ice”, Elizabeth, who is just plain evil to the core. She uses people to get what she wants, without the people realizing what she’s doing. Elizabeth befriends Cassidy (the TV reporter), which almost destroys the friendship “bond” between the three friends. However, with the “Triple Threat Club” working together using their own specialties, they are able to piece together the bits and pieces of the crimes and are able to figure out who Elizabeth really is – the killer (which you, the reader, know from the beginning of the book.)
This book was full of suspense…which just made me want to keep reading to find out what was going to happen next. I would highly recommend this book to everyone! And, another great feature of the book…there are discussion questions at the end…which would make it a great group/book club book to read!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
This review is fromHeart of Ice - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great series real page turner

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! The Triple Threat trilogy is great, I found I could really get involved and understand this book not having read the other 2. This book is a real page turner, edge of your seat, gotta stay up late and get up early must finish so I know what happens book!
The Triple Threat Club books follow 3 very strong, independent and intelligent women: a TV reporter, a Federal prosecutor and an FBI agent. These 3 friends have all the means and resources to investigate crimes and solve them!
If you are looking for a great book or great book series check out The Triple Threat series and Heart of Ice!
thank you booksneeze for allowing me to review this ebook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

heart of ice review

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received Heart of Ice by Lis Wiehl and April Henry from Booksneeze. This is a Triple Threat Novel. Triple Threat Novels are books by Lis Wiehl about Nicole (FBI agent), Cassidy (Crime reporter), and Allison (prosecutor), a group of women who went to high school together and now solve crime. Kinda like Nancy Drew and her two side kicks, only older and racier. This particular novel is about Elizabeth, a sociopath, and her adventures before she gets caught by the Triple Threat. The three are looking for a killer and have no idea that the killer (Elizabeth) is right under their noses. Three heads are better than one, or so they say, and when they unite, Elizabeth, well you'll have to read it for yourself.
Lately I have been reading these "christian crime novels" and might I say I really like them. Pretty much crime is crime and so it makes these novels not much different from your run-of-the-mill crime novels. However, there is a bit of Christianity thrown in to keep you on your toes. A little something extra. You should defintely give the genre a try. Even the non-Christian will enjoy a different approach from the whodunnits of the literary world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspenseful, engaging and hard to put down

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
amazingbookreviewsbystarr
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The triple threat team is back again. Allison and Nicole are working on gathering the evidence to convict the killer dubbed as “The Want Ad Killer” by the media. Cassidy is working on covering the story of the killer. But another set of events brings them together. This time it is the link between a missing reporter, a murder for hire and personal issues that challenges the ladies. Sometimes people are not as they seem and should not be trusted.
This is the first Triple Threat novel that I have read, and I have to say that I am impressed. Meeting Nicole the FBI agent for the first time, I immediately get a sense of her personality. She’s tough, as a mother she’s protective and as a woman she’s guarded. I can empathize with her and some of the decisions that I make, even if it did make me cringe at the heartache those decisions caused. Allison, the Federal prosecutor, is doing the best that she can to recover from a brutal life blow. But it’s refreshing to see her not give up on herself or her faith. You can tell that her faith is important to her, but it is not overwhelming in the story. Cassidy, the crime reporter for Channel Four news, is refreshing naive; I felt draw to her character more than the others, mainly because there is a sense of innocence in this character. She works hard for her job, but her jealousy and her sort of addictive behavior cries out for sympathy. Elizabeth is a personality to be wary of, but it’s easy to find someone with her traits easier than it comfortably should.
The characters were well developed and relatable. Even the situations that they find themselves in were disconcertingly real. (Only of course if you had one of these careers). The story unfolded with enough suspense to keep you moving forward and enough clues to not really know what’s going to happen next. The only thing that I found too distracting was the similarities between the fictional “Want Ad Killer” and the real life “Craig’s List Killer”. I found myself comparing the two until the stories that had been simmering in the background took off. Overall, I enjoyed the story and look forward to more Triple Threat Novels.
I received a complimentary copy of Heart of Ice by Lis Wiehl with April Henry through Booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. Opinions stated are my own. A positive review is not required. This is disclosed in accordance to Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Disturbingly realistic psychological thriller

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda Risner
Location:Ruckersville, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Disturbing in its realism, Heart of Ice reveals the mind of someone so cold and calculating that she could kill without blinking an eye, so manipulative that she could inspire others to kill for her. As a series of seemingly unrelated crimes make headlines, our triple threat members find themselves closer to the truth than they’d like to be. FBI agent Nicole, Federal Prosecutor Allison, and Crime Reporter Cassidy face personal and professional struggles while unknowingly developing a relationship with a killer.
A real page-turner, this third book in the Triple Threat series was a thrilling read and I will continue to follow this series. Be aware that if you’re conservative in your reading (or recommending to teen children), it likely deserves a PG-13 rating.
My review would be remiss if I did not mention the fact that it could have been published as a secular novel. As with the first book, there was no clear Christian message, although Allison is clearly a Christian. I’d like to see her be a little more proactive in sharing her faith. Having said that, there was a surprising moment near the end that I hope is a foreshadowing of some spiritual changes. You’ll have to read it if you want to know what that moment was!
If you enjoy a good psychological thriller, you’ll enjoy Heart of Ice.
A complimentary review copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson Publishers with no expectation of a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well-written susupense!

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Triple Threat Club is back in Lis Wiehl and April Henry's novel, "Heart of Ice." Allison, Nicole and Cassidy are really dealing with a person who has a heart of ice. Elizabeth is your girl next door, but she is cold-hearted and calculating, doing anything and everything to get a thrill and to get what she wants. Cassidy becomes close, too close with Elizabeth when she joins her boot camp class at the local fitness center, as Elizabeth appears to be flawless and the best friend that Cassidy was missing. None of these three ladies realizes just how close they are to the one who is the manipulator and planner behind all of these crimes.
I have read the two books that come before this one and each book just keeps on getting better! The characters are so well-developed and the friendship between this three women grows in each book as they not only join forces professionally to solve crimes, but they share more of their personal, private lives with each other as well. Each of the women are dealing with things in their personal lives that the readers can relate with at some level and this really makes them real and draws the reader in on an emotional level. This is a must-read for those who love suspense! It is hard to stop reading once you start as you will be drawn into the story and the character's lives!
*I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart of Ice by Lis Wiehl and April Henry

Date:April 4, 2011
The Triple Threat Club is back in Heart of Ice by Lis Wiehl with April Henry. As much as I loved Hand of Fate, I couldn't wait to get my hands on the next installment of this series! I was not disappointed! Cassidy, Nicole, and Allison team up again to investigate a string of crimes in Portland. When they realize that several incidences are related, things begin hitting a little too close to home. Personal issues arise as well and the women must figure out how to balance personal and professional crises.
The faith aspects of this novel are more subtle than some, but it's clear that Allison's faith is her lifeline. Her friends know this about her and alternately resist discussions of faith and requests for prayer and support. I appreciated the realistic way faith is addressed in this novel.
Lis Wiehl and April Henry delivered again with a fantastic novel, intense plot, well-developed characters, and an insanely disturbing villain. I can't wait to read the next novel in the series!
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze blogger review program in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Clean Suspense Thriller

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MyFourMonkeys
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the mood for a suspenseful thriller? Thomas Nelson sent me a copy of the newest book from Fox News legal correspondent Lis Wiehl, Heart of Ice . She once again teams up with veteran mystery novelist, April Henry, to bring us the third book in their Triple Threat series. I read the previous book in this series, Hand of Fate, and couldn't wait to check out the newest installment. I was not disappointed!
Heart of Ice has all the makings of a favorite for me, suspense, action, mystery, and law enforcement fiction. Cassidy, Nicole, and Allison return from previous books to solve another crime wave, and stop a killer in her tracks. Having read the previous book helped me jump right into the story without needing much background. However, I do think you could easily read the book without having read previous books in the series. It only takes a bit to figure out who the three main characters are and their stories.
Although it's labeled Christian fiction, it's not overly religious. In fact, there isn't much mention of it at all. Personally, I enjoy any good novel that's clean and entertaining. This is one of those "you can't put it down" reads.
**Book provided free of charge by Thomas Nelson for the purpose of this review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Heart of Ice, Triple Threat Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great!

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chrissy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elizabeth Avery, the new fitness instructor runs a rigorous workout program. She’s gorgeous, fit, and everything her clients want to be. But what they don’t know is that she’s a manipulative, lying, cunning killer. Cassidy, a TV reporter, Allison, a lawyer, and Nicole, an FBI agent, start to get involved with Elizabeth. They attend her class and Cassidy buddies up to her. But what they don’t know might kill them...
Heart of Ice, Wiehl’s newest released novel, is pure thriller. The genius behind the novel is evident. The intricate detailing of the plot is amazing. The characters are so unique and interesting and you are always cheering them on. Throughout the book, you hope and pray that Cassidy, Allison, and Nicole realize what Elizabeth really is and catch her. This novel is definitely Wiehl’s best piece of work. I highly recommend this book to everybody and anybody.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>