Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1

Thomas Nelson House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1

When the Kings move to a new home in a new town, the house seems odd at first; but things get really strange when they realize that some rooms are portals to other worlds. The Kings face terrifying dangers within the rooms of their home, but it still seems like an adventure until people start coming out of the rooms and into the house. When one of the intruders kidnaps their mother, they must find a way to rescue her-but who would believe such a fantastical story?
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
Review 1 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not What I Expected

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sapphire
Location:Wyoming
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read this book because the mention of time travel in the description intrigued me. Unfortunately, this element doesn't show up until 2/3 through the book, and even then, it's not very extensive.
I also really didn't like the portrayal of gender in this book. The male characters get to go on adventures and try to save the day, but the female characters are always damsels in distress who are purposefully kept out of the loop.
Yet, it's great in the chiller-thriller department. Most tween and teen boys would probably enjoy this book a lot more than I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a good book

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sir Darnly
Location:grants pass, Or
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great book and he is a christian man. that dosent mean he has to have a christian message. but that would be nice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Clever Cliffhanger

Date:June 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
tenayshus
Location:Twin Cities Metro, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a surprisingly good read, with interesting twists, but the ending really *got* me. ARRGGGHHHH!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Why sell it as a Christian book?

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shirl
Location:Oregon
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is only the second book that I have read that was a real disappointment. Yes, the language was clean but I read it expecting some Christian values to be included as in the many, many Christian fiction books that I have read from CBD. I think it is inappropriate that it is even on your web site as people will purchase it not knowing what they are getting. It was an A-1 disappointment. It is the first real negative that I have had on CBD's choices.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
jessieleigh
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My teenage daughter loved this book and cant wait to get the next in the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this eBook!!

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the book, and loved that it was in eBook form!! Definitely want to read more from this author. Don't know if I'll ever read a regular book again! :o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ellen
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It left me hanging... now I have to get the sequel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book.

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
momof2plus3
Location:Enterprise, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. It keeps moving and pulling you in but beware of the ending!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jessica Tomberlin
This is a FANTASTIC series! I read them with my son and daughter and we absolutely love them. We've read through book four (Time Scape) and can't want for the next one. There is so much excitement and action in these stories, and I love that the family works together and obviously love each other (unlike a lot of young adult fiction, which pit kids against grown ups or have some other dysfunction). I want to address an early review: The review criticized this series because there wasn't enough talk about Jesus. Well, I think this is a perfect Christian book. I would rather have stories in which the characters REFLECT God's qualities than PREACH them. These book do exactly that. (I know there is a debate about how much Christian-ese should go into a book from a Christian author/publisher/bookstore, but I do not think that a book that doesn't meet YOUR idea of how much should be in it--but is otherwise a wonderful, CLEAN book--should be slammed. Just my opinion, and I may be biased because my family--and actually a lot of people we know--love these books.)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marcy Lemasters
I have had this book in my possession for quite some time and can't believe I waited this long to read it. It was such a great read. Five stars here!!House of Dark Shadows is set in modern times. It's the story of any typical family (mother, father, two boys and a girl) that makes a move, supposedly due to the father's change in job. The first thing they do is look for a new house. While this may seem like a normal family making a normal change in their lives, the events that unfold around them are anything but normal. The house they find is not what it seems. The spooky adventures they have inside will keep you on the edge of your seat. In a story of heart stopping mystery the two brothers in the book were the constant steady that kept you turning page after page to reveal what happened to them next.Robert Liparulo is quite a story weaver. His style seemed to me like a cross between Frank Peretti and C.S. Lewis. I could not put this book down. While this is the first in a series for youth, I'm definitely going to order the next book so I can see what happens as the mystery continues with this family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Angold
All I can say is what a book. I got it thinking my grand children would like it. However I read stuff like this first just to make sure it is okay for them to read. I have never read anything my Robert Liparulo. I finished this book, and starting Watcher in the Woods, and getting ready to order the Gatekeepers. I love Ted Dekker, and this sorta sounded like him. I'm so glad that I bought it. It is a must read series. Not to scary, which I like, but holds your attention.Hope the grandchildren like it.Karen AngoldVirginia
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anna
The book? House of Dark Shadows, by Robert Liparulo. It is the first book in the Dreamhouse Kings series. It was very good. It's about the King Family, they move from L.A to Pinedale. They move into a old fixer-upper house surrounded by woods, and find out fast that its not all smiles. When they enter the house they find big prints in the dirt on the flooring. Xander, the oldest boy, realizes sounds don't come from the right direction. While Xander and his younger brother are exploring they go into a closet and end up in a locker in their new school. The first night there, they find a man in their house. The next day they lock up everywhere not knowing how he managed to get in. During the night the two boys go wandering through the house, to find a hallway with portals to deathly places. The places are from long ago, and far away places. It is soon becoming his worst nightmare.I liked this book. It kept you on your toes, and was very suspenseful. It did get kinda creepy though, some of the different things that happened, and how different things matched up from the past was really weird. It jumped right into the action from the start. Which was nice, but it didn't explain much. You really have to read the whole book for it to all tie together. There was a big let down in the end, which will make you read the second book in the series, Watcher in the Woods. This book is directed to teens, and Robert Liparulo, the author, did a very nice job. This book tested the boys faith to bring them through to the end. The events that happen separate the families relations but bring them all closer in the end, when they need to work together in order to save one of their family members.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
L. Barretta
I have read book one AND book two and they are not by any means a Christian story. The first book only mentions Jesus once when the boy is nearly killed by a Gladiator and they beginning of the book shows the mother saying she wanted to find a church in their new town. The second book, has no Christian reference except that they say grace at supper ONCE and mention is made again about a church. The author is an adult thriller author and it states on the back of the book that these are his new "teen thriller series". I'm all for adventure and excitement in a book and it doesn't need to drip with Christian rhetoric, but it should at least reflect a Christian thread throughout the story especially when you are purchasing it from a Christian Bookstore.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Audrey
Dreamhouse Kings #1: House of Dark Shadows by Robert Liparulo is an excellent book for young adults. There is nothing inherently "Christian" about the book, but the language is clean which gives it a different feel from your typical thriller books. I did not know what to expect when I opened the book, but the prologue is what really drew me in and kept me reading. The story is told through a fifteen year old boy named Xander. He and his family have just moved to an "off the map" town from the big city. The only solace that he can find in the move is exploring their new house with his younger brother, David. At first they find normal "scary old house" things. Things that just don't settle right with Xander, but it's really nothing worth fretting over. Later in the explorations, the boys find an entire hallway, hidden away, with many doors lined on each side. Once I got to this point it was very hard to put the book down. Until then, it moved a little slowly. It truly was the prologue that made me want to read more. All in all, I would say it is a very good book, but definitely geared to a younger age group.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Renee G
When I opened this book I wasnt sure what to think of it. The back cover made me think it would be something in the style of Frank Peretti - Christian horror. Not being a horror fan, Ive never read Perettis books so I cannot say how they compare. Both the front and back cover illustrations led one to believe the book was written for older teens but after reading it I saw it as more for the middle school set. The book started as many books do, a child is forced to move against their will from the exciting big city to the small town. The plot was predictable - love is found, a new life started then this book took a turn. I loved the use of the old house; the scene of a murder becoming the scene for fantastical adventures. I found the whole premise of the house transporting the teens to different places a bit repetitive at times. I found that the story progressed quickly but at some points was predictable. The ending was infuriating due to its somewhat choppy ending. I know its a series and Ill have to read the sequel but I would have preferred some amount of resolution or conclusion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Fifteen-year-old Xander King is not happy to be moving away from Pasadena, California to live in the tiny town of Pinedale. Everything hes always wanted was in Pasadena: his friends, his girlfriend, Hollywood. An amateur filmmaker, Xander wants to make movies someday, and living in Pinedale isnt going to help. When the Kings finally find a house, its nothing like Xander would have imagined living in, and everything hed expect to see on the silver screen. Haunted isnt quite the right word, but sounds come from the wrong direction, strange footprints appear that are too big to belong to any of the Kings, and the linen closet teleports him to locker 119 at his new school. Something is beyond weird with the house, but the weirdness, along with the houses historythe previous owner killed his wife thirty years beforeintrigues Xander and his brother David. The two decide to explore a little more and discover not only that the house has a strange connection to their family; it also can put all their lives in danger.What an intriguing premise for a book. Ive read nothing like it in the young adult genre. Xander and Dave are very well-written. I enjoyed their differences, similarities, and relationship as brothers. This is the first book Ive read by Robert Liparulo and I am hooked. The man can tell a great story. House of Dark Shadows kept me spellbound, unable to stop reading until I got to the end of the book, only to find these words: Not the end. No! Well, thankfully, I have the next book already. Whew! Highly recommended, but a little scary. Read with caution.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise Greenacre
The drama created in House of Dark Shadows, a spine-tingling young adult thriller, is everyones worst nightmare. I couldnt put it down and Im not a young adult. It kind of hits home if youve ever moved to a new house, a new school and /or job, in a new town thinking that the excitement of the new adventure was going to be great, only to experience strangeness right off the bat!The King family is a normal family moving to a new town so Dad King could take his new teaching position in the school. During the house hunting process the kids had mixed feelings about the dream house their mother fell in love with. The old Victorian house held lots of secrets, but the twist at the end shows a key character kept the best, potentially fatal, secret.If you love mysteries and thrillers you will be spellbound when you read House of Dark Shadows!This is the first book in the Dreamhouse Kings Series. Now, it is a must read to get a copy of the sequel, Watcher in the Woods!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
LC Kerr
House of Dark Shadows is a gripping, edge-of-your-seat book for young people. The King family moves from L.A. to a small secluded town. The father has taken a job in the school and the family needs to find a home. What they find is something totally different. Xander, David and Toria along with their parents are in for an adventure as they move into a home that is in a secluded, wooded area. On first arrival, they almost miss the house. They then realize that there is no walkway or driveway up to the house along with some other eerily odd things. The family falls in love with the house its Victorian styling and its size and the fact that the children can have their own rooms! Everyone is busy cleaning and putting away when David finds a closet that opens to locker 119 in the school. Then, after chasing a shadow to the attic, they find a hall with many doors leading to different places. The boys both try different doors in this hallway with nightmarish results. Xander, who believes he is a budding film-maker, tries to video some of the oddities, but only ends up with static. Eventually the entire family is drawn in to the odd happenings. The book ends with the houses darkest secret revealed and has the reader ready to dig into the next book. Good reading Chronicles of Narnia meets Goosebumps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
E.A. West
Thomas Nelson has published another excellent book, this one for teens. House of Dark Shadows by Robert Liparulo is a wild ride of teenage angst over moving six hundred miles from everything familiar, a new house with weird vibes, and hidden rooms that lead to far-flung times and places. Fifteen-year-old Xander King is convinced his life is over when his parents decide to move the family from L.A. to a secluded small town. While house-hunting, the Kings look at a huge house surrounded by creepy woods at the end of a road. Everyone loves the place, except for Xander. In addition to being surrounded by the creepiest woods hes ever seen, things dont behave normally inside the house. Sounds come from the wrong direction, people arent where they seem to be, and the house itself makes strange noises.The Kings move into their dream house and things get even weirder. The linen closet leads to locker one-nineteen in Pinedale Middle and Senior High School. A secret door in the upstairs hallway leads to an impossibly long hallway lined with doorsdoors that lead to portals to distant places and times.House of Dark Shadows is packed with vibrant descriptions that bring the story to life. Its easy to get drawn into the story and experience everything along with Xander and his younger brother David. And the ending leaves the reader hanging and begging for more. As the last page says, NOT THE END... Thankfully, House of Dark Shadows is only Book 1 of Dreamhouse Kings, so those who are waiting in suspense to find out what happens next can read Book 2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for House of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1
This review is fromHouse of Dark Shadows, Dreamhouse Kings Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becky
I work in a high school with very reluctant readers, so I am always on the lookout for good young adult fiction and HOUSE OF DARK SHADOWS, by Robert Liparulo, fits the bill. Theres an element of horror and some suspense and fantasy, all of which go over well with young adult readers.Fifteen-year-old Xander King is not happy about the move his family is making from L.A. to rural Pinedale. He is moving away from his friends and from what he sees as his chance to become a film maker. Xander knows his dad has a reason for moving the family, but he wonders if its a good one, particularly since his dad says he cant get into it. Yet.In their search for a house, the Kings come across a run-down Victorian, and thats when weird things start happening. Sounds are distorted like they are in a fun house at a carnival. Theres a mystery intruder reminiscent of Bigfoot. Xander and his brother, David, are even transported from place to place. The house is affordable for the Kings, but is that because a woman was murdered there long ago and no one else wants it? Will the weird things that are happening lead to murder again?I enjoyed reading about the different things the King children discovered in the house of dark shadows. Xander and his brother David adapt to each change they encounter, and their bravery is certainly something that would keep my students reading. I didnt expect the plot twist at the endor not the endand I am ready to go out and find the next book in the series. Now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>