Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3

Thomas Nelson Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3

Gracie has spent her life running from her problems. This time, they found her.

After fleeing from her father and ex-fiance' via the nearest train, Gracie Lister and her daughter escape to a small town in W. Texas to begin their life anew. Gracie finds work tending to Lieutenant Michael's children, since he's a single dad and dedicated soldier. Their relationship soon takes a different twist. Gracie's fiance' catches up to her and serious trouble is not far behind Lieutenant Michael.

Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
2 out of 450%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Review 1 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lois
Location:Bluff City, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great book. Love them all. Shows how to live as christains.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting Storyline

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missy McClure
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book had an intersting storyline to begin the story, but it seemed to become disconnected. The different aspects of Gracie's rescue were not developed well and in this reviewer's mind, happened much too quickly to be believable. As the story continues to unfold, her ex-fiance's search for her is brought to a conclusion much too quickly. The fact that all is tied to her rescuer and his brother's murder were brought together, but seemed to be really haphazard. I actually enjoyed the book and it was a very quick read. I've not read any of the other books in the series and don't know that I will.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A pleasant little story

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabethd
Location:France
Gender:female
This book is part of a trilogy, but is quite readable on its own.
It is 'Christian fiction', and that is where I began to be disappointed.
The story of Gracie's rescue, her involvement with the man who helped her,
the search by her evil ex fiance, is a little too facile. I found that there were some 'loose ends'. Gracie's synesthesia is mentioned several times, but when her daughter shows signs of having this also it is not developed.
God is mentioned in a few places, but I never had the feeling that the whole story rested on
a Christian base. I could not say that my faith was challenged by this book.
I enjoyed the descriptions of the Texas countryside, somewhere the author obviously knows well.
I would read her other books, just for comparison, but for me, I'd prefer something a little deeper..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series is great

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wahine
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This series is great. Enjoyed all three books very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
I usually like Colleen Coble's books. But, this one she just kept repeating the same thing over and over again for about 10 chapters. She just kept saying it a different way. I got bored with the book really fast. I wanted to finish it to see what happens and I did. It was just not a good book from such a great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul And Jean Tye
I have this series and love the books. This one was great too. I loved all the adventure and mystery. I highly recommend this book and the whole series. Colleen Coble is a fantastic writer. I found the book full of excitement, heartbreaking at times and a great ending. I greatly enjoy Colleen Coble's books and her walk with the Lord and how she brings that out in her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Orr
I have read many Christian fiction stories and must say that Colleen Coble's Lonestar Series really made me feel like I was right in Texas with all the characters. She is a wonderful storyteller! It's my favorite time of night to curl up in bed with her books! Please keep them coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pat Sweeney
Great story line..love a mystery..keeps your attention from first line to end of book! Readall 3 books in series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Skalla
Usually I stick to historical novels. However, I had already started this series,so wanted to finish it as I had liked the first one. Colleen is a good author and weaves a good story with marriage of convenience as a part of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Psmith
Gracie is settling for her daughter, Hope. She's sure she's doing the right thing by marrying Cid and providing a father for Hope. Then everything starts going wrong. Men show up and tell her he's suspected of helping smugglers and she's in danger. She doesn't know anything and decides to run in order to keep Hope safe. The bullets start flying before she can pack. Gracie and Hope start over with nothing. They meet Michael. He has Gracie take care of his children. He isn't sure what she's hiding from, but her references check out so she gets to stay ... for now.Michael has problems of his own. He's a soldier who came back from overseas because his ex-wife died. His brother was killed by the smugglers in the area and he's training to be a border control agent too.This story packs a lot of action and tension. The characters are thrown together because they both had a need but neither trusts the other. They both have enemies and withhold information about them. One of the things that makes the book the most best is the characters. Both are complex people with issues from their past and present. Michael has to learn how to be a dad after being away. Gracie tells him that "they are not small soldiers." He has to try and keep his family safe from the threats of Vargas, the man responsible for his brother's death and deal with his own desire to exact revenge.Gracie is not sure what to think about Cid. She ran away before she could find out what happened and he keeps calling. She has a father she hasn't spoken to since she became pregnant with Hope and guilt about what happened to her mother that she has never come to grips with. One of the things that makes her most unusual that she can see and taste sounds. It's called synesthesia.What started out as convenience leads to something else and soon the two will stand together against whatever comes against their family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katharine Macdonald
Love receiving my packages from Christianbook.com. This story was exciting and energetic. Colleen Coble always keeps my on the edge with her storylines
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherry Woods
This was just like all the other Colleen Coble books, ITWAS GREAT! I enjoyed reading every one of her books so far and will watch for new books to come out. Colleen is one of my favorite authors in Christian Fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Artsy Abbi
Lonestar Homecoming is a story about a single mother named Gracie who has made many poor choices. She has a tendency to run from the result of her poor choices and she has run away from God too. At the beginning of the book we find her running, without money and still needing to care for her 5 year old daughter. Former soldier, Michael, comes to the rescue and their future gets tied together far more than they ever imagined. This book is full of drama, love and facing your problems.This books story line is not very realistic but it was fun easy reading anyway. I found this to be a pretty wholesome book. Christianity wasnt mentioned that much, but I appreciated the fact that even though this is a love story that there wasnt anything that I found to be improper in the love story. This is very unusual even for a Christian book. I enjoyed some of the discussions in the book about child rearing and making choices and thought there was some good insight. If you are looking for some easy reading, that will keep you absorbed, I recommend this book. If you are looking for something deep this would not be the one.I recieved this book free from Thomas Nelson for reviewing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gracie Winterton
Gracie Lister has learned, through the years, that running from problems is the only way to solve them. Now she's running to West Texas from a drug cartel and an evil ex-fiance, possessing nothing but five dollars to feed her daughter with. When knight-in-shining-armor Michael Wayne offers her a ride, it turns into much more.Several things killed this book for me. One is a syndrome I'll call Over-Rationalizing. (Say it slowly with me...) Repeatedly, Gracie and Michael are weakly forced into their course of action. It's like the author doesn't provide a strong motivation, so she uses a character's words to try to convince me. For example, when Michael is trying to convince me/his conscience that he should marry, a secondary character advises him to be finding a wife. (It also shocked me that the idea to get married first occurs to the hero in chapter 7 and he's married by the end of chapter 8. Abruptness.) Something else that bugged me is that the beginning foreshadows a traitor who will be someone we trust (a red herring), but when that traitor appears, it's a character who hasn't been previously mentioned. Someone we haven't even heard of before.On the other hand, Coble indeed had me convinced that Gracie was going to die and Michael was going to have to start over finding a girl to marry. And being convinced one character is going to die is the mark of a good romantic suspense novel, is it not?Thanks to Thomas Nelson for my complimentary review copy of Lonestar Homecoming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jackie Buck
I hace enjoyed reading all books that I have gotten from this author and others through CBD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam
Lonestar Homecoming By Colleen CobleGracie Lister and her daughter, Hope, meet Michael Wayne at a train station in their wedding finery. Only Gracie has been wearing her wedding dress for two days and running from her fianc. As Michael comes to the rescue, he could only dream of what hes in for. After a marriage of convenience, Michael and Gracie must learn to trust each other and to trust God. Especially when the Mexican cartel comes looking for Gracie and Hope. I had previously read Lonestar Sanctuary and Lonestar Secrets and was looking forward to the release of Lonestar Homecoming. Colleen Coble did not disappoint and this book will be added to my collection. Coble draws out great ways for married couples to work at their marriage, rather than being selfish and casting blame on the spouse. God is always present throughout the story, both in characters that are steadfast, as well as those that struggle with trusting God. I highly recommend this book to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trish
This is the first modern fiction book I have read in quite some time now. I am not a personal fan of romances, nor mystery/thrill books even if they are Christian. Those reason can be saved for another post.That said, I do need to say that Colleen Coble is very good at drawing the reader into her story, and quickly. The scene is set early and in this case we find a young single mama dressed in a wedding gown. Events take place rapidly causing her to run with her daughter $5 and the gown she is wearing. She heads out of town and meets a man who steps up and helps her daughter and herself.Overall the book was okay. Not my favorite most certainly. Unlike some of the other Christian fiction I have read over the years this one has a tiny smattering of faith in it. Honestly, that was a bit disappointing, a prayer or two and a coming back to God at one point was about it.The other issue is it was too graphic near the end, reminding me of modern day TV (which I don't watch). It certainly will be something most readers will like, but personally I didn't like it much. It wasn't sweet enough for my taste, although there were very touching parts throughout the book.As I said though, the author writes in a way that draws you in. I read it in one evening and did have the "I want to find out what happens" feeling throughout. Although, the plot was fairly easy to figure out.I review books for Thomas Nelson's Book Review program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emme
the book that I am reviewing today is Lonestar Homecoming by Colleen Coble. An interesting book, yes, but captivating? Not so much. The plot is intriguing, at best. A woman, Gracie, Ill call her, runs away from her family, taking her daughter with her, runs away and starts a new life. Dont all soap operas begin this way? A single mom struggling to feed her waif-thin daughter and herself, suddenly falling in love, and all seems to be well until her past catches up with her. Bor-ring. Im not going to spoil the few plot points and ideas here, so Ill keep it short and simple. This is a very Christianized book. I am Christian, but I dont always need to have God shoved down my throat. The characters dont seem to have thoughts of their own and the plot was predictable. The imagery and description, I did like. It was very well written, but none of the characters, especially the main one, Gracie, seem to have been developed, or even change throughout the story. Inspiring? Not one bit. A good read for the bus ride to work? Sure. So would I recommend this book? Yes, but dont expect anything spectacular.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lonestar Homecoming, Lonestar Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Randi
It is such a great book to read if you like romance mystery and country western stuff I would definitly recommend this book.. The way the characters speak about God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.