Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Never Let You Go

Thomas Nelson Never Let You Go

After her estranged husband, Grant, tries to re-enter her life, Lexi is determined to keep him away from their daughter, Molly---especially now that a drug dealer is demanding payment for Grant's debts. But the "seen" is only the tip of the iceberg. It's the invisible evil powers that threaten Lexi's world. Will heaven help her? 320 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Never Let You Go
Review 1 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4 stars

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Plot: This was a very spiritual story. You can feel it from the beginning, but it's not confirmed until the end. The things that Lexi goes through in the week that this story takes place are nothing short of divine encounters and spiritual warfare. It's hard to say much without giving anything away.
Characters: You learn about the characters what you need to know for the story to unfold, however, you don't really know the characters.
Themes: The theme of this book was forgiveness. Lexi's biggest struggle in life is forgiving the people who have so greatly wronged her. She has to forgive herself, too, for she blames most of her problems on her own actions.
Emotion: There were times during this book, especially in the beginning, when certain characters came in to play, I was honestly scared. I could feel the deception and confusion that the character brought jumping off the page.
Overall: This book was very interesting to read and very hard to put down. I would sit down to read one chapter and found myself unable to stop. The spiritual side of the book made it easy to get wrapped up in and you always want to know what's going to happen next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

first time for this author

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gran
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book I have read by this author and I enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Edgy Christian Fiction

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: Never Let You Go - Erin Healey - May 201
Losing everything can knock the wind out of you and it can take years to reclaim what you had before and sometimes you will never be able to reclaim what you have lost. For Lexi Solomon, seven years ago she had everything she ever wanted , a family, a husband and a daughter. That all changed the day her sister Tara was murdered. Her husband walked out on her , the guy she had a brief affair with was arrested for murder , her father ended up in a mental institution and her mother decided to jet-set around the world and take up a job as a travelling food critic. Now seven years later , the life Lexi has built for her and her nine-year old daughter is about to come crumbling down and if they are not careful , then it is about to become literally a living nightmare as Lexi is being stalked by her ex-husband Grant's crazy friend Ward who wants Lexi all to himself and if he doesn't then it's bye-bye Molly , Norman the guy who killed Lexi's sister and the guy Lexi had a brief affair with is about to be let out on parole and to top it off Lexi's mother Alice and ex-husband Grant are back in town and they both want to get to re-know Molly. Can Lexi survive this nightmare or is Ward about to take it up a notch with kidnapping ? . Where is God when you need him the most , it seems though that God is keeping an eye out for Lexi and Molly as he delivers her in the form of a hunky guy - a human angel of sorts - Michaelangelo . Can Angelo be Lexi's Knight in Shining armour and help her through this dark time before the darkness starts to consume her ? Never Let You Go explores the high-stakes decisions played out in the thin spaces between heaven and earth.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Never Let You Go by Erin Healy is a poignant and frightening look at the harsh consequences of unforgiveness. Lexi Solomon is struggling to make ends meet as a single mom to nine-year-old Molly. When her estranged husband Grant shows up, followed by her drug dealer friend Warden, Lexi's life is suddenly thrown into turmoil, especially when Warren threatens to hurt Molly if Lexi doesn't speak at the parole hearing of her sister's murderer, Norman, in an attempt to get him freed from prison early. Lexi's history is complicated and she is quickly overwhelmed and trapped by the demands of Warden and her fears of losing Molly for good. Healy, who has written terrific thrillers with Ted Dekker, puts her experience to good use here. Readers will feel torn for Lexi's sake. She seems to be trapped by her past, and with every turn of the page, her situation just gets worse and worse. Warden is a terrifying villain who is always one step ahead of Lexi. There are spiritual elements, but Healy keeps them to just the right level. It keeps readers guessing and creates tension and fear without overusing it. Lexi is presented with a powerful choice, one that readers face on a daily basis, although not as extreme as hers, and there's an excellent message in it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura
Never Let You Go is the story of Lexi Solomon. Tragedy had hit her family seven years ago and she had done her best to scrape out a living for herself and her 9-year-old daughter, Molly. Lexi thought that things were going well until an old, unsavory friend, Warden Pavo, decided to make an appearance and brought some surprising news for Lexi: her husband, who had walked out on his family, was back in town and wanted to see Molly. Among that news was that her sister's murderer, Norman Von Ruden was up for parole and Ward wanted Lexi to testify on Norm's behalf. From that point on, everything Lexi thought was under control was suddenly thrown into chaos.This book was absolutely amazing. It told the story of Lexi Solomon and what she did to make sure that Hell wouldn't loosen her grip on everything she held dear. With the help of a mysterious stranger, Angelo, who always seemed to be in the right place at the right time, Lexi was hoping that everything would work out fine and that her life could get back to normal, and if possible, actually improve as well. Lexi was trying to hold onto everything she held dear, but Hell was trying to loosen her grip. Heaven was trying to tell Lexi that they would never let her go.If you love the edge of your seat thrillers by Ted Dekker and the relational drama of Karen Kingsbury, then Never Let You Go by Erin Healy is definitely the book for you!Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
'Never Let You Go' by Erin Healy is a supernatural mystery/thriller and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the entire story! Lexi is a single mother whose past has come back to haunt her in the form of her husband Grant, who abandoned her seven years earlier, as well as drug dealer Warden. Another character who emerges from her past is Norman, who is in prison for murdering Lexi's sister years earlier, an event that fractured and divided Lexi's entire family. Lexi has spent years working multiple jobs to survive, and will do anything to keep her precious daughter Molly safe. There are many complex characters in this book, and the author does a great job of having you guessing who is on the side of good or evil. This is one of those books where you have to pay close attention to everything that is happening or you may miss an important clue. It is definitely not a light read. The end of the book is very intense, and I recommend reading this book for yourself. I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their bloggers program and was not required to write a positive review.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Brown
I am a Ted Dekker fan and enjoyed the works of Ted Dekker and Erin Healy so I bought Never Let You Go. It began rather slowly, but then picked up very quickly. The characters were believable and the line between good and evil clearly marked. The spiritual war over our pasts and bondage and God's redeeming grace are very much made real. GOOD BOOK!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Erin pulled off a great book intertwining the natural and supernatural. The evil side will steal, kill and destroy while the Good side brings life abundantly, just not necessarily the way you may envision it.Choices had been made that destroyed a family, leaving Lexi Solomon to raise their daughter alone. Her love for her daughter was her life. Throughout her circumstances, she had hope things would work out. However, when her husband returns and wishes to visit their daughter, the evil side resumes the devastating circumstances that leaves Lexi wondering if she is losing it.After reading the book, one does not need a reminder that there are bridges between the seen and unseen elements of our lives. The plot keeps you riveted to your chair to see how the story finishes out! Episodes leave you breathless, wondering, too, if any of this could be real.The two main themes for me are choices and hope mixed with supernatural interference. Will you listen to Good or evil? Will you allow evil to overtake you, or allow the Good to set you free? Its YOUR choice! All of life is made up of choices. Let Erin reveal to you all the choices made by her characters in her novel and how they turned outwho chose evil and who chose Good. Im confident youll enjoy her book! This was my first book by Erin, but it wont be my last!Erins Recent Works:BurnKissThis book was provided by the author for my personal, honest review. My thanks to Erin for the opportunity to read and share a great book with you, the readers.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
The past is coming back to haunt Lexi Solomon. Warden Pavo, a con-man and drug dealer she hasn't seen for years, tells Lexi she must testify at Norman Von Ruden's parole hearing. Norm had killed Lexi's sister Tara seven years earlier. The consequence if she doesn't testify? Warden will go after her daughter, Molly. About the same time, Lexi's estranged husband, Grant, comes back to town requesting a reunion with Molly. Throw in Lexi's parents, Barrett and Alice, her roommate, Gina, an insanely tall stranger, Angelo, and you have quite an array of characters. Amidst this convoluted array of characters, Erin Healy's solo debut is a psychological thriller, meant to mess with your mind rather than threaten your life. Honestly, I was confused for the first ten chapters, trying to figure out the ties between all the characters. Lexi starts seeing, reading, even smelling things that other people don't. It all comes from Warden, playing tricks on her. He says he's going to punish Molly for Lexi's sins. Angelo advises Lexi not to listen to Warden, but to listen to love. I thought it was a decent novel. After the confusing beginning came the predictable middle. Several things I suspected came about. However, I was waiting for the "heart-pounding suspense" and I didn't find myself "glued to the pages" as the endorsements claim. The climax was a bit exciting and there were a few little twists I wasn't expecting, but not "heart-pounding suspense." More like, "I wasn't expecting that! Let's see where it goes." Overall, a good story with a good message. But if you want the wild ride of an extremely suspenseful story, this isn't it. Based on the Parable of the Unforgiving Debtor found in Matthew 18, Never Let You Go is all about what's worth holding on to. Thomas Nelson Inc provided this book for review.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nanny Berry
Never Let You Go, isn't what I expected. From the blurb I expected a thrill ride and got a mild shock. There was so much potential in this book. Yet none are realized. With Warden you have thriller potential- blackmail, kidnapping, drugs etc. All good stuff, but then the Ms. Healy tosses in her paranormal aspects. Here's the problem with this, she never fully explains what these people are. Are they demons or just evil spirits? Is Angelo an angel or just a good samaritan who knows how to deal with evil creatures? Also what was the deal with Craven and Mort, you never really find out. It's like their just extras, I could see ways to work the book without these two being mentioned. While all these things keep you wondering they're also left hanging, I guess these really aren't pressing issues in the book, but personally I have a problem with loose ends.Lexi is a good well rounded character, and has her flaws which makes her more realistic. My only complaint with her is that she was a whiner. I felt after everything she'd been through she would've been stronger more able to deal with what was happening. She also needed to know when to ask for help, carrying the world on her shoulders and keeping secrets isn't a good combo. Ms.Healy did an excellent job with her mothering side, showing how much she cares and the lengths a mom will go to protect her child.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Scott
Never Let You Go by Erin Healy (suspense) This is the first book I have and reviewed. I have never heard of Erin Healy or read any of her books. I was pleasantly surprised and hope to read more by Erin in the future. The main character is Lexi, a single mom, struggling to make ends meet. Living from pay check to pay check. Her daughter, Molly, is her reason for living. They were abandoned by her husband, Grant, seven years before. Her sister, Tara, was murdered, her Mother has been a thorn in her side and her Father has lost touch with reality since the murder of his daughter.The story unfolds with the arrival of a sinister man from her past. Old wounds, resentment, unforgivness, secrets, guilt, and regret are stirred up by his arrival. It is a story of Good versus Evil, and how God works to heal all of these things. There are alot of twist and turns but, in the end, God's love prevails. The old wounds are healed, resentment is forgiven, secrets brought to light, and guilt and regret are erased. Families are reunited and Evil was overcome by God's love in Lexi.I definetly enjoyed the book and will recommend it to others!Thomas Nelson Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. In return I have written an honest review, be it good or bad, in my own words. Posted by Pamela at 10:56 PM 0 comments Home Subscribe to: Posts (Atom)
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica @ Domesticated Bliss
I started and stopped writing this review at least 3 times before getting past the first sentence. Why, you ask? This book was nothing like what I expected. I'm having a bit of a hard time summarizing the plot in a way that will be beneficial to potential readers. I'm trying to keep this review concise, but the storyline is scattered, I mean all over the place, so it's difficult for me to pick a jumping off point.Essentially the story centers around the main character, Lexi Gruggen Solomon and a tragedy her family suffered seven years ago. A parole hearing sets everything into motion and several characters are all thrown into the mix. Lexi is emotionally closed off to everyone except her daughter Molly who she works 2 jobs to support and would do anything necessary to protect her. A critical character in the book in Warden Pavo who is the 'bad guy' who is out to punish Lexi for some unknown reason. She spends much of the rest of the book trying to get away from him but he is cunning and always seems to be one step ahead of her.Somewhere about halfway throught the story the author lost me. The premise of the book seemed to take a turn toward the supernatural and things begin to happen that don't get explained properly and the reader is left to assume the meaning of things and draw their own conclusions. Characters are introduced and not supported, it is messy.I think the author's ultimate goal was to draw a parallel between good and evil and teach the reader about God's plan and giving into faith and love, but I don't believe this goal was attained. I give this book a C-.http://www.domesticated-bliss.blogspot.com
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea
"Never Let You Go" by Erin Healy...I picked this book because the synopsis intrigued me. So did the fact that Erin has worked with Ted Dekker on a couple of books. And, I wasn't disappointed!"Never Let You Go" is the story of Lexi, a single mom struggling to make ends meet and provide for her daughter, Molly. Lexi's husband left them years ago during a very difficult time for her family. Lexi is barely holding it together but does her best. And then everything begins to unravel. Unsavoury old friends begin appearing in her life, making threats. Her husband appears suddenly and unexpectedly, wanting to get to know his daughter. And Lexi needs to quickly sort out the truth from the lies if she's going to survive.This book kept me up at night wanting to read more. The story moves quickly, the characters develop, and you realize that there is much more going on than you think. It's been a long time since I've read a book that I couldn't put down.If you like Ted Dekker, Frank Peretti, or just a good story that keeps you reading, I strongly recommend this book. I look forward to reading another book by Erin Healy!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela Winters
This is the story of Lexi, a young, single mom who has been let down by life. She struggles to make ends meet to take care of her precious daughter Molly. When people from her past reappear, Lexi is taken in by a sequence of events that make her think she is losing it.This is a suspenseful story with many psychological twists and turns. It contains a large amount of symbolism of good versus evil. Although this was an interesting book, it was a bit weird in places. It took several chapters for background information on several characters to be revealed. Therefore, I spent a good bit of my time reading and wondering, Who are these people?The writer did a great job of setting the scene. I felt as if I knew the mountain town of Crags Nest as well as my own. The overall message of the novel was that when we consult love, we will triumph over evil. Erin Healy has written with Ted Dekker in the past. Her writing style is very similar to his in my opinion. Although this wasnt my favorite book, it was still a worthy read.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Poor Lexi! For seven years, shes been acting as a single mom, trying to rebuild a safe and happy life for herself and her daughter. Working two jobs and sharing an apartment with her lifelong best friend who watches Molly in exchange for rent, Lexi is exhausted.Suddenly, though, her past comes back to haunt her with a vengeance. Her husband returns as mysteriously as he disappeared, wanting to rebuild the relationship with his family. Her estranged mother interferes, pushing this to happen. The man who murdered her sister is up for parole, and the man who led her husband into the world of drug addiction and dealing threatens her daughter in an attempt to force her to testify on that mans behalf.A fairly new Christian, Lexi struggles desperately to understand where God is in the midst of these multiple threats, clinging to her daughter with determination to preserve and protect.If you havent guessed yet, this book was hard to set down! Erin Healys first solo novel is intense; it was so fun to read. Yet the message of hope and forgiveness and restoration and Gods faithfulness through all His children face came clearly through at the books perfect end.Im happy to recommend this read. Thank you, Thomas Nelson, for sending a copy for my review.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jordan Wright
"Losing everything has Lexi clinging to her daughter. Hell is determined to loosen her grip."A villain know to some as the Warden. A woman who needs to let go, but can't forgive the mistakes of others. A supporting cast populated by a lovable little girl, a crazy father who may know more than we think, a husband who wants to make up for his mistakes, a mother-in-law who tries to fix the lives of others, but needs to look to her own, and a hero who has some secrets of his own to add to the mix. Oh yeah, and there's the mortician-I mean, Mort.This wonderful book is the perfect blend for fans of Perreti and Dekker. It's a Perreti plot, written in the suspenseful style of Dekker. But that's not to say it's dark. Oh no. To quote Mr. Dekker himself, "...unrelenting hope that will steal your breath."This book is full to the brim with hope. Never once do we doubt that it all has to work out in the end, but there are a few times we know things are getting dicey.And, there's the villain. Think of him as the Joker, except that you learn to hate him with a passion. As we explore the depths of even the villains heart, we come to realize just how high stakes a single choice can be: Lexi is going to have to let go of something. Will it be her daughter?Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelley
Lexi Solomon is a single mom working two jobs barely holding everything together when the foundation of her carefully constructed life is shaken by the appearance of three men from her past: Grant Solomon, her husband who disappeared seven years ago; Norman Von Ruden, her ex-lover who murdered her sister; and Warden Pavo, an old acquaintance who claims Lexi owes him an unpaid debt. At the center of the storm swirling around Lexi stands her daughter, Molly. Lexis relationship with Molly is threatened by Grants renewed interest in being a father to their daughter, by Wardens threats to reveal the secrets of Lexis past to her daughter and most frighteningly by unseen supernatural forces that convince Lexi that Mollys life is at stake. When Lexi finally learns to release the bitterness in her heart and to forgive others, she is able to defeat the evil that seeks to overcome the love she has for her daughter. Never Let You Go is a fast-paced book with an intriguing storyline. It tackles some pretty heavy topics such as the role of the supernatural within the natural world as well as the issue of generational sin. Healy makes the important point that taking the hard steps toward forgiving those who have harmed us ultimately leads to our own freedom. Although the end of the book tends toward predictability, for the most part I found this book to be entertaining and thought-provoking, particularly if you enjoy the fiction of authors such as Ted Dekker or Frank Peretti. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
i was really excited to get a fiction book this time. and honestly this one was amazing! i loved it so much it was such a quick read, in the first couple hours that i got it in the mail i had read 125 pages into it already. it was THAT good it just pulls you in. if i hadn't of not read it for a couple of days i'm sure i would have read it all the way through the first day i got it. but alas i had to put it down unfortunately. but yeah this book super amazing you never know whats gonna happen next and its such a good thrilling book you just have to read this one its great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
cindy
Never Let You Go by Erin Healy tells the story of Lexi and the turns in her life that brought her to where she is today. Her sister was brutally murdered. Her mother and husband abandoned her. Her father entered a mental hospital. She was left alone to deal with the wounds left by those around her. All at once, her past comes colliding into her present. Her husband returns, with the help of her mother. The man who murdered her sister is up for parole, and a polarizing figure from her past is threatening her.Overall, I found this book different than anything else I have ever read. I had a very difficult time getting into the book at first since there were VERY MANY characters introduced in a short period of time and they all had back stories with Lexi that were not explained the first time we meet the characters. At the conclusion of the book, I enjoyed the overall themes contained within its pages: such as the message of the importance of Faith in your life. Although I dont know if I would choose to read a book along these lines again, I did enjoy reading about the types of struggles people may face in their life. It made me a little more aware of the devastating effects a life ruled by drugs may have on not only the individual themselves, but everyone involved in their lives.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Never Let You Go
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
Never Let You Go is a very suspenseful book, it is one of those books where you just never know what is coming next. I've read Erin Healy books that were written with Ted Dekker and so I was happy to read this book and like it just as much as Kiss and Burn. This book has everything from the supernatural to the spiritual pulling the Lexie in all directions. this book was provided to me for review from BookSneeze
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>