Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Baker's Wife

Thomas Nelson The Baker's Wife

If what doesn't kill you makes you stronger, why is Audrey getting weaker by the day? It's been a rough year for Audrey's family. Her husband Geoff, a pastor, lost his job after a scandal rocked their congregation. Audrey's never lost faith. She's held her family together. Their attempt to resurrect a failing bakery is an effort to heal the family wounds and restore their place in the community.

Late to the bakery one dim, foggy morning, Audrey strikes a vehicle that she can't see even after the collision settles. Emerging from her car into the fog, she discovers that she's hit a motor scooter. There's no rider in sight. There's blood though, so much so that she slips in it and injures her wrists.

The absence of the scooter driver is a mystery, especially to Sergeant Jack Mansfield, the detective and church member who drove Geoff from his pulpit. The scooter belongs to Jack's wife, Julie, a teacher at the local high school. She has vanished like morning fog.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 2488%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Baker's Wife
Review 1 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alison
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the “Baker’s Wife”. It kept me intrigued from beginning to end! Highly recommend it! I’m looking forward to reading more by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Thriller!

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book with good expectations. Well, lets just say it went above and beyond them. From family issues to the captivating story line, this book will keep you up at night. If you are looking for another book to read, buy this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Baker's Wife
This review is fromThe Baker's Wife - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely a page turner!

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
AndreaLisa
Location:Belize, C.A
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Baker's Wife is a great work of fiction, full of mystery and suspense. As the title suggests the main character in this book is Audrey, the wife of a former pastor. After he was kicked out of the church due to a scandal, they opened up a small bakery. Audrey was involved in an accident where Julie, the wife of a detective just disappeared without a trace, just lots of blood.
The mystery continues to deepen and I had a hard time walking away from this book. The author did a wonderful job with describing the scenery, the atmosphere and characters in the book. The suspense was great, I couldn't figure out how the book would end or what would happen next! It's definitely a page turner.
Throughout this book, Audrey's faith and learning to listen to that small still voice was remarkable. It made me wonder how many opportunities I had missed because of ignoring or not paying attention to that small still voice. I also loved how their family kept close and stayed tight together through such a trying time.
Now remember that it is a work of fiction and some of the experiences that Audrey had I found to be a bit weird but I could easily over look it because of how good the book was. I was a bit disappointed with the ending of the book, in one way I didn’t want it to end yet and on the other hand I was hoping for a more in depth ending.
However, I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery and stories of working your way through hardships. It really is a great read.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very interesting story. Again, I'm amazed by the way the author tells a story. The pace is not fast, but not too slow that will make you lost interest. The author has her unique way on slowly revealing more and more on the characters throughout the whole book. I like Geoff, Audrey and Ed. They did not give up and still trust the God despite what had happened to them. On the other hand, Jack was blaming others on what had happened thinking he's right. Just because he's an detective, did not do any things that's against the law does not mean he's always right and deserved only good things.
This book is a Christian fiction. It's a book about hope, having faith, healing and forgiveness. I enjoy reading this book very much. I rate it 4 out of 5 stars.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Baker's Wife- a great recipe for a great read!

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m a multi-tasker. I like to kill the proverbial 2 birds with one stone. And so that is exactly what I did while reading The Baker’s Wife by Erin Healy. I headed to the gym, jumped on the elliptical and started reading away. For me it’s a win-win situation, because my body gets that much needed work out in and my mind is otherwise engaged – perfect. Lest you think that I didn’t really get a great workout while reading this book, I will tell you that because of the intensity of the book, the pacing, really engaging characters, and truly intriguing storyline, I found the pages turning, heart rate up, and an hour and 627 calories burned later, a great workout for sure, not to mention a great and suspenseful read. As I doubt that you are really interested in my workout habits, let me just say that once again I have found Erin Healy’s writing to be quite captivating by giving her characters such fascinating back stories. She artfully weaves her story together a little at a time till all the pieces come together to produce quite a fascinating and beautifully done story.
Geoff and Audrey Bofinger are former Pastor and Pastor’s wife stripped of their positions at the local church in Cornucopia, CA, by a man named Jack Mansfield who accused the Pastor of something that he didn’t do. The Pastor and Pastor’s wife turn Into Baker and Baker’s wife as they try to pull their lives together and buy a local bakery in town. Sadly, Audrey is involved in an auto meets scooter accident that Jack feels has to do with his wife Julie’s disappearance. The accident scene is filled with lots of blood, but no body. Jack is convinced that the Bofinger’s, Audrey in particular, have master minded an evil plot that will somehow explain Julie’s disappearance and so he takes matters into his own hands and something snaps as He seeks to bring God’s justice to the Bofingers.
Audrey is a special character in this story as her remarkable ability to empathize goes beyond a normal person’s extreme empathy. She is able to relate to people with her extreme sensitivity that can’t be explained except as a special gift from God, she literally feels their pain. Also in the mix is a character named Diane Hall who is an ex-con with an interesting story of her own as she just happens to show up in Cornucopia right as Julie has disappeared. As her story comes to light, you can see how the author has woven everyone’s path’s together to meet for a very special and redemptive type story.
I was definitely drawn into this story. Erin’s style of writing is just lovely to read and she paints such perfect pictures with words. I have to say she developed a really interesting villain in Jack, one that views himself as the most righteous of righteous and the effects that has on the relationships around him. Another aspect of the story that I liked was that things weren’t just tied up with a nice bow at the end of the story. Where there is sin, there are consequences and things take a while to heal, but there was definitely a feeling of hopefulness for the characters that you most cared about.
So, work out done, check, great book read to add to Erin Healy’s other great books check. Now it’s time to go and raid my kids’ Halloween stash, because that’s the whole point of working out, right?
Excellent read- 4.5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Didn't "hook" me in.

Date:November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eunice
Location:Iona Station, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Audrey, the Baker’s Wife, races against time as she attempts to determine just what happened when her car struck a motor scooter in an early morning foggy intersection. The scooter is wrecked, blood is everywhere … and there is no body in sight. The situation is complicated by the conflict between Audrey’s husband (the baker) and the detective whose wife owned the scooter. The tension between the two men is not new: accusations by the detective cost the baker his earlier career as a pastor. When the detective cracks, and takes Audrey’s husband and son hostage along with some bakery employees and patrons, Audrey must use her ability to empathize with others’ pain to solve the mystery and release the hostages, aided only by an anxious ex con with her own agenda, and a sneering teen who despises all that Audrey stands for.
The Baker’s Wife shows a sharp contrast between two men: one who interprets the letter of the Old Testament law very literally, and uses it to judge and try to control the actions of others, and the other who lives a live governed by the love of Christ, and attempts to demonstrate it to everyone who crosses his path. I appreciated that contrast, as well as the skill shown by the writer as she wove the lives of her characters together, but this book did not appeal to me as strongly as I thought it might. The protagonist’s ability to feel others’ agony in excruciating detail didn’t strike me as real, and stopped me from getting caught in the story line. I finished the book, but it didn’t inspire me with a desire to go and find others by the same author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This was okay, but not my cup of fictional tea.

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was a strange book that I had trouble tracking with, at first. I finished the introductory chapter and then after not "getting" it, reread it again, then one more time as it finally made sense to me (the tie-in,) but that wasn't until I reached about page 100. I found the whole concept and premise a bit odd....that the main character had the ability to feel someone else's pain. And when that mirror-mirror on the wall scene happened it was a bit freaky. I loved the idea of the story about a hostage situation and a woman who was formerly a pastor's wife, but it didn't end up being anything like what I had anticipated. The writing style reminded me of Sibella Giorello's books. So if you love her style of writing and plotting, then you will love this book. I'm just not a fan of this style.
I did read The Baker's Wife in one sitting. It held my attention and it had some interesting spiritual plot points to it, like contrasting the difference between rigid legalism and grace. It's just not the kind of book that I normally love to read, so it was a bit of a disappointment. I guess for me a book has to be believable and I never bought into the empathy part of the suspense and didn't feel a connection to the characters. But that was probably just me and my personal reading tastes. Again, anyone who enjoys Sibella's writing style will love this book because the feel is very similar. The ending had a decent resolution to it, with no loose strings to tie up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well plotted and written, thought provoking

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was captured by this novel in the first chapter. It kept me reading late into the night.
Geoff and his wife Audrey were pastor and wife until a legalistic member of the church board, Jack, convinced the church that Geoff should be fired. The accusations were lies, but Geoff decided not to fight them. He and Audrey had baked bread as a relaxing hobby and they now turned to is as a business. He became the baker and she became the baker's wife.
Audrey senses the pain of others in an intense manner. She might feel intense abdominal pain and know that she was to visit that person with stomach cancer, and take them a loaf of their homemade bread.
Geoff and Audrey lived in the Great Central Valley of California which was often a bowl of foggy soup. One early morning as Audrey and her son are on the way to the bakery, in the darkness of predawn fog, Audrey hits another vehicle. It turns out to be a scooter, the scooter of Jack's wife. And there is blood, so much blood. But there is no body.
This begins the mystery. Jack's wife Julie is nowhere to be found. DNA proves the blood to be Julie's but where could she have gone being so injured? Jack is convinced Geoff and Audrey have killed or at least kidnapped his wife in revenge. The suspense comes to a peak as Jack threatens to kill Geoff and his son if Audrey does not find Julie by a certain time. He believes he is God's arm of justice toward those who have sinned so grievously.
Can Audrey follow the leading of the Spirit and find Julie before it is too late?
Healy has woven an exceptional tight and suspenseful novel. Her writing compelled me to turn pages and become lost in the story. What a wordsmith!
There are many issues of faith to think about as this novel is devoured. How does one listen to the Spirit and obey? Should one wage a defense when wrongly accused or allow God to work it out in His time? How does God meet out justice in this life, or does He? And those are just a few. Healy has added a Reading Group Guide at the back and this would make a great book for group reading and discussion.
Unlike other novels where Christianity is a relevant but rather unimportant part of the plot, this novel centers around the individual's Christian faith and experience. It is very thought provoking. It has given me pause to think about how I sense the Spirit's leading and how I obey. I think this is rare for a novel.
I highly recommend this novel.
I received a copy of this book for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Secrets Hold Power

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A malicious scandal ousts Geoff and Audrey Bofingers from the church he was pastoring, so they opened the Rise and Shine bakery, something they had been doing on a small scale from their home. A vengeful police detective and church member, Jack Mansfield, takes it to a higher lever after the pastor’s wife hits his wife’s (Julie) motor scooter. A pool of blood–Julie Mansfield’s blood–is found in abundance at the accident scene, but there’s no trace of a body! Jack is absolutely positive Audrey is behind Julie’s disappearance.
Diane Hall, an ex-con, returns to her hometown of Cornucopia, CA, the day that Julie’s scooter is hit. Julie, known also as Juliet in high school, was a classmate with Diane. Geoff gives her a second chance and hires her part-time at the bakery, and she becomes an integral part of the storyline. As does Ed, Geoff and Audrey’s son.
The weather in this California area is often inundated with a heavy, dense fog that makes driving next to zero visibility. It was on a day like this that the accident occurred. Since the evidence against Audrey is only circumstantial, Detective Mansfield goes ballistic, a rage verging on insanity.
Erin Healy, in The Baker’s Wife, sets into action the multiple scenarios that keep you speculating on the accident scene; the bizarre disappearance of Julie Mansfield; Audrey’s ‘gift’ of sensing others' pain; and the meltdown of Detective Jack Mansfield. The scenes are well established and described. The intensity is off the charts, particularly the detective’s meltdown! The characters’ personalities are delicately, yet deliberately unraveled before our eyes, making them as real as we ourselves.
Steadfast love, compassion and forgiveness flows through the lives of Geoff and Audrey despite the circumstances culminating around them. Geoff’s pastor’s heart never leaves regardless of the outcome. The challenge is whether we will stand firm with the Lord through persecution, outlandish scandals, judgmental attitudes, and dangers thrown our way. It’s a story of second chances. Of God forgiveness to us many times over if we are repentant. Are you ready to trust in Him?
This book was provided by Booksneeze in exchange for my honest opinion. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2011
Erin Healy creates an amazing, intricate story in The Baker's Wife. Audrey and her husband Geoff's world is turned upside down when an their church fires Geoff, the pastor. Dealing with the shame of a personal scandal, trying to hold their family together, moving, and starting a new business, Audrey and Geoff are hanging on by a thread. Life gets even more difficult when Audrey is involved in an accident and the body of the other driver can't be found. The victim's husband - a detective and elder at their former church - comes to their bakery and declares he will hold everyone hostage until Audrey can produce his wife's body. Audrey must rely on a troubled teen and a woman recently released from prison to help her find the victim before her husband and son die.
To say that the plot is detailed is an understatement. However, Healy tells the story in such a way that it kept me flipping pages furiously. The characters are amazingly well-developed. Each character really seems like a real person - with flaws, problems, hopes, dreams. As the drama builds and the pieces fall into place, readers will feel a wide range of emotions as they learn more about each character.
While the story was incredible, there was one thing that I wasn't quite sure how to deal with. Audrey gets these "feelings" and sometimes actual injuries that mimic those of other people. She feels that these are used by God to show her who she should be ministering to. I love the thought of being really in-tune with God and the ministry she has with her bread baking. However, it felt kind of strange in a Christian book. I wasn't sure if these feelings/injuries were psychic-type visions or prophecy or what. I probably wouldn't have felt so strange about it if it was in a secular book. As it is, I just wasn't sure what to think.
Overall, though, I really did enjoy the book and will gladly read another book by Erin Healy.
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well-written, Fast-moving Mystery

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
PatWKirk
Location:Kansas
Gender:female
Audrey, a pastor’s wife, finds herself a baker’s wife when a self-righteous detective ruins her husband’s career. Jack Mansfield single-handedly tries and condemns her entire family when his family implodes; and again, when his wife disappears. As he slips into insanity, she must find his wife before he does irreparable damage to both husband and son. The Christians span kindness to fanaticism. Geoff, the baker, acts like a man of God while Jack acts like the devil.
Without adding spoilers, I thought the author left a few loose ends—for example, what happened with the coach’s feet? Will the poor man be able to continue coaching?
The Baker’s Wife is a well-written, fast-moving mystery with realistic, usually likeable characters. Audrey’s spiritual gift gives new meaning to the statement, “I know how you feel.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery, Suspense, Drama

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
NYbooklover
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Baker’s Wife by Erin Healy was a page turning book. Once you have started the book, it is hard to put it down. It is full of mystery, suspense, and drama. I found it amazing how the characters in the book interlock with each other from the beginning to the end. I really enjoyed the book.
Geoff and Audrey are the pastor couple at Grace Springs church until the police detective Jack Mansfield accuses Geoff of giving his daughter Miralee money for an abortion. Miralee and the pastor’s son Ed did have an affair and she became pregnant. At that point, the pastor couple leaves the church and starts a bakery. Baking bread was something they enjoyed doing as a ministry for people in the church and the community so they felt at home baking bread.
One early foggy morning, Audrey and Ed drive to the bakery to help Geoff but they end up having a terrible accident in an intersection close to the bakery. They get out of the truck to see how bad the accident is and there is blood all over the street. They come to find out that it was a motorcycle that they had the accident with but there is no one around at all. Where is the body and who is it?
The blood is tested and it is discovered that the blood is from Julie Mansfield the police detective's wife. But where is his wife? I hope you enjoy this on the edge of the chair suspense as much as I did.
I could relate to this book because my husband is a pastor. Some people in a congregation can be judgmental and quick to accuse.
This unbiased review was based on an electronic copy of the book provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read!

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sara
Location:Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a great read. I love books that have some suspense, mystery, and a christian theme, and this book had all three.
The book begins with a pastor, Geoff and his wife, Audrey doing the Lord's work. On Geoff's day off, they bake bread together, and then Audrey delivers a loaf of bread to the individuals she feels the Lord has placed on her heart to visit and pray about.
When a scandal forces the pastor leave the church, this husband and wife duo open a bakery. During a foggy, early morning drive to the bakery, Audrey's car hits a scooter belonging to Julie, a teacher in town, and the police detective (Jack's) wife. Jack is a council member of the church where Geoff is the former pastor. There is no body to be found, but lots of blood. The police detective blames Audrey. Jack searches to find out what happened to his missing wife, with little evidence. Convinced he is doing God's work, Jack takes the bakery, with those inside, hostage. He makes an impossible request, for Audrey to bring his wife to him, or he will kill her husband and son, held hostage in the bakery. Audrey must work together with an ex-con and a unbelieving teen, to unravel the mystery of where Julie is and convince Jack of the truth before he does something to hurt her family.
Audrey tries her best to follow God's guidance to help her loved ones held hostage in the bakery.
Healy covers many different issues including...loss, acceptance, love, and forgiveness. I enjoyed this book because it had a great story, kept me coming back to the very end, and challenged the reader to define a sincere christian life.
Disclaimer: I received this book for review purposes. No other compensation was received. All views expressed are my honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
MOM2 4
Location:Kashiwazaki, Japan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Baker’s Wife
By: Erin Healy
Audrey was a pastor’s wife first and foremost. When a scandalous lie costs her husband, Geoff, his pastoral career she turns into a baker’s wife. Their lives are starting to fall into place, at least on the surface. Then an early morning accident threatens to break apart everything they are trying to hard to put back together. The accident is complicated by the fact that the accident involves the family of the elder whose accusations cost Geoff his pastorate. This brings to the surface the deep scares that need to be healed, lies that need to be uncovered, and hypocrisy that needs to be revealed.
I really enjoyed this book. The mystery was interesting and not easily unraveled. The subplots were intriguing. The reminder that one simple act effects more than just one person, in fact, more often than not, one simple act forms a spider’s web that tangles many lives in it’s strands. It takes people working together to untangle the mess left behind by one event. Add good examples of courage and God’s grace and you have a novel that is fun to read, yet leaves you with much food for thought.
I received a copy of The Baker’s Wife for Thomas Nelson Publishing in exchange for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an awesome fiction novel!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
brownies9798
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Baker's Wife will have you turning pages so fast that you will count it as speed reading! The plot is riveting and super exciting! Two families in a small town are constantly thrown together in undesirable ways. One family uses God given gifts to help others and the other uses God's Word to destroy.
Audrey and her husband Geoff run a bakery in the small town where they are known for scandal. Originally a pastor, Geoff was forced out of the church because of a scandal involving his son Ed and Miralee, the daughter of Jack and Julie Mansfield. Jack Mansfield is the town's lead police detective and his hate for that family grows stronger when Audrey runs over Julie's scooter. The mangled scooter is also covered in her blood, but where is Julie? Jack is convinced that Audrey has taken her wife and he sets out to prove it by any means necessarily. When her family's lives are threatened; Audrey and a Diane, a newcomer with a haunting past, strive to find Julie before Jack goes over the edge.
I really loved the way the writer expounded on spiritual gifts. She made me feel as if it were something that I could feel also. She also made such unique characters, especially in Jack. They way he thought that about the Bible and how it was his own personal weapon, reminds me of others. There is a great balance of good and evil in this book. But the best lesson of all is about forgiveness! Erin Healy really captures the damage a heart can have and how God's love shown through others can heal and restore! I really enjoyed reading every chapter of this book and I can not wait to read more of her work.
I was provided a copy of this book for the purpose of a review by BookSneeze.com. All opinions are mine and are real thoughts of mine. If this book sounds like something you would want to read click here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Baker's Wife is a very good read!

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
SamG
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Baker's Wife is about ex-pastor Geoff and his wife Audrey. After a scandal, Geoff lost his job as a pastor. He and Audrey opened up a bakery. One foggy morning on her way to work Audrey hit a scooter, but after quick investigation, did not find anyone at the scene except a lot a blood. Detective Jack Mansfield took on the case until finding out that the scooter belonged to his wife Julie. He is pointing fingers at Geoff and Audrey and it is up to Audrey to figure out this mystery before Jack hits a breaking point.
This is a very good story which falls close to a murder mystery. I was not sure whether Julie was murdered or disappeared. It was a fast read and I did not want to put the book down. I enjoyed the development of the characters and each point of view in the story. There are strong points about faith in God, faith in family, and the stark difference between a man who fears God and wants to follow Him vs. a man who believes he is following God but only has selfish motives. I do recommend this book.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Baker’s Wife, by Erin Healy, is a spectacular book. It keeps you in suspense until the very end. You won’t be able to put it down!
The baker’s wife and her family, who used to be the pastor’s wife and family, begin the day like any other. But on the way to the bakery, she and her son hit a motor scooter in the road. With lots of blood and no body, the mystery begins. The victim turns out to be the wife of the detective and church elder who instigated the baker’s removal as pastor. Certain that this family is guilty and will produce his wife, the detective crosses the line and holds the people in the bakery hostage. The baker’s wife, along with two unlikely assistants, must find the woman before time is up.
Although the story begins with several seemingly unrelated events, Healy connects them all skillfully as the plot progresses. By the end of the story, all of the characters’ lives are intertwined. I enjoyed some of the side stories immensely, especially that of Diane Hall.
Even though I wish the story had continued just a little longer, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good mystery.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Third Story by Erin Healy

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose "The Baker’s Wife" for review out of author loyalty. I’ve enjoyed both of Erin Healy’s other books ("Never Let You Go" and "The Promises She Keeps"), so I hoped I would enjoy this one, too, though it’s description didn’t really intrigue me.
Erin Healy did not disappoint me. This book turned out to be my favorite of the three. I’m happy to recommend it to you!
The baker’s wife is a former pastor’s wife—same husband, new career, brought on by unjust circumstances. The two, along with their grown son, continue their ministry of outreach to hurting people by turning their marriage hobby into a community business.
Unfortunately, when the baker’s wife is involved in a mysterious accident resulting in a missing person’s case, the man responsible for forcing them out of the church determines he must destroy them as well. The baker’s wife and two unlikely allies must work quickly to solve the mystery and set things right.
I enjoyed the story and also appreciated Healy’s subtle questions about and insights into what is a sincere Christian life. Diane Hall, the somewhat wrongly convicted murderess, was one of my favorite characters; I appreciated her side story and the message it contained.
If you enjoy a good mystery with a thought-provoking message, you’ll want to read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast paced mystery thriller - 5 stars!

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
tiinaj1
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of a couple in the middle of a major trial in their lives. After losing his ministry due to a false accusation Geoff and his wife Audrey open a bakery using a skill that they had nurtured over the years of their marriage. Baking had been a means for them to strengthen their marriage and yet still serve those in their church and community who were hurting and need a little love in their lives - and now it was the means for them to make a living.
The main story focuses on the disappearance of Julie who is the detective's wife. The detective "Jack" believes that he is sinless and blameless before God and everyone else should be too. He believes that others suffer because they are sinners (depression, illness, death, loss of jobs, etc) and he believes that if the law won't take care of the problem then he will.
This outstanding book had only one thing that I am still trying to process and am unsure about. Audrey has the ability to connect with others and feel their pain. She believes this feeling comes from God and uses it to help others. To me this feeling is very close to what a physic does and I can't help but wonder if God would give that ability to someone. (Or is this the spiritual gift called discernment?) As you can see I'm not sure what to think here and have emailed the author to get some clarification.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I'm sure you will too. It's very fast paced and you won't want to put the book down. Parent's I'd suggest that you read the book first if you're going to leave it around for your kid's to pick up. Your kid may have questions. There are also questions in the back for discussion and book groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Baker's Wife
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Christian Mystery

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What an action packed read. Just when you think you know what is happening, you don't! Pastor Geoff Bofinger has been made to leave his Church. The man who brought charges against him is Jack Mansfield, who convinces the members of the congregation that Geoff is not fit to be the Pastor.
The tale is really interwoven, and Geoff's wife, seems to take on the pain of others. She is always bringing some of the leftover bread from their new venture Bakery to others.
So many of the Character's seem to be suffering from some past hurt. You can see God working in their lives, and I see Satan working in others. Will Good over Evil win? You can't put this book down until you know the answers, and it takes some doing! Most have to accept God's power of Forgiveness!
I received this book from the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>