Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Invasion

Thomas Nelson Invasion

After a car wreck takes the lives of Colt's parents, he's drawn into a world he thought only existed in comic books. When an informant tells him his mom and dad were actually murdered, Colt teams up with his high school buddies to uncover the truth---and stumbles on flying motorcycles, jet packs, and mind control! 320 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
3.789 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
16 out of 1984%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Invasion
Review 1 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great science fiction for teens

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What if those comics from the 1940s were true? What if there really were aliens from other planets helping the Nazis? What if there really was a secret organization, C.H.A.O.S., aimed at protecting the world from alien invasion?
This is exactly the world into which teenager Colt McAlister is thrust. His parents had recently died in an automobile accident so he is sent to live with his grandfather.
Bit by bit Colt discovers the truth. His parents were killed because his mother was writing an expose on Trident Biotech. Trident had been implanting chips into human brains, chips supposedly to control epilepsy, Parkinson’s, etc. But these chips were really used by the alien owners of Trident to control the humans. And his grandfather. Colt finds out his grandfather was the real Phantom Flyer of comic book fame. In fact, the comic books were just a way to take away the attention from the real situation at the time.
Trident Biotech is getting ready to complete their plan to wipe out all the humans on earth. Will Colt and his teen friends be able to foil the aliens before it is too late?
This is science fiction the way I remember it as a teen! Reptilian aliens with six arms. Heroes with jet packs. Bad aliens wanting to take over earth. Good humans willing to sacrifice their lives to keep that from happening. Even though this book is for teens, I thoroughly enjoyed it! I look forward to reading the next in the series.
A discussion guide at the end makes this book a great choice for teen reading groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great adventure book for boys!

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 11, 2011
Book Review - Invasion
I'm always looking for good books for my children.
That was my focus on reading and reviewing Invasion by Jon S. Lewis. It is difficult to find books, especially for boys, that will be adventurous, but not full of language, vampires, or anything that would hinder their spiritual walk.
Invasion could be labeled as a sci-fi book. There was lots of adventure and fast paced movement. The story line follows a young man who is part of a family of CHAOS special agents. Little does he know when his father drops him off for "college days" at the local agency, his life is changed forever.
Jon Lewis does a great job at drawing the reader into the story and once you get sucked in, it is very difficult to retreat. This is not a book I would normally pick out to read for myself, but I am very happy with a good book, that I can trust to put into the hands of my sons.
The only drawback I see is the introduction of aliens. There is so much focus in the world today on life on other planets. People are sucked into this falsehood and it can take away from the story of Beginnings in the Bible. But as long as you and your children are aware of true Biblical life, this shouldn't be a problem.
As part of the Thomas Nelson Blogging Network, I received a complementary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Sci-Fi book

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jameus
This story is about a 16-year-old boy, Colt, whose parents are killed in a car accident, and when that begins to look suspicious, he is pulled against his will into a world that most people on planet Earth know nothing about. It's filled with 'bridges' from our planet to other, often more dangerous worlds, and there is an agency on Earth called CHAOS who secretly fights to keep the bridges closed and take care of any ill-intentioned aliens that might sneak through a rift.
Of course none of the book is believable, in that its all about monsters and highly sophisticated scientific advancements and technology gleaned from other planets. But it's still an enjoyable read for those who enjoy sci-fi. I'm going to say it's target audience is teenage boys, as the main character is a teenage boy and his two 'side kicks' throughout the book are also teenagers. Though the publisher of the book is Thomas Nelson, the story is not overtly Christian; the only inclusions are a reference to a Bible study, mention of a church service where the story of King David sending Uriah to his death in battle is briefly touched on, and Colt's romantic interest inviting him to sing a duet with him at the next service. But the impression is that Colt's grandfather deems church attendance as very valuable, as does said romantic interest. And even with all the alien fights and sci-fi stuff, it's not gruesome or offensive.
** I received this book free from booksneeze.com to review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Invasion by Jon Lewis

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Danetta
Location:Rosharon, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I am not an avid reader of science fiction books, this is one book I enjoyed reading and am looking forward to reading other books in the series. It is a great page turner, filled with suspense. It is geared more towards teens, but I really think adults can enjoy reading it also, just like I did. Some of the events that happen in the book get you to thinking and wondering if something like alien invasions, top secret government operations and experiments, and super high technology products could really happen some day. The characters and events are written in a way that allows you to envision them. The chapters are short, but the way the storyline is great at keeping your attention throughout the entire book. I highly recommend this book, especially to teens who enjoy science fiction or comic books. I received a free copy of this book from Book Sneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
CMorrison
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With Invasion Christian author Jon S. Lewis presents an adventurous science fiction novel in the first installment of his A C.H.A.O.S. Novel series.
What starts off with the death of Colt McAlister's parents in a car accident, soon develops into a fast paced story with a thrilling premise of conspiracy theory meets alien invasion. Together with his friends Dani and Oz, Colt soon finds out that this accident was actual murder and that there is still more at risk than the world could possibly imagine, because the invasion already started.
This book offers not only likable and well devised characters - especially the glimpse you get into Colt's emotional state after his parent's death is very well written - but the reader is also supplied with a lot of stunning action scenes and fun dialogues. And while there is a bit of a love story included too, it certainly doesn't get in the way of the main thing - an action packed plot.
Last but not least - written by a Christian author, the book does not fall into the category of Christian literature, with only few mentions of bible studies or going to church throughout the story. While many YA books can be read by adults too, and I admittedly really liked this novel, I recommend it mostly for a younger audience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Out of this world!

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colt McAlister moves in with his grandpa after his parents' fatal accident,, but he soon finds that life in Arizona is even different than he expects. Suddenly nothing is what it seems - from motorcycles that fly to supposed alien invasions. With his best friends in tow, he struggles to solve the mystery of his parents' accident and to find the truth behind Trident Biotech. Is this worldwide leader of electronics really manned by a group of aliens - and if so, can Colt stop them from killing all human life on Earth?
This book is surprisingly well written. The fantasy elements are detailed and complete, creating an entirely new world inside the story. The plot built in intensity and culminated in a series of events that perfectly resolved the issues of this story and opened possibilities for the next book (which I can't wait to read).
With the main character being a sixteen-year-old boy and the massive amounts of hand-to-hand combat, technical details, and just plain gross stuff, this book will thrill teen boys.
That aside, I did have one problem with this story. As a Christian fiction book, it is definitely heavy on the fiction and light on the Christian. Colt does know Christians and attends church, but he is not a believer himself, and none of them try to explain anything to him. The alien aspect of the book is woven so seamlessly into history and the details of the story that it may be confusing for some people who wonder what the Bible says about aliens. Having a disclosure-type statement somewhere in the book may clarify these issues for those people who are not clear on what the Bible has to say bout them.
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is very good!

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rocknb61
Location:Chocowinity, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Invasion by Jon S Lewis
A combination of mystery and science fiction, this is one good read. It deals with a young man, Colt McAlister, who is having the time of his life - spending his days on a surfboard and nights on the beach with friends. Then things take a drastic change - his parents are killed and he has to go live with his grandfather. After moving in with his grandfather, he finds out that his mother, who was an investigative reporter, was going to expose a secret mind-control program run by Trident Biotech. What if agents from this company wanted to make sure she couldn't go public?
Colt decides he needs to find out just what happened to his parents. He has one friend in his new high school, and another "friend" , Oz, who seems familiar. They form an alliance to find out what is going on at this company and subsequently are drawn into a world of aliens, shapeshifters, flying motorcycles, and invisible gateways! Not my normal type of read, but amazingly good. Of course it is listed as juvenile fiction, but I still enjoyed it and will read the next in the series.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book review - Invasion by Jon S. Lewis

Date:December 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
brownies9798
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book review - Invasion by Jon S. Lewis
Invasion by Jon S. Lewis
This book is packed with all the Sci-Fi goodies; action, adventure, monsters, aliens, bad guys and your handsome hero! Perfect easy read for teens and adults alike.
Colt McAlister is a happy, typical teenage boy living the dream in California, when his life changes forever. His parents are killed in a car crash, leaving him in his Grandfather's care. As if moving to Arizona wasn't enough; he over hears a conversation about his parents being murdered. As he adjusts to a new school and new friends he starts to see the world in a different way.
To most of the world, Trident Biotech is the world's largest corporation who sells miracle drugs. But when Colt is drawn into the truth that the owners are actually aliens and the miracle drugs come with mind control chips; Colt has to make a choice. Take over for his mom's job of exposing the truth or lay down and pretend it isn't happening. Will Colt make the right decision and can he and his friends out wit the Earth's toughest enemies? Will Colt embrace his destiny? Stay tuned!
This book was very good. It was easy to read and entertaining. This is the first book in a continuing series that Jon Lewis writes called the CHAOS Trilogy. It was more on the level of a young adult read though. And though I felt it was packed with action, it was lacking on the deeper level. I did really like the how the characters romantically liked each other and yet there was no intimacy. The book is pure enough for Joslyn to read someday. I think it was well written though and I enjoyed it enough to want to read the second book.
I was provided a copy of this book by www.booksneeze.com for the purpose of a review. All opinions are mine and are real thoughts of mine only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast paced action and lots of fun

Date:December 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bern
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a great and fun read. For all those comic book fans, Invasion does not disappoint! It was a fast-paced exciting read filled with flying motorcycles and monsters from space.
After his parents die in a accidental car crash, Colt McAllister goes to live with his grandfather. While there, he comes to find out that his parents' death probably wasn't an accident. He's determined to find out for sure and along the way, he realizes that his family has always been a part of a secret group of soldiers that sound more like comic book heroes.
If you like adventure and fun, this book is definitely for you! It's an easy read and a fun science fiction novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent beginning to the series

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
EA West
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sixteen-year-old Colt McAlister is enjoying a summer of surfing and freedom in his first car. Then his parents die in a head-on collision and everything changes. He moves to Arizona with his grandpa, hangs out with his childhood friend Danielle, and makes a new friend in Oz, who seems oddly familiar. As Colt works to find his way around school and his new life, he stumbles into a deadly plot involving the largest company in the world. With Dani and Oz by his side, he learns there may be more to comic books and conspiracy theories than he had always believed. Is it possible that they are based on reality and shapeshifting aliens are planning to invade Earth?
The ups and downs in Colt McAlister’s life ring true, even when he’s in the midst of an unrealistic situation. Readers can easily suspend disbelief, however, as they follow along on the adventure of a lifetime and cheer on the good guys. This is a classic story of good versus evil, although there are a few instances where the line between good and evil must be blurred for the sake of saving the world. These instances bring out Colt’s conscience, which is remarkably strong in the face of the challenges he stumbles or runs headlong into at every turn.
Jon Lewis has written an amazing tale of science fiction with just enough truth mixed in to make it frighteningly realistic. The possibilities suggested throughout the book add a chilling glimpse into what could be, while also including alien species that leave one hoping the UFO fanatics are wrong. Colt is a character anyone can look up to and sympathize with, which makes him a great role model for adolescent readers. This book was written for teens, but it is one that is easily enjoyed by adults as well.
I highly recommend Invasion to anyone who loves science fiction, action/adventure, or stories of the supernatural. This book is a keeper, and I look forward to reading the next book in the C.H.A.O.S. series.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher. This review and the opinions expressed in it are my own and based solely on the contents of the book and my experience reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A clean superhero adventure

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Meg Verity
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shortly after Colt McAlister turns 16, his carefree teenage life ends when his parents are killed in a car accident and he is forced to move in with his grandfather in a different state. There he learns that his parents were actually murdered to stop his mother from exposing a major corporation’s involvement in mind control. And worst of all, the corporation is now after Colt.
As Colt struggles to evade his pursuers and uncover the truth, he discovers that the world is being covertly invaded by aliens, who are using the corporation to assist them with their nefarious plans for humanity. In the race to stop his enemies before it’s too late, Colt battles strange otherworldly beings, experiences intergalactic travel, and learns that some superheroes really do exist in real life.
This is one book I anticipate teenagers will enjoy because it is full of action, monsters, and superheroes. However, even though I usually like science fiction, I personally did not enjoy this novel. As an action-driven book, I struggled to stay engaged with the story because the plot really dragged at times, leaving me uninterested in both the story and the characters’ lives.
In addition, with almost non-existent Christian content, the storyline leaves readers with the impression that God is irrelevant and that humanity alone can solve all of life’s problems (earth is being invaded and no one thinks about God or asks for His help?). That is the basis of humanism, not Christianity, so it troubles me that this message is being promoted to a Christian audience. In fact, I would not have realized this was Christian fiction had I not been told otherwise.
Despite my criticisms, though, my 13-year-old says she will definitely read this book!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read for Teens and Adults

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
amomfromtheburbs
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Invasion The Chaos Trilogy is about a teenage boy named Colt McAlister and his friends Oz and Danielle. One day, Colt gets some terrible news about his parents. They were traveling back home when someone ran into them, killing them.
After the funeral, Colt moved in with is grandpa in Arizona. Pretty soon after, Colt started encountering strange people with glowing red eyes that were trying to kill him and his childhood friend Danielle. Colt didn't understand what was happening.
Oz told him about a top secret agency called Chaos. Chaos is basically like Men in Black, in that they track down and fight aliens from other planets. The people with the red eyes were being mind controlled by aliens that ran a corporation called Trident Industries.
It was up to the three teens to find proof that Trident was behind all the strange goings on in town and for Colt's parents deaths. This journey brings the teens close to death several times. You'll have to read the book to see how they fair.
I thought this book was filled with excitement. I didn't want to put the book down at all. I know this book is geared for juvenile readers but as an adult, I enjoyed it very much.
The book is a mix of who-done-it, science fiction and action, all of which I love in a book. Some of the words are a bit large for juvenile readers. I think that the book could have kept going a bit but understand why the author stopped when they did.
Now to get the second book so I can see what happens next!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good YA Sci Fi

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Invasion is the first book in a science fiction trilogy. Colt is taken on a wild ride finding out things he never believed actually existed. He is a big fan of comic books and never in his wildest dreams did he think that those comic books were based on real events. Not only that, but his own Grandpa is the hero depicted in these comics. Colt and his friends, Danielle and Oz, must fight the evil aliens that are trying to invade Earth and take it over for themselves. I thought this book was full of well done action and I enjoyed the creativity of the science fiction technology and aliens. This is good YA fiction and I look forward to continuing on in the trilogy.
I received this book free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprisingly Good!

Date:March 20, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised with this book! It is definitely not my typical read, so I wasn’t sure what I would think, but I really enjoyed it! It was fast-paced, adventurous, and I can’t wait for the next book in the series to come out. (Though, the fact that it’s going to be a whole YEAR before the next book comes out is kind of frustrating.) I was a little surprised at the basically non-existent faith factor in the book. I mean, it doesn’t promote secular ideals, but it doesn’t have a God-element, either. It wasn’t a big deal for me, but it might be for other people. All in all, this is a fun, interesting read, and I believe that it will go over well with fans of this genre.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
alidanelle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Invasion
By Jon Lewis
Invasion is a sci-fi novel for young readers. Rather than bringing comic books stories to life, Invasion is the reason for the stories in the comic books. Colt McAllister learns that his favorite comic book hero just happens to be based on his grandfather! Colt is drawn into a world that should be make believe, but is more real than he ever could have imagined. At 16, Colt is recruited by the Central Headquarters Against the Occult and Supernatural.
For fantasy and sci-fi readers, this book will be a great read. A well-written story pulls the reader in and has him/her searching with Colt for the answers. The book is left open for more to come and will create a great series for young readers.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=9781595547538
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You will not want to put this book down!

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunnyd1015
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Colt McAllister is a normal teenage boy who lives in California and spends his time at the beach, surfing, and playing his guitar. That is, until his parents are killed in a car accident and he is forced to go live with his Grandfather in Arizona. It is there, Colt begins to wonder if his parents wreck was not an accident, but murder. With help from a life long friend, Danielle and a new friend, Oz, Colt begins to uncover the truth and vows to avenge his parents killer and ultimately save mankind from shape shifting aliens who want to wipe out humanity so they can colonize on Earth.
As I began to read the first few chapters, I found myself unable to put it down. I normally am not a huge fan of science fiction, but Lewis does an excellent job of grabbing the attention of the reader and keeping it. Boys are usually the ones drawn to science fiction, but the girls can also relate to parts of the book because of the relationship between Colt and Danielle as well as the crush Colt has on Lily. It is also very easy to read so it would be good for readers from as young as 9 all the way to adults. Some reviews I read were concerned there were no Christian values in the book and I do agree there aren't any. However, it is an excellent read with many opportunities for discussion with children and teenagers.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A great read for the younger generation.

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Moody
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sixteen year old Colt McAlister goes to live with his grandfather after the death of his parents. When Colt and his two High school friends set out to discover the real truth behind the death of his parents he soon discovers his grandfather isn't who he thought he was and Colt also discovers that the direction of his life was chosen and planned for him a long time ago.
Colt loves to surf, he has plans for college, he wants a girlfriend and he typically plans to live the life of a normal teenager. But one day while surfing Colt gets attacked, what the thing was in the water he didn’t know, he also knew he would never tell anyone, they wouldn’t believe him anyway. From then on, his life is far from normal.
The story grabbed my attention right from the first paragraph sending me into a world of suspense involving real life comic heroes, villains and even mechanical spiders! Unfortunately, the book became somewhat draggy in the middle of the story. I was able to get caught up in the fantasy once again a few chapters later but I realized at the end of the story that the book is for a younger reader.
I do not classify this as a christian story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A quick read

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
dlruss
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I anxiously awaited this book as the last couple books that I've read have been inspirational and/or devotional works. I was looking forward to reading something geared to a younger audience, something that I might be able to pass along to a young Christian.
This was not a "Christian" book and I was quite surprised by that. The book didn't have faith based references.
It did have a minor good vs evil thing going on.
It was an ok read but probably not something I would pass along to someone else.
Good writing for a non-fiction book but doesn't inspire.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Invasion
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is not Christian fiction

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Kinney
Location:Bridgeport, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The storyline was smooth and the main characters were realistic; however, I got stuck with the believability of the story even though it is science fiction. It seems that this book was a comic book in the form of a novel.
I did not like this book probably because of the expectation I had that is was Christian fiction. What started out as weird turned to absurd and then to completely outlandish.
I read this book expecting a young adult thriller only to find that it was science fiction beyond belief. I am surprised that Thomas Nelson published this book. There is not an ounce of faith in the story. There is a nugget of good vs. evil; however, even the good uses evil means to get its way.
If you like science fiction, this is a well written story, but it is not a book to encourage, inspire, or even promote the Christian faith.
To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. I also must say that the opinions are all mine.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.