Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1

Thomas Nelson Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1

In 1826, Ann Miller travels to Pittsburgh with her widowed father and two young sisters, only to find that a mysterious man has pursued them all the way from Ohio. Is Ann's father just a circuit minister, or is he hiding something that may endanger them all?

Will Hanby indentures with a Pittsburgh saddler maker, only to discover that his master is a cold-hearted tyrant. After years of abuse, Will becomes a prisoner of his own mind. But then lovely Ann Miller comes to stay next door and her compassion lights a long-dark part of Will's soul. His renewed courage puts his life in jeopardy as he begins to assist fugitive slaves. Will's murderous master and Ann's questions about her family may keep both of them bound in the shadows forever. Or will they find freedom-together?

Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Review 1 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT!

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This book held my interest (my criterion) from beginning to end.My favorite genre is historical romance because good authors are meticulous in their research of the time period & customs of which they're writing. This novel certainly reflects that fact. I found myself outraged by the treatment of indentured servants that was actually within the law during this time in history. Looking forward to #2 in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Romance in early 19th century America

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ann Miller, eldest of three daughters of the widowed saddler, feels torn between the need to help care for her sisters and her desire to marry dashing Eli Bowen, with whom she shares a love of literature. When she travels with her family from Ohio to Pittsburgh, she meets orphaned Will Hanby, a saddler’s apprentice enslaved by a cruel master. She longs to help Will, but how could she possibly change his pitiable circumstances? Can Will learn to forgive and be able to find love?
Early nineteenth century America was a tough place to live if you were a slave or an indentured servant. This novel, the first book of The Saddler’s Legacy series by debut author Rosslyn Elliott, brings history to life—including unpleasant things like beatings, a duel, and harsh treatment of the poor. But the story offers hope for a better life for those unfortunate ones in Fairer than Morning. The author also portrays the life of the middle class and the wealthy as they interact in this touching tale, which is based on actual people.
I don’t want to give away all the adventures and excitement contained within this book’s pages. Readers can explore this journey to freedom on their own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical Romance

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
myrtia
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Music offers Kate sweet refuge from her troubles…but real freedom is sweeter.
In Westerville, Ohio, 1855, Kate Winter’s dreams are almost within reach. As the first woman to graduate from Otterbein College, she’ll be guaranteed her deepest wish: escape from the dark secret haunting her family. But with her mother determined to marry her off to a wealthy man, Kate must face reality. She has to run. Now. And she has the perfect plan. Join the upcoming musical performance--and use it to mask her flight.
Ben Hanby, Otterbein College’s musical genius, sees Kate Winter as an enigmatic creature, notable for her beauty, yet painfully shy. Then he hears her sing—and the glory of her voice moves him as never before. He determines to cast her in his musical and uncover the mystery that is Kate. Still, he must keep his own secret to himself. Not even this intriguing woman can know that his passionate faith is driving him to aid fugitives on the Underground Railroad.
A terrifying accident brings Kate and Ben together, but threatens to shatter both their secrets and their dreams. Kate can no longer deny the need to find her courage—and her voice—if she is to sing a new song for their future.
Sweeter than Birdsong is a stirring novel of hope and faith inspired by real historical people and events.
This is an incredible book. It is written in a beautiful writing style, with lush words and historical detail that put me right in the story. The romance is subtle and sweet, I especially loved the way Dan treated Kate, especially in contrast to her parents' cruel behaviour.
There is a great subplot about slaves and an effort to steal away some of them to freedom, and that is also the part of the story that is based on true facts, from my understanding. This was very interesting, and it added some action to the plot. However, sometimes I thought this plotline was taking over the main plotline of the book, and that's the reason I thought the story was a bit lagging in the middle.
This notwithstanding, I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more from this author. She has also written Fairer than Morning.
I received this book from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
Rating: 4/5
bookshelfstories dot blogspot dot com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much Fairer Than I Expected!

Date:December 19, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will Hanby is a broken soul. Following the death of his parents, he signs on as a saddlemaker apprentice to Master Jacob Good. Master Good turns out to be a cruel teacher with a thirst for power. When Ann Miller and her father encounter Will, Will is drawn to the kindness and light that he sees in them. As circumstances develop and change, Will flees his terrible master in search of the Millers. When he finds them, he realizes the danger surrounding them all. As a wanted man, he must stay hidden and the Millers could be in trouble. But far more dangerous are the feelings developing between Will and Ann. Can Will overcome his troubled past? Will Ann ever see him as more than a dirty and broken youth? And if Will trusts the future to God, will Ann wait for him until the apprenticeship is fulfilled?
Fairer Than Morning by Rosslyn Elliott is probably in the top ten books I've read this year. The story had my attention from the very beginning. Will Hanby's character transformation from broken apprentice to brave Christian reflected a strong sense of personal healing and growth that added depth to the story. I would have liked to have seen more growth and resolution in Ann's character. If Ann's nightmares had been resolved and an additional scene between Eli and Ann had been added, I think the closure of the story would have been more complete. There is a sequel coming out next year, but it does not appear to focus on Will and Ann. Overall, Fairer Than Morning was a surprisingly enjoyable read that I have no doubt I will eventually read again. I recommend it to fans of Christian romances.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from BookSneeze as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

From The Darkness Into His Marvelous Light!

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Fairer Than Morning, debut author Rosslyn Elliott takes us away to Ohio in the early 1800s, an era of indentured servants and runaway slaves; a time of gross darkness and light, prosperity and poverty. Our heroine, Ann Miller, lives with her father, a master saddler, and a good Christian man who helps lead runaway slaves to the underground railroad. As he travels on a business trip to Pittsburgh, Ann, nursing a broken heart from her sweetheart, Eli, decides to accompany her father. There she meets Will Hanby, a saddler's apprentice.
Will has indentured himself to Master Good, to learn the fine art of saddle making, not realizing that he is a cruel man who will stop at nothing to get what he wants. Will is tormented, beaten, and broken in spirit when he meets the lovely Ann and her kind father, and when they return to Ohio he vows to run away and find them at any cost. In his despair, loneliness, and need for love, Will reaches out to an impoverished young lady, Emmie, and compromises her. Feeling tremendous regret and shame, Will is determined to learn the saddler's trade and come back for Emmie, and make things right by marrying her and taking her to Ohio.
Once there, under the tutelage of Mr. Miller, Will learns more than just saddle making. He learns of God's love that reaches down into his dark, love-starved soul, and of forgiveness, and immediately begins to seek God's will for his life. What are God's plans for him, and what happens when Will decides to return to his ex-master and make restitution? When Emmie accepts his marriage proposal, what's to become of Will's attraction to the lovely, kindhearted Ann? And when Ann's ex-sweetheart proposes, what is to become of her overwhelming feelings for Will?
Rosslyn Elliott's first published novel is powerful, realistic, and heartwrenching at times. Her research of this fiction based on factual people and events is impressive and is truly a page-turner! Although there is romance in this novel it is actually more of a historical tale, than a lighthearted romance. With a strong spiritual thread throughout, I highly recommend this book and look forward to reading the next in the series!
*This book was sent to me by the author and I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fairer Than Morning has set the bar high...

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melissa Mashburn
Location:Sunny South Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an incredible start to what is sure to be an amazing career in Christian Fiction, Rosslyn Elliott's breakout novel Fairer Than Morning was everything I could have dreamed of in a romance adventure and then some. The characters were rich with history, depth and drama and the historical aspect of their story makes it even more exciting.
This first book in The Saddler's Legacy has set the bar high for the books to follow, but I have no doubt that they will be every bit as incredible as this one. Fairer than Morning was a great get away book for those who are looking for a book with some teeth to it. I can't wait for my girlfriends to get a copy and see what they have to say about it too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fun New Author

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
SwtGrl1231
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally signed up for this book tour because the book takes place near where my husband grew up in Ohio, albeit a century or so before he came into the picture. I thought it would be fun to read some fiction inspired by some of the people who once lived there.
I truly enjoyed this book. It had a great story line and all the pieces were woven together very well. I always enjoy a story that can make you think without being preachy. As much as I enjoy George MacDonald, an actual well written story line is always appreciated. This book makes you think about who you are and who is your faith in? Who are you when push comes to shove and your life is on the line? Do you preserve your life at any cost or do you do what's right? Is what's right for one also the same right for someone else?
I love that the story can involve these thoughts and points but not get bogged down by them. It is also a very sweet love story. Then there are several beautiful families contrasted by those who choose evil. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.
I did receive this book free from the publisher, Thomas Nelson, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History in the making

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
ausjenny
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started this book Saturday and didn't want to put the book down. The story grabbed me from the first page and got better as it went on. We learn that Ann is a big sister who spends her time looking after her two younger sisters as their mother died when the youngest was born. She is doing a great job with them and is being pursued by Eli. In Pittsburgh Will is apprenticed to a saddler who we find out is not all he seems and Wills life changes forever. The two meet when Ann's father takes her on a trip to Pittsburgh and Will has a chance to work with Ann's father. Her father gives him hope.
This book is so much more than a inspirational romance yes there is the romance in the story but it deals with so much more. There are sub stories that are important to the whole story. There were times when I really felt for the characters. I am eagerly awaiting book two in this series as I want to know what happens next
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Debut Novel!

Date:September 12, 2011
What a treat to discover a new author that I love! Rosslyn Elliott's debut novel Fairer than Morning is absolutely fantastic! Much deeper than many books in the same genre, Elliott addresses serious topics and issues of morality and character. Best of all, she points readers to a relationship with Christ to help them through tough situations. I loved the characters of Ann and Will and appreciated the way Elliott portrayed a strong female role.
One of the unique parts of this story is how Rosslyn portrays Will and his spiritual transformation. Typically, in Christian fiction I feel like the female characters are thoroughly developed . . . but the male characters not as much. Will is a major part of the story, and his faith in Christ is real.
I highly recommend Fairer than Morning and look forward to reading the remaining books in The Saddler's Legacy series!!
I received a free copy of this book from LitFuse Publicity and Thomas Nelson in exchange for my participation in this blog tour. I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Gripping Tale

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:Northern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Gripping Tale
Debut novelist Rosslyn Elliott is a gifted storyteller. She weaves a tale of characters beset by trial and hardship who, with the grace of God, overcome adversity and find lasting happiness. Will Hanby is one of the most sympathetic heroes I’ve encountered in a romance. He’s not perfect, by any means, but I loved watching the transformation that takes place in his heart as he discovers a hope that transcends his present difficulties. Ann Miller is a likable heroine, one filled with compassion, who faces a series of tough decisions with wisdom unusual in one so young. Elliott does a great job with her secondary characters as well. Ann’s father is a godly man whose faith is evident in all he says and does, whereas the villain, Mr. Good, is very, very bad. Set amidst the early days of the abolitionist movement, this historical masterpiece will reel a reader in and leave her hurriedly flipping pages as she seeks to find out what happens next. If you enjoy a gripping tale that tugs at your heart, I highly recommend Fairer Than Morning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
amomwithablog
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairer Than Morning is the fictional account of two real-life families, the Hanby's and the Miller's. Will Hanby was indentured to a cruel master, Jacob Good, after his parents died from illness while he was just a boy. Ann Miller is the daughter of a saddler who has suffered loss of her own mother, and has become the caretaker of her two younger sisters. Yet God can restore them... and that He does as he not only frees Will, but calls him to free those who are enslaved just as he had been.
This book is full of emotion and will keep you hooked until the very end. Rosslyn Elliot did a wonderful job of telling the fictional stories of these historical characters. I found myself getting angry not only at some of the characters, but at history itself. I was pulled in to the suffering of Will, the grief of Ann and the feelings of others around them. The picture was painted in vivid detail and I wanted so much to reach out to Will and his friend Tom. It was hard to read how one human being can treat another as property. Equally, it was a joy to read about those who followed God and honored Him in the way they valued every life. They sought to help others they way they themselves had received it. They offered grace, mercy, and forgiveness.
I did not request this book for review. I won it in a drawing through the Goodreads website. I am not required or asked to review, I just loved the book and wanted to share it with you. Had I known how much I would enjoy it... I would have read it much sooner. :)
Check it out. It is the first in the new series The Saddler's Legacy. I will be sure to follow this one. I think you will enjoy it too!... especially if you are a Historical Fiction fan!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Compelling Characters

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen Witemeyer
Location:Abilene, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
A well-written story of young love! This book took me in a different direction than I expected. It does not follow the usual structure of a romance novel since the two main characters are apart for the majority of the tale, but the characters were so compelling, that I enjoyed following their separate stories, eagerly waiting for them to intertwine.
Will endures such harship and cruelty, yet his heart remains malleable, and when God steps in, this beaten-down boy grows into a man of character and conviction. He has a few moments that are less than heroic, yet his story shows the way God can work through his people despite their shortcomings.
Ann is young and leans heavily upon the men in her life and can be a bit uppity at times. However, when the surface is stripped away, her inner character shines. She is willing to set aside propriety to do what is right when necessity demands action. She listens to the Lord's leading and in the end, finds the man who captures her heart.
Readers who enjoy sweeping historical sagas will love this story. Rosslyn Elliott writes with great skill and elicits deep emotional reactions in the reader. I would have enjoyed more time with Will and Ann together, and would have loved to see their relationship grow a bit more after they finally admit their feelings to one another, but on the whole, I found the story engaging and would gladly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You won't want to put this book down.

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fairer Than Morning" is a book to savor. As you read this exquisitely written story, the present fades and you are drawn into a tale of cruelty, honor, love and deliverance. When you reach the last page you close the book wishing for more. However, Rosslyn Elliott's characters will stay with you, forever embedded in your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellence in historical romance!

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
believer
Location:Omaha, NE
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the elegant use of period language and historical details, Rosslyn Elliott brings early 19th century Ohio and Pennsylvania to life. But any illusions you have that the good old days were better than today or that people back then were nobler and kinder, are shattered by "Fairer than Morning."
Since Ann's mother died, she's been raising her younger sisters, leaving her unavailable when poetry-spouting Eli proposes. Her father is aiding escaping slaves whose lives are a nightmare. Then Ann meets Will, a saddler's apprentice who is as abused as the slaves. Their grace-filled struggle against hardships will have you rooting for them and their romance. An excellent read, especially for those who enjoy historical romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A winning read!

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura Frantz
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Historically rich and poignant, Fairer Than Morning is a strong offering to the historical genre, one readers won't soon forget. Written a bit out of the box in terms of characterization and plot, it is wonderfully refreshing and contains spiritual truths often glossed over in many novels. I found Will so likeable and moving in his plight as an apprentice, something that the author brought home so vividly. All the little details of the time period came to life and wrenched my heart - and I found myself rooting for Will as soon as I met him! I also found his rescue and relationship with Emmie so touching and realistic, as two people seeking comfort in a comfortless world. Granted, not the best choice at the time but one that the author worked out well for them both in the end. The growth of Ann was heartfelt, also, and I found myself researching these characters as they were drawn from real people who lived and changed history. So happy this is a series and not a stand-alone novel! The cover of the next book, Sweeter Than Birdsong, is just as beautiful. Bless you, Rosslyn, for blessing us with a quality story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good Historical fiction novel

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you have suffered great loss in your life, it is believed that you have a heightened sense of compassion to others around you going through great suffering themselves, and you are drawn to them to help somehow. Both of the main characters in Rosslyn Elliott's novel Fairer than Morning have been through much suffering in their lives. Ann Miller is the daughter of a master Saddler who lost his wife and Ann’s mother in childbirth when Ann was just a girl. Ann then needed to step up and be both sister and mother to her two younger sisters. This proves to be a central point in the novel as she wrestles with continuing in this role to her sisters versus moving forward with her romantic life and the turmoil inside of her as to which life to choose. Will Hanby is a young man whose young life has endured much suffering as well. When Will was just a boy himself, he lost both parents to consumption and he and his brother were sent to different farms to be kept from infection. The story picks up as Will is literally signing his life away to a 5 year term as basically an indentured servant where he will be an “apprentice” to his Master Jacob Good. Unfortunately his last name is a misnomer as Master Jacob Good is the furthest thing from a Good master as possible. I did find myself, at the height of Will’s abuse by his master, in tears as I was reading (which unfortunately was a bit inconvenient because I was in a public place when I was reading that part!)
These two character’s don’t immediately cross paths in the story, but eventually their paths do meet and Ann finds herself drawn to him with feelings of immense compassion as she sees how Will is so mistreated by his master. There are quite a few obstacles for these two on their journey- lies told, poor choices made, and throw in a few more interested suitors for Ann, just to keep you guessing whether they will wind up together or not. I’ll let you read the book to find out.
I found it very interesting to find that this was truly a “historical fiction” book as the names used were mostly all real people and many of the situations described were based on public record. I found that I really did care about the characters and the journey that Rosslyn Elliot took them on. There were a number of truly heartbreaking scenes particularly involving one married couple who were slaves trying to escape barbaric conditions by tyrant slave-owners. The author did a good job at helping you to connect with the characters and their various struggles along the way. I did however feel that some of the writing was a bit choppy, as it felt to me a few times like a chapter would just end in the middle of a conversation and boom you were on to a different setting. That made me turn the pages back to see what I missed and I hadn’t missed anything. Anyway, other than that detail, I did enjoy the story and the characters and will look for this author in the future.
Rating- 3.5 stars
Disclosure: Note a digital copy of this book was graciously provided for me by the publishing company in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful story

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not really a fan of historical fiction, but I enjoy reading this book very much. I like the steady pace of the story, not fast but not too slow that make me feel bored. I admire Will for having the kind heart and courage to help others despite his own tough life with his cruel master. There are quite a number of dramatic events that captivate my heart and few twists that made me feel hard to put down the book.
Fairer than Morning is a story based on the real people who lived at that time. The main characters are real people. It is a wonderful story. Being the debut novel of the author, I think Elliott has done a very good job on the development of the story and its characters. I like the way Elliott brings out the good heart of the people in the story.
For most part of the story, Ann and Will had separate life of their own. To me this is more like an introductory to Ann and Will in this series. It really makes me look forward for the next book in this series. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:May 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In “Fairer Than Morning” by Rosslyn Elliott, we meet the Miller family. Ann has helped her father raise her younger sisters after her mother died giving birth to the youngest. Ann had to become the woman of the family and was not able to follow her heart and her dreams. When she is finally old enough, her suitor Eli tries to win her heart, again. When Ann’s father has to go to Pittsburgh, he decides to take his three daughters with him. While in Pittsburgh Ann meets apprentice Will Hanby. Will’s master is a cruel man and beats will when he does not do something the master wants. Ann and her father try to help him while they are there but when they leave to go back home, Will is almost killed by his master. Will flees Pittsburgh and makes his way to the Miller’s home. Ann’s father takes him in and allows him to become his apprentice and help with the farm. After a bounty hunter who is looking for escaped slaves shows up, Will and Mr. Miller help the slaves to safety and Will realizes he needs to work things out with his former master so that he won’t bring harm to his new friends. When they go back to Pittsburgh, Will becomes a free man after his master is thrown in jail but while there he and Ann realize just how much they care for one another. Which man will Ann choose? I received a free copy of this book to review from Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fairer Than Morning - Great read!

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
BrandtBookTree
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairer Than Morning was the latest book that I have read.
Here is a description of the book:
Ann dreams of a marriage proposal from her poetic suitor—until she meets a runaway apprentice who knows what a truly noble man is.
In 1826, Ann Miller travels to Pittsburgh with her widowed father and two young sisters, only to find that a mysterious man has pursued them all the way from Ohio. Is Ann’s father just a circuit minister, or is he hiding something that may endanger them all?
Will Hanby indentures with a Pittsburgh saddle maker, only to discover that his master is a cold-hearted tyrant. After years of abuse, Will becomes a prisoner of his own mind.
But then lovely Ann Miller comes to stay next door and her compassion lights a long-dark part of Will’s soul. His renewed courage puts his life in jeopardy as he begins to assist fugitive slaves.
Will's murderous master and Ann's questions about her family may keep both of them bound in the shadows forever. Or will they find freedom—together?
As I have stated in the past, I am someone that doesn't venture easily into reading books by authors I have never read before. But I am glad I did with this book. The book easily held my attention and I told my husband one night before bed that I just HAD to finish the book before I could sleep. (Always the sign of a good read!)
I loved all the history that the book had in it and was pleasantly surprised when I read the afterward that the whole Saddler's Legacy series was inspired by a real family who to this day are the most celebrated citizen's of Weterville, Ohio.
The next book in the series comes out in February 2012.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fairer Than Morning, Saddlers Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a very good book

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
joyfulnana
Location:Coal Township, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book about a young girl named Ann Miller who is pursued by Eli Bowen. Eli likes alot of the same things that Ann likes and Ann believes that he is the one she is to marry. When Eli asks Ann to marry him she says no she is to young her father would not allow it. Eli walks away up the riverbank and Ann is numb, somehow she must persuade her father to let her marry Eli. Anns father is not to be persuaded he tells Ann her mother would not have allow it. Anns mother died in childbirth and Ann is helping her father raise her two younger sisters, Susan and Mabel.
A short time later Ann sees Eli with Phoebe and Ann just wanted to run. Eli and Phoebe are seen together at all the town events. Ann can not understand it because she thought that God had let her know she was to marry Eli.
Anns father plans a business trip to Pittsburgh and Ann asks him if she can go along He agrees but she must be responsible for her sisters. In Pittsburgh they meet a young boy who is so deprived and he is the one who is going to work with her father. Will who is an apprentice for the period of five years to learn the trade of saddlery has been treated rather unkind by his master. Ann gets to know Will and when the Millers leave to return home and to their ministry Will is determined he will find them.
What will happen if and when Will finds Ann and what will happen with Eli? What is their ministry? DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL CONNECTION: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>