Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2

Thomas Nelson Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2

Rachel and Jordan's feelings for each other are hostile at first, but angelic intervention helps the two discover peace...and perhaps love.

The youngest and last unmarried of four sisters, Rachel HartHartzler spends most of her time helping with barn chores. Her role abruptly changes when her father hires Jordan Engles, the son he always wanted. As Jordan takes on brotherly roles around the house, like escorting Rachel to the youth singing, the enmity between the two grows. Besides, Jordan has one foot in the Englisch world and is determined not to get involved with an Amish girl.

Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 out of 2496%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Review 1 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

jane jafferi.carol johnson.leona grippen

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
tinker
Location:durand
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it very good book for any one to read some of store is sad everyone wiil enjoy it my friends will read when i done god bless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Values in Book

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lindz2012
Location:Gastonville
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was fun to read and see that an angel speaks in this book. It there to help two people. It was sweet to see the two angels battle in the book. The funny things they do to get the two people to listen. I really like it with Jordan that he get different things.
It was kinda different for Rachel. Though Rachel need to understand what happened to her brother and learn about forgiving. You would be surprise with all the things that happen and what comes of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Compelling Story and Sweet Romance

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bunnyfreak
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Struggling with the traditional role of an Amish woman, Rachel started helping her father in the barns and field after her brother’s death. Rachel still struggles with her grief over her brother’s death and is uncertain how she would ever met the communities standards for a good wife. Jordan is adrift in life. He is exploring his roots in Michigan as a promise to his mother and longs to know his father and determine his place in the world. The two butt heads early on due to misconceptions about each other. However, God has a plan for the two to come closer to him. The angel Nathaniel has charge over Rachel and Jordan and in the story he is used by God to act in the lives.
Initially I was uncertain about how the angel would be depicted in the story. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the angel was not visible like a normal person (like angels in Highway in Heaven or Touched by Angel), but instead interacted in the spiritual realm. Nathiel was kept from doing certain things until God gave him permission which is in keeping with what I read in scripture.
The story was a page turner. I loved seeing how the characters developed through out the story as they grew closer to God and how they struggled when they were far from God. I could relate to characters and found myself rooting for them. I enjoyed the book so much I searched out the first book in the series. Both books stand on there own though so nothing major in the plot is spoiled if you read them out of sequence.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was the first book that I missed after finish

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eszter
Location:Europe
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked to cuddle on the sofa and leave everything outside and read this book. My mind, my heart and my sould was warming up while reading it.
I liked very much the discussion of the angels and demons during the story. Yes, every aspect of our life is important for God. There must be a divine debate while we talk to somebody or when we make a decision.
This book is rather long, more than 400 pages, but it is worth reading it. And at the end you will think: "it is a pitty that it is so short" :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fresh look at Amish Fiction

Date:June 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel Hartzler is not your typical Amish maiden. With a less-than-excellent reputation in the kitchen and all thumbs with a needle, Rachel prefers more active pursuits outside, and her father accepts her help - until he hires Jordan, an Englischer with an Amish mother who's trying to find his way. As he grieves for his mother after her passing, he takes a job with the Hartzler family until he can plan out what to do next. With his presence comes pressure for Rachel to accept a more traditional role, which doesn't go down smoothly. As Rachel and Jordan dance around their attraction for each other and struggle to find their place, tragedy strikes the community. Will death ultimately throw them together - or forever apart?
Rachel is not a typical Amish girl, and this is not your typical Amish book! While the Amish vs. English romance has been done before, the drama that Reid writes into the story takes this book far deeper than most. What really makes it stand out, however, and what kept me up late reading is the parallel story. The Bible says that we do not fight against what we can see, and Reid makes this evident through paragraphs inserted into the action of this story that describe what is happening in a more celestial realm. An angel named Nathaniel and a demon named Tangus are each fighting for Jordan and Rachel, and these asides make this story much more thought-provoking.
Brush of Angel's Wings alone is a great story with likable characters and exciting action; but the addition of Nathaniel and Tangus take this book to a whole other level. You won't want to miss this story.
I received a free copy of Brush of Angel's Wings from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written and compelling...

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
week2week
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The story takes place in an Amish community in Michigan called Hope Falls. The main characters are Rachel, a single Amish girl and Jordan who is back in the community, staying with his uncle, because he promised his mother he would give her Amish roots a chance. Another “character” is Nathaniel, an angel of God, whose job it is to *”shepherd them toward the path of healing and love.” ( *from book jacket)
Brush of Angel’s Wings is the first book I have read by author, Ruth Reid. I enjoyed the author’s style of writing, the way she told the story but I was less impressed by the story itself.
I have really enjoyed novels set in Amish country in the past, I think it was the “angel” part of this book that was what I didn’t care for. The angel’s role in this book did not “sit well” with me but this is just my opinion.
The author uses the authentic Pennsylvania Dutch dialogue and provides a glossary for those not familiar with this type of speech.
I would give this novel a 4 out of 5 rating – even though I didn’t care for the Angels and Demons inclusion in this book, the writing was well done and compelling. I can also add that I did not read the first book so that may have made a difference in my opinion.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

brush of angel's wings review

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Brush of Angel's Wings" by Ruth Reid is the second book in the Heavan on Earth series. It ties in with some of the side characters from the first book "Promise of an Angel". I looked forward to this book coming out since I read the first one and it did not disappoint. Reid is looking to be a promising author that women will be waiting in line for her books to come out. In Promise, the angel, Nathaniel, looked and acted more like a real guy. In Wings, Nathaniel, is more the angel-on-your-shoulder variety. He even comes with a devil on the other shoulder, Tangus. At first this seems a little old school cartoon like, but after awhile it starts to become rather frightening. Tangus just does not let up. The fight over good and evil takes on a more meaningful approach.
In this novel, Jordan, a half-Amish half-Englisher, comes to live with his mother's family, an uncle and work among the Amish in the fields and with the horses. He is not good at it. He meets Rachel, a Tom-boy, who can't cook to save her life. He loves her. The battle over right and wrong follow the two as they decide what to do with themselves and their relationship with each other as well as with God. I received this book for free from www.booksneeze.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book in the Heaven on Earth series

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brush of Angel's Wings by Ruth Reid is the second novel from the 'A Heaven on Earth' series. I previously read the first in this series, The Promise of an Angel, and very much enjoyed Ruth Reid's talent as a writer. Brush of Angel's Wings was just as enjoyable!
Rachel Hartzler is young Amish woman who has no prospects of marriage, and she is past the prime time when young women marry in her old-order Amish community. She is dedicated to her parents, who suffered the loss of their only son in an accident. The youngest daughter, Rachel has stepped in to help her father with the farm chores her brother used to do. She is not good at, and has no interest in, womanly chores of cooking, cleaning and sewing.
Jordan Engles, whose mother had been Amish, arrived in town after his mother's death. Having never been raised Amish, he had promised his mother he would give his Amish roots a chance. He has no intention of becoming Amish, but finds work at the Hartzler farm, taking over Rachel's farm chores. The two dislike each other immediately, and the story follows them as they try to discover God's will for their lives.
Throughout Brush of Angel's Wings, an angel is watching over Rachel and Jordan and interceding where necessary. The story is full of emotion and twists and turns-a book I had a hard time putting down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
This review is fromBrush of Angel's Wings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Summer Reading

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
CarliAlice
Location:Union, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In this story Rachel Harzler and Jordan Engles are two young 20 somethings searching for answers. Rachel is Amish and Jordan is Englisch but they both have experienced hardships in their young lives and are struggling to find their way. While they may have grown up in different worlds their struggle to listen to God's will is the same. As they learn to listen they slowly unfold His will for their lives.
The story was quite engaging and had a few surprises for an Amish romance. I had difficulty putting it down as I got further in. There were times I could really relate to Jordon or Rachel's feelings and it really drew me into the book.
This was the first time that I've read an Amish romance that also had an element of "fantasy" in it. While I did see the angels purpose in the book, I did not feel that this particular element enhanced the book in any way. In some instances I found it distracting. Using italics when the angels spoke along with italics when Pennsylvania Dutch was used made the text a little busy and more difficult to read. Rachel and Jordans characters were really well done. They were relatable and Rachel's lifestyle in the Amish community really drew you in.
Overall, I felt the book was entertaining and well written. There were moments when I could see my own struggle with God and the desire to know why things happen instead of learning to accept God's will. I will certainly be reading more books by Ruth Reid!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
avidreader
Location:Petoskey, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this series and the second book was as great as the first. Cannot wait for number three. Very thought provoking and insightful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great!

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4.5 Stars!
Rachel is the last unmarried daughter and with the death of her only brother two years earlier she feels the reasonability to help her father in the barn and fields and she enjoys it more then doing woman's work in the house. Her parents are worried that she is not going to find a husband if she is not working at improving her cooking and sewing skills. Her father hires Jordan who is not Amish but living with his Amish uncle for a while as his mom who had grown up Amish asked him right before she dies to give it a try. Rachel does not like Jordan and feels like her father is trying to replace her brother and does not want her to help and she becomes resentful.
Jordan is looking for work so he can earn enough money to go to trucking school and move on with his life now that his mom is dead. Even though he finds working with the Amish rewarding he does not plan to stay long in the community. Little do Rachel and Jordan know but Nathaniel the angel that two years ago causes such a stir is back to help them find their way. With Nathaniel watching over them will they over come their fears and anger to find forever together and with their heavenly father?
I really enjoyed this book. I admit I was curious when I read the first book in the series how angles where going to work in such a story line but its very good!
What I liked: I loved how the angle Nathaniel was incorporated in this book! In the first book he was very visible which caused quite a stir amount the community. With this book he was more heard but not seen. Parts of the story was told from the angles side and I thought it was really cool. I also really liked the two main characters. I really wanted them to find peace with God and happiness together.
What I did not like: There is not much I did not like with this book. The storyline with Rachel's sister was really sad and the part where she was possibly going to marry another man felt a little forced and predictable.
Over all I really liked this book and look forward to the 3rd book of this series due out early next year. The author does a really great job of incorporating angles into the story line which makes for a unique reading adventure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

was not as good as book No. 1

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy Younce
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved book no. 1" The Promise of an Angel" but did not care for book no 2 "Brush of Angel's Wings" I bought the books because they were Amish fiction and no.1 was, no.2 was was more about good and bad angels less about Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Book~

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Amish Books. This one had a great story and I really enjoyed it. Only I really had a hard time with the guardian angel conversations between the story lines. The angels have a role to play behind the scenes. I kind-of skipped over them. It was still a great book. Rachel and her story were fun to follow because she is one that colors outside the lines that everyone has drawn for her.
When Jordan comes storming into her world she was all but excited. She after all~ could care less about boys and especially an Englisher ~even if he had Amish roots. His mother's dying wish is that Jordan would return back to her Amish people and give them and her God a chance before he headed into the world. It does not take long for Jordan to realize the strict rules of the church and all that goes with being Amish was not for him. He would have to guard his heart at all cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touched by Brush of Angel's Wings

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brush of An Angel's Wings by Ruth Reid Review
What a sweet sweet book this one is!!! I love Amish fiction and this one is quite unique as Ruth Reid includes angels surrounding the main characters and guiding them.....one a guardian angel and one a fallen angel trying to convict the main characters to doubt God and abandon faith in Him. Rachel and Joshua have many obstacles in their way. Rachel is not your typical Amish maiden. She is not a good cook....her stitches aren't always even in her sewing....she has never been asked to ride home from a singing with one of the local Amish boys. She is jealous of Joshua and fears he is replacing her father's affections for her and her dear, departed brother, James.
Joshua was raised by an Amish mother and had an absent father. He locates his father, who is still working as a long-distance trucker with the help of the rich, pretty young English girl and her cell phone. He goes on the road with his father but sees things that explain why he never had his father in his life. He is then able to make the decision he needs to make and I will leave you to read to find out what that decision is!!
I had a hard time putting this book down! It really touched my heart! It was a new twist to have the angels present and to imagine just how they might be acting at this very moment in my own life and the lives of others. Thank you, Ruth Reid, for a new perspective on the realm of angels.
About the author:
Ruth Reid is a pharmacist and photographer as well as writer. She fell in love with the Amish years ago when she skipped a college class to attend a barn raising.
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson publishing through the booksneeze.org program in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
This review is fromBrush of Angel's Wings.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Amish books, so this one was a no brainer for me, of course I was going to sign up to review it! This book was actually quite different from the other types of Amish books I've read, while it had the same "Plain" life style portrayed it also showed a much strong view of the Spiritual world. I really quite enjoyed this book, it was very simply written which made it very easy to follow and get "lost" in! The story revolves mostly around Rachel, who stepped in to fill her dead brother's shoes and started taking on the more "manly" chores associated with the Amish lifestyle. When a stranger comes and starts stepping into her self-appointed place Rachel starts feeling pushed out and lost. Throughout the book there are tons of plot twists and turns that keep the reader going till the last page. I very much enjoyed this book!!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended!!

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Dawn
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel Hartzler is not your average Amish girl. She can’t cook, sew, and just isn’t very domestic. She likes to work in the fields alongside her father. Ever since her brother died she has been out in the barn helping her father with the everyday chores. When Jordan Engles, an English fellow with Amish roots shows up looking for work, Rachel harbors resentment towards him. She feels he is trying to take the place of her brother. Jordan has no intentions of staying in the community. A community he thinks is strict and not for him. He is only acting upon a promise he made to his dying mother. She wanted him to give his Amish heritage a chance. Throughout the book two Angels one good and one bad follow Rachel and Jordan along on their journey. Nathanial, an angel of good, whispers words of encouragement and tries to guide them on the right path. Tangus, an angel of darkness, senses their weakness’s and plants seeds of self-doubt. In a battle of good vs. evil which side will prevail? Both Rachel and Jordan are on a spiritual journey, and as they grow closer they must decide if they will walk that path together or part ways.
One thing I liked about the character Rachel was that she could not cook and was not very good at sewing. Seems like odd characteristics for me to like but I find it refreshing when reading to not make every Amish woman automatically a top chef or prizing winning quilter. I like my characters to have some substance if not flawed. It adds more depth to a story as we all can identify with the characters. Not all Amish women can instantly cook at birth! This book does pack an emotional punch. Some events happen that had me tearing up. Overall this was a delightful book with believable characters and a good storyline. The cover of the book will reach out and grab your attention for it is very beautiful. I have noticed many people saying this is not your “typical” Amish book but as a reader isn’t that what we want? Different in this case equals fantastic!
This book was provided to me from BookSneeze and Thomas Nelson Publishing in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brush of Angel’s Wings, by Ruth Reid, is the second Heaven on Earth novel. It is just as magnificent as the first. Set in the same Amish community, some of the characters are familiar right from the beginning if you have read the first book. If not, this book is still a great read as a stand-alone novel.
Rachel Hartzler is not a good cook, does not like to sew, and loves racing horses and working in the barn or out in the fields. She is obviously not a typical Amish woman and harbors no plans of marrying. Having helped her father with his work since her brother died, Rachel is extremely jealous when he hires Jordan Engles to help him with the work and shoos her inside to work with her mother.
As she works through her feelings, her father is hurt in an accident and her sister dies in childbirth. To top things off, just as she starts to feels some attraction to Jordan, he leaves with his father to become a truck driver, telling her he never intended to become Amish. Throughout all of this, the angel Nathaniel and the demon Tangus both try to influence Rachel and Jordan toward their respective masters. In the end, both Rachel and Jordan must decide whom they will follow.
I enjoyed this book very much and would definitely recommend it to all who read Amish fiction.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ruth did a great job on this book

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rachel Hartzler does not fit in her Amish community, she likes to race her horse and buggy beating the boys, she can't cook or sew like normal Amish girls, and is resigned that she will be a leddich maydel. Two years ago she was encouraged to find the Angel that Judith Fischer talked to by Kate Bender who happened to be engaged to Rachel's brother James. In her haste to go to the river, she didn't get the gate shut to the sheep pen and some got out. James was trying to catch the sheep and drowned in the river. Rachel has never forgiven Kate for encouraging her to try and find Judith's Angel. She has tried to take the place of her father's only son by doing the work James would have done, therefore she doesn't ever see herself becoming a wife or mother. Instead she is going to try to be the teacher of the new school, which is exactly what Kate wants to do also since she can't seem to move on from losing James.
Jordan Engles is not Amish but his Mother was and he is now living with his Uncle and looking for work. His father, a truck driver, left when he was very little and he never heard from him again. When Jordan's mother got cancer they lost everything trying to pay the medical bills and on her deathbed she asked him to go live with her brother to see what Amish life was like. Jordan gets hired on at the Hartzler farm which makes Rachel mad as he's taking her place helping her dad, which she see's as trying to take James' place.
Kayla Davy is a rich Englischer who brings her horse to the Hartzler's to have him shoed, when she sees Jordan she flirts with him and Rachel doesn't like that. After the horse is there a few days she comes over to ride him but Jordan tells her it's too wet and not safe, he refuses to go with her so she saddles the horse and goes by herself. Jordan jumps on the horse to go get her, then drives her home. Kayla loans him her cell phone so he can look up truck driving schools because he thinks he'd have a better chance finding his dad that way.
Jordan eventually feels his work is done at the Hartzler's so he hires on at the Davy's farm but when Micah Hartzler gets hurt and has to spend time in the hospital, Jordan returns to their farm to help out. That is until Kayla comes over to show him a text from his dad. Jordan's dad saw a message on the internet that Jordan's looking for him so he sends a text to Kayla's phone. Arrangements are made for Jordan and Clint, his father, to meet and from that meeting arrangements are mad for Jordan to go on the road with Clint.
During the time he's gone Rachel's sister Sadie, who's having a troubled pregnancy, goes into early labor, delivers baby Ella, but loses her own life. Timothy, Sadie's husband, is beside himself and Rachel takes over the care of Ella during the day and his mother stays the night caring for Ella. Rachel tries to get Timothy to spend time with his daughter but he fights her every inch of the way.
Timothy finally decides he can't care for his baby and his work so he asks Rachel to marry him. He explains that he's already gotten the Bishop's approval and they can grow to love each other. Rachel is stunned, she's dreamed about having a husband like Timothy, he loved Sadie so, was kind, caring, everything one would want in a husband, but she can't say yes. She promises to talk to her parents and pray about it.
Throughout this story there are two Angel's, Nathaniel the good Angel and Tangus the bad Angel. These Angels are both assigned to Rachel and Jordan, and they seem more like you would think of your conscious talking to you, but you don't always hear everything your conscious tells you to do and which one do you listen to?
Now you have to figure out, do Rachel and Timothy get married for Ella's sake, since Rachel promised to be there to care for her, does Jordan become a truck driver, does he stay English and return to Kayla or does he become Amish and return to Rachel, and if he returns to Rachel is it too late?
I did enjoy this book and would recommend it to anyone that likes Amish books. The focus on the Angels in this book seem more like what you would experience in your life, like your subconscious talking to you. Very enjoyable and I'm looking forward to the third book in the series Angel At Her Side coming out in January 2013.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book everyone should read!

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brush of Angel’s Wings – A book everyone should read!
This has been one of the best books that I have read lately. It only took about 3 days to read. The story of hurting people – 1 hurt by a father leaving the family and trying to figure out his life and the 2nd blaming herself for her brother’s death. My favorite part of this book was the battle b/t the angel and devil. We have heard that they are at constant battles for us, but Ruth Reid takes it to another level in this book. We read the constant fight during many circumstances and how the angel sends prayers up for us and guards us. How often do we miss the Lord trying to get our attention? How often do we let the devil feed negativity in our thoughts when we should stop to pray? How often do we take the negative thoughts and let our spirit run with it? I believe this is a book everyone should read to become more aware of this spiritual battle going on. I know the world is letting the devil’s thoughts keep them going with low morals, etc. More people need to read books like this and take thought of what is really going on in the world around them… and see how loving God and family are truly important. _Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishing and the booksneeze program for the copy of this book in return for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Brush of Angel's Wings, Heaven on Earth Series #2
This review is fromBrush of Angel's Wings - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a unique Amish novel

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just finished this amazing novel, Brush of Angels Wings by Ruth Reid last night. These characters will live on in my imagination for a long time. Rachel and Jordan are typical young adults dealing with the hard issues of death of a sibling/parent, regrets, parent relationships and faith. The part that made this novel so amazing in my mind is the addition of Nathaniel and Tangus, both angels, one (Nathaniel) the bright angel, and Tangus the dark one. Some authors would direct the words of the angels to thoughts of the characters, but when used in this way I think it makes more of an imact on the reader that there is another world out there, without coming across as paranormal (though in a sense it really is). If there was a genre called divine intervention, I believe this would be in that category. As such it will likely be a favorite of those readers that like their paranormal novels, but also those of us that don't really enjoy all the elements of that genre.
As well, though the novel takes place in an Amish setting, I would consider this predominately Christian, not only Amish, though some things are mentioned as being not Amish such as electricity, phones, trucks and so on.
I was a little disappointed in the abrupt ending to the novel, as well as the fact that there were numerous issues not resolved. As this is book 2 in the Heaven on Earth series, I expect to read more about them. I think it would also be of considerable help to have read #1 first.
I would recommend this novel to anyone who loves a good clean novel.
i received this ebook free from Thomas Nelson Publishers in through their Booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>