Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Billion Reasons Why

Thomas Nelson A Billion Reasons Why

Katie McKenna has never loved any man but one: billionaire Luc DeForges. He was her first love. But there are a billion reasons why she's engaged instead to Dexter Hastings, a solid and stable man who wants the same things she does: marriage and a family but all of the things that she wants without the deep-seeded pain and fear of being abandoned that Luc brings.

Dexter and she have worked an arrangement that's akin to faith without action, love without deeds -- a dead faith. Going home to New Orleans to sing for her childhood friend's wedding, Katie must search her heart to find out if any of her reasons for being with Dexter are stronger than love. Only when Katie steps fully into faith and jumps off the cliff of life into the arms of Luc does she understand the fullness of God's grace.

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 out of 2793%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Billion Reasons Why
Review 1 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Read

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kim S
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like classic movies and music, this book is for you. The plot seemed like something they would pull off in a '40's movie and the chapter titles were all titles to great songs of times gone by. Although the plot really seemed a bit unrealistic, it was fun and enjoyable. Luc loves Katie, but Katie is scared to trust her emotions and scared she will get hurt. After reading this book you will want to turn on some Gershwin or Cole Porter music or watch a Cary Grant or Fred Astaire movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Book :)

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie703
Location:Marksville,LA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved how this book told of what love is really like, and unlike some people said, this book was not hard to get into.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Hard to get into

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It took a while to get into this book. It just couldn't hold my attention. But, it finally did. I thought Katie was selfish on a lot of things. Luc did treat her like a queen and Katie would blow him off. I'm glad I didn't pay for this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You'll get, at least one good laugh, guaranteed!!

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, I will go right ahead and admit that I was surprised by this book. This might seem like a light story, but I'm guessing this author didn't take writing this lightly.
First summer + Billerbeck read, and I'm happy to say that I DID enjoy it!! I would not call this chick-lit, since it has enough depth and flow. This is not the kind that will get you exasperated with the characters and the story itself. If you like being around people with zest for life, then come on in and dive into A Billion Reasons Why. Humour (more like hilarity), fun, honesty, drama, love, sparkles, with a few 'what?' moments, all wrapped up into a good Christian story, with a gorgeous cover.
Alright, Kristen!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was good, but not quite as good as her others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kat4
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this book! My first Kristin B book - and proabably the best one I read so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
LaDonna Rae
Location:DFW, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book of Kristin Billerbeck that I have read.
I simply loved this book; it would make a great beach read.
It was entertaining and yet at the same time contained a strong spiritual/ religious element and address the question of what if our plan for our life and God's plan isn't the same.
LaDonna @ www.ifrog.me
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobby
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've read several chapters and trying to get into this book. Hear it gets better the farther you read. Hope so!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Billion Reasons Why ? A Story of True Love

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review : A Billion reasons Why - Kristin Billerbeck - February 2011
Every girl wants to meet her Prince Charming, settle down with them and eventually marry and have a family. For Katie McKenna an Irish New Orleans Girl , her drean guy was Luc DeForges and eight years ago, she asked him in front of a crowd to marry her and he turned her down. She left humilated and decided never to revisit that part of her life again. Now eight years later, Katie is a teacher working with special needs and about to be engaged to Dexter , he is what you would call her fallback guy , safe, doesn't take risks , he can offer her security but can he offer her the one thing she wants most without realising it unconditional love ?
When Luc DeForges walks back into Katie's life he asks her one thing to be his date and sing with him at his brother Ryan's wedding , she reluctantly agrees but as the days pass we soon discover that maybe Dexter isn't right for Katie but her Prince Charming Luc seems perfect and guess what, he has grown up and wants to marry her, something he regretted eight years ago is declining.
Can Luc provide Katie with a billion reasons why she shouldn't marry Dexter or is Katie worried about another broken heart ?
Find out what Katie's answer was in A Billion reasons Why.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a pleaseing romance

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie is an accomplished teacher of students with special needs, most of them on the severe end of the autism spectrum. Her life is under control. She is almost engaged to Dexter, a very practical man. She really didn't love him. But, “Love was a decision. A choice. All the leading experts said so, and she'd decided she would love Dexter in a way that honored and respected him.” (61)
One day, without warning, her high school flame appears at her classroom door. They have a past and a relationship that ended abruptly. It had been eight years. And now, there he was.
Luc has come to ask Katie to sing at his brother's wedding. His real goal, however, is to save Katie from a dull marriage, one where she could not possibly be her true self. He is convinced she is headed towards a “lifeless future.” (63)
Along with Luc comes all the hurt from those years ago. There were actions that Luc had done right before Katie's father suddenly died that caused pain for Katie's mother. Luc has secrets he feels he must keep or Katie would be hurt even more.
Katie faces a dilemma. She is committed to Dexter. But she really is still in love with Luc, even after all those years. Should she pursue what Luc says would be a “loveless practical marriage”? Or should she follow her passionate heart?
Can all of the issues that separate Katie and Luc ever be resolved? Does God want her to have her heart filled with love? The passions of her youth led to mistakes. Can she trust herself to follow her passions now?
Billerbeck has written over 30 novels and this is another good one. It is definitely a book for women who like romance stories with the grounding of God's will in the forefront. The action takes place in New Orleans and it was fun to learn about “society” in that city.
A copy of this book was provided by The B & B Media Group, Inc., on behalf of the publishers for the purpose of this review.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Romance

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Sometimes I like to read a nice story with a happy ending. If that's what you're looking for, this Christian fiction romance set in New Orleans is for you. It's just a clean story of unrequited love getting a second chance.
You must suspend your disbelief to accept that Kate and Luc truly love each other, yet remain apart for eight years. Somehow they manage to connect again. However, even with the contrived ending, many fans of romance novels with enjoy this one.
Reading group guide included.
Thank you to Audra Jennings at B&B Media Group and Thomas Nelson for my copy.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun read

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wynd
Location:Saskatchewan Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An excellent modern story of how a totally humiliating and hurtful experience can change an exuberant girl into a staid, supressed, and careful woman. This light chick lit romance was engaging from the first page to the last. Although I could understand and sympathize with Katie's angst over the sudden appearance of her old beau, I did want to ring her friend Eileen's neck by the middle of the book. The author used her descriptive talents to bring modern New Orleans front and center blending the old with the new easily for the reader, I felt like I was right there watching the unfolding of the story. Careful Katie certainly used selective bible quotes to talk herself into becoming the staid careful woman but she seems to have forgotten The Songs of Solomon completely. I enjoyed the secondary characters especially Katie's mother immensely. Well written with defined characters this book is perfect for a someone who enjoys chick lit with substance.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really enjoyed this one.

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book nearly straight through. I had to sleep, but it was hard setting this story aside to do that. For some reason this story appealed to me more than most. Maybe it was because of the whole need for healing from the past, or maybe it was the desire to fully love rather than settle for safe. Whatever, the reason, I loved this story. I didn't want to do anything but read it until I got to the last page. Some great points were made throughout the story about the sacrifice of love and how sometimes what seems right and save is really manipulation. On the other hand what sometimes seems like manipulation really is true love. I know, it's confusing, so you have to read the book to find out what I mean. It was pretty profound in that respect.
I enjoyed the minor themes in this book and how Luc became instantly likable the day he fed that sweet child in her classroom sweet potatoes and ended up wearing some of it. I loved how the author showed the intense emotion that comes from having such a strong bond to someone that was never meant to be broken. Yeah, eight years was a long time for him to wait, so I could see where it would baffle her. It kind of baffled me, too, but then again, I fell in love with Luc myself so I was pretty blinded from the get go. :) And unlike heroines from other novels Billerbeck has written who are snarky, I found this heroine, Katie, to be quite lovable, too. They truly made a great couple. I agreed with all of the people in her life. They wanted to protect her, but at the same time they wanted to see her bloom, too, and be who God made her. And that wasn't what she had chosen for herself.
The setting for this story was pretty romantic, too. I enjoyed the cultural experience and I dare say it made me want to go to New Orleans to check out the town for myself. That was very well done. I think the setting totally added to the romance. So did the old money theme that is often prevalent in the south. That was great. All in all I found this book highly entertaining and very romantic. There wasn't a lot of smooching but what did occur was definitely something to savor. I highly recommend this book for romance lovers. It's a great getaway for the mind and a perfect beach read.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Welcome back, Kristin!

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With a Billion Reasons Why, Kristin Billerbeck is back with a light romance that is a fun, quick read. Katie and Luc have a history that has kept them apart but also serves as a magnet attracting them to each other. Instead, Katie is ready to marry a man she met at her church. He's safe and predictable...but is that enough? This book didn't have the zany feel of her Ashley Stockingdale series, but reminded me of the Spa Girls series. It was a fun read, with interesting characters that kept me engaged. A great spring break read especially for those who love romance.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love can endure..or can it?

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookaholic
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A Billion Reasons Why, by Kristen Billerbeck
When I got this book, I was super excited to start reading it. But life happened and it took me a few weeks to open it up. Once I did, though..I was a bit surprised. This book follows 2 characters who were once dating but in a series of events, grew apart. Now, years later, they have the opportunity to meet up. But with each of them living their own seperate lives, will they have what it takes to make it? Or..will they even want to try?
It was a good book overall. I loved the characters and how their personalities were so different and yet..together. I loved that aspect. The plot was a bit predictable, but sometimes, that's the kinds of stories I like. Basic and simple, with a few twists to keep me interested. On the flip side, there were parts of the book that I had to read a few time to make sure I was following along. At times it seemed a bit choppy and unconnected, but in the end, it was a good read. Overall, I'd give this book a 3 star rating.
**I am giving a review of this book s part of the Book Sneeze (booksneeze.com) program. The review and thoughts are my own. I was provided a free book from Booksneeze for this review.**
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A delightfully romantic read

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy Glidden
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, I would like to thank BookSneeze and Thomas Nelson for giving me this book to review. The cover they put on this book was a real draw and went perfect with the story line. This was a fun book to read, with lots of dialogue and witty conversations. I found myself smiling a lot through this story.
Katie McKenna thinks she has a billion reason why she should NOT marry “billionaire” Luc DeForges and a billion reasons why she should marry Dexter. But while reading you will soon discover that her reasons just don’t hold up. Katie is . . . “everything a man wanted in a wife: the girl next door, nurturing with just enough fight to keep it interesting, intellectual, generous to a fault, and of course. .. the heavenly figure.” Luc is her “soul mate” and always has been, but once you have been rejected, it is really hard to trust your heart again. Luc knows what he wants, but has to work really hard to convince Katie she can trust him.
This story was full of fun characters. Katie’s Mom was a real fun character to get to know. The author had a way of taking a tense situation and turning the moment into a light and sometimes hilarious moment. And what girl doesn’t want to be swept off her feet by a man with a jet plane and more money than he knows what to do with, but hasn’t let wealth go to his head; someone who only has eyes for you. This was a story full of romance and fun and I had a good time reading it.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
April
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I LOVE reading. My entire life I’ve been a reader. As a homeschooling mom of three I am always reading something, but very rarely is it the get lost in the story kind of fiction I used to enjoy. A Billion Reasons Why by Kristin Billerbeck was a rare treat!
From the publisher, Thomas Nelson:
He’s a handsome billionaire. She’s not impressed.
Katie McKenna has never loved any man but one: billionaire Luc DeForges. He was her first love. But there are a billion reasons why she's engaged instead to Dexter Hastings, a solid and stable man who wants the same things she does: marriage and a family but all of the things that she wants without the deep-seeded pain and fear of being abandoned that Luc brings.
Dexter and she have worked an arrangement that's akin to faith without action, love without deeds -- a dead faith. Going home to New Orleans to sing for her childhood friend's wedding, Katie must search her heart to find out if any of her reasons for being with Dexter are stronger than love. Only when Katie steps fully into faith and jumps off the cliff of life into the arms of Luc does she understand the fullness of God's grace.
Ahhh, a love story. Who doesn’t love a good romance? And, it’s a Christian romance story! Perfect! As is the case with any well written book, I found myself lost in the story. I finished this book in just one night, it was a fun and easy read—perfect for this season of my life. I look forward to exploring more stories from Kristin Billerbeck!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, love!

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leigh
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had the opportunity to read much of Kristin Billerbeck's work, but I did love this book! Although I think it could have had a stronger Christian influence woven throughout the book, it did have characters that you fall in love with and a plot that keeps you turning pages. Just like Luc and Katie, I also love the 40s, the South, old movies, and the crooners. I would definitely recommend this book to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product is average

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evangeline Han
Location:Melaka, Malaysia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A Billions Reasons Why is about Katie McKenna, a schoolteacher in North California. Originally from New Orleans, she made the move to NC after being publicly humiliated by her then-boyfriend, Luc DeForges. Eight years has passed since the incident and she is now engaged to Dexter Hastings, a stable and committed Christian. One day, Luc shows up at the door of her classroom and convinces her to go back to her hometown to sing at his brother’s wedding. But, the multi-millionaire Luc has other plans in mind than just bringing her back to sing at the wedding.
This book is under the Christian fiction romance category but if it wasn’t for scattered mentions of a church and pastor, this book didn’t deserve to be in the Christian category. In a couple of chapters, there was a brief mention of an immoral incident that happened in the early years of Katie’s and Luc’s relationship. However, there was no mention of sorriness for what had happened and the remorse shown was only for the public humiliation. This book might possibly make an interesting read for chick lit fans, but for those who are looking for a completely wholesome Christian book, this won’t be ideal.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Billion Reasons Why
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Novel from Kristin Billerbeck!

Date:January 30, 2011
Kristin Billerbeck has been one of my favorite authors since I fell in love with Ashley Stockingdale several years ago. I was super-excited about the opportunity to review her latest novel, A Billion Reasons Why.
Katie's ex-fiance comes back into her life asking for a favor after nearly a decade-long absence. As she heads back to her hometown of New Orleans, she must face her family and her past and decide if she will continue to live in bondage to her past failures or move forward and live the life God has in store for her.
A Billion Reasons Why lived up to all of my expectations and was absolutely delightful! Kristin's style pulls readers in from the very first page. I always feel like I'm friends with the characters by the end of her books. I found that I absolutely could not put the book down once I started it! I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys chick lit!
I received a free copy of this book from The B&B Media Group in exchange for my fair and honest review.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>