Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut

Thomas Nelson The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut

Explore the depths of the Scriptures while you read. Expect understanding! And experience the full meaning of God's Word. The Expanded Bible has been developed by a respected team of skilled Bible translators to make God's Word easier to understand—and more relevant and real for today's Christian—with innovative expansions in the text itself that exhibit the complete meaning of each passage in its context—while you read.
  • Perceive what God is saying in language that's easy to understand
  • Discover the significance of each passage with helpful expansions in the text
  • Comprehend full meaning with alternative, literal, and traditional wordings
  • Understand the Bible's culture and setting with descriptive comments where needed
  • Compare Scripture with Scripture using key cross-references
  • Add your own expansions and observations in wide margins on every page
  • Includes topical index
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut
Review 1 for The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best English Translation to Date

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alan Smiddy
Location:Benton, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The format is in single column, the text is bold and easy to read, the binding is excellent though I do pray there will a premium leather edition in the future. As for the translation itself...after selling Bibles for over 20 years I can honestly say this is one of the best translations to date. The reader can read for him/herself what the original authors intended to say. Probably as close as one can get without learning Hebrew and Greek.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Bible Reading

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Smiley
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is greatly appreciated because when reading thru The Word of God I don't have to stop and look up words to find their meanings; a very helpful tool for my studies. God bless.
Thank You,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bible for reading!!

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
WILdu
Location:Flint, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible not only looks good but is very informative for reading. With some words being defined as you read, and others given in contempory language you understand better as you read. Would recommend this bible to anyone who wanted to read without having to have a dictionary and or a commentary for easy reading.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid reference material on Bible translations

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paul Julich
Location:Indialantic, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was first drawn to this Bible when I saw that one of the authors was Dr. Mark Strauss. I was curious because of my deep appreciation for the ministry of his father, Dr. Richard Strauss and his mother, Mary. Perusing the Bible in the bookstore, I was impressed with the collection of comments and alternate translations provided. I refer to numerous translations in my Sunday School teaching preparation because I am not a greek scholar. This Bible has collected the important alternate translations in one volume which has greatly simplified the process of considering the alterative translations. I am very appreciative of the careful scholarship that has gone into this Bible. I always have it nearby as I am working through lesson preparation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the expanded Bible is great..

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rev Jaime
Location:New Bedford, Ma.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the Bible very much.. excellent print for tired eyes like mine.. good strong binding in the HC version.. good insight into the text's meaning.. I recommend for any new Bible student looking to understand better the text..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Expanded Bible

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Zealfire
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The index of major events helps a lot when I can not remember where to find stories like those of Balaam and the one of Saul and Barnabas. I find the additions intriguing and helpful in studying the Bible, and beneficial. I did like that the additions were clearly marked as additions, and could be seen as such. The only negative aspect to them is that when wanting to just read the Bible it is difficult to read through, because of the additions. Nonetheless, I find this one of the better Bible's out today, and I would suggest it to anyone else who is interested in seeing more in depth meanings whether they be traditional or a more literal renderi
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad. I like that the expansions are clearly labelled. I don't see this as "adding to scripture" as some have noted, I see this more as rolling the commentary, dictionary, and Bible text into one cohesive unit instead of having you flip around to the back of the Bible or flip through a completely different book. It takes a little bit of getting used to and probably won't be my daily reading Bible, but it's not bad. Worthwhile if you're using it in a more in-depth study though!
Doesn't have maps and the subject index is so-so.
Disclaimer: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice Study Bible

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
ElainaM
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have to admit that I have mixed feeling about Bibles like the Expanded Bible and Amplified Bible. This is because we are warned of adding or taking away from scripture. This being said I do like set up of the Bible, subject headings in the margins with wide margins for writing notes. The study notes are embedded in the text. This can lead to some confusion or chopping reading. I recommend using this Bible alongside you regular study Bible. The study notes and translation used (it is clearly not NKJV, close but not quite) can give some good insights and clarification to confusing or hard to understand scriptures. Overall this is a nice Bible that I am pleased to add to my collection.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Expanded Bible, Leathersoft Chestnut
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It really helps you get deeper into the verses.

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alex
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is a bible to be read with the text and the expansion together to get the benefit of it....saying that you would have to have a primary bible. After reading your primary bible......for an example: you just read the Book of John chapter 1.......Now you would read it again using "The Expanded Bible" and you will get more knowledge of what you just read using your primary bible. The only negative thing i see is that the paper is a little thin other than that it's a good help for studying the bible deeper.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.