Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1

Thomas Nelson The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1

Kit Livingstone's great-grandfather has re-appeared with an unbelievable story--the ley lines throughout Britain are not merely the stuff of legends but truly are pathways to other worlds. So few people know how to use them, though, that doing so is fraught with danger.

But one explorer knew more than most. Because of his fear of being unable to find his way home, he developed an intricate code and tattooed his map onto his skin. But the map has since been lost and rival factions are in desperate competition to recover it. What none of them yet realize is that the skin map itself is not the prize at the end of this race . . . but merely the first goal of a vast and marvelous quest to regain Paradise.

Enter the ultimate treasure hunt--with a map made of skin, a playing field of alternate realities, and a prize that is the greatest mystery of all.

Average Customer Rating:
4.086 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
0
21 out of 2391%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Review 1 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Journey Through Time and Space

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Location:Atlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kit Livingstone and his girlfriend (only because he didn’t have the time to find another) Wilhelmina are watching life pass them by. Until one day Kit is in the middle of a day where everything is going wrong, he starts to walk because the transit system is not working and is caught up in a storm. When things settle he runs into a man who says he’s his great-grand father. How could that be? He’d never met this man before. He turns to flee when Cosimo tells him, “I need your help with a project. It will be the adventure of a life time – of several lifetimes. But it will change yours forever.” Cosimo has discovered a way to travel through space, time and alternate universes using ley lines, which are forces of energy that are intersections between worlds.
Kit doesn’t know what to think. Was this real or a dream? He has to go home and sort this out. Cosimo lets him. He needs a willing partner who believes in the search for the Skin Map which will lead them to “the secret of the universe or something even more significant and momentous? He told Kit.” Should he join the quest to find the Skin Map? He gathered that it’s a treasure map everyone wants because it’s the road map to the ley-lines. What would he do?
Thanks to BookSneeze® who provided me with a complimentary copy of this amazing audio book. The man reading had a British accent and read with so much expression and created different voices for the many characters I felt as if I was there. The reader brought The Skin Map to life for me. It was a very unique experience. I really enjoyed. I've never read anything so riveting and illuminating as The Skin Map. Stephen Lawhead is a brilliant and imaginative writer. I liked his well timed sense of humor and his quirky characters. I liked his main characters and his sub-characters some are compassionate, quick witted and others are full of surprises.
The author starts the story in current time and whisks them back to Sept 1666 where life is quite primitive. The time travel is through ley lines. Kit is dropped into Cosimo and Sir Henry's world this way. They both keep Kit in the dark about their search for treasure. The author reveals things to Kit and the reader at the same time. I liked that but poor Kit gets in trouble because he doesn't understand the rules and what this mission is all about. I was so captivated by the adventure and search for the skin map, time travel, and them running from the bad guys I felt as if I might run into Kit during my daily routine. They were that believable.
I could see this series as an amazing big screen movie. This author did a great job of creating visual scenes and a setting I could picture and feel part of. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series. These books are a little expensive because they are in hard back but I’m telling you they are worth every dollar you spend to read this master story teller. I highly recommend this great adventure.
Nora St. Laurent
The Book Club Network
www.bookfun.org
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reviewing THE SKIN MAP by Stephen Lawhead

Date:December 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewing THE SKIN MAP by Stephen Lawhead
The body of this book was very entertaining. I rate the book as a good read although a little disjointed at times. It's a typical Stephen Lawhead SyFy book except that this one leaves a lot of questions in your mind, [characters and situations are mentioned, but not followed through]. It does not have a definite ending.
It took a long time loading the book on an iPad, and then the chapters were not in order; it skipped all over, so in listening to it, it would take quite some time to find where the next chapter was. [This could be the iPads fault or the software from the book that caused this to happen.] To aid me in finding the next chapter, I borrowed a hard-copy of the book. It would have been great, and without problems, using the CDs in an auto on a trip. The British accent took some getting used to as well as British terms that our English language finds obsolete.
It appears there may be sequels coming; the book itself is not complete and leaves you hanging at the end.
I received this book free from BookSneeze in a 9 disc CD format for review.
Posted by IBELIEVE2 at 10:20 AM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great story by Stephen Lawhead

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Chancey
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The writing of Stephen Lawhead has always impressed me. He is a true master of the craft. He has the rare gift of being able to approach familiar subjects (like time travel and parallel dimensions) and to introduce them in new and engaging ways. And, I must say, that this story is very engaging.
The summary of the plot doesn't quite do it justice: two modern-day people are magically transported to a different world, where they must race against the evil men to get the ultimate prize. That is the gist of the story, but there is SO much more to it!
Mister Lawhead is able to lead you along, following several different characters - and only give you enough information to know their stories are crucially connected, but never enough information to have you guess the outcome. That is the mark of a great writer. His version of time travel possibility is one of the more complete (and clearly stated) that I've ever read, which gives the story a certain credibility. And the idea of the map being made of human skin is certainly realistic (as it has been done by real people), but wonderfully creative nonetheless.
There were a few times where the story focused on one person for so long that, when the next chapter re-visited another character, it took me a moment to remember what was going on the last time I read about them - but this is not a criticism of the writing as much as it is a criticism of my memory! Other than that, I can think of no negative comments to make of this book. The characters are believable, the emotions are tangible, and the mystery is tantalizing. In short, I can hardly wait to read the second story in the series!
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher as part of the Booksneeze bloggers' program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
elinsmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Kit Livingstone always thought his grandfather Cosimo had deserted his family. He went to the market one day and never returned. Imagine Kit's surprise when Cosimo shows up almost one hundred years after his disappearance and tells Kit and amazing story of traveling through time. Kit is a little skeptical, until he makes the journey for himself. This is how The Skin Map begins.
The Skin Map is a fun beginning to The Bright Empires series by Stephen Lawhead. Throughout the story, the characters travel through "leys" which are roads that lead to parallel universes. All of these universes have been mapped out by a previous traveler and tattooed on his body. When he died, the map was removed and eventually lost. Kit and his friends must find the map before it falls into the wrong hands.
The Skin Map is a fast paced, enjoyable story. The time travel element makes it easy for characters to show up in unexpected places, and, some times, to get lost. I had some trouble keeping track of everyone. I had to go back a couple of times to figure out who was where and what they were doing, but overall it was a fun read with enough suspense to make me want to read the next book. I would recommend The Skin Map to anyone who enjoys the Science Fiction or Alternate History genres.
I received this book free from BookSneeze for the purpose of review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Skin Map by Stephen R. Lawhead

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jaguar Hero
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kit Livingstone has a life that's going no where. One day, he meets his great-grandfather, Cosimo, a man that's supposed to be 100 years older and dead. He learns that the landmarks of the world are really landmarks for ley lines, or pathways, to other dimensions, worlds, and times. When he accidently loses his girlfriend jumping from one dimension to the next, he must aide his great-grandfather in bringing her back. In order to do that, they must hunt for the map of the ley lines. The map was tattooed to one man's body, a mand who claimed to have found the answers to the universe within the map. Kit and Cosimo are not the only ones looking for this "Skin Map", and it proves to be a dangerous task.
At first glance, I thought this book was going to be very interesting. It has all these crazy symbols on the cover, and the otherworldly traveling really compelled me to read this. Well, I believe it fulfilled my expectations and more.
The story branched into multiple stories. At some points, I was reading about Kit and Cosimo trying to find the skin map, other times I was reading about what happened to Wilhemina, Kit's lost girlfriend, and last about the man with the map tattooed on his skin. Yet, the splitting didn't affect the storyline. I could follow it pretty easily, and it was crazy interesting how the stories all connected and intertwined with each other in different ways.
There is a lot of description about everything. After all, they do go to different places and countries most readers aren't going to recognize. Even so, at times I was thinking, this description is going on and on. But then I realize it is Lawhead and he does that in a few of his other books, also (such as his King Raven Trilogy). Anyways, it doesn't take away from the whole book, but more adds to it.
There were two things I didn't really like. One was that since they are in different countries they are speaking in other languages. For the most part it's written in English, but every once and while the other language would spring up with various words. Well, there wasn't a whole lot of translation. I guessed on some of the words, but for the most part I was thinking "What are they saying?". However, overall it doesn't take away from the story. Another thing was explaining the ley lines and such. The explantion was hard to follow, so in fact, I felt like Kit, completely overwhelmed and confused. I suppose Lawhead might have done that as an affect to the story. But it also could be because ley lines are actually hard to explain in simple terms, so they end up confusing. Either way, I got the basics down and that is good enough.
I think there could have been a better emphasis on God. Yes, the one character Etzel, always wanted to praise God for their success and other things like Providence were thrown in there. But maybe there will be more later.
All in all, the story was exciting and interesting. It was easy to follow for the most part, and it's a very unique look at the world around us. I hope to continue to read this series in the future as more books are released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brian M
Location:Mount Joy, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stephen Lawhead has taken a very intriguing subject and created a world that leaves you wondering, "Could this really happen?" This book is extremely imaginative and keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole way through. The book left me wanting more and I can not wait for the second arrival of this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing book!! Great story!

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Huntter
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, so when I requested this book I thought it looked interesting, but was unsure about the storyline and how it would all lay out. I was extremely pleased with the way that Lawhead put together the story and draws you in throughout. I read it in two days. I absolutely loved it!! I’m excited to see what comes with the rest of the series!! I’ve already recommended this book to a lot of people and will continue to do so. Amazing book! Lawhead is a great author!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An enjoyable read

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gail
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After a very frustrating morning, culminating in his getting lost, Kit meets Cosimo Livingstone, his great-grandfather. Cosimo tells Kit of a great quest that he wants him to be involved in. Kit is sceptical, but willing to learn more. Cosimo proceeds to tell Kit more about the quest which involves travel between different worlds and dimensions using ley lines. The quest is to find the Skin Map – a map of these ley lines and portals, preserved by tattoos onto the skin of a man who has long since died. The map is essential to safe travel in time and dimensions. Unfortunately they are not the only ones seeking it. The Burley men seem even more experienced in this method of travel and yet it is paramount that they do not lay hands on the map.
This is the first book I’ve read by Stephen Lawhead, and was an intriguing read. The idea of a skin map was quite unusual and appealing. The different eras were described in much detail and the suspense was enough to keep my interest. I felt the twists and turns of the plot went in unexpected ways. This is always a sign of a good book for me. Who wants to read something that is entirely predictable?
I found the chapters a little disjointed and even unrelated in some instances. At first I was quite disappointed by this. It seemed to ruin the storyline by switching to what appeared to be unrelated eras and characters, as well as leaving me without any sense of completion. Wanting to find out more about the book, I went to Stephen Lawhead’s website and there discovered that the book is the first in a five part series called Bright Empires. The disjointed aspect of the book began to make sense in the light of this. The loose ends, the parts which didn’t seem to fit will all make more sense as they are joined together in the progression of the series. I must say I was rather relieved!
Overall, a very enjoyable read.
This book was obtained free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fun, but unsatisfying

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Jeff
Location:Dunellen, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Skin Map, by Stephen Lawhead, explores what happens when a young man, Kit, discovers that he has a special ability to travel through time. Kit is a young professional living in modern day London with a boring job, a boring girlfriend, and an altogether neat and tidy boring life. That is, until he unexpectedly meets his great-grandfather and is whisked into a series of adventures as they travel through time and space in pursuit of “The Skin Map,” an ancient document that just may unlock the secrets of the universe.
The Skin Map is a fun read, with several interesting sub plots as various characters try to adapt to life in places as far flung as ancient Egypt, and 16th century Austria. All of this, of course, as they flee a villain named Burleigh who seems to have a knack for always showing up at the worst possible time.
Unfortunately, The Skin Map is ultimately unsatisfying. The battle scenes are well written, but unrealistic. For instance, there is one scene in which Kit and his companions, battling for their lives and armed with swords and a gun, only use these weapons as clubs.
But the most unsatisfactory part of this book was the ending. As I neared the end of the book I kept wondering how Lawhead would bring all of the plot lines together. He didn’t! It just ends, as though he ran out of pages. This is billed as the first book in a series, but it would be more accurate to bill it as the first volume in a book.
On the other hand, it’s refreshing to find a book where many of the key characters make decisions based on their Christian beliefs, without being preachy or artificial. It’s just part of who they are.
I enjoyed reading The Skin Map enough that I’ll look forward to the next book. But I hope that it will have a more satisfying ending than this.
The publisher provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through BookSneeze®.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda Risner
Location:Ruckersville, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kit Livingstone takes a shortcut through a London alley and finds himself face to face with the great-grandfather he thought long dead. Following him to the end of the alley, he discovers a quaint little seaside village. As his grandfather begins to talk to him about traveling between worlds, ley lines, and a quest to locate an intricate map made of human skin, Kit eventually joins the quest and the hunt begins.
Traveling between worlds, eluding danger, hunting for pieces of the skin map, making friends, making enemies. This becomes Kit’s life in this dramatic sci-fi adventure.
Well-written and entertaining, The Skin Map kept me reading. The first in a series, this book is a cliffhanger. I was a little disappointed, as I expected at least one major plotline to be resolved. Having said that, the left-hanging part will sell book two, as readers will be anxious to find out what happened. It was a good book, but I would not call it great because it lacks stand-alone value.
A complimentary review copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson Publishers with no expectation of a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the time it takes to read

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Wood
Location:Wetumpka, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stephen Lawhead is an amazing writer. He's prolific, detailed, enthusiastic and consistent; that rare SciFi/Fantasy novelist who truly seems to care about both his readers and his characters. His newest novel, Skin Map, mixes suspense with a fine dose of adventure and keeps its readers interest up as they try to answer the question, Has Stephen Lawhead offered us a Fantasy book with a dose of SciFi or is it the other way around?
Skin Map's characters are engaging and interesting. The book's plot is fast-paced and suspenseful enough to keep the reader rapidly turning the pages as they follow the adventures of the main character, Kit Livingston, who after meeting his grandfather in a deserted alley sets off on the adventure of a lifetime.
Though published by Christian publisher Thomas Nelson, Skin Map is not an overtly Christian novel. Though clean in every sense, Skin Map fails in being truly Christ-centered. One thing to be cautious of: ley lines, an important part of the plot of Skin Map, have, in recent years, become associated with New Ageism. Mr. Lawhead, known widely as a Christian writer, does not associate them with such but the fact bears mentioning, anyway.
Skin Map is the first book in a new series by Mr. Lawhead and is well worth the time it takes to read.
DISCLAIMER: I was provided with a free copy of Skin Map by Book Sneeze for purposes of review. I was not required to give a positive review, only a fair and honest one. My opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great adventure!

Date:June 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kit Livingstone is living an ordinary life in London when his great-grandfather, Cosimo, finds him and pulls him into an unbelievable adventure. Cosimo tells Kit about ley lines. They exist all over the world. With knowledge of where they are and how to use them, a person can travel along them between universes. One can travel not only to another place, but another time. Problems arise as they are chased by the henchmen of someone who wants what they have a part of.... the Skin Map. One traveller began to figure out the secrets of the universe and created a code that had tattooed onto his torso. But the Skin Map is just the beginning, and there are things yet to be discovered.
This is an excellent start to the series. Lawhead draws you in from the beginning and keeps you intrigued. A word of caution would be to pay attention at all times. Because the travellers are crossing both space and time, and because you follow different characters in different places jumping from one story to the next, it has the potential to lose some readers. It certainly keeps you on your toes. I was surprised more than once as the story unfolded, and I found nothing to be predictable, which was wonderful! I eagerly await the next installment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting, action adventure!

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kath
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
While on vacation, I read The Skin Map by Stephen Lawhead. And I must say I have not read a more enjoyable fiction book in a long time. I love science fiction adventures and this book had me glued to it from the very first page. I received this book, published by Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of the BookSneeze program.
A young fellow, Kit Livingstone, living a rather mundane life in London is sucked into a world of adventure by jumping into a ley line that he never even knew existed. The ley lines, which are jumped by only certain people, bring them to different realities even in different times. There, Kit meets his great grandfather who tries to get him to carry on this adventure in the search for the skin map. The skin map is a map that tells where all the leys are and what time in the past you will be when you jump.
There we so many things that drew me to this book and kept me reading once I started. I found myself wondering just like Kit whether this man really was his relative and what he really wanted with Kit. I questioned whether he would ever find a way out or if he would ever be able to find his girlfriend who gets lost in one of the worlds. And who are the Burley men and why are they always chasing them?
The characters in this book are well developed and fun to follow. It has just the right amount of adventure and suspense to keep you reading to find out what happens. It left me with a hope for a sequel to this exciting story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book I Would Recommend

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
SamG
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Skin Map by Stephen Lawhead is about a man named Kit Livingstone, who is taken from his dull life in London through many adventures in various times and places via time travel and parallel worlds. This is the first book of the Bright Empires series.
This is a fast paced book which does not let up with to many slow spots. The story does start out with one story-line, but goes into having a few separate stories, which do intertwine together as the time traveling into these parallel worlds happen. Although there are several stories to keep up with, the character development is done well and you are drawn to each of the story-lines and characters. I was kept to the edge of my seat for most of this book. The Skin map was very enjoyable to read and I would highly recommend it.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Ordinary People Thrust Into Unusual Circumstances

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't typically read sci-fi or fantasy books. This being said, I committed to reviewing this book and I intend to give it a fair review.
The Skin Map by Stephen Lawhead has a well developed plot and enjoyable storyworld. The book is written well, and I enjoyed author's British English.
The story follows an extremely boring and mundane British couple Kit and Wilhelmina who are thrown into more adventure than they ever hoped for when Kit's long lost grandfather introduces him to the concept of lay lines by setting him up to cross into one. When he finally returns to present day, he is late to meet Wilhelmina which causes her to be angry. To prove that it is not his fault, Kit drags her to the place where he crossed over and attempts to help her cross as well. She does, but ends up in an entirely different time and place than Kit. Of course now that she is "lost in time" it is Kit & his grandfather's mission to find her and make things right.
I really did not understand many of the aspects that may have been easy to follow for readers of this genre. I had to look up lay lines, because the idea was just confusing me, and it was confusing for me to keep track of the different layers of what was going on. The whole omniverse idea while interesting for a moment, was not something I enjoyed as an integral part of the book. Although the plot twisted greatly at some points, at others it seemed to go on, and on, and on.
I think overall what I took away was that this is a good book, but it just was not for me. It was not introductory level in it's genre.
I give it two stars from the perspective of someone used to reading books that take place in our dimension.
This book was given to me for review purposes by BooSneeze. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kit is just an ordinary person, nothing unique. He lives alone, has a boring job, and dates a girl he doesn't really think he will marry. But all of this changes in one afternoon.
"Had he but known that before the day was over he would discover the hidden dimensions of the universe, Kit might have been better prepared. At least, he would have brought an umbrella."
Kit leaves home to visit his girlfriend. She has taken the day off work to do some much needed shopping with him. But he never arrives. Instead he is literally blown off course and into another dimension. Kit meets his great-grandfather along a busy wharf; the same grandfather who reportedly left his wife years before. Cosimo Livingstone, whom Kit was named after, has been traveling along parallel dimensions along ley lines for years. But he isn't getting any younger and he needs someone to finish what he has started. Cosimo has been in search of the pieces of a map. He has part of it, but he needs it all. He asks Kit to join him in the search. The map is a most unusual map. It is tattooed onto skin. It seems the man who mapped out all the ley lines didn't want to lose his map and didn't want it falling into the wrong hands, so he had it carefully tattooed onto his body.
I really enjoyed this book, more than I thought I would. It is a gripping story that makes you keep coming back for more.
------------------------------------------
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read. Fascinating and enthralling.

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sasha
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To say I was thrilled at the chance to read and review The Skin Map by Stephen R. Lawhead is an understatement. The book itself has already been released and I've heard that a lot of people have read and immensely enjoyed the book. Well, the hype and the anticipation proved true and I was rewarded for reading this fantastic book.
The book begins with the sentence, "Had he but known the before the day was over he would discover the hidden dimensions of the universe, Kit might have been better prepared. At least, he would have brought an umbrella." From the very beginning, I was drawn into Kit's world(s). I thought the characters all engrossing, the story fascinating, and the writing superb. I was completely enthralled with the story from beginning to end. (But I will warn you - the story doesn't stop here! I am anxiously awaiting book two, coming in September!)
The Skin Map is a fantasy novel, where Kit meets up with his great-grandfather and they travel throughout place and time via ley lines throughout the Omniverse, hunting for a skin map that reveals the secrets of the universe.
Gripping to the end, I highly recommend this book! It is a treasure hunt that will be sure to reward you, too!
I'll end this review with one of my favorite lines from the book:
"But the promises of tomorrow, however sincere, are fragile paper boats
launched on a vast and uncertain sea: easily swamped by the least rippling
wave or ocean breeze."
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and was
not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"It is the ultimate quest for the ultimate treasure. Chasing a map tattooed on human skin, across an omniverse of intersecting realities, to unravel the future of the future"
The Skin Map is a fictional blend of fantasy and sci-fi that follows the stories of different characters. First, there is Kit Livingstone, a man from Londen whose great grandfather teaches him how to ley travel. Then there is Kit's girlfriend, Wilhelmina, who gets trapped in the 17th century when Kit tries to prove to her that ley travel is real. This novel also follows the stories of Cosimo (Kit's great grandfather) and Sir Henry, Lord Burleigh (the villain), and Arthur Flinders-Petrie (the man with the tattooed skin). Arthur had the ley lines tattooed onto his body so they could never be lost or stolen.
This book contains an omniverse, a universe that is accessible only to those who know where to look for 'ley lines'. These other realities are located in different time zones.
I was very excited to read this book after seeing the cover and reading the description. Sometimes I was tempted to stop reading this book because I just didnt find it as interesting as I first thought it would be. However, I can say that this book is very unique, and although I thought it had be a little dull at some points, overall I found it to be alright, but I dont think I would pick it up and read it again.
When you get nearer to the end, you realize that this book has a cliff-hanger ending, so you will have to read the rest of the books in the series to find out how the story ends. I would reccomend this book to anyone who loves reading fantasy, sci-fi, stories of time travel, or stories about history.
I rate this book three stars out of five because of its original storyline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

unique plot

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shellieb
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Skin Map is fiction novel which takes the reader on a journey through alternative realities. Kit Livingston’s great-grandfather appears to him and reveals a story that sends Kit on an unusual journey of mystery, alternative realities and times. By using ley lines in Britain a person is able to gain access to other worlds, a multi-layered universe which is unknown to all but a select few. The Skin Map is a code-roadmap of symbols-an explorer tattooed onto his body to avoid being lost in the cosmos. The map has since been lost and now the race is on to find the pieces and reveal its secrets.
Based on the cover and the book description I was excited to read this one. I found the book to have a unique plot and overall was interesting to read. I initially had a hard time getting into the story and it was hard for me to keep reading it even with the interesting plot. The writing just didn’t draw me in as some books do. My high expectations for the book were let down. The book is broken down into separate parts and the chapters are titled. I did find some chapters to be gripping, while others seemed to fall short.
I do recommend giving the book a shot, overall it is unique and for someone else it may be the perfect read. The book is a mix of sci-fi, mystery, action and historical so it appeals to many reader tastes.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Skin Map, Bright Empires Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

poor binding

Date:December 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
grt151
Location:kitcherer, ont
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the pages are all unevenly cut or bound along the open side of book, does not make for a smooth appearance. little disappointing as it is a gift and expect better with a hard cover edition.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>