Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Lady Like Sarah, Rocky Creek/ Women of Faith Series

Thomas Nelson A Lady Like Sarah, Rocky Creek/ Women of Faith Series

Sarah Prescott has never known a respectable life; just a hardscrabble childhood and brothers who taught her to shoot straight.

Justin Wells left Boston in disgrace, heading out alone on the dusty trail to Texas. But when the once-respected clergyman encounters a feisty redhead in handcuffs with a dying US Marshall at her side, their journey takes a dramatic turn.

His high society expectations and Sarah's outlaw habits clash from the start. With a price on her head and a sweet orphan in tow, Justin and Sarah make the difficult journey toward Rocky Creek. There justice will be meted out hopefully with a portion of grace.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Lady Like Sarah, Rocky Creek/ Women of Faith Series
Review 1 for A Lady Like Sarah, Rocky Creek/ Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Lady like Sarah was a delightful book with a very unique plot. The characters were fun and it was well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Lady Like Sarah, Rocky Creek/ Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Carey
This was the first book I read from Margaret Brownley and was I amazed! It was so well written that I could see everything happening in my mind as I read. I started the book one evening and couldn't put it down until it was finished. I would love to see a movie made from this. I can't wait until the next one comes out. I will and have been highly recommending this book to everyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Lady Like Sarah, Rocky Creek/ Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen S Wolford
This was a very entertaining book. I enjoyed all the characters. I can hardly wait until the next book comes out to see what happens to Sarah's brothers. I also wrote and complimented the author on her book and she took the time to write me a personal note back. I think that is great also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Lady Like Sarah, Rocky Creek/ Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Well I'll be. I am for certainly unsure if I can say enough good things about the book "A Lady Like Sarah" or my new favorite author Margaret Brownley (and no it is not because of her elegant name). As many of you that read my reviews know, my favorite Christian Historical Romantic Comedy author of American west novels is Mary Connealy... well I can honestly say that Margaret Brownley rates right up there with this book and I am ecstatically (is that a word?) excited for more. More Rocky Creek Romance or more anything, just give me more.I was amused. I giggled and grinned. I chuckled and snuggled down further in my reading nook. I was irritated and emotional. I shed slight tears. I could hear Sarah's voice and see her boots. These characters were alive and amazing to me. I read an ARC, but you better believe this is one for the keeper shelf. On a final note: The saloon scene made me squeal and cry, and I love my fellow quilters and that is all I have to say about that.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Lady Like Sarah, Rocky Creek/ Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
From the first moment I saw this book, the cover and the title just grabbed me and I couldn't wait to read it... the only problem was that I saw it 3 months before it was released so I have had to wait awhile, but this book was worth the wait!Here we have an original plot with some really fun characters and there are enough twists and turns to keep you interested throughout the entire book and I never felt like it got routine at all. Sarah is a Prescott. Prescotts rob stagecoaches, but they never hurt people. Except that a passenger was killed in a robbery and Sarah is now going to hang for it. A Marshall is taking her back to Texas and on the way they get ambushed, the Marshall is shot and that is how Reverend Justin finds them. He makes a promise to the Marshall to see Sarah returned before he knows that she is supposed to hang. On the way they encounter Indians, a baby, some miracles, Sarah's brothers, more Marshalls, a cattle stampede and love. What I loved about this book is that even though Justin is a Reverend there is real passion between him and Sarah and it shows the whole book.Well written, entertaining and just fun to read. A Women of Faith fiction pick, it is deserving of that label.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Lady Like Sarah, Rocky Creek/ Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This story was awesome! It remind me of Leather and Lace by Diann Mills in that the heroine was an outlaw. However, the similarities ended there. The plot was entirely different. I loved how the hero in the story was a preacher. What a fantastic way to set up a way to show the reader true Christianity. The inspirational storytelling by Ms. Brownley was superbly written. I was blown away by how powerfully the subtle spiritual messages were brought out in the novel. The entire story rang true to me as nothing seemed forced or inserted to prove a point or to make the book "Christian". It naturally showed through the plot and characters how real Christian faith is supposed to work. I also loved how the little stories in the Bible came out and how the heroine's faith grew through the many trials she faced. There were many, many touching moments in the story. And when it comes to suspense, I don't think I've felt this scared for a fictional character since reading The Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers back in the 90s. My heart went out to the hero and heroine because of their plight and their desire to be together, which seemed impossible barring a miracle.Wonderfully written, amazingly romantic, and spiritually sound, this book is making my top fiction list for 2009. It's fresh and exciting and I read the story in two days. This novel releases at the end of December. Make sure to get a copy and start the next year with a great book! I can't recommend it highly enough.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Lady Like Sarah, Rocky Creek/ Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melodie Noles
I loved it! It kept me on my toes waiting for the next thing to happen and to see the faith growth, and the struggle of a christians faith. And how that with faith and trust in God anything is possible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Lady Like Sarah, Rocky Creek/ Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diana Crawford
This book was a great read! And lots of fun, too! A story out of the ordinary for sure. I will be watching for more from her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.