Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2

Thomas Nelson A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2

When looking for a husband, it's best to go where the odds are in your favor. And that would be Rocky Creek, Texas, 1880. But Jenny Higgins's plan to find husbands for her two sisters hits a snag when enthusiastic applicants fail to meet her stringent requirements.

Rejecting her sisters' choices for mates and riding herd on her growing feelings for Marshal Rhett Armstrong, she refuses to give up.Jenny thinks choosing a husband is not a job for the heart. It'll take one strong and handsome marshal to convince her otherwise.

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Review 1 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Suitor for Jenny by Margaret Brownley

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
yunie-agenda ibu rumah tangga
Location:Jakarta, Indonesia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Suitor for Jenny is beautifully written and a sweet rocky creek romance to read. A nice gift for any women who is in search of a good romance book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pure Fun!

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
M Tanavamel
Location:Lake City, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another Rocky Creek Romance that had me in stitches. I'll always reach for a Brownley tale when I need a dose of humor. I adore the characters and the shennigans of this story, which has me whole-heartedly looking for the next installment in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More like 4.5 stars but close enough to round up.

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More like 4.5 but close enough to five stars to round up.
Margaret's Brownley's historical romance A Suitor for Jenny is all that I expected it would be and more. The author has a gift for humor and writing realistic characters. The first chapter was so well-written that I read it out loud to my husband as we were driving to church and he said, "I can picture that." Well, so could I. The setting really added to the story. I felt like I was living in that town because the description was so well done.
The story was not only well-written but well-rounded. There were a plethora of beneficial themes in this story like forgiving yourself, following God's ways rather than man's ways, and making your own choices rather than letting someone else decide what is right for you. I loved watching the characters grow in their understanding of love and enjoyed the way that everything came together in the end. The tension was great, and the humor was even better.
The romantic theme in this thread was truly delightful. There was enough tension to make the romance(s) sizzle, but at the same time their behavior fit the time period. The sneaking out was hilarious as were those "prove to me you don't feel anything for me" kisses. I had a hard time putting this story down and I am sure romance lovers will feel the same way. The dialog was snappy and cute, but also filled with wisdom. And I loved the etiquette lead-ins to each chapter. In short, this novel was an entertaining read, but with substance. Well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Positively enjoyable read!

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole Miller
Location:Portland, OR
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never been so delightfully surprised by a novel as I was with A Suitor for Jenny. The little twists and turns had me off guard and smiling in delight.
The second book in Margaret Brownley's Rocky Creek Series, this has a host of memorable characters and completely unforgetable references to the 1875 "Compleat and Authoritative Manual for Attracting and Procuring a Husband" by Miss Abigail Jenkins.
"Charm and composure must prevail at all times. If a gunfight erupts, exit the scene with grace and serenity." (Miss Jenkins, 1875) Words to live by, right? This book was full of laughs but also heart-wrenching moments. I loved the flaws of Jenny's sisters and how they found men who perfectly complimented them. It is a true tale of happy endings.
I havent yet read "A Lady Like Sarah," the first book in Brownley's series, but certainly plan to now. I loved the ease of the author's writing and finished the book without stopping. Definitely a perfect read for anyone looking for an escape to much...simpler times. (Simpler, unless you follow all of Miss Jenkins' rules, mind you!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent series so far!

Date:November 28, 2010
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the first pages to the very last, this book cracked me up! I was pleasantly surprised by how much I loved this author. I was (kind of) expecting another boring prairie romance, but that isn’t what I got. What I did get is a book filled with hilarious antics, lovable characters, and an excellent plot. I loved every minute. I highly recommend this book, as well as the first book in this series, A Lady like Sarah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Suitor For Jenny by Margaret Brownley

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Monday, October 25, 2010
A Suitor For Jenny by Margaret Brownley
A Suitor For Jenny takes place in Rocky Creek, TX in 1881. Jenny and her 2 younger sisters have just settled in Rocky Creek after reading an article in the newspaper that this was the best city to find eligible men to marry. Jenny is guardian of her 2 sisters after her parents die, and she feels it's up to her to interview the men of the town to find the ones that are wealthiest and have the most proper manners, so her sisters will be guarenteed a good life. She bases her criteria on a book by Miss Abigail Jenkins, while the pastor's wife gentles suggests to her that the Bible would be a much better guidebook. Jenny feels as if God has left her on her own, and one mistake in her past is unforgiveable. Her sisters each meet a godly man that they want to marry, but Jenny has other ideas. Meanwhile, US Marshal Rhett Armstrong confuses her emotions and tests her patience. I enjoyed the story and how the characters interacted with each other. I like how Jenny comes to realize that God never leaves us nor forsakes us, and how He wrote the guidebook for our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good lighthearted book.

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A Suitor for Jenny is a lighthearted easy read book. It takes place in Rocky Creek, Texas shortly after the Civil War. Jenny had promised her dying father she would take care of her two sisters. They travel to Rocky Creek to try to find suitable husbands for them. Miss Abigail Jenkins’s book, The Complete Authoritative Manual for Attracting and Procuring a Husband, was her guide. Jenny did everything but seek Gods guidance. Her sisters rebelled and picked their own husbands. Of course Jenny disapproved because they didn’t meet the criteria the “Manual” had set forth. Jenny feels that she is not worthy of love because of past mistakes. Marshall Rhett Armstrong stirs feelings in Jenny that she can’t ignore. Jenny does finally realize that Gods plan is better than any manual.
I found this book hard to get into at first. But when I did it was good. I will say here that I am a mystery reader at heart. But I do enjoy the occasional romance. This book is a good example of people trying to do things their way instead of letting God take control their lives. I would give this book four stars.
I received this book, A Suitor for Jenny by Margaret Brownley, as a complimentary copy from BookSneeze and Thomas Nelson to read and review. I was not required to give a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
cindy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Suitor for Jenny, the second book in the Rocky Creek Romance books, by Margaret Brownley tells the story of Jenny and her two sisters as they travel to a new town with the hopes of finding suitable husbands. Although Jenny feels as if she is unlovable after her past mistakes, she is determined to find proper husbands for her sisters Brenda and Mary Lou. Since her parents are deceased Jenny is determined to find an educated man who is able to provide for her sisters so they never have to worry about where their next meal will come from.
Throughout the book, Brenda and Mary Lou find themselves thinking about men who their sister does not deem appropriate, but they learn the plans God has for them may be different than their sisters plans. They must learn to follow their hearts and God’s guidance in their lives. Throughout their journey to this discovery, they are faced with many trials and tests of their faith. They must also reconcile their past relationship with their father and also move past Jenny’s controlling ways. As Brenda and Mary Lou find love, Jenny changes her position on finding true love.
I really enjoyed this book. It was an easy read, and even though it was the second book in a series, it’s not necessary that you read the first book in order to understand A Suitor for Jenny. I would be interested in reading the first book of the series to find out more about the townspeople of Rocky Creek. There are many characters that we only hear about in passing, and I think the additional books will also focus on these characters.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!!

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Suitor for Jenny" is Margaret Brownley's second book in her Rocky Creek Romance series. It is 1880 in Rocky Creek, Texas and Jenny is determined to find husbands for her two sisters. Jenny has very strict requirements for what makes a man suitable. Following her head instead of her heart results in not finding appropriate men. Falling for a man herself is not part of Jenny's plan and she is not willing to give into these feelings easily.
This is an enjoyable, quick read. I am looking forward to reading more books in the future from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ENJOYABLE READ ALL THE WAY THRU!

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tink
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished this book and boy was it fun. Jenny was a very determined sister who wanted the best for her sisters. Only one thing she forgot to consider while planning her sisters lives out for them, she didn't ask them what it was they wanted. I couldn't put it down. I recommend it to all who enjoy reading old western time periods. I loved it. Cannot wait to read more from Margaret.
Kudos to her research in things from the past. Boy oh boy how things have changed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Miriam
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading "A Suitor for Jenny" by Margaret Brownley. I really enjoyed reading the book as it was so descriptive. As I was reading the book, I could see the story playing out as a movie on the screen of my mind. The story is written in an old western town during the 1800's. Jenny and her sisters are new to town. They have come to town but for one purpose, to find husbands for Jenny's two younger sisters. While Jenny approaches the matter in a proper way following the rules of an etiquette book for a fine lady, her sisters are falling in love with men of their own choosing. Even Jenny finds herself falling for the town Marshall. Jenny has many lessons to learn about love and is able to come to grips with her own past. This is the first book I have read by this author. I found it a really pleasant and fun read. I found myself smiling at the extremes to which Jenny would go to follow proper technique in dealing with men. Brownley chose her characters well for the story. I will look forward to reading more books by this author.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wagonload of Fun!

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Can Margaret Brownley make me laugh! A Suitor for Jenny is a charming tale, one that had me chuckling with every chapter. Jenny is a hoot, Marshal Rhett Armstrong sigh-worthy, and the other characters a bunch of, well, characters—quirky, clever, and just plain fun. In addition to being a delightful story that had me flipping pages faster than a wrangler flips a calf ready for branding, Brownley painted the setting with vivid strokes of her pen, infused the story with faith, and surprised me with unexpected depth at the end. I’d not read this author’s work before, but I’m a fan now and highly recommend A Suitor for Jenny to anyone who likes to laugh and has a hankering for a good clean fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Suitor For Jenny, Rocky Creek Romance Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy
Location:Rock Spring, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book!! Quality service and shipping!!! Great transaction!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.