Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1

Thomas Nelson A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1

When Moriah Byler married Levi Miller, she thought they would share a long life together. She is astonished when one day he abruptly leaves the Order, and her along with it. Unbeknownst to Levi, Moriah is pregnant.

Moriah finds herself alone and unsure where to turn. She's reticent about trusting her heart to anyone. What Moriah doesn't know is that Levi's twin, Gabriel, has loved her for years, but has kept this to himself. Gabriel is a man of his word--and a man of God's word. After another unexpected tragedy, Moriah must learn to unguard her heart and accept his love so she can be made whole again.

Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Review 1 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't wait to read the rest of the series!

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
christianfictionbookworm
Location:jonesborough,tn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found it to be a very interesting book. I love reading about the Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A touching Amish tale

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moriah Byler can’t imagine her happiness being any more complete than the day she marries Levi Miller. She’s known him and his twin brother, Gabriel, since the three of them were children. While she rejoices in the love that has grown between herself and Levi, she wonders what has caused the distance between his brother and her. Gabe is more serious, far less carefree than Levi, but this rift in their once-comfortable relationship is more than Gabe’s quieter persona.
As is the Amish way, she immerses herself in being a gut wife, and making a home for her husband. It is a crushing blow when, four months into their marriage, Levi leaves her, his family, and his faith.
Moriah is pregnant and alone. According to Amish tradition, she can never marry again as long as her husband is alive. She moves back into her parent’s home, not wanting to be a burden to Levi’s family.
When Levi dies following a horrible car accident, Moriah’s pain intensifies. Her only comfort comes from knowing he made things right with God and his father, John, before he died. John tells her Levi confided in him that he planned to return to the Amish community, and to Moriah and his unborn child. Now that will never happen.
A surprise visit from a stranger reveals a secret Gabriel had kept from Moriah, in an attempt to protect her from further pain. Levi hadn’t simply left her and his faith to go his own way…he’d been having an affair with a non-Amish woman. Moriah’s very foundations are shaken, and she directs her anger at Gabe for hiding the truth from her.
Gabe, however, is determined to win her heart—not only because his brother made him promise to take care of her, but because he loves her. Always has. And having lost her once to his own brother, he has no intention of losing her again. But he’s in for a battle. Moriah has determined never to give her heart again. And certainly not to Levi’s brother.
Only God can change her pain-hardened heart and open her eyes to the love that’s been right there all along. But can Moriah let go of old hurts and welcome a love far truer than anything her late husband was capable of giving?
I always enjoy Amish romances, and A Man of His Word was no exception. Kathleen Fuller writes with humor and passion. Aside from Moriah and Gabe’s story, a wonderful cast of secondary characters adds interest and depth to the storyline. A sub-plot involving Moriah’s younger brother is an enchanting and fun addition. Well-written, packed with interesting details about the Amish and their lifestyle, this is an enjoyable, satisfying read. I definitely recommend A Man of His Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thalia Shead
I loved this book. I have been reading many Amish books lately and this one was great. Hope she writes another one in th is series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana Yard
Moriah is heartbroken after Levi leaves her, but with the help of her family and Gabe she learns to trust again and is able to forgive Levi and able to move on with her new life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer taber
I love this book! I couldnt put it down!! I enjoyed how Kathleen Fuller brings the book alive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
Although A MAN OF HIS WORD was the first book by Kathleen Fuller that Ive read, it definitely wont be my last. Fuller has written a book that totally captivated me from the beginning. She weaves a story that makes you feel as if you are living alongside her characters in the quaint and slower-paced Amish community of Middlefield, Ohio.Moriah thinks her life is going wunderbarr; when suddenly, her husband betrays her by abandoning their faith and leaving her -- alone and pregnant. Where does her estranged husbands twin brother whos always secretly loved Moriah fit into her life? Can she bring her baby into the world and make a new life for the two of them? Will the support of her family and Amish community be enough to help her move forward? Will her fears and broken heart keep her from seeing what God has in store for her? Not only will Moriahs story of happiness turned to heartbreak, her Amish faith, and struggles of the heart keep you enthralled; intertwined, is a delightful second story of romance with Moriahs younger brother and the girl he thought he couldnt stand. Although the feeling is definitely mutual, is a change of heart even possible? What does God have in store for the two that cant seem to speak to each other without fighting?If you like stories about the Amish and you like romance, this book is a win-win read for you. In fact, if you just like one or the other of those things in your favorite books, my guess is that youll still love it. Its one of those books that youll want to keep on your shelf and read again. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy Jackson
This is an excellent book. The characters are real, different and very interesting. Kathleen Fuller is an excellent writer. It was just so heartwarming, after some heartrending times. I highly recommend this book and can't for the next one, soon to be released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Well done Kathleen! I loved this story. I loved the characters. I felt for Moriah and can only hope some day my daughter will find her Gabriel! Fantastic book! Come on March ... can't wait for "An Honest Love".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
A Man of His Word by Kathleen Fuller is the first book in the Middlefield Series. Moriah Miller has spent much of her life waiting to marry her beau, Levi Miller. But soon after their wedding, the life she imagined for the two of them unravels. He abandons her and their unborn child, leaving her in a state of limbo within their Amish community that doesn't allow divorce. Gabriel, Levi's twin, has long been in love with Moriah but hid his feelings, but now he may be the only one to make things right. Fuller captures the day to day life of an Amish woman, along with her faith and love for family. Readers will see some plot twists coming easily, but the story is compelling and moving as Gabriel tries to do right by Levi and Moriah, as well as Moriah's ache over the loss of a dream and the fear of starting anew. Several other couples are introduced throughout the book who will certainly be featured in future volumes in the series. Gabriel and Moriah's romance is fraught with emotion and pain; I look forward to the story involving Moriah's brother and his new wife which promises to be more light-hearted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
chandralynn
Kathleen Fuller managed to enter the realm of Amish fiction with a totally new and different sort of love story. Filled with faith, hope, trials, and redemption, readers will not be reading just another Amish novel. Moriah Miller and Gabriel Miller are two characters that will remain in your mind and heart for days after you read the last page. I thoroughly enjoyed their world, their love story, their faith. When dreams end and life gets difficult, remaining faithful and not becoming bitter at life and God can be a challenge for everyone. Kathleen wrote a story about two families, and a community dealing with such difficulties. Readers will be drawn in and long to climb into a buggy and ride into the heart of Middlefield, Ohio. I have read Kathleen's regency romances and loved them. I also loved this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marti
You have to remember this is a work of fiction.The Amish youth don't sit next to each other to sing unless married. Its a good story but not all true, I used to live in Middlefield. The clothes on the cover are from another community, and every one is different in some way. Otherwise a good story.Amish women or men may not remarry when separated unless the spouse dies so it did end well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Safford
Set in Middlefield, OH, "A Man of His Word" transports the reader to Amish life. There is also a smattering of Amish words throughout the story (with definitions) to really get a taste of the life. Life here is simple and the people are hard-working. There is some interaction with the outside world, but the beliefs of the people in this community are strong. Here is a world where your word is your bond, where leaving the church and your family means banishment (but forgiveness is also available), and where love blossoms in the purest of forms. Families are strong and the examples set for love and marriage palpable.I was totally drawn into the story from the beginning. Throughout the book there was tension and love between characters creating some funny and poignant moments. Come meet Levi, Gabriel, Tobias, Christian, Aaron, Rachel, and Moriah. These teenagers grew up together, yet, do they really know each other? Their parents watch and pray that their children make the right matches and that their faith remains strong. Aaron slips, but returns to find forgiveness from his family and his commmunity. But, will he forgive himself? I appreciated that all of the characters did turn to God in prayer and in His Word even when things seemed darkest. While there were tough moments, they found Him to be a steady rock. I recommend this book highly to all readers. It will make you laugh and cry, but most importantly, will show that God is ready, willing, and able to help us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruth Swartz
this book i just got done reading,Kathleen Fuller is a great writer.When I started this book its didnt take long to get where the second twin come into the picture,then it get real good.Dont miss reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Mccue
I really loved this book. I love reading amish fiction and this one is really good and you don't want to put it down. Go buy it! I always feel sad when a book is finished, BUT I went and purchased An Amish Christmas so I am happy again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Kathleen Fuller was a new author to me but I will be returning to her stories. I love how the characters have strong personalities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Kerr
I throughly enjoyed this book. I was spellbound from the first chapter. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good Christian Romance book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine L. Alley-Howard
Very well done. Was predicatable in some places, exciting in others. I genuinely enjoyed my time reading this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
I really enjoyed this book and was anxious to see what was going to happen to the girl Taylor Johnson that had the affair with Levi. I enjoyed the book very much and look forwad to No. 2 in this series. When I start the Amish Christian Books, I can hardly put them down. I have not read one yet that I didn't enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Liz Tolsma
Moriah has been married to her childhood sweetheart, Levi, for four months. She is carrying his baby. Everything should be wonderful in her life - but it's not. Levi is gone for long hours and distant when he is home. The news about the baby should make everything right. But on the night she's going to tell him, he leaves a note informing Moriah that he's walking away from the Amish faith. And from her. The close-knit Ohio community rallies around her, including Levi's twin brother Gabe. Even knowing there can never be a future for the two of them, he vows to take care of Moriah and her child. Maybe God has different plans in mind.I thought this was a wonderful read and enjoyed it very much. Most Amish fiction is set in Pennsylvania, so it was nice to see one set in another area and to note the differences between the two. The struggles the characters encounter are common to every human. The characters are real and easy to cheer for. There is the unresolved problem with the young man who had been addicted to drugs, but that makes me want to read the sequel and see what is going to happen. Super job, Kathleen. Keep it up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Man of His Word, Hearts of Middlefield Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
tera
I don't normally read these types of novels but this one had me yearning for a life of family and devotion. The main storyline is between Moriah and Gabe but I found myself more drawn to Rachel and Tobias. They were both passionate go-getters. I def recommend this sweet romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.