Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1

Thomas Nelson Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1

While home on Christmas break, a seventeen-year-old Senate page takes her dog out for a walk and never returns. Reporter Cassidy Shaw is the first to break the story. The resulting media firestorm quickly ensnares Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce and FBI Special Agent Nicole Hedges. The three unique women are life-long friends who call themselves The Triple Threat - a nickname derived from their favorite dessert and their uncanny ability to crack cases via their three positions of power. Though authorities think Katie might have been kidnapped or run away, those theories shatter when Nicole uncovers Katie's blog. They reveal a girl troubled by a mysterious relationship with an older man. Possibly a U.S. Senator. As the three women race against time to find Katie alive, their increasing emotional involvement brings out their own inner demons and external enemies. There are many faces of betrayal, but they must find one face in a crowd of growing suspects before they become the next victims. In Face of Betrayal, Lis Wiehl's expertise in law, politics, and criminal investigation merges with April Henry's narrative genius to create a gripping mystery filled with rich characters, real danger, and a shocking yet satisfying final twist.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Review 1 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
This review is fromFace of Betrayal - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was awesome! It was like reading a storyline from Law & Order: SVU or Without A Trace. A teenager goes missing in Portland and the search to find her involves revealing everyone's dirty laundry. The plot twists kept coming and the killer took me by surprise. (I was sure that person didn't do it!) If you want a good mystery that you can't put down, this is definitely it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
This review is fromFace of Betrayal - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
krazyjan
Location:Missouri Valley, IA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I just finished reading the second book by Liz. She is a great writer. Didn't even suspect the ending. All the info was there,but still didn't even think of the suspect or the reason. Great Read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
This review is fromFace of Betrayal - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth Doane
Location:Vermont
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed it. A good read. I would recommend it to anyone. There's always a surprise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good reading. I enjoyed.

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
jand
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good book..entertaining. Would highly recommend.
I love the way the three women are portrayed as individuals, independent thinkers and yet come together to solve this puzzle.
Kept me in suspense.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebeca
Reviewed for BookSneeze.I've been reading a lot of mystery fiction lately and I really think that Face of Betrayal is one of the best yet. I thought it would be a book where I would know how everything played out because the story line has been done a dozen times before, but no, it was amazingly awesome.The characters were all very unique and they each bought their own little thing to the party and it just made the whole book flow together quite nicely. I'm not sure if I have a favourite character but I really liked all three of the main characters.The mystery itself was really good, it was everything I could want in a mystery book. For most of the book Katie is missing and we don't know what has happened to her and it's just a huge pageturner because I wanted to know what happened to Katie. Then I found out and I still wanted to keep reading because I had to know more about what happened.One thing that bugged me a little bit was not all of the loose ends were tied up but I think I may have missed something or it will be revealed in a later book.The ending was pretty good as far as endings go, basically right up until the end I had been guessing because I wasn't 100% sure of what was happening, but I had guessed at the outcome, I was still a little surprised though.Overall, I really enjoyed Face of Betrayal, it was an amazing mystery that kept me guessing until the end. If you're a fan of mystery suspense thrillers then I think you'd really enjoy Face of Betrayal. I for one, cannot wait to read more from the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
This review is fromFace of Betrayal - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judi Anderson
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You think you know who's involved with her disappearance but you'll never guess the ending to this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
alihsee
The first in what I believe will be a great series, Face of Betrayal introduces us to "The Triple Threat" girls, a great combination of TV Reporter, Federal Prosecutor & FBI Special Agent. As advertised, I found this book a fantastically fast-paced thriller, full of intrigue & suspense. Though it may have seemed obvious, through some great twists, Wiehl & Henry kept me guessing throughout the book as to who the killer was. I loved meeting each of the characters & am ready to read the next book in the series, Hand of Fate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nessa MathisonCom
I received a complimentary copy of Lisa Wiehl's new book Face of Betrayal from Thomas Nelson to review. Wiehl's experience as a Fox News correspondent brings a news-like quality to the story. Face of Betrayal follows the disappearance of a 17 year old Senate page while she is home on Christmas break. It is a fast paced read with plenty of twists and turns. I really enjoy this genre and this page turner did not disappoint!The crime and mystery part of the book is fantastic. What I enjoyed even more was the friendship of reporter Cassidy Shaw, Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce, and FBI Agent Nicole Hedges, three friends who all become entangled in the case. Their unique friendship along with the suspenseful plot add up to a story I had a hard time putting down. I enjoyed that this is a Christian book, it did not have the language you find in many mystery/crime type books. I would highly recommend this book to older teens as well as adults. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kay
It was a great story and overall a 'gentle' read except for a few lines in the book that brought in a harsher side of reality. From this standpoint, would not suggest this book for young ladies. Would read more by author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2010
Three friends - a reporter, a federal prosecutor, and an FBI agent - all work to uncover the truth about a missing Senate page while supporting each other through the twists and turns of their own lives. A political thriller, this book will keep you turning the pages. But if you're expecting a Christian novel, you might be disappointed. This book could have been published as a secular novel, albeit a cleaner version than many of this genre. There was no clear Christian message, although one character is clearly a Christian. So if you're expecting a redemption story, this book is not for you. If, on the other hand, you simply enjoy this type of book and are tired of the rated-R nature of many of them, this might be a nice alternative. It is fast-paced, well-written, and exciting!I did enjoy this book and plan to read the upcoming books in this Triple Threat Series. And I would not hesitate to recommend it as a good - and safe - read. I just wish it had a bit more of a Christian message. Perhaps by the end of the series, that will be the case.A complimentary review copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson Publishers with no expectation of a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hollie
Face of Betrayal by Lis Weihl and April Henry is a story about three girlfriends who work together to try to solve the mystery of a 17 year old girl who has gone missing. While working together to solve the mystery, each woman has to deal with their own real-life problems, and keep it together long enough to find the missing girl.Face of Betrayal was an intriguing mystery that was not steeped in a fantastical plot that was unrealistic to life. Instead the story allowed the three main characters to develop with each passing chapter as their personal struggles clashed with their struggle to find the missing girl. It was refreshing to read a story where the main characters were not perfect heroes that never had to deal with regular short-comings and trials of the everyday woman. Also refreshing was the fact that as a book with a main character who was a Christian, the message was not overwhelmingly Christian and unrealistic. Once again, the struggles the main character who was a Christian faced were regular struggles of a Christian that made her character relatable. *I acquired this book from Thomas Nelson on the booksneeze site*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie
This is only my second book that I have chosen to review for the Thomas Nelson blogger book review program. I will say I was much more pleased with my decision to review this book than the last book I chose! A big thanks goes out to Thomas Nelson for allowing me to review this book and keep it in exchange!It starts out, from the very first page, of a 17 year old girl, who is a Senate Page, who goes missing while being home for the holidays. From there you meet 3 women, who consider themselves to be called the Triple Threat, who search for clues and answers as to what happened to this 17 year old girl. As the story went on I kept trying to figure out who was behind the disappearance of this girl and I was right at one point but I kept going back and forth as to who I thought it was and in the end when it came out as to who was behind it I was wrong. I loved this book for the challenge in trying to figure out who was behind the disappearance of this girl. However the actual story line with the characters who was trying to figure out what happened to the girl, the Triple Threat, was a little so so for me. This was a very quick read and I had a hard time putting it down because I wanted to know what happened to this girl. If you like suspense novels I would highly recommend this book but if you are looking for character development I wouldn't suggest you read this one because I did feel it was a little lacking in that aspect. Overall all though I still thought it was a pretty good book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
A Triple Threat Novel that gives you triple the entertainment. This book gives you an excellent story, strong characters, brought together extremely tight writing. Lis Wiehl and April Henry introduces us Allison Pierce, Federal Prosecutor, Nicole Hedges, FBI Special Agent, and Cassidy Straw, television reporter, three women who have known each other since they were children but recently reconnected forming a strong friendship. The three of them find themselves caught up in the case of missing seventeen year old Senate Page, Katie Converse.I thoroughly enjoyed this story. They style of writing was very engaging. I found myself relating with the different characters and rooting for them as they faced different situations. The chemistry between the characters is realistic and I found myself wanting to join them for dessert. I also enjoyed the fact the authors portrayed the women by showing their fears and hopes.This book does have an edge to it and may surprise some, might even offend a few. But the one that comes to mind is well written and tastefully done. A couple of times secondary characters use profanity (PG). I would recommend this book to people who enjoy Brandilyn Collins or Steven James.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura
"Face of Betrayal" by Lis Wiehl and April Henry is a mystery that will keep you guessing through out the whole book. Allison Pierce, a Federal prosecuting attorney, soon finds herself involved in the mysterious disappearance of a 17-year old Senate page, Katie Converse. With the help of her friends Cassidy, a television reporter, and Nicole, a FBI agent, Allison tries to figure out who would take Katie. As the investigation continues we find out Katie was having an affair with a much older man, a U.S. Senator whose political career could be over if the affair was publicized. The plot offers a many different twists and turns. This was a very intriguing book that keeps the reader guessing until the end. The book was very well written and is very believable. The characters, the storyline, and the legal aspects all came together to make this book a page turner. The author draws the reader not only into the main story, but also in the three womens personal lives. I would definitely recommend this book to everybody. I will be buying more books from Lis Wiehl.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
A seventeen-year-old Senate page goes missing over Christmas break, and three friendswho call themselves The Triple Threattake a personal and professional interest in the case. Federal prosecutor Allison Pierce, reporter Cassidy Shaw, and FBI Special Agent Nicole Hedges each work the case from their own angle, occasionally working together. The case digs up personal experiences and for each woman, making things almost personal. Can they separate their own emotions from their jobs? And can they find the missing girl before its too late.Awesome read! But not for the faint at heart. This book will stir up emotions, especially with female readers. Girls who love mysteries will benefit from getting a legal perspective on what can go wrong in male/female relationships. I enjoyed seeing the crime from three very different jobs: reporter, prosecutor, and investigator. I kept trying to guess who done it, and I was wrong, wrong, wrong. Well done, authors! This is an intriguing, stunning, and very real read. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Face of Betrayal, Triple Threat Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Srimoy Chatterjee
This book was very, very good!!!! I can't wait until the next book Hand of Fate comes out in April 2010. If you like a good mystery with an unexpected twist....this is the book for you. I couldn't put it down from the beginning.It was well-written and it was plausible. For me, the ending was a surprise.I loved Allison, was rooting for Nicole, and sympathized with Cassidy. They did remind me somewhat of the Women's Murder Club ladies, but in a 'not so sleazy' way. I also enjoyed the realistic tidbits the authors slipped into many scenes- it's obvious that they aren't strangers to the worlds of the main characters (tv reporting, law enforcement and the legal profession). I do wish the Christian message hadn't been so lukewarm. If you're going to write Christian fiction, make it count.I believe you will enjoy this book that weaves you through several suspects only to conclude with one you may not have expected!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.