Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Burn

Thomas Nelson Burn

Gypsy Janeal Mikkado is in an explosive situation. When her kumpania was attacked and her friend was about to be burned to death, Janeal chose to disappear with the million dollars she discovered. Now the person she thought was dead is back! Will Janeal face her past---or be consumed by flames of guilt and fear? 336 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 560%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Burn
Review 1 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
The NerdHerd Reads
Janeal is a Gypsy. Her father is the leader of their band, but Janeal hates the life. She often dreams of escaping, and Salazar Sanso is the key, if she does what he asks. But somehow, everything goes completely wrong and Sanso burns the camp to the ground. Trapped in a room with her best friend, Katie, Janeal has to make a decision: save her friend, or save herself. She runs away, creates a new identify for herself, and lives a completely new life, climbing up the corporate ladder. For years, Janeal thinks she is the only survivor.
But all is not as it seems. As Janeal would do anything to make sure no one in her new life knows who she is, she finds out that her boyfriend, Robert, also survived and has been hunting Sanso down since then. And they both discover another survivor, one they were least expecting--Katie.
Ted Dekker did not disappoint with this book. I was hooked from the beginning. At first, it seems like your average underlying message of good vs. evil. And it does explores those themes, but in a very fascinating way, not boring or preachy. But then, comes the twist, the ones Dekker is known for. The story takes a turn, and while it isn't quite supernatural, it is as well. The story is riveting, making you think while also blowing your mind. It's hard to find a book that impresses me this much, but I absolutely loved this book and would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
DeidreeA
Location:Boissevain, Manitoba
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved it! It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through! I liked the surprises it held :). I would recommend this to anyone who's a fan of Ted Dekker!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Don't judge it by the first half of the book...

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Moses Moldovan
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Ted Dekker's books. I own nearly all of them... This one is a bit slow to catch onto at first but the details in the beginning are necessary in order to get to the grand finale in the end. I recommend this book. I gave it 4 stars because of the slow first half, but it is a great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

UUMMMM...

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Binky17
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After I read the first couple of pages I was ready to throw in the towel. But I kept reading because I was so bored. I liked the middle and the end. The whole book was a little weird. If you like weird books go for it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
linda mallalieu
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed. I've read others by him and liked them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shea
Great book. Plenty to think about all through it and at the end! I like Ted Dekker but some of his books are just too much. This one is just right!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Burn by Ted Dekker and Erin Healy is another thought-provoking book by the pair who wrote Kiss. Janeal Mikkado has never quite fit in. Growing up in the Gypsy camp, she always hated the scams they pulled and has been tempted by the world outside the kumpania. The life of the kumpania is in her hands when an enemy of her father's, Salvador Sanso, both threatens and tempts her. Her best friends Robert and Katie don't understand her struggle, but they all have to face the consequences of her choices. Years later they are all still living with those consequences, but now that Sanso has reappeared. I had a difficult time liking any of the characters and was frustrated by Janeal/Jane's actions, but when a major plot twist was revealed, it turned the entire story around. Dekker and Healy have created a fascinating story full of possibility while also addressing the darker corners of the heart.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tony Hascal
I'm an avid reader during the weekend. "BURN" is one Novel I've ALREADY read TWICE in a Month & in a 4 hour sitting.- Better, Different, More Intrigring than Dekker's & Healy's last Novel: "KISS" - I enjoy Ted Dekker's earlier work and when he writes with another co-author..."THIS is NOTHING LIKE Ted's up-to-date Solo Work!" Although Dekker-Fans "will be throughly satisfied." "If this is a preview of "Erin Healy" - And I think it is!" "BURN" caused me to pre-order Healy's 1st solo Novel "Never want to let you go"... We are ALL in for another TREAT with Erin, as a Gifted Suspense Author!! "BURN" IS a Must-Have for your Library!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Faith Ruotolo
Just loved it!!! I love the writings of Ted Dekker and am looking forward to his new book coming out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Theron Brinson
Ted has done it again, with Erin's help they make a great team. The last few chapters really make you think..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steve
Ted Dekker and Erin Healy did not disappoint the readers in this book. Very good reading and keeps you wondering what is going to happen next. I encourage anyone who had never read a Dekker novel to start.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Baylee Kingsley
I absolutely love this book. I couldn't put it down. I hope every one who reads this book loves it as much as I did.It really shows how hard one choice can be and how that one choice can affect the future. I absolutely loved it. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Burn
This review is fromBurn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marti
Burn, by Ted Dekker and Erin Healy, follows closely in the vein of Kiss. Another page turner for those with a love of mystery and suspense novels, and those who love romance novels.Janeal Mikkado is on the run from her past. After she witnessed the slaughter of her kumpania, she hid herself away with a million dollars and left her past completely sealed off from the rest of her life. However, her past comes back to haunt her when she realizes she's not the lone survivor of her kumpania that she thought she was. Now, the decision to face the past or turn away from it threatens to bring her world she's built crashing down. With classic Dekker bravado, it throws the reader into the story leaving them reeling with all of the plot twists and turns. And, as presented in Kiss, Erin's writing shows the softer side of Janeal; of the love that she left behind, and the redemptive power that comes from God alone. This book I highly recommend to everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.