Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4

Thomas Nelson Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4

Josephine Dronberger was a scared teenager when she left her baby in the care of an Old Order Amish couple. But seventeen years have passed and Josie longs to reconnect with her daughter.Linda--as the couple named the child--is promised to Stephen Ebersol, the bishop's grandson. They plan to marry in the fall. When her birth mother comes to Paradise, Linda is drawn to a world she's never known. Will the direction she's been heading since birth be suddenly derailed, and who will stand by her convictions--mother or daughter?
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Review 1 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful easy and interesting reading.

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
judy
Location:grove city pa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love rading about the Amish. I needed these two books to complete the series for now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful ..must reads

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:Pikeville, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read Daughters Of The Promise 1-5 and all are interesting and great..can't wait to turn the pages ..very well written , great author...I will definitely pass these on to my friends
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book in the series! I read this in 1 day!!!

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this book down! I have grown to love Jonas and believe he would had made an interesting Bishop in the group! I loved this book! It was a book for a Mommy's heart which had me in tears most of the day while I read it! Such a sweet and inspiring book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another excellent book

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
EPCCK
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beth Wiseman continues to produced good literature that stays true to realistic Christian values and behavior.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edie Shirey
I have not yet finished this book but it is a very good book, really keeps your interest. I have read the 3 books before this and I was very pleased with all of them. I love to read the Amish books. Good story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wanda Crabtree
This book is great, I would recommend it to anyone who love to read about the Amish and their lifestyle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carey Harrison
Beth is still my very favorite Amish writer. She has such a way with her knowledge of the Amish people. All 4 of the books in this series are tremendous!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul And Jean Tye
I have this series and loved each book. This book is beautifully written and explains so well the differences between the Englisher and the Amish. I thought it was explained so well and was thrilled when Linda stayed true to her Amish upbringing. My heart ached for Josephine and how sick she was and thrilled she was reunited with her daughter and how Linda showed her birth mother the joy in serving Jesus and how Jesus still heals today. I found the book beautifully written and highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Skalla
I enjoyed all 4 of this series. She makes the Amish very human with problems, humor, family loyalties, etc. like anyone else. All while also educating about the Amish way of life. I'm looking forward to the next series set in Colorado.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carey Harrison
Beth Wiseman has done it again! I could not put this book down. I laughed and cried and just felt so wrapped up in this 4th of the series. The power of prayer prevailed again!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ioana
I read the first book in the "Daughters of the Promise" series, but this is the 4th book.It's a good read, but I guess I am no longer that surprised by the plot.What I do like is the Amish feel and the love for simple things. The author is doing a good job at describing the lifestyle, the feelings and the decisions that have to be made, especially when coming in contact with people from outside the Amish community, as is the case in this book.The book tells the story of a young woman, about to be married, but who finds out a thing in that she hasn't been told, and so now her life is about to drastically change. The fact that Linda was adopted turns things upside down for her, but she is surrounded by people who love her and, more important, by God.From a christian perspective, the book is a great reminder for all of God's love and that He gives us all the hope we all so much need.Honestly, it's not a book I would read again, but the thing I really like is the Amish setting, and since I am interested in Amish culture, I think this series gives a great opportunity to find out more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
I absolutely LOVED this series. It keep me not wanting to put it down and I actually hated to see it end. It kept you wondering until the very end. It just showed a person the loving and caring and forgiving that the Amish people have for one another and for the English girl Josephine. It also showed me that sometimes the Amish can have a bit of ill feeling toward the English as the Amish lady who was the adoped girls "mother" had toward Josie. I simply loved the entire story and there is a lesson to be taught in the book for all of us as to how we can cooperate with each other and live in the same world and not have the same beliefs. I love Beth Wiseman's writing!!! I would not hesitate to read anything written by her but I particially like Amish Fiction. My Great Grandmother was Amish although never knew that until recently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim
Seventeen years ago, Josephine gave up her baby to an Amish couple at the urging of her family. Now, having been diagnosed with an incurable brain tumor, she longs to find the daughter she has never know before it is too late.Linda, as her Amish parents named her, is seventeen years old and promised to her true love Stephen Ebersol, the bishops grandson. Her life is turned upside down when she learns that she was adopted as a baby. When her birth mother arrives at her family's farm, she is drawn to the world she has never known. Will she stay true to the convictions she has held since childhood, or will she change her path?I have read several books in the Amish genre, and this one was quite different from the normal. I enjoyed the storyline and the characters. While this was the forth in the Daughters of Promise series, I didn't feel a bit lost having not read the first three novels, and there were just enough allusions to some of the characters and their stories to make me want to read the rest of the novels.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carmen Fonseca
I have thoroughly enjoyed all 4 of the books in this series. I love to read most anything about the amish. I love the way the storylines are all connected. I really love the way the amish all help one another. The rest of us in this world could really learn from this group of people. I can't wait for the next chapter in this storyline. Beth Wiseman you rock. May God continue to give you these awesome stories. There is allways a good lesson in your stories. Thank you so much for allowing God to work through you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
ta
In Plain Paradise, by Beth Wiseman, Josephine Dronberger is attempting to reconnect with her daughter, Linda. Seventeen years ago, Josie had been forced to put her baby up for adoption; and, ever since, Linda had been raised by a loving Amish couple. Plain Paradise focuses on the struggles encountered by Linda and Josie. Shortly after being reunited with her birth mother, Linda faces fears of being separated from her newfound friend. As the story progresses, the characters doubts slowly turn to faith in an omnipotent God.Although Beth Wiseman seems familiar with the ways of the Amish and portrays the Plain lifestyle accurately, the characters dialect is not extremely natural or convincing. In addition, the book portrays the rumschpringe as a harmless tradition and fails to openly condemn the rebellious running-around period. Everything considered, Plain Paradise is an endearing tale full of realistic characters and encouraging messages.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaTanya
Linda is a 17 year old Amish girl growing up in Lancaster County. When a strange "English" woman shows up and upsets her parents, Linda is curious who this woman is. Linda receives the most shocking news when she finds out that she was adopted and the "English" woman, Josephine, is her biological mother. Josie was 17 when she gave up her baby for adoption to an Amish family. She returns to Lancaster County to hopefully have a relationship with her daughter.Plain Paradise covers the sensitive subject of adoption and the effect on both families. Linda's parents, Abe and Mary Ellen, struggle with the fear that a relationship with Josie could effect their relationship with Linda. They are also concerned that Josie could influence Linda to leave the Amish community. As Linda's "mom", Mary Ellen struggles with having to share her daughter. This has to be tough on an adopted mother and the author really goes into the inner struggle that Mary Ellen faces.Josie is dealing with all the feelings of giving a baby up for adoption, reconnecting with her daughter, and also fighting a terminal illness. Linda is having to balance having a relationship with her parents and now with Josie. She is also having to deal with the possibility of losing Josie now that Josie is a part of her life.While this is a book #4 in the Daughters of Promise series, it can be read without having read the previous books. I really like this about the author. I haven't read the other books, but was able to really enjoy this book and not feel like I was missing anything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
mammy
it was a wonderful book! it showed how true miracles can happen -- how birth parents and adopted parents can exist peacefully! to experience some of these things in real life as Beth did, made the story even more personal! great job, Beth!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2010
Beth Wiseman draws her readers into her stories. I love reading Amish stories and their way of life. In her Daughters of Promise series Wiseman has brought many Englischers into her stories. Seems Wiseman's Amish community that she portrays isn't as strict to the Old Ways as some of the other Amish fiction books that I've read are. You gotta love Jonas who has been one of the characters in and thought out this series. Very well developed plot. The message of seeking God is woven though-out the story. Only one thing that disappoints me in Wiseman's book is that there are curse words used. Wiseman includes some recipes and a study guide in this book also. It is evident that she writes from her heart.A copy of this book was provided for this review by Thomas Nelson Publishing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
amber
Josephine will discover more than she bargained for as her world collides with the Plain people of Lancaster County.Josephine Dronberger was a scared teenager when she left her baby in the care of an Old Order Amish couple. But seventeen years have passed and Josie longs to reconnect with her daughter.Lindaas the couple named the childis promised to Stephen Ebersol, the bishops grandson. They plan to marry in the fall. When her birth mother comes to Paradise, Linda is drawn to a world shes never known. Will the direction shes been heading since birth be suddenly derailed, and who will stand by her convictionsmother or daughter?I find that when I read a book that is based around a different culture or different beliefs than my own I have a hard time enjoying the story. I can't relate well to whats happening and I usually can't manage to finish the book. I expected that Plain Paradise might end up one of those books, but it turned out to be an excellent read.I found the dutch to be a little awkward at first because it stuck out, but after a few chapters I didn't notice it anymore. The book was very easy to follow and the story flowed nicely. The characters are both likable and believable. I felt like I always knew what was coming, but it didn't ruin the story. I was still eager to find out how everything was going to play out.Plain Paradise ended up being one of those books I read at the stove while I cooked diner, and soaked in the tub with before bed. Any extra time I had I grabbed the book to get a little further. I was delighted with the little extras the author includes. There is a community tree, a dutch glossary, and a few small recipes which sound pretty good. (especially the barbecued string beans. I never know what to do with our veggies except leave them plain and blah). It was a great story of faith, hope and love and I'm definitely going to check out the rest of the Daughters of the Promise novels!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Plain Paradise, Daughters of the Promise Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2010
I am quickly becoming an avid fan of Beth Wisman's books, I love the daughters of promise series (i've read two of the books now). Like usual Wisman draws the reader into the story with the very believeable and likeable characters, and takes us (the readers) on a journey with these characters that leaves us hungry to know more about Lancaster county and its inhabitants.The story here focuses around three main characters; Linda a young amish woman/girl (she's 17) who finds out that her family has kept a Huge secret from her. Josie, Linda's birth mother who gave her up for adoption when she was 17, And Mary Ellen, Linda's mother.Out of all the characters in the story i found myself really drawn in by Mary Ellen, as a parent of an adopted child, i really could understand her fear and heartache. I really feel like Wiseman hit the feelings she would have right on the nose!The whole book was just a really fantastic read, I love these series and look forward to reading many more by her!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>