Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5

Thomas Nelson Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5

Miriam Raber enjoys life in her Old Order Amish community, and she is hopeful that Saul will propose to her soon. But when Saul starts talking about leaving the only world either of them has ever known, Miriam imagines what her life might look like as an Englischer. One thing she knows for certain, she loves Saul and feels he's the one God has chosen for her. But Saul's indecision has come at an inconvenient time as Miriam is noticing advances from Jesse Dienner, a man she went to school with and a man who wants to marry. Who will Miriam choose a life with--and who will choose to stay in the Old Order Amish community?
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Review 1 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
Location:Fruitport, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great read and great author. Would recommend reading it. This is the 3rd book I've read in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish Fiction.

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
pkjsbooks
Location:West Virginia
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading fiction and Beth Wiseman really brings her characters to life. she makes you feel like you are their with the characters seeing things through there eyes and feeling the emotions they feel. Even though this is the Fifth book in The Daughters of the Promise series reader don't have to read the first Four books to understand this story,although this is such a good book it makes you want to read the entire series
Miss Wiseman is one of my favorite authors in this genre if you never read an Amish book you won't go wrong reading one of her stories.
Posted by pkjsbooks at 6:35 AM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faith
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was a great book. I really feel like I know these families ! I hope there is another book in the series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best books

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna Popek
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best books I have read in a while. Miriam and Saul are interesting characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Plain Proposal

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plain Proposal is the 5th book in the Daughters of the Promise series, and I enjoyed it as much as the earlier books. Some of the characters were surprising, though: Miriam & Saul, an Amish couple considering leaving their community; Shelby, an Englischer coveting the Amish life; and Ivan, a shunned Amishman living with his English mistress. This eclectic mix of characters and plot twists which didn't go the way I expected, kept me up reading well into the wee hours of the morning over several nights. My only criticism is that everything wrapped up very neatly and very quickly at the end of the book, almost too perfectly to be believable. It also sounded like the end to the series, but I am hoping there will be more books in the Daughters of the Promise series, and that Beth just doesn't just switch over to the Land of Canaan series.
With thanks to NetGalley and Thomas Nelson, for my free review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved it!

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Beers
Location:Midlothian, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the fifth book in the Daughters of Promise series, Beth Wiseman gives us more people to love -- Miriam, Shelby, Jesse and Saul. Miriam, Rebecca & Aaron Raber’s only daughter, could have her pick of a couple good-looking men in the community, Jesse and Saul. But ever since her first school days, Miriam has only had eyes for Saul. Shelby is Miriam’s “Englisch” cousin from Texas who has been sent to live with the Raber’s for the summer after Shelby gets into some trouble after her parents are divorced. Jesse is smitten with Miriam and would be a fine prospect for a husband, but Miriam wants Saul who has had his share of troubles for his young life.
Who winds up with whom and where in this wonderful tale of faith, courage, and strength is a wonderful journey. If you loved the other books in this series you won’t be disappointed in “Plain Proposal.” I have enjoyed all of Beth Wiseman's books and this one did not disappoint me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fifth in the series but as good as the first

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sherrie
Location:Bridgeton, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you read the other 4 you will not be disappointed. The book is very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth Ann Dell
Location:South Africa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Wiseman transported me to a charming Old Order Amish community in her horse drawn buggy aka "Plain Promise", her new novel. I enjoyed every minute of my stay there. The people I met intrigued me and drew me into their lives. They told me their secrets, their hopes and their fears. I laughed, worried and cried with them.
Who are these folk? Well there's Miriam Raber, who's in love with Saul. But folk say he's been in trouble and there are rumors that he's leaving the community. Will he ask Miriam to go with him? And will she go if he does? And what about Jesse, the perfect suitor for Miriam's hand? He's showing great interest in Miriam.
Then there's Shelby, Miriam's Englisch (non-Amish) cousin. Her parents send her to stay with Miriam's family as a punishment when she gets caught up in the wrong crowd and shoplifts and does drugs. She's lost her connection with God and feels rejected and without hope. Rebecca, Miriam's mother, fears Shelby will be a bad influence on Miriam. There's Aaron, Miriam's brothers, Saul's family, the bishop . . . well you'll have to read the book to meet them all.
I loved the way Beth brought these characters and their relationships to life, all stitched together with a silken spiritual thread.
In her acknowledgments, the author thanks God for His Hand on her writing and hopes that her story both entertains and draws people closer to Him. "Plain Proposal" fulfils both these hopes and I strongly recommend this book which I give a five star rating.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love Beth Wiseman books, She is an amazing writer who really knows how to capture a story and present it in a way that makes the reader feel a part of it. Her book "Plain proposal" is no different, it's the story of Miriam Raber and her feelings for another individual within the Amish community. As she struggles to both honor her heritage and God, and still be with the man she loves.
I really enjoyed this book, once I started I couldn't put it down till I was done, it was that good! Like always, Wiseman did a fantastic job, and this book will be high on my shelf to be read again and again!
I Highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plain Proposal

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
dlruss
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plain Proposal
Beth Wiseman
Thomas Nelson Plublisher
I absolutely loved this book. It's the story of young Miriam Raber and her life as a teenager in an Amish family. Miriam is coming to the age of finding love in her hometown and has the pick of a few young men, one who is hardworking and could provide her a good life in their Amish community and the other is Saul Fisher who dreams of leaving their community to pursue a career as a chef in the "English" world.
This was such a pleasure to read as Miriam struggles with her desire to please her family, her love for Saul and her walk with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
alli p
Location:mississippi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, an author that writes more than three books about a family. And if you like this family, an extension of it is explored in the Land of Canaan series by Wiseman. She writes a great book and really makes you feel involved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Leaving the Order Is Hard

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miriam loves Saul, but he wants to leave the Order
and seek his life in the world. Can she do that, is her
love for him strong enough? Add an old friend who wants
to marry her and see what happens. Lots of twists and
turns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner!

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynda Sibayan
Location:Temecula, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Beth Wiseman...her books are always a FAST read because once you start, you can't put it down! This was no exception. Will continue to read her work as quickly as she writes them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great Daughters of the Promise Novel

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hayley
Location:Central Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book Plain Proposal by Beth Wiseman is another great book in the Daughters of the Promise Series. This book is the story of Miriam and her love for Saul, and how she is willing to do anything and go anywhere for him. This book is also about family situations and how we can rise above them.
I really enjoyed reading this book and the twists and turns that it took. There were a few times that I was left guessing what would happen next and a few times I was easily able to guess what was going to happen. This book was a great example of the love and faithfulness of the Amish to their families. The book was very interesting and I enjoyed it a great deal. I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys Amish fiction. I would like to thank Thomas Nelson publishing for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Some of the is senseless

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
redbird
Location:West Hamlin,WV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love the story of Saul and Miriam how they fall in love is very sweet.Shelbey story coming back to God is great.But wish Beth would left Ivan and Katie Ann for next Canaan book.I wish she's hadn't kill Ivan off.I would have like to see Ivan face up to what he had done to Katie Ann.These books are getting so typical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another GREAT Book by Beth Wiseman

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Booksneeze has Provided Me with A Complimentary Copy of this Book.
Miriam Raber enjoys life in her Old Order Amish community, and she is hopeful that Saul Fisher will propose to her soon. But when Saul starts talking about leaving the only world either of them has ever known, Miriam imagines what her life might be like as an Englischer. One thing she knows for certain, she loves Saul and feel he's the one God has chosen for her. But Saul's indecision has come at an inconvenient time as Miriam is noticing advances from Jesse Dienner, a man she went to school with and who wants to marry. Complicating matters is the arrival of Miriam's cousin, Madison, a worldly Englisch girl sent to live with Miriam's family following trouble back home. Who will Miriam choose a life with-and who will choose to stay in the Old Order Amish community?
I thought this book was GREAT just like all the other books I have read by Beth Wiseman. She is one of the GREATEST authors who write about the Amish.
This Book is Book 4 in the Daughters of the Promise Series. This book is mainly about Miriam Raber and Saul Fisher, who have known each other since childhood. Miriam wants to stay in the Old Order Amish and Saul wants to leave to be a Chef in a nice restaurant. This book shows how much giving and taking there is in a relationship. I was a little bit disappointed in one part of the book but that is just me. If I tell you what it is, then I would spoil it for you. Haha.
I thoroughly loved this book and it was so hard for me to put down, but then every book I have read by Beth Wiseman, I am like that. I hope you will decide to pickup this book and read it for yourself. I would suggest this book to all my family, friends or whoever loves the Amish as much as I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish Book~

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plain Proposal is the third book in the Daughters of Promise Series. I have to tell you I loved all four books but you don't have to read all the other books in order to enjoy this book.
Miriam has been in love with Saul ever since she could remember~ she had decided as a very young girl that she would marry him. She has only had eyes for Saul Fisher her entire life. The problem is ~ rumors tell that Saul is going to leave the Amish.
Saul has a chance at a once in a lifetime job that he has always dreamed of doing. Will he choose to stay or leave. He would never dream of breaking Miriam's heart so he must not give into his desire to get to know her better.
Saul's life has not been an easy road after the death of his mother and sister. He has learned to cook, clean and take care of his younger brothers. All the time the death of his mother and sister has left a dark side in his father causing him to engage in drinking. Saul tries to keep this hid from the community. Such a heavy burden he has carried for far to long.
Miriam must decide if she is willing to follow Saul if he chooses to stay or leave the Amish. Could he even ask her to do so?
I really enjoyed this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You don't want to put this book down

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Except for a few things that I had an issue with, this book was quite good and entertaining to read. I didn't even know that this book came in a series. Once I started reading the book, I couldn't put it down. I wanted to read it all the time. I enjoyed learning about the Amish religion and how they view things. Before this book, I didn't know anything about the Amish religion.
My two complaints is that Amish people believe things that is not true in the bible. They may think they are following the bible in all aspects but they are not.
My main issue was that in the character in this book was going through some rough times and thought it was because GOD was causing her suffering and that is simply not true. GOD is a loving GOD and you can find that in the bible. And unforeseen occurrences happen as well, and you can't blame GOD for all of that. In the bible, in the book of James, Chapter one and verse 13 it clearly states" When under trial,let no one say, "I am being tried by God." For with evil things God cannot be tried nor does he himself try anyone."
My second issue was that the Amish people believe that GOD brings people to heaven when they die. That is simply not true. When you die, you are simply sleeping. There is no heaven or hell that you go to. Which can be found in the bible in ecclesiastics. In ecclesiastics it says in chapter 9, verse 5: “The living are conscious that they will die; but as for the dead, they are conscious of nothing at all.”
Other than that I truly enjoyed the book and would read another one by this author again. I just wish in the future people would actually read the bible and see what is honestly being said and not just twist the scriptures to fit their beliefs.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
bluebonnet
Location:Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth did it again. What a awesome finish to Daughters of the Promis. In this new book you bond with her characters and you find that Beth has many twists and turns throughout the book and you have to wait till the end to find the results. She has the characters going trough emotions of joy, love and yes even struggles of everyday life. You get upset with money is missing but oh what a faith they have and forgiveness in all that goes wrong. They are so much like us Englishers they have feeling of jealousy, anger, and at times its hard to forgive but they do. The character crossover with beth Land of Canaan Series and it keeps you wanting more of both series. Great jod Beth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Plain Proposal, Daughters of the Promise Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend this book

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valarie
Location:Columbus, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Wiseman has created another wonderful story. It amazes me how she can weave the story line around so many characters and still bring each charater to life. This series has been a wonderful glimpse into lives of the Stoltzfus family. Each book focus' on one of the siblings and their family and friends. Each book stands alone but fits well with the others with the characters blending into each book. Each book has given us insight into the way of life of the Amish people. They are simple folks that have some of the same problems the rest of do, but thru the grace of God have learned to listen to his voice and seek his guidence. It seems too simple to just put your lives into the hands of God, but the Amish do it and it all seems to work out in the long run. Miriam has put her faith to the test and she knows what she has always wanted, Saul. She realizes that no matter where she is she will always have her faith and beliefs in God. She had never considered leaving her community, but how could she let the love of her life leave and not go with him. She would not be a good fra for any other man because her heart belongs to Saul. Beth has handled the storyline with such creativity that you can't help but be on Miriam's side and hope that all works well for her.
Shelby, the cousin from Texas, was troubled and angry when she first arrived at the farm. She learns to talk to God and to listen for God and realizes that he has not forsaken her. She finds happiness and fullfillment in the simple way of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>