Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Faithful

Thomas Nelson Faithful

Can three friends be faithful to the covenants they made with God . . . and each other? Cydney is maid of honor at her sister's wedding, paired with an "unsuitable" best man. Dana's marriage is perfect---until she discovers her husband's affair. And Phyllis wavers between her unbelieving spouse and a friend who's the Christian man she longs for. 336 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Faithful
Review 1 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Before the cross” tendencies meets grace & love

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phone Tree Edifier
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
Faithful presents the story of three women who must face diverse trials and stages of growth. It gives a realistic account of what so very often happens to women. “Before the cross” tendencies meet “in the grace” moments for a super-charged drama that will have you turning the page for more. Read this book and you will find a fresh perspective on faith, fellowship, and friendship.
Phone Tree Rating: 5/5 Stars *****
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I could not finish this book.

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carole
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
What? A pastor performs a marriage ceremony for two church members who are sleeping together before marriage? There is no mention of premarital counseling or much concern from bride's family about the premarital relations. No realizing before marriage that the "living together" was immoral; therefore, repentance and separation before marriage.
Another what? One character decides only a few months are needed to decide that a "player" has permanently changed? Initially while dating her he's sleeping with his "girlfriend" Not enough time to establish that his was a heart-for-God change and not just a I-want-you change.
Every character dealing with unfaithfulness at the same time? Very unrealistic!
Too superficial and unbiblical.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good, encouraging, realistic read

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
belleza
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently read the book called Faithful by Kim Cash Tate. This book was about a group of women best friends in different stages of their lives. Each one searching for a different meaning in their life and coping with and dealing with all the events occurring in and around their lives. This book had drama and romance from a Christian perspective. Faithful reads fast and easy and draws the reader in to find out what happens in the end. Each character has qualities that I feel we can all relate to in some way and all wonder how she will deal with it and how she will rely on God to find her way.
I enjoyed the book Faithful and would read it again. It was somewhat predictable in some ways, but in a comforting way. I appreciated being able to read the romance part of the book from a Christian perspective. I could feel how the characters were feeling and their interactions and relationships felt genuine to me while reading. The author portrayed 3 different women in 3 different life stages but yet connected them so tightly as well, helping us to remember we are all in this together. We can encourage and strengthen one another as Christian women.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
aimy
Location:seattle, wa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
What happens when your promises to stay pure meet real life? That's what three friends find out after they make a covenants to each other and God in Kim Cash Tate's Faithful.
It's been forty years for Cydney as she acts as the maid of honor for her little sister's wedding... holding flowers, with still no man in her life. She had dreams for an amazing married life and a great family but no dice. Why would God make it so tough for to wait for the right man? And now Mr. Wrong is knocking on her door...
Then her friend Dana has the perfect marriage only to find out that her husband has someone on the side and she falls apart. And then Phyllis is married to a man who doesn't share her faith, but after years of prayer he still hasn't come around. Then an old friend who is just the Christian guy she's always hoped for comes along and creates a dilemma.
Tate doesn't compromise any standards in this novel of hope and disillusionment but also doesn't tone life down any. This is a story about staying true in the midst of the grit and hardship of life. A great addition to the Women of Faith Fiction line.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynn Mowrey
Location:Yuba City, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
We have formed a book club at my church and this book was chosen by our leader. It is not one that I would ordinarily have chosen but really enjoyed it. It is an easy read and moves along without referring back to past events too many times. We will be discussing the book January 29th.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I SO love the cover of this book. Now that I've read the story, I see the symbolism in it, and that made me appreciate the cover even more. I'm glad that the author was "Faithful" to write this book as I believe it will benefit a lot of people and I can easily see why it was chosen for Women of Faith. I hope I don't give away any spoilers in my review, but it's from my heart, so please forgive me if I do...
As far as realism goes, I found this book to be very sincere and believable. I sensed the author's heart for marriage and healing in this story. I could tell that she poured her heart into the message that was so skillfully woven into the story. This book, while dealing with Scriptures, church, and other Christian themes, did not feel preachy at all. I dislike preachy stories. This was so natural in flow and theme that I didn't feel like a sermon was being preached. That is a good thing, especially if people of weak faith read this book. It won't turn them off to the message.
Having known people in just about every situation written about in this story, I found the conflict to be well done. It showed the dark side of sin and temptation without getting too ugly. So many books where women were cheated on show rage that goes on and on and frankly, that gets old. I want to walk into the pages and tell the characters, "A-hem, you are supposed to love Jesus and believe in grace and forgiveness, remember?"
There was such a godly balance in this story that was refreshing. The author didn't shy away from showing the beauty of marital love and true peace in the home. These issues are so important and many authors skim over them, probably out of fear that it won't be well-received. I loved how deep the author delved into the story regarding the marital themes. Sex in marriage is beautiful and if the author had totally shied away from showing this, then the book would have been weak, at best. I also loved how the author showed that honesty is essential in any relationship for it to be solid enough to withstand temptation. Real love doesn't hold back.
Things tied up well at the end, but the story wasn't too neatly wrapped up. Some situations were still unresolved, but this wasn't bad because it was dealt with in such a way that it worked for the story. There was a very positive ending to this book, and in this current economy I think readers will find that refreshing as well. I'll bet that many couples aren't divorcing right now because it's simply too expensive to do that, so they live in misery. Kim shows that marriage is worth fighting for, and that friends need to support each other through the hard times.
I loved Cyd's struggle with Cedric. I've known guys who were players and honestly, after they've been doing that for years, some guys simply tire out from living the playboy lifestyle and start to regret the lack of true intimacy in their relationships. A strong Christian woman would be very attractive to a man who is tired of playing the field. I loved how she sensed the need to be cautious and not give in to the desires she felt because she'd just turned forty and had been faithfully single for many years. I also loved how she sought the Lord in regards to the relationship and listened to his voice. Plus, she was accountable to other women who were Christians.
I felt Phyllis's agony over the lack of spiritual connection with her husband and can see how easily that could be a snare for a woman who wanted more from their marriage. I also understood her husband's pain and the reason for his issues. This was powerfully done. I found it very realistic in regards to the temptation she felt and the emotions she experienced while fighting her emotional demons. In essence, she was having an emotional affair and that can be just as hard to break in some ways. But friends, faith, and good fellowship helped turn her around. I loved how much these ladies prayed for each other, too.
Dana's painful situation probably touched my heart the most. I loved the message in this subplot as well. Dana felt all of the emotions and grief that a woman would feel in her situation, but did so with a heart who had a personal relationship with the Lord. So she was sensitive to His voice. She also loved her husband. So many people think adultery is a rift that can never be repaired in a marriage. I've known several couples who have healed after adultery and it was always because both parties wanted to work it out, and while grieving, the person sinned against was willing to work through the pain rather than beating up the spouse that hurt them.
I loved how Scott never gave up and was willing to publicly humiliate himself for a greater purpose. Despite his mistakes he was committed to their marriage. I believed he was sincere and his confession sounded totally realistic to me. The whole church body benefited from his boldness. And Dana was such a wonderful example to all women who have been hurt. The message about Israel being unfaithful to God and how we are all unfaithful at times was a good one. We all need to be aware that we are capable of falling. It's when we stand on our own self-righteousness that we're the most vulnerable.
This book was so awesome that I almost read it straight through. It ranks high on my list of favorites for 2010. I've read a lot of good books this year and this was one of the most inspiring for me personally. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is an excellent read!

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anichole
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Prior to reading Faithful I have to admit that I was VERY skeptical. The typical book that I read isn’t focused on the relationships between friends and/or lovers, but rather the interesting, or rather mysterious, events that happen to people. By that I mean that I read books full of mystery and suspense. I’m not quite sure what made me pick up Faithful, but I am glad that I did!!
The characters in the book were all experiencing or going through difficult situations pertaining to both their earthly relationships as well as their relationship with God. The book cleverly displayed the battle between the physical and faith. In this book, faith won in the end. However, had the book ended any other way I don’t feel that the same amount of hope or inspiration would have been given to the reader. Knowing, and seeing, a clear demonstration of the fruits that faith brings inspired me to live a life more focused on my faith.
Personally, I was able to identify with specific portions of each of the three main character’s lives. Seeing how they were broken and build back up simply by their belief that the Lord knew/knows what is best and that He ALWAYS has a beautiful plan for our life was life changing. This book has challenged me to live a life where I not only profess my faith with my mouth, but also with my life.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who struggles with faith on even the smallest level, as well as to those who struggle with personal relationships…which, in essence, means that I highly recommend this book to EVERYONE.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book captivates you from the very beginning

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
A. Minus
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Faithful" carries such a relevant and on-time message! I was captivated and engaged by the characters, the real-life situations, and the storyline. This book reminded me that God is faithful (even when at times I'm faithless), and that with His help, I too can be faithful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Peek
Having enjoyed Heavenly Places so much, I waited with great anticipation to get my hands on Faithful. I just finished reading it, and it did not disappoint! Faithful was in turns, emotionally and spiritually moving, real and funny. I laughed out loud at some parts and I was in tears during a few powerful scenes. The symbolism between the colors of the roses (on the cover and as told in the story) and God's plan for courtship and marriage was powerful. The title, Faithful, is really about being faithful to Him, True to Him. God's plan truly is the BEST plan. And He is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us. Nothing is impossible with Him. There is something for everyone in this book, whether you are male or female, single or married, young or old. Just wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
sheila
Could you remain faithful in the convenants you made with God? Cyd and her friends Dana and Phyllis must face this issue when it seems the easier way is looming just in front of them. Cyd, has kept herself pure, waiting on God to send her the man He wants her to marry. On her fourtieth birthday she is still single and the maid of honor in her sisters wedding. The best man is a nice guy, but he doesn't share her faith, Oh what is a girl to do? Dana discovers her husband has been unfaithful to their marriage vows, what is she going to do now? Phyllis, loves her husband, but he is unsaved, does she stay or leave for someone who may be a better fit for her. All three of these women face difficult decisions that will leave lifelong after effects. I love books that show the bonds of friendship. The characters are real and believable. There is everyday humor and realife situations found in the story. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who likes inspirational fiction. Buy this book and find out if our friends make the decision to remain faithful!!!! I will most certainly read more books by Ms. Tate. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are entirely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mami de Siete
Five stars are not enough to rate this book!! Kim Cash Tate has written another wonderful novel which inspires, uplifts, and entertains the reader! Her writing style is so imaginative and colorful that you find yourself right in her books alongside the characters she so vividly depicts. She allows her readers to "see" the characters in her books in a very tangible way. And in response to the review above, I am White and not offended at all by Miss Tate's references to skin color because she is so descriptive in her detailed descriptions of people and places that, quite naturally, she would mention such things. The three women that "star" in Faithful are all women that I can relate to so well in many ways. They are real people with real issues and real feelings, and I was challenged and inspired by all of them to walk a closer walk with Christ. I love how Kim weaves the gospel in and throughout her books, reminding the reader that no matter what obstacles in life we face that it is the life-giving word of God that sustains us. I don't often have time for leisure reading during the day, so I found myself staying up until 2 and 3 in the morning reading Faithful, which I didn't want to put down once I picked up. However, as I neared the end of the book, the dilemma I faced was that the more I read the sooner the book would end, and I did NOT want it to end!! Thank you, Kim, for another fantastic novel. I can't wait to read the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grace
I know Cyd. I know Dana. And even Phyllis. If you don't--by the time you read Faithful, Kim Tate will have you convinced that they're real! I appreciated seeing Christians in complicated situations that caused me to wonder what I would really do. No predictable answers here. Just real folks searching for real answers from a real GOD.Faithful is FULL of all that's good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anne
Faithful was a real page-turner. It follows the lives of three friends as each endures a unique struggle. Kim Cash Tate's writing style is entertaining and engaging. You feel the pain of the characters, and yet, she'll also have you laughing as she injects humor with another. The women's stories were real, and their relationships with God were real, in the way they questioned and doubted and ultimately had to decide whether they would live lives of faithfulness to Him. Through it all, God's faithfulness shines. I can't recommend this novel highly enough. You'll begin to look for God's faithfulness in your own life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Saundra
Rarely am I moved by fiction the way I have been moved by the characters in Kim Cash Tate's Faithful. Cydney, Dana, and Phyllis quickly become women you care about and want to see God's best for as you watch each deal with personal battles. Cydney's the single one looking for Mr. Right while dealing with the yearnings of her own sexuality. Dana is the girlfriend with the perfect like that suddenly has to watch her picture of perfection shatter before her eyes. And Phyllis is the mother of four who is struggling to keep her passion alive for her non-believing husband. These three girlfriends undergo a transformation as their faith is test. Their lives intersect at the cross and their shared relationship with Jesus. Through Kim's gifted storytelling multiple complex life questions are addressed such as: What do you cling to when it seems like God is not answering your prayers? Does it really matter if we follow the bible's instructions? Is it necessary to be committed to God in today's culture? This book is much more than chick-lit or romance. It is based on bible truths and presented in a way that can change your life, your marriage and your relationship with God. The author even includes questions for self-reflection at the end, which was an awesome way to internalize the message she delivers. I enjoyed every moment from the tears that fell as my heart broke for Dana to the shouts of praise as God worked within the hearts of those who had been far from Him. God is Faithful and will move within the pages of this novel into the hearts of every reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Smith
Just finished reading "Faithful". Wow!!! Crazy Wow!!! The forgiveness and redemption aspects of the story are up there with "Redeeming Love", by Francine Rivers. This is a powerful work that I believe the Lord will use to heal and inspire marriages!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melanie
I loved Kim Cash Tate's book "Faithful". I was a little skeptical when I got it in the mail, because I had not heard of Tate before. I'm very anxious for her future novels. "Faithful" is definitely a chick lit book. It's the perfect book for a cold rainy day. Get that hot chocolate, a warm fire, and a box of tissues. Once I started this book I could not put it down. Tate took what the world so easily accepts and calls it out for what it is--sin. She shows how easily we can fall into temptation and betray our marriage vows. Tate illustrates the slippery slope from "innocence" to infidelity. She shows that even in the lowest of lows, God is still faithful. "Faithful" was not just about faithfulness in our earthly marriage, but faithfulness with our Heavenly Father.Cyd Sanders, Dana Elliot, and Phyllis Owens are best friends through thick and thin. Tate takes you inside their lives and gives you a private window into their hearts. She allows you to see the inner struggles that these each share in different walks of their lives, all the while pointing their hearts back to the One who can truly help. I would definitely recommend this book to others! Wonderful book and I look forward to the next one coming out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melanie
I loved Kim Cash Tate's book "Faithful". I was a little skeptical when I got it in the mail, because I had not heard of Tate before. I'm very anxious for her future novels. "Faithful" is definitely a chick lit book. It's the perfect book for a cold rainy day. Get that hot chocolate, a warm fire, and a box of tissues. Once I started this book I could not put it down. Tate took what the world so easily accepts and calls it out for what it is--sin. She shows how easily we can fall into temptation and betray our marriage vows. Tate illustrates the slippery slope from "innocence" to infidelity. She shows that even in the lowest of lows, God is still faithful. "Faithful" was not just about faithfulness in our earthly marriage, but faithfulness with our Heavenly Father.Cyd Sanders, Dana Elliot, and Phyllis Owens are best friends through thick and thin. Tate takes you inside their lives and gives you a private window into their hearts. She allows you to see the inner struggles that these each share in different walks of their lives, all the while pointing their hearts back to the One who can truly help. I would definitely recommend this book to others! Wonderful book and I look forward to the next one coming out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Mashburn
Just last week I received a package from Women of Faith (and y'all know how much I big puffy heart Women of Faith) with two books inside. Squeallll...books, Women of Faith, woohoo, that was a great day!Any who, one of the books immediately caught my eye and that was this one, Faithful, by Kim Cash Tate. I love the cover, then when I flipped it over and read the back I knew that I had to read this book as soon as there was a crack in my schedule.The opportunity came Friday evening when everything else in Mel's World was settled a bit, so I grabbed my coffee and book then went out back to our sweet little quiet room. I was absolutely riveted. Page after page I was more deeply invested into the characters, three girlfriends and the commitments they made to God, the highs and lows of sticking with those commitments and the bumpy road along the way.There were times when I giggled to myself while reading it, times when I was plain ole mad and other times when I just sat there and cried. This book hit just about every emotion I had but not for any other reason that it could be any one of our lives or our friends lives.Right now I already have two or three of my girlfriends that I am thinking of sharing Faithful with. I can't wait to see what they think of it so we can chat about it. There are so many things in this book that could lead to some really amazing discussion time.If you are looking for a great Christian Fiction book this fall, then Faithful is exactly what you are looking for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2010
Kim Cash Tate has written a Women of Faith Fiction novel titled "Faithful." This is the perfect title for this book as it tells the story of three women at various stages in their lives and involved in relationships, will they remain faithful to God and continue to trust God's faithfulness?The book begins with Cydney in the midst of wedding plans...but not for herself, for her younger sister and on her 40th birthday, a double whammy for Cyd, single, turning 40 and the maid of honor for her younger sister. Dana has the perfect marriage until she discovers it is not perfect due to her husband's unfaithfulness. Phyllis longs for her husband to find faith. Life is not always as it seems and does not always turn out as we think, but God is still true and faithful.Tate's style of writing is very real as it seems you are a part of the story and the characters could be friends of yours. I recommend this as a read to encourage anyone to remain faithful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Faithful
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Nelms
This is a beautiful story about three women who were lifelong friends both on a social girlfriend level and most importantly as Christian women. Dana and Phyllis are married to very different men and Cyd is a 40 year old single woman. The book travels through each of the womens lives separately and together, touching on sensitive issues such as unbelief, infidelity, and the struggle of being a single woman in todays world. The story is definitely one that will touch your heart and give encouragement and blessing to women who are going through similar issues. The story is very well written, the plot is enticing and the story will hold your interest. Normally, I would give this book a high rating; however, I was bothered by a couple of the references to whites in the book which did not depict them in a favorable light. I didnt feel that those references were necessary to complete any part of the story and I am honestly not sure why they were included. I found it somewhat offensive. Thomas Nelson Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Booksneeze.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>