Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4

Thomas Nelson Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4

The tables have turned and Gabby's estranged husband--who threw her out when she didn't live up to his image of a "corporate wife"--needs her in a way neither ever expected. He's begging for reconciliation,but Gabby has moved on, finding purpose and a future in the House ofHope. Not only has she found shelter for herself and her sons there,but she's able to help provide shelter for homeless moms and their kids.

And yet . . . there's a hole in her life. Is God leading Gabby down a new path and giving her something--and someone--new? Or is He redeeming what she thought was gone forever?

Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 29100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Review 1 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I got what I wanted.

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark Whelan
Location:Springfield, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book that came was what I ordered. It came on time and was just what I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoJo
Location:Treasure Island, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This whole series is fabulous! It's a Bible study in and of itself.
Once I started, I couldn't put them down. I have read both series and am looking forward to the 3rd series. It makes you laugh and cry at the same time. It also is an eye opener to your own life. It's great to know that others struggle just like I do and it makes me want to have a yada yada group of my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It leaves you wanting more.

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Cotner
Location:Huntington Ar
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
This book was so good. it pulled together a lot of loose ends, and i was really happy to see the change in Philip. my desire for a marriage to work. it made me hopeful for my marriage, even tho i knew my husband had died last year, (so no hope there) (You just get so into the story) but it gave me a satisfied feeling to read that Gabby's marriage would be restored.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a good read- encouraging.

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Aleida Valentin
Location:New York, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The series is great and this book did not disappoint. trhe story line was believable and was very encouraging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
SandyM
Location:Kitchener, ON Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Netta Jackson is an excellent writer. I am sorry to see this series end. I have read all the Yada Yada books and could not put them down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4th in Yada Yada House of Hope series

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who Is My Shelter by Neta Jackson is the fourth book in the Yada Yada House of Hope series. Gabby Fairbanks has been through some major turmoil in the last six months, but things are finally starting to look up. The apartment building she purchased is becoming a home for homeless women and their children, she loves her job at the Manna House Women's Shelter, and she has settled into a routine with her two sons, P.J. and Paul. But her estranged husband Phillip is shaking things up again. While in the midst of his gambling addiction he gambled away much of his personal wealth, embezzled money from his company, and borrowed funds from a dangerous loan shark who beat him so severely in the last book that this volume opens with him in the hospital. He is shook up by the experience and is re-evaluating everything, including his separation from Gabby. Add in Lucy's long lost sister, troubles between Harry and Estelle, new women moving into the House of Hope, and Lee, Gabby's attorney who makes no secret of his feeling for her, and you have plenty of drama! I just love this series, a spinoff from the Yada Yada Prayer Group series. After seven books in that series, plus these four, the characters have come to feel like family and friends. Gabby and friends have grown so much over the course of the series, from a wealthy but spineless woman who is abandoned by her husband to a strong woman of faith with TWO men pursuing her. Jackson never gets preachy, but offers reminders for readers of God's provision and unfailing love. I'm so glad there is at least one more book in this series, and I will be so sad when it ends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
ossie
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the series! I have read them all, including the Yada book series. I love how Jackson shows the spiritual growth of her characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Didn't want to put it down

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
min618
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, this series kept me involved in the lives of the characters. It also keeps me focused on my relationship with Jesus and how obedience and love need to be my response to life's situations. Love the real feelings that are portrayed, and the intergenerational friendships are a strong tie in the book. What a book on forgiveness!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Ginny
Location:Cleveland, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neta Jackson does it again in book 4 taking Gabby Fairbanks and her extended "family" on more adventures, teaching us once again lessons in trusting our Faithful Father. I hope there is a book 5 because I can't wait to find out about Lucy and what happens to House of Hope if/when Gabby and Phillip get their marriage worked out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Won't be disappointed

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:Jackson, TN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As Gabby's life is finally coming together after being homeless and losing her mother she is troubled when her estranged husband, Philip, wants back in her life and her lawyer, Lee, wants their relationship to go further. She calls on her House of Hope friends for prayer and guidance.
This is a continuing saga of Gabrielle Fairbanks and how she rebuilds her life after being put out on the streets by her husband. Gabby has renewed her relationship with God and build relationships with the women at a homeless shelter where she was a resident. At this point in her relationship with the Lord, Gabby is learning to depend on Him instead of her friends. This book is an excellent read, you won't want to put it down once you start.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series is a must read

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all of Neta Jackson's Fiction books. She is an awesome writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!!!

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Snow
Location:WA, DC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know Neta said this was the last book, but I feel there is so much more to be said here!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Babe
Location:Redding, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am sad that this is the last one of the series. We have enjoyed the entire Yada Yada series and this House of Hope series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Character Development

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
I breathe I write
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I received a copy of the book “Who Is My Shelter?” by Neta Jackson for free from www.booksneeze.com, in exchange for an honest and fair review. Below is my review.
Who is My Shelter?” is a modern day story about Gabby, a woman facing mid-life, a broken marriage, new love, teenage kids, as well as, embracing a new endeavor of creating transitional housing for homeless mothers. It’s really a story about her faith journey and her quest to learn what it looks like to have God be a part of every aspect of her life, especially in the difficulties life has unwillingly created for her.
Overall, I did not enjoy this book as much as I had hoped. I had the ending figured out almost immediately as it was introduced, perhaps a lucky guess? Also, I have not read the previous books in this serious, so I was not familiar with the characters, so that might have had an impact on my overall enjoyment of the book. Lastly, the book felt just a bit too ‘preachy’ and not enough ‘story’ for my fictional reading enjoyment.
However, I did appreciate her development of several characters in the book, whom I found to be ‘real’ and believable. In particular, I loved the character of Lucy, a bag lady, with a dog named Dandy, that Gabby befriends. As the book progressed, I found myself wanting to know more about her character. I hope Neta Jackson will consider writing a book about the life of Lucy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story.

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pamarama
Location:Mason, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Yada Yada House of Hope series was pure Christian entertainment. I was sad to learn that this was the final book of the series. Great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

inspirational

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
great gifts
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This whole series was very enlightening to the plight of the homeless. The author makes the characters so real that they all seem like friends. I'm sorry this is the last book in the series. I would like one telling more of Lucy's life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Panfree
Location:Hopewell, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I totally enjoyed the YaYa Series and am having the same experience with this series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

interesting follow-up in series

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:MA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great 4th book in the series (also recommend the original Yada Yada series)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome storyline!

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Mesquite, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been following the Yada Yada's since the beginning. It is awesome how God can use anything to touch anybody. With life's pressures, it is great to read something so close to life, and that we can simply be reminded to "lean on God and not on our understanding". Love this book, just like all the others! Hope Neta keeps it up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Who Is My Shelter?, Yada Yada House of Hope Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful read

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suzanne West
Location:Oro Grande, Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all the Yada Yada books and have never been disappointed. I am always sad when the book ends as these characters become friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>