Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate

Thomas Nelson NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate

The "Jesus Calling Devotional Bible" puts you in touch with God and His answers for your life situations. Missionary Sarah Young had been journaling her prayers for years when she began "listening" for what Jesus was saying to her within the words of Scripture. In this Bible, 260 scenarios pose life struggles to which Sarah Young gives answers from her Savior-words that Jesus has lovingly laid on her heart-words that have comforted and inspired Sarah and many others around the world.

Features include:
  • 260 scenarios with devotions by Sarah Young
  • Hundreds of inspiring scriptures highlighted throughout the text
  • New King James Version (NKJV) in paragraph format
  • Index to devotions
  • Two-color text
  • Presentation page
  • Ribbon marker
Average Customer Rating:
4.519 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
48 out of 5292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Review 1 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Suzie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great buy, all around. The quality of the Bible itself is topnotch, the leather is gorgeous, the font is clear and readable, and the devotionals are non-invasive and appropriate to the text. I was not familiar with the Jesus Calling devotionals, so was a little concerned because sometimes devotional Bibles can be REALLY devotional....and not great for every day reading. That will not be the case with this one at all.
This Bible would be an excellent addition to your library and a great gift.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend!

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marisa
Location:Kenora, Ontario
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I see other reviews saying that this Bible wouldn't last and to that I say it comes with a lifetime guarantee that it will last and considering the publisher has been in business since 1798 I think it is fair to think that they will be in business long enough to follow through with this guarantee.
This Bible has a very soft leather and a place in the back for notes. It has the gold edged pages and is a good size.
My favorite part is that the pages are slightly thicker than the Bibles that I already own because this makes it feel less fragile and also allows for note taking and marking/highlighting with the Gel highlighters without being able to see through or damaging other pages.
It is not tabbed but you can either book mark these pages with post-it notes or you can purchase for very cheap the Bible tabs available here at Christianbook.com
This Bible comes in an awesome box that can be easily wrapped for gift giving.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Jesus Isn't Calling

Date:February 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jonelle
Location:Wappingers, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book claims to be personal messages from Jesus to the author. God is portrayed as both a permissive grandfather and an ardent lover as He expresses His unending love and care for us...but without our confession, repentance or the gospel. The reader whether saved or not is promised God's full devotion and presence. It is man centered and appeals to our vanity- WE are the focal point, not God. It is experiencial, uses New Age language and was inspired by a New Age Book. Most importantly, it fails the test by contradicting Scripture (ex: Jesus: "Peace is your greatest need." Sorry, Forgiveness is. I fear this is a demonic channeling.
+9points
21of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This a wonderful resource.

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pklds
Location:New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I have enjoyed the devotions and prayers that are a part of the Bible readings.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Pleased

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
PAgrandma
Location:Northern PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Jesus Calling Devotional Bible as a Christmas gift for my mom. I knew that she had the Jesus Calling Devotional book and really loved it, so I thought this Bible would be a perfect companion/gift. She has called me a couple of times already to tell me how much she loves the Bible and how it is giving her the encouragement to face each day. The cover is very nice, it feels padded and the colors are vibrant. The size is perfect for holding and reading. I am so very happy with this purchase.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is my FAVORITE devotional book!!!!

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
dawn kirby
Location:huntsville, Al
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You did a great job in delivering my books. Thank you so much.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall excellent!

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
linda may may
Location:Placentia, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy using this Bible! The devotionals are inspiring. The letters help me understand that I'm not the only one in crisis mode in my life and others are feeling the same way. I use this Bible for my daily reading and quiet prayer time with Jesus.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

another beautiful Bible, made affordable by CBD.

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:South East Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful, high quality Premium leather Bible. The NKJV version is easy to read and understand, The devotions written inside are very thought provoking, and heart warming.
I would recommend this bible be added to your collection, and enjoyed while it is available .
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring Bible

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Location:Columbia Cross Roads, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is in the NKJV, which is the only version I read on a daily basis. I usually cannot get many study Bibles in this version so I was thrilled to see this one come in NKJV. I also bought it on sale so the price was very cheap for the Bible I received. The cover is nice and as pictured. I really enjoy all the little devotionals or comments/prayers from people printed on pages throughout the Bible on different topics. So many times I'll be reading a passage, then turn to read the devotional and that will correspond exactly with what I'm facing or thinking. The pages are pure white, and are thin, but I haven't had a problem with colored pens bleeding through when I underline. Gel pens do bleed through and smear a bit, and I'm not sure how highlighters do. If you are looking for a Bible that's more then just a Bible and would like a devotional and Bible combined, this is a great buy. And if you enjoy reading Sarah Young's books, this is also a great Book to have!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Jesus Calling Devotional Bible" is exceptional.

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Suzanne
Location:Oklahoma
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This devotional Bible utilizes the NKJV, which I enjoy given so much exposure to the NIV currently. The formatting of a individual's personal prayer paired with an excerpt from either "Jesus Calling" or "Jesus Lives" makes for a powerfully effective devotional Bible. Everyone with whom I have shared this Bible has loved it. Sarah Young has hit the mark once again.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is great

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Caseyleigh
Location:Bakersfield, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is gr8 to have. I had bought the Jesus Calling Devotional by Sarah Young earlier in the summer of this year and I love it. When I saw that I could buy a Bible with the same Jesus Calling by Sarah Young I was excited. I have been using this Jesus Calling Bible every day during my devotion time with my husband and I take it to church every week.
When I feel I need to trust God more, I can look up trust in this Bible and there are several pages on trust. Thats not all. There is a page in the front of the Bible that has more information on things such as trust, joy, depending on God, and much more.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Toni H
Location:Texas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Year-after-year, the words of Jesus in this devotional have met me right where I am. Having it combined with a full Bible is ideal, so we ordered boxes of them to hand out as gifts!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chere
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is a great edition to the ones I already have!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleasant surprise for a NKJV Bible

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
branwyn41
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice soft-cover bible. I was leery of ordering a NKJV bible because of difficulty of understanding the language. I was pleasantly amazed. This has become my go to bible and it's not so heavy that I can't carry it in my tote bag. Great buy and great text.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This devotional Bible is unique

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia Schemper
Location:sheldon, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received the Jesus Calling devotional as a gift so when I saw the devotional Bible was available through Christianbook, I ordered it. Plus, it was a fantastic value! After paging through it, I just don't think it is for me but I do plan on giving it as a gift to someone who does not have a Bible and would enjoy the devotions that are included.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Develop a listening ear

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Erryl
Location:ND
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The person I gave this to has been so misguided in her walk with the Lord and has been taken down so many false roads. This bible will be a big help for anyone who wants to fine tune their ear to really hearing the voice of the Lord speak to them! Sarah Young has done a great service to the body of Christ that reaches even way beyond her missionary service!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is an excellent bible

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:Elizabethtown, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was thinking I order the Jesus Calling Devotional, so when the bible arrived I was a little disappointed. However I starting using the bible for my daily devotional quiet time and find the bible to be invaluable to my daily walk with God. Someday I hope to acquire the Jesus Calling Devotional book. Thank you and God's blessings to you all.
Chuck Arneson
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EVERYTHING I WAS LOOKING FOR!

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chrisi Bee
Location:Seal Beach, Ca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is everything i ever wanted. And receiving it as a gift from my husband was just the icing on the cake. I can't put it down. I feel as though God had directed me to this bible. Easy to read, love the devotionals, and the passages from others you can relate to. i would recommend this bible to all. God's Blessings
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All I was looking for

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cool V
Location:NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bible is all I was looking for. Leather, words of Christ in red, bookmark, introduction, summary and subject headline of paragraph in each book, concordance and reference. Well worth the price and cant wait for it to come out in compact.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NKJV Jesus Calling Devotional Bible, Leathersoft, Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality love the comforting/healing words between the books.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.