Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1

Thomas Nelson Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1

Shy Sarah King is happiest when working in her Amish kitchen garden. But her life changes when she meets Englisch veterinarian Grant Williams. Believing that she must choose between her family and forbidden love, Sarah prays for wisdom as she quilts a picture of her struggle. The Lord is guiding Sarah---but will she listen? 320 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.432 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 out of 1182%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Review 1 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Masterful Story about trust, faith, and romance.

Date:June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first Amish book I read, I didn't enjoy at all. I struggled to get through the book and decided the Amish genre was not for me. Recently, though, like taste buds for food, my reading tastes have changed. I've read a few Amish books and actually enjoyed them. This book is no exception. Kelly Long has mastered story telling. While there was no action or adventure in the story, it flowed smoothly and was written in a way that had me eagerly turning pages until the very satisfying end.
I've come to appreciate the simplicity of the Amish faith. Sarah King is a great example of that. I loved her internal struggles that made her seem so human, yet her strong faith in the Lord who loves us all shined through her life, no matter what turmoil she was feeling inside. I think that's what drew Grant to her. Grant Williams is a good man. He is a Christian, whose faith is not so different from the Amish, but his way of life is. He has a great appreciate for the Amish community, instilled in him by his parents, and works hard to become accepted by the community. They form a friendship and their romance is a sweet, sweet story.
The message of the story, in my opinion, is simple: have faith in the God who created you and knows what is going to become of your life before it happens. As the Bishop reminds Grant, "You're tired because it's normal. Don't give in to despair. Have faith in what Der Herr (the Lord) can do, even if you feel that you have done all you can. That's where He gets His space to work, when it's at the end of what you are."
Overall, Kelly Long has mastered the art of Amish Fiction. I highly recommend this book for Amish and non-Amish fans alike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sarah King has a big problem. An Englisher has bought the farm next door to her family's farm. The problem is, as a woman she finds Grant Williams attractive, really to attractive. As an Amish woman she know that there can be nothing between the two of them. Now if she could only get her heart to understand that.
Grant Williams is smitten with the beautiful Amish woman that lives next door and he is going to take every opportunity to talk to her.
I have to be honest, I’m torn about this book.
On the one hand this book was fairly well done. The plot was a bit predicable, but overall it was pretty well written with some humor that had me laughing. I loved the way Sarah and her parents interacted. There was room for individual choices, yet her parents were lovingly helping her in trying to make the right choices.
On the other hand Grant really annoyed me to know end. Early in the book Sarah had made it clear that there could be no romance between them, yet Grant continued to take every opportunity to be close, he even kisses her at one point. I’m sorry, what part of no did he not understand? This just show me how little respect he had for her and he beliefs.
And Sarah’s lack of will power was just as bad, allowing herself to be alone with Grant, letting him kiss her and hold her hand. It just reeked of a wishy-washy character. Neither Grant nor Sarah had the depth I wish they had. There was potential, it just didn’t pan out.
Will I read Kelly Long again? Probably. I hate to judge an author I have never read before on just one book. Sometimes it takes an author some time to find their footing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful story

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
purplemama47
Location:New Columbia PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put this book down. Great reading. How many men would do what Grant did?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good expectations

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Loi O
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I appreciate the honesty that both Sarah and Grant had in their story. In this day and age, someones Faith being most important was wonderful to read about. It needs to be true for more of us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

terrific

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelly Long is rapidly becoming a wonderful Amish author. I found this story to be just somewhat slow at first but then after a few chapters it picked up and I was very happy I stayed with it. It was not at all like I thought it would be. She did a great job in keeping the reader interested. The stroy between Sarah and Dr. Grant was great and showed much patience, I am ready for book 2. Don't pass this book up!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True essence of the Amish in a simple love story

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah buries her shyness in her garden, nurturing her plants with her God-given gift and love of the land. But when her sister marries and leaves the family farm, Sarah has to step into her shoes and tend the vegetable stall. Initially scared at the prospect of having to deal with people - especially Englishers! - on a regular basis, Sarah soon finds that she's enjoying herself. Especially since Grant Williams, the local English vet and her new neighbour, continually visits the stall and becomes a close friend. It begins to feel like Grant has always been part of her life, and as Sarah spends many hours helping him plant a vegetable garden she realises that what she feels for Grant is more than she's ever felt for any Amish boy. But where can their relationship go? Sarah could never leave her community. Could Grant ever give up his sports car and join the Amish world?
Kelly really grasps the essence of the Amish way of life in this simple love story. I felt like I was working with Sarah in her garden and walking beside her and Grant in the forest. There was a true sense of peace, despite the dramas occurring in the lives of the characters. And I really got the impression that the Amish were welcoming, loving people. While some novels choose to focus on shunnings and people who find themselves pitted against the Elders in their community, this portrayal was entirely different. I loved the way in which the Amish welcomed Grant with open arms when he expressed his desire to become a vet for their community. And they freely accepted his help in emergencies, allowing him to drive them to the hospital or a friend's house if needed. This was very different to other novels where the Amish avoid anyone English at all costs.
Sarah and Grant's story isn't terribly complicated. A girl falls for a boy that she cannot be with because of societal differences, yet both yearn to be together. Sarah's parents were surprisingly accepting of their daughter's developing relationship to an outsider, and while they discouraged her they didn't actively try to stop them being together. They could have banned her from seeing him, but they let her make her own choices. And while Sarah does have another love-interest, her best friend Jacob, it is clear that Grant is the only man that she's interested in. I appreciated that Kelly showed not only the blossoming friendship between Sarah and Grant, but also their attraction to each other and the physical aspect of their relationship. While the emotional and spiritual foundations of any relationship are always the most important, a lot of authors forget about attraction and even simple hugs and kisses. I'm sure that any reader will agree that the kisses shared between Sarah and Grant were not lustful, but emphasised their love for each other and their desire to be together.
My only minor complaints about this book would have to be that Grant initially appeared to be far too forward in his flirtations, and that the situation with the Fisher farm was resolved a little too easily. Grant is, in my eyes, clearly flirting with Sarah from their first meeting at the vegetable stand. Something just didn't sit right with this, and it made me a little wary of him to begin with. I wouldn't have minded if their relationship had built up to flirtations, but it seemed a little odd to behave in such a forward manner from the start. I did warm up to him, but this niggled me for a while. As for the Fisher farm and the mystery surrounding that, all the problems were resolved in a couple of pages near the end of the novel and it just seemed a bit too fast and too easy.
I thoroughly enjoyed this story and became so involved in the lives of the characters that I even shed a tear or two over their struggles! Kelly Long is definitely an author to keep your eye on if you're interested in Amish fiction. Not only does she understand her subject inside and out, she creates characters that you'll wish you never have to say goodbye to. 9/10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Story

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bern
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
never tire of reading about the life, or that is, the fictionalized lives of the Amish. So, I greatly enjoyed reading Sarah's Garden.
It was an interesting peek into the Amish community and the diversity within the communities. I was unfamiliar with Kelley Long, but enjoyed her descriptive writing that brought the characters to life.
In the story, we're introduced to Sarah. She is a shy girl that previously only had a love for gardening and being in the garden. Through Sarah's character, I was entranced and delighted by the thought of watching how the plants and vegetables grew.
Naturally there is romance in the book and Sarah's heart seems drawn to one that she cannot have an English vet, Grant, that has moved in the farm next door. Despite warnings to keep her distance, she often finds herself in close proximity to her love on numerous occasions.
Grant is surprised of his feelings for Sarah and his longing for a simpler life found in the Amish community, but realizes that they cannot pursue anything further because of the repercussions of such a relationship.
In the end, I was pleasantly surprised by the outcome or the story. It was both predictable in that I was confident that there would be a happy ending, but not one that I expected. Overall, this was fun and quick read that left you smiling at the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2010
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this book is an amish book. i can get into a lot of those but this one was not one i could get into at all. i don't really even know what to say i just know it was kinda a stinker. i tried reading it but it was so stinkin boring. i'm sure most people think its good but i've just read so many books lately that i can tell the stinkers within a few pages. haha but yeah unfortunately i didn't like it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Book By a New Author

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
bookmomma
Location:Owasso, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very enjoyable. After I bought it, I let it set awhile because I thought it was probably going to be like some of the Amish books...very predictable. When I started reading it, I realized I was so wrong. This book has so much more and different information about the Amish and their ways. The story line was very touching. The author drew me into Sarah's emotions. I understood what she feeling why she was feeling it. Grant Williams is very witty, romantic and charming. They have chemistry together. That is very evident in the book.
Every plant described in this book was realistic. I felt like I was standing and looking at the plant. It was exciting to learn about plants I had never heard of before. It made me want to go out and start a garden even though it is fall. Plus, the book made me laugh out loud at and with the charming characters. And the way the animals were described in the book was so funny.
I high recommend this book and look forward to the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put it down!

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fantastic read! I loved this book so much. Sarah was the coolest Amish person ever! I found myself wanting to walk around my neighborhood and look for berries and greenery to make arrangements. I longed for my own road side stand to sell my crafts and baked goods. (Still didn't inspire me to garden, but I appreciated her abilities all the same!) I loved the thorough descriptions of the settings and I could easily visualize them all from the creek, or the bats in the attic, to the mountains and landscapes. This book was chock full of Amish details too! And I could not have been any more pleased with the ending. I have to say that I found my own heart aching for Sarah and Grant for that matter. I was highly invested in them and their happiness. I haven't had characters reach out and grab me like that for a long time. On a humorous note, I had never heard of an animal casting out their withers but the scene in the barn around that was so funny I laughed out loud (to the chagrin of my children who were otherwise engaged). Bright, colorful, charming characters burst forth in this book and a deep, enduring love for the Lord emanates throughout. I just can't say enough good things and could ramble on and on. Pick this one up! You will not regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

different Amish fiction

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
marcell
Location:Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I have an entirely different perspective on this book than some of the other reviews. I was very disappointed and wish I hadn't spent the money. Several things bothered me, The Amish didn't seem to be actually Amish to me, they were protrayed like folksy down home neighbors. I also just didn't really like Sarah. She fell for the Doctor way too fast. Grant was extremely pushy and didn't respect the Amish much in my opinion. The graphic details of animal surgery and procedures was gross reading. I also bought the book thinking it was about Sarah , but the author jumped from character to character. Don't print this review if it is too critical , this is just my opinon, I am a very particular about what I like in a book. Thank You
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesile
This author is a found gem! What a refreshing story! Mrs. Long has masterly conveyed to the delight of her readers, Sarah's God-given talent for gardening. She gives an equal account on Grant's passion for the animals he cares for, as a veterinarian. The reader is immediately drawn into the romantic struggle of the Amish/English world with their cultural and religious differences. This author has penned a wonderful story line; the character development shows her attentiveness to all the little details. This being said; I felt, the last few chapters were rushed through, in comparison to the rest of the story. Overall, Mrs. Long has authored an outstanding read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
This new author has a grasp of the Amish life.Living the Amish way is hard at best, but adda love for and Englisch to the mix and you have real problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stampcrafter
I just finished reading Sarah's Garden. I thought it was well written and I couldn't put it down. I really enjoyed how the author threw in segments that were so comical that they made me laugh out loud! I absolutely loved this book and I can't wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
A. Stanley
"Sarah's Garden" was a book that I didn't want to putdown! It was a beautiful story of God's working in twolives. I would highly recommend it. You will not bedisappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Sarah's Garden by Kelly Long is the first book in the Patch of Heaven series. Sarah King loves her life with her Amish family in the Allegheny Mountains where she spends much of her time working on her large garden that provides produce for her entire family as well as the family's roadside stand. After her elder sister, Chelsea, marries, Sarah's father assigns her to work at the stand and take care of the customers. Sarah is terribly shy and most comfortable with her heirloom seeds and plants, but new Englischer veterinarian Grant Williams touches her heart and gently brings her out of her shell. But their relationship is forbidden, because to marry him would be to leave the only world she's ever known and the life she truly loves. I absolutely loved Sarah and Grant's romance. Too often in romances, even Christian ones, the hero and heroine meet and have instant chemistry and then after only a few brief meetings decide they are in love with each other, and the writers would have us believe that they live happily ever after. Long allows Sarah and Grant to spend much of the book talking together and learning about each other. The growing romance definitely has some chemistry, but these are two characters that genuinely care about each other, are best friends as well as being in love. Long has written and beautiful and believable romance, and I can't wait to read the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
I love a good work of Christian fiction and Sarah's Garden by Kelly Long did not disappoint! I was immediately drawn into the life of Sarah King, a good Amish woman who was torn between the faith with which she had been raised and the potential love of her life. The book was well-written in that the reader feels Sarah's attraction to the new veterinarian in town, while at the same time roots for her to remain true to the simple life she knows and loves. Sarah is what we might call a Master Gardener and helps her new neighbor learn of the joys and blessings that come from having a garden and growing herbs and vegetables. While the garden is growing, so is their forbidden love. Although parts of the book were predictable, the author did a good job of taking the reader for a few unexpected twists and turns. I enjoyed them very much. I will be picking up Kelly Longs other books in this Patch of Heaven series to follow the story of these people of Amish faith.I received a complimentary copy of this book as part of Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikole Hahn
It is hard to tell if the activities at that time were to blame, or the book really did begin a little too slowly for me, but once I got into it I couldnt put it down. Kelly Long has very thoroughly researched for this book. In the beginning of the book is a glossary of different Pennsylvania Dutch words and their meanings. The language of the Amish in this book adds to the story and makes the side characters more real.The main characters are memorable. There is just enough danger to snag your interest, but mostly the central plot focuses on the struggles of Sarah King and veterinarian, Dr. Williams. As their love grows so does their awareness of the cultural divide between them. He is Englisch and she is Amish. Sarah loves her home, family and garden and choosing Dr. Williams to love would mean a Shunning. Its a story about forbidden love and family. The end will please you.It is a lesson to me as an Englischer, that though the Amish may appear to live the simple life, their differences provide a rich culture for both fact and fiction, and it is my honor to represent some small threads of their ways of life, says Kelly Long at the beginning of the book. Sarahs Garden is a light read. Curl up with your favorite cup of hot tea and homemade cookies and take a walk in Sarahs Garden. The descriptions will delight you and for one moment you can smell, see and touch Sarahs Garden. She supposed shed need a lot of moss at the stand to cover the produce and hold in the coolness, for the day promised to be as warm as the one before. She passed the kale and the kohlrabi, stroked the green heirloom tomatoes, and then ventured farther into the flower garden. Careless of her clean apron, she knelt next to the wild roses and curled close to the scented blooms deep in thought.Book Provided By the publisher and Book Sneeze For Review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
June Beeler
I really enjoyed this book. it is one of those that is hard to put down once you start reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sarah's Garden, A Patch of Heaven Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christina Stair
Sarah King lives in an Amish community in Pine Creek, Pennsylvania. The story begins at the table on the King Farm where Sarah's family has gathered for the evening meal. At grace, her father brings good news that Chelsea, her older sister, is with child! Everyone is excited, and Sarah is asked to make a quilt for the child and also run the family's roadside stand in Chelsea's place. Shy Sarah reluctantly agrees.Around the time that Sarah begins to work at the stand, a new neighbor moves into the Fisher farm across the way from the Kings. He is an Englischer, and also a veterinarian. Grant Williams hopes that he will be accepted into this Amish community because all his life he has felt the urge to serve the Amish people just as his father had.On her first day at the roadside stand, Sarah met Grant. After that, they met frequently. As their friendship grew, Grant realizes that he loves Sarah. At Christmas time, Sarah realizes that she loves Grant as well and goes to tell him, but he stops her because their love will cause much grief. Shortly after this, Grant leaves without a trace, and Sarah finds herself heartsick.Sarah turns to Der Herr, the Lord, for wisdom and guidance when Grant is gone, and she finds great peace in telling Him all that she has held inside her. The Lord gives her peace on the day she begins another year working on the roadside stand again. Peace in more ways than one.I really enjoyed reading this book. Sarah's Garden is very realistic. When I was reading, I felt like Sarah was one of my real friends. When they held a quilting, I felt like I was there with them, sitting around the quilt with it's iridescent patches, and listening to Chelsea's story. Kelly Long has done a very good job of writing this book. It shows how much effort was put into it in the research and language. I really enjoyed it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.