Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1

Thomas Nelson This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1

Hidden within the battle of Jericho is the story of Rahab, a beautiful and brave young Canaanite woman who aided the Israelites by hanging a piece of scarlet cord from a window. This act of faith changed her life by placing her in the genealogy of Christ.
Average Customer Rating:
3.412 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
11 out of 1765%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Review 1 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Truly disappointing version of Rahab's story

Date:March 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was so looking forward to reading another story on Rahab. For me, Joan Wolf really took liberties with this version. Stopped reading at chapter 7.
This is the first book I have read that Joan has written. And definitely will be the last. I absolutely love biblical fiction. There are so many awesome author's while having to take some liberties, they do stick closely to accounts from the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
booklover
Location:Harrisville, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this story of Rahab. It doesn't portray her as a harlot but it does indicate why she might be considered one. I went back and reread her story in the Bible to see how accurate it really was. Joan Wolf wrote this and she tells you where you can find Rahab's story and references to other story fact info in the Bible. I did love the story and I would recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An interesting take on Rahab's story.

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rahab’s love story.
Those were the words that piqued my interest. We all know who Rahab is, right? She was the woman who helped Joshua’s spies escape in Jericho. She is also mentioned in the genealogy of Christ in the book of Matthew.
So I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect when I opened up Joan Wolf’s latest release. Granted the book was not what I expected, but I still enjoyed it somewhat. Miss Wolf’s writing is easy to read, and her imaginings about life in Biblical times appeared factual.
I really liked how she portrayed Rahab: a free spirit, kind, life-loving, and beautiful girl. However, despite what we were told (that Rahab was only fourteen) it felt like she was much, much older. To pin an age to that, I mean sixteen or seventeen. She didn’t read at all like a fourteen year old, except maybe when she was pining for Sala.
Speaking of Sala, he also at times didn’t seem as mature as his age would demand (eighteen). He had his endearing moments though, which made up for the latter. His compassion saved Rahab from being sold into slavery and his love brought her to Yahweh, making him an all around likable character.
Overall, though I felt it took too much creative license here and there, I did like This Scarlet Cord. Before I finish though, I feel I must mention there is a sizable amount of implied sexual relations, due to the pagan culture Rahab lived in, and there was a situation/scene that left me very uncomfortable. Though Miss Wolf spared details, I felt it was unnecessary. For that reason, I give the book three stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More like 3.5 but close enough to round up

Date:September 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well, this was certainly different from what I expected. I enjoyed the love story in this book, though the characters seemed younger than they actually were for the last two thirds of the story. It was a different take on the Bible's account so I had to wrap my mind around a different version. I appreciated the conflict and how the author set it up, but because it was so different than the Biblical account when it came to Rahab's relationship with Sala (Salmon) it was harder for me to enjoy this novel.
On the plus side, there was a Romeo and Juliet feel to the story. However, because people familiar with the Biblical account know it contains an expected happily ever after, it's anticipated in this novel as well, therefore genuine angst is harder to evoke when reading this novel. For people who enjoy various takes on Biblical fiction this is sure to please. People who like more of an exact retelling when it comes to the actual facts may have difficulty with this one. All in all, I enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay book...

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
icesk8ergal1123
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The description on the back of the book This Scarlet Cord reads as follows:
Within one of the Old Testament’s most famous battles lies one of the most tender love stories.
Hidden within the battle of Jericho is the story of Rahab, a beautiful and brave young Canaanite woman who aided the Israelites by hanging a piece of scarlet cord from a window. This act of faith changed her life by placing her in the genealogy of Christ.
Rahab is the youngest daughter of a Canaanite farmer, taken to Jericho for the pagan New Year so her father can find her a wealthy spouse. Sala, the Israelite boy who had once saved her from being kidnapped, is also in Jericho. When the two young people meet again they admit their love for one another, but their different religions make marriage impossible.
Their love story plays out against the background of Jericho’s pagan rites. It is only when the One True God of Israel comes into Rahab’s life—and she realizes what He is calling her to do—that she and Sala can come together.
Witness Rahab as a young woman determined to find her destiny as she follows her heart toward true love . . . and the One True God.
I have to say, I love historical fiction. I love it. So, I was really excited to read this book. I have found, however, that while I enjoy Biblically based fiction, I tend to be incredibly critical of it. That’s what happened with this book. I really felt that the author developed the characters well and the story was woven well. However, and this is a big however, the author took great liberties with the Biblical tale. I was disappointed in that fact, so I will only be giving this book a 3/5.
I received this book free from BookSneeze for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This Scarlet Cord

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Scarlet Cord is the story of Rahab, who helped hide two Israelite spies before the battle of Jericho, and through her faith, became one of the women named in the genealogy of Jesus. Rahab's story in the Bible is only a few paragraphs long, so the author had lots of room to imagine what Rahab's life was like before and after the fall of Jericho. I understand that authors can take fictional license with characters, but I found the author's supposition that there was a group of Israelites who didn't leave Canaan during the famine while Joseph was in Egypt, but stayed in Canaan, to be very far-fetched. The Bible says that all members of Jacob's family went to Egypt where Joseph and the Pharaoh took care of them. This is how Sala, an Israelite living in Canaan, was able to save Rahab from her kidnappers, early in the book. Thus their meeting in Jericho, a couple years later, wasn't their first meeting. I'm also not sure I agree with the supposition that 14 year old Rahab wasn't married, but still living with her parents, during the fall of Jericho. Nonetheless, it was an interesting take on what Rahab's life may have been like.
With thanks to Thomas Nelson Publishers, via NetGalley, for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Hidden within the battle of Jericho is the story of Rahab, a beautiful and brave young Canaanite woman who aided the Israelites by hanging a piece of scarlet cord from a window. This act of faith changed her life by placing her in the genealogy of Christ.
Rahab is the beautiful youngest daughter of a Canaanite farmer, taken to Jericho for the pagan New Year celebration so that her father can find her a wealthy spouse. Sala is the only son of an Israelite merchant, in Jericho as a spy for Joshua’s army. Their love would have been destined for heartache, were it not ordained by God.
When Rahab finds favor with the king, and is to become his ritual bride, she abandons the pagan gods who have abandoned her and pleads with the One True God of the Israelites for deliverance. With her prayer answered, she vows to deliver Jericho to Joshua, risking her life to do so.
Motivated by love and empowered by a new faith, Rahab saves her family, and secures her future as one of the most important women in the Bible.
I was very impressed with Joan Wolf's adaptation of Rahab. I finished the book in 2 evenings I was so enthralled. We do not know the ins and outs of Rahab's life, but Ms. Wolf gives the story a twist that I've never even thought of. How did Rahab meet her husband? After Jericho there is no mention of her until the geneology of Jesus with her husband.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

this scarlet cord review

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"This Scarlet Cord" by Joan Wolf is a fictional account of the love story of Rahab from the book of Joshuah from the Old Testament. To say this is from the Old Testament would be a large exaggeration. There are a lot of liberties taken with this story. It is well researched as to the time period and it is historically acurate that I can tell, but to say it is biblical would be false. It is a fictional piece that is biblically inspired. Rahab is a prostitute living in Jericho during the time when Joshuah conquers Jericho with the Jewish army. Rahab hides the spies and later marries one. In this book, Rahab is a farmer's daughter who is visiting Jericho and comes across the spies. Though not true, it is an interesting story. Especially for women. The way women are portrayed during this time is heartbreaking at best. Rahab's father is in Jericho in order to "sell" her to the highest bidder for marriage. Marriage, slavery, very thin line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Different Than the Biblical Account of Rahab

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
BethR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I think we all have images in our minds of what the Biblical accounts we have read are supposed to look like. This one was no exception for me. The story of Rahab is not one that I have read a lot, but I am familiar with it and where she fits into God’s story. This Scarlet Cord is the fictional account of the story of Rahab by author Joan Wolf.
In her notes to the reader at the end of the book, Joan Wolf states that she has take the story of a Rahab which, in the Bible, equals about 5 paragraphs, and lengthened it into a book of about 85,000 words. That is not an easy thing to do, I am sure. After reading Wolf’s last novel about Queen Esther, A Reluctant Queen, I was very eager to read this one.
The story begins with Rahab as a young girl and ends shortly after the fall of Jericho. Both the beginning and ending are plausible because the Bible doesn’t really include that information. There are some areas in the middle that I would consider more fiction than Biblical. That being said, I am simply going to share some things about the novel, and a few that I didn’t.
I am not a Bible expert. I am supposed to write a review, so these are my feelings toward the parts of the book I didn’t like. The story doesn’t follow 100% of the Biblical account of the story of Rahab. The Bible mentions in several places that she is a harlot, and the author changes that fact, which kind of skews the way she helps the Israelite spies. Also, Wolf places Israelites in other cities and not with the rest of the Israelites coming out of Egypt, which is where Sala comes from, and is how he comes to know Rahab before the siege on Jericho. I find this extremely hard to believe. I realize this is fiction, but this is one point I had issue with. It has however pushed me to my Bible to do some further research.
Another portion of the book that was difficult me to read, was when Rahab’s family comes to Jericho and there is A LOT of explicit discussion about Baal worship and the sexual connotations surrounding their religious rituals. It is not severe, but I really would rather not read about these things and skimmed over a large portion of this section of the book.
That being said, there were some things I did like, and I thought the author did a wonderful job weaving into the story. I liked the love story between Rahab and Sala. What girl doesn’t like a love story? It was very sweet and pure and I enjoy reading about how it grew. I loved how Wolf revealed the conversion of Rahab to Yahweh as a process in the story. The Bible doesn’t say anything about that either, but we know it must have happened at some point because she became a part of the Israelite family and her name is in the lineage of Jesus. That part of the story was a beautiful thing. The last thing I really liked was how the author rehearsed the Battle of Jericho and how the walls fell down. I thought she was very creative and descriptive and the development of how the Israelites took the city stuck to the Biblical account but was developed in areas where we have no information.
The last part of the story was somewhat redeeming for the book. If you enjoy Biblical fiction, this will be an interesting read for you. I would recommend it for 18+ though because of some of the sexuality found in the book.
Many blessings as you read and I hope you look for Jesus and His story in whatever you read.
Disclaimer- I received this book free from Booksneeze as part of a free books for bloggers program. I was not required to give a favorable review. The thoughts and opinions found here are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too many Biblical inaccuracies -- Even if fiction

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
CarliAlice
Location:Union, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the beautiful love story of Rahab and Sala. Rahab is a Canaanite woman who worships Baal and Sala is an Israelite who worships God (Yehweh). Rahab and Sala fall into a deep love, a love that is insurmountable given their different upbringing. Through courses of events Rahab learns of Yehweh and follows the commands of the Israelites, protecting her and her family.
The story was romantic and wistful, set in a time that I’m sure I’ll never fully understand. I couldn’t get entirely lost in the story as it was very clear to me that this was so far removed from the truth that I would rather the author have not mentioned that the Bible was her “inspiration” and have used other names. The characters were well developed and I enjoyed hearing both a man and women’s point of view. But honestly, that’s all they were in this book. Characters. The account was so far from what is the historical truth that it was off-putting. If anything, I would say that this definitely made me want to learn the real story of Rahab better and spend some time in the bible. I was also concerned that a new Christian would read this and think that this fictitious story was remotely close to the truth.
Due to the Biblical inaccuracies and the liberties she took, I cannot recommend this book. If she had just set it as historical fiction and used different names, I would feel very differently.

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too Many Changes to the Bible's Account

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
On the cover of the book, "This Scarlet Cord," Publisher’s Weekly is quoted as saying, “[S]killfully conjur[es] up a fascinating version of Rahab’s story . . .” This statement is true. The fictional story is well-written and quite intriguing. Author Joan Wolf is a talented novelist.
Unfortunately for Wolf, though, Rahab was a real person. That makes this story historical, specifically biblical, fiction. And rule number 1 for historical fiction is that the author can’t mess with the facts. The author can use her imagination to fill in the blanks around the facts, but she can’t alter what is known to be true.
Wolf made so many alterations to Rahab’s story that I can’t even count them all. To document them here would spoil the story for future readers, so I won't get into them. The most prominent of these, however, though showing God’s great power to rescue His people from peril, also removes the beautiful message of grace found in Rahab’s appearance in the lineage of Christ. It also unjustly portrays the Israelites, especially Joshua, in a negative light.
If "This Scarlet Cord" were strictly a work of fiction, I would recommend it highly. It was a beautiful love story. As a work of biblical fiction, however, I can’t recommend it at all. The author took too many liberties with the Bible's part.
Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Wonderful Read But Biblically inaccurate

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Rahab being a very heroic and fascinating character in the Bible has had me thoroughly fascinated. As the author stated Rahabs' story in the Bible covers about five paragraphs, however, she was able to create an entire book about her. Joan did an amazing job retelling this biblical romance, including action, suspense, and high strung emotions.
It was very evident that Joan had done her Historical research. The historical depictions intertwined throughout the story were exceptionally detailed and imaginable. She immediately thrust you into a sea of action and intrigue. You could very well imagine the busy markets, with the sea of different looking people and items.
I immensely enjoyed the setting, plot, and even the pace of the book, However, I am not sure of her biblical accuracy. She divided the Israelites in two groups, ones that crossed the desert, and others that never went to Egypt. The Bible clearly states that all of Jacob's entire family went to Egypt to escape the famine.
After this, Joseph sent for his father Jacob and his whole family, seventy- five in all.
Acts 7:14
So I am not sure where she got her information, when the Bible states it very plainly. If some of the Israelites did not go down to Egypt, how would they have survived with the famine raging throughout the land of Canaan? Biblical accuracy is of upmost importance in christian fiction, and even greater in Biblical fiction. With this in mind, the story was somewhat devalued. All in all the book was an enjoyable read. I would give this book a 3.5. The actual writing and plot is 5 stars worthy, but with the Biblical inaccuracy, it lowers it's rating immensely in my eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
cici
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Scarlet Cord by Joan Wolf was a wonderful story about an amazing woman that needed recognition. I had no knowledge of Rahab's story so the entire read was new and enlightening. I learned so much and wanted to keep reading until I finished the entire novel. This was such a page turner with all the twists and turns involved in her life. I could not wait to read, read, and read until my eyes burned. This is a must read for all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well-written and will hold your attention!

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joan Wolf's latest novel, "This Scarlet Cord," is an action-filled romance! I am familiar with Rahab; however her story is not shared with too many details in the Bible and Joan uses her gift of writing to bring Rahab to life and expand on her story!
From the publisher:
Book Description
Within one of the Old Testament’s most famous battles lies one of its most tender love stories.
Hidden within the battle of Jericho is the story of Rahab, a beautiful and brave young Canaanite woman who aided the Israelites by hanging a piece of scarlet cord from a window. This act of faith changed her life by placing her in the genealogy of Christ.
Rahab is the beautiful youngest daughter of a Canaanite farmer, taken to Jericho for the pagan New Year celebration so that her father can find her a wealthy spouse. Sala is the only son of an Israelite merchant, in Jericho as a spy for Joshua’s army. Their love would have been destined for heartache, were it not ordained by God.
When Rahab finds favor with the king, and is to become his ritual bride, she abandons the pagan gods who have abandoned her and pleads with the One True God of the Israelites for deliverance. With her prayer answered, she vows to deliver Jericho to Joshua, risking her life to do so.
Motivated by love and empowered by a new faith, Rahab saves her family, and secures her future as one of the most important women in the Bible.
My review:
I found this book exciting and well-written! The characters were all brought to life in the story and I ended this book feeling as if I know this story so much better and have a new perspective on Rahab. Rahab is a young woman who is striving to live her life for God among expectations placed upon her by others. She follows her heart and finds favor while risking her life and becomes a woman who is forever remembered. Joan Wolf does an excellent job researching and expanding on Biblical accounts. I did see that this is a first in a series, and I am looking forward to reading the rest.
*I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A captivating, acting-packed read!

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joan Wolf's latest novel brings to life the amazing story of Rahab, as inspired by the Biblical account documented in the book of Joshua, chapters 2 and 6. In This Scarlet Cord, Rahab is the youngest daughter of a Canaanite farmer, a young woman of extraordinary beauty who her family believes is destined for more than the life of a simple farmer's wife. Rahab and her family thus travel to Jericho in the hopes of catching the eye of nobility and securing an advantageous marriage. However, while they are there, Rahab draws the eyes of the King and becomes part of a plan to ensure the King's successful participation in the fertility rites set to occur in honor of the gods Baal and Asherah. In desperation, Rahab calls upon Elohim, the God of the Israelites whom Rahab was introduced to many years prior when she was rescued by Sala, the son of an Israelite merchant. Rahab's prayers are answered in a manner she never could have anticipated when she becomes reconnected with Sala and becomes part of God's plans to destroy Jericho and restore the land of Canaan to the people of Israel.
I greatly enjoyed This Scarlet Cord, from the fascinating historical details woven into the story, to the courageous and lively character of Rahab and the forbidden love that develops between Sala and Rahab. After finishing the story, I went back to again read the account of Rahab in the Bible, and it is amazing how Joan Wolf has created such an entertaining story from so few sentences in the Bible! It is clear she has done her research into the setting of that time period, including the religious rituals observed by the Canaanites at that time, rituals that find Rahab in a frightening position indeed! The characters are very well-developed, and the story contains plenty of action to keep the story moving along well. Although Wolf has placed her own spin upon the story, she is absolutely faithful to the spirit of the Biblical account, providing an uplifting account of God's love and miraculous power. Reading this story has caused me to consider for the first time what it must have been like for the Canaanites living in Jericho to experience the Israelite army marching around their city for 7 days, the fear they must have felt! I also had never really wondered how it is that Rahab came to believe in God, as is so clearly noted in the Bible, and the author has created a plausible explanation of this in a manner that not only makes sense but provides an absorbing read at the same time. I leave this book more in awe than ever of the power of God to carry out His plans, but also even more appreciative of the character of Rahab and her role in the genealogy of Jesus. What an amazing story of faith!
I highly recommend this book and award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent biblical fiction

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doreen renewing strength
Location:Tampa Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JUL
24
This Scarlet Cord
Booksneeze supplied me with this e-book for the purpose of review. The e-book was free and I could do either a positive or negative review.
While I enjoyed this story based on the life of Rahab and her protection of the spies as they went to check out the city of Jericho, it was not scriptural....I am a real stickler for "not adding to or deleting" what scripture tells me.
The story of how Rahab becomes the one to save the spies and thus be able to protect her family in this process is one of the miracles of a loving God. The story of how Rahab changes from being a Baal worshipper to a worshipper of Elohim is believable and can be followed easily.
As you read this biblical fiction story, please enjoy but remember it is just that, biblical fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for This Scarlet Cord, Love Story Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Scarlet Cord

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't believe that I've ever read a fictional story from Rahab's point of view. I guess I never really dug too deep into what her story could be apart from the minimal details given in the Bible.
Although this book was fictional, I enjoyed looking at this familiar Biblical story through new eyes.
Joan Wolf did a wonderful job of bringing the reader into the story and creating characters that held the reader's attention right until the end of the book.
Book Description:
Hidden within the battle of Jericho is the story of Rahab, a beautiful and brave young Canaanite woman who aided the Israelites by hanging a piece of scarlet cord from a window. This act of faith changed her life by placing her in the genealogy of Christ.
Rahab is the beautiful youngest daughter of a Canaanite farmer, taken to Jericho for the pagan New Year celebration so that her father can find her a wealthy spouse. Sala is the only son of an Israelite merchant, in Jericho as a spy for Joshua's army. Their love would have been destined for heartache, were it not ordained by God.
When Rahab finds favor with the king, and is to become his ritual bride, she abandons the pagan gods who have abandoned her and pleads with the One True God of the Israelites for deliverance. With her prayer answered, she vows to deliver Jericho to Joshua, risking her life to do so.
Motivated by love and empowered by a new faith, Rahab saves her family, and secures her future as one of the most important women in the Bible.
I have continued to think about Rahab, her new faith, the strong faith of the Israelites, the wisdom of Joshua, and the greatness of God long after reading this book.
A book full of romance, history, adventure and godly wisdom is definitely one to read!
I full agree with Publisher's Weekly...
"Wolf (A Reluctant Queen) holds our interest by skillfully conjuring up a fascinating version of Rahab's story, successfully persuading us that the story is far more complex than merely a "scarlet cord."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.