Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The House That Love Built

Thomas Nelson The House That Love Built

Running Smithville's hardware store and being a single mom is tough. That's why dating hasn't crossed Brooke's mind. The same could be said of divorce Owen, who fled the big city to restore a house in the Texas town. But if anything needs restoration, it's Owen's heart. Is God giving them both a second chance at happiness? 320 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The House That Love Built
Review 1 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Mystery/Romance

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
MEJ99
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Language: None.
Other objectionable: Mention of an affair, kissing, flirting, mention of using illegal drugs, an abusive father, and a mother leaves her kid.
Suitable for: Well, it's adult fiction, so I'd say adults and highschoolers would enjoy it.
Pros: I loved the mystery combined with the romance. It made it interesting, more than your average "boy meets girl, boy dates girl, boy proposes to girl, boy marries girl" type of fluffy romance. The mystery surrounding the house provided a little bit of purpose to the story. Owen & Brooke are great characters coming from similar backgrounds (one divorced, one widowed) but I think that Brooke's healing process was more developed than Owen's because she leaned heavily on her faith. Owen basically gave up on God. The extra characters also enhanced the book by providing backstory and a little side action other than the main plot.
Cons: I do hate how the house was bought by Owen just to spite his ex-wife since Smithville is her ideal hometown. That's a slap in the face to her. I wish the house had been bought with no ulterior motives, but would that be too surreal to be true?? I don't know. That's the only thing I can think of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Story of Hope and Forgiveness

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew Beth had to be a great writer -- Amish just isn't my go to genre -- but I loved this contemporary romance! The House that Love Built is a story of hope and forgiveness. Set in the town from the movie Hope Floats, it tells the story of a single mother of two who begins to fall for a newly divorced man who buys a huge mansion in town to spite his ex-wife. Because Brooke runs the local hardware store and Owne doens't have a clue about home repairs, they end up spending lots of time together. This was a sweet story with a wonderful cast of secondary characters who support and enhance the storyline. The romance was heart-stoppingly perfect. Beth has a new fan in me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging Small Town Romance

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Wiseman did a great job with this contemporary romance set in the small Texas town of Smithville, the town where the movie Hope Floats was filmed years ago. There are many characters in this book and quite a few different story lines going on, however, the different issues and mysteries are brought together in a satisfying conclusion at the end of the book.
Central to the story are the main characters, Brooke and Owen. Brooke is a widowed mother to two children. Owen has recently had his heart broken by an unfaithful wife and has gone through a divorce. Both characters are sure in the beginning of the story that they are not ready to move on and start new relationships. In fact, both question whether they could ever be ready to love someone again. Owen is also dealing with major trust issues in regards to love and women.
As the story progresses, attraction builds, along with humorous situations and quite a few serious situations that must be dealt with. I really enjoyed this story and some of the surprising twists that Beth Wiseman wrote into it. I would highly recommend it to fans of Christian romantic fiction. I received a copy of The House that Love Built from Harper Collins Christian Publishing through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Indeed

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Two years later, Brooke Holloway is still grieving the death of her beloved husband. Both God and her children have kept her from sinking into despair. Freshly divorced, Owen is bitter and has ruled God out of his life. When he makes a decision to buy a huge fixer- uper with rich history both paths cross. As they both struggle with grief and bitterness, they find themselves closer to God, healing and second time love.
I highly esteem Beth for her creative writing talent. This is her second contemporary novel and I have enjoyed both this one and the first. She dealt with big topics, forgiveness, bitterness, grief, and wrote a beautiful tale of redemption and love. I loved the second stories that she includes as well. They add a fresh perspective towards the topics already included.
The characters were very well developed. I got to know each of the many characters at a 'personal' level. The book had all that you would want in a story: romance, rich history, mystery, conflict, bad guy turn good guy, the Bible, and a good ending.
I received a complimentary copy from BookSneeze in exchange for my independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Restoration of the Heart

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brooke Holloway would like give in to the desire to stay in bed and grieve the loss of husband but she has two active children and a business to run. Her mother helped for a while but she had become to dependent on her now it was time to face life head on. Her daily routine keeps her focused on her job but memories of her deceased husband still occupy most of her thoughts. Just like now when her thoughts were interrupted by Owen Saunders the new man in town. He recently bought one of the biggest old mansions in town that was in need of much repair and since she owned a hardware store he would become a frequent customer. Her coworker keeps pushing her to find a new man even though she keeps telling her and everyone else that she is in no hurry to start a relationship. But brother if she were looking, which she isn't, this handsome guy would fit the bill.
Owen Saunders admits to himself he may have, as the saying goes, "cut off his nose to spite his face", by purchasing a huge old house that is turning into a money pit. This is the house his cheating ex wife had dreamed of owning, so he bought the house just to rub into her face. He was determine to finish the house as close to the original as possible. He must admit he will probably never get it to original since he knows nothing about renovating anything. So here he is renovating this old house when his is heart probably in worse condition than this old house. He has had to make many trips to the hardware store owned by a very attractive lady. The more they see each other it is apparent they are building a friendship but they both made it clear they were looking for nothing more. God tends to have a say in what is planned for our life's plan. Maybe He wants them to start anew letting go of the bitterness and pain from their past and to trust in love.
The author adds many other interesting characters to the mix like two precious children, two grandmothers, a missing grandfather, a rebellious teen, a couple of crack head parents, a stray cat and well intended friends.
I found this an endearing story of love lost, bitterness, revenge, trust issues, tribulations and reconciliation. In the author's writing I could see God's plan in restoring the lives of His children. The author also writes about how the characters let anger, abandonment and fear eat away at their lives until they slowly and sometime quickly turning from God yet proves He never turned from them.
In one part of the book Owen advises Brooke on the importance of forgiveness and she points out," Isn't that kind of like the pot calling the kettle black". It is like seeing the err of our ways through another person's eyes or better yet by reading a great book like this one.
I highly recommend this book. It would be a great book for a book club and/or reading group. There are some very enlightening discussion questions at the back of the book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson/Litfuse Publicity Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting and Surprising

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once you have finished this book the title becomes totally clear to you.
Brooke Holloway, has lost the love of her life, her husband. She is raising two children, who are her salvation. She did state, that if it weren't for them, she would have thrown in the towel.
When Owen Saunders, purchases the old Hadley mansion. His path crosses with Brook, as she owns the local hardware store, and he has a lot of work to do in restoring his new house. Owen is fighting his demons, he has lost his wife, Virginia, but to another man not death. He needs to forgive his ex, but can't find his way to do so.
Brooke, is also struggling with forgiveness, her father left her family when she was a young child. He now wants back in her life, and Brook is determined not let him.
There are a few other character in this story that will warm you heart, and some you will despise for the way they have treated a child. Throughout all, we find God seems to be in control of their lives, and all they have to do is listen.
Some parts made me want to cry, they were so sweet. This is not a book to be missed, and the important word is "Family". I loved it, and wish I could continue on in their lives. There are really some interesting and very surprising things that happen here. Don't miss this!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Group, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid Romance with some Christian elements

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cover picture is of a couple embracing. The title is The House that Love Built (awww, everyone sigh!). The author, Beth Wiseman, is better known for her Amish novels. So is this going to be a saccharine depiction of small-town Americana, or something more?
Brooke Holloway is a widowed mother of two children and hardware store owner in Smithville, Texas. She’s still in love with Travis, even though he died two years ago. Her mother, Patsy, lives in a local care home ad is hiding a secret 'boyfriend'. Meghan, Brooke's daughter, would like her to marry again but 10-year-old Spencer doesn't want anyone to replace his father--and goes out of his way to sabotage the possibility.
Owen Saunders bought the old Hadley place to remodel because his ex-wife always wanted a picture-book house in Smithville, the setting for the 1998 movie Hope Floats. He’s here out of spite—he’s bought his ex-wife’s dream house, but he might regret it as he knows next-to-nothing about renovating a house. And Brooke's story of a hidden bunker in the house has him intrigued...
But this is a romance, so you know what’s going to happen. I thought the relationship progressed nicely and was quite believable, watching Brooke and Owen work through their various relationship issues, with God, with Brooke’s family, and with each other. The one thing that wasn’t quite so believable was the appearance of Virginia, the ex-wife, at the end of the story (the dates just don’t add up, but you’ll have to read it to see what I mean). However, Virginia’s story would make a great sequel. Now, there’s a woman with issues…
All in all, this was a solid story with a nice combination of mystery and romance, and stronger-than-usual minor characters. Despite the sweet title and cover, there were some real issues in here, and Beth Wiseman handled them well.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and Booksneeze for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

romance with important theme of forgiveness

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Brooke is a single mom . Her husband had died in an auto accident two years before, a drunk driver ripping him away from her life. Now she's making a life for herself and her two kids, owning the hardware store in their small community.
But Brooke has trouble. Her mother has moved into a retirement home, against Brooke's wishes. And her mother has taken up with a man. Brooke makes an unannounced visit to her mom and finds her with the man – her estranged father! Brooke is beside herself. He had abandoned his family for another woman when Brooke was twelve. The long term bitterness against her father is flamed anew.
To add to Brooke's trouble is Owen Saunders. He bought the old house that had been empty for years – to spite his ex-wife. He had caught his wife and his business partner together, finding out they'd been together for a year. He sold his half of the business to his partner, had a nasty divorce, is still bitter, and wants nothing to do with women right now. Betrayal was a tough thing to get past.
Brooke is certainly not ready to date. But Owen is a nice fellow, and he does need lots of help in restoring the old home. And Brooke is lonely. Maybe they can just be friends.
An added plot twist is Hunter, a young teen living with his grandmother as his parents are in drug rehab. He's a thief, getting money to supplement his grandmother's inadequate income. He and Owen cross paths late at night, Hunter on the run. Owen feels compelled to help him.
This is a romance novel with a few twists. Girl meets boy and it looks like they are made for each other. Both girl and boy have lots of issues to work through. Will healing occur and love win out?
The theme of forgiveness is major in this novel. Brooke can't forgive her father and Owen can't forgive his ex-wife. The theme of second changes is also major. Another theme is love and this one has two love experiences juxtaposed. On the one hand is a life long love despite betrayal. On the other hand one reads of the (lack of) love a parent has for a child.
The characters are pretty well developed. I loved Brooke's children. They are a delight. The Christianity of the characters is well presented and an essential part of their lives.
I thought the romance went a little fast, considering how adamant Brooke and Owen were presented at the beginning. And with Owen, it has not been long since his divorce – much less than a year, we find out. I am not so sure that is appropriate and that he has had sufficient time to heal. Other then that, a fine Christian romance novel.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Family, Faith, Forgiveness and Romance

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Wiseman in her new book "The House that Love Built" published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the lives of Brooke Holloway and Owen Saunders.
From the back cover: Brooke has only loved one man, her late husband. Owen's rebuilding after a painful divorce. Can a mysterious house bring them together for a second chance at love?
In the charming town of Smithville, Texas, Brooke Holloway is raising two young children on her own, supporting them by running the family hardware store. The last thing on her mind is falling in love. But she's intrigued when a stranger moves to town and buys the old Hadley mansion. She's always heard that house holds a secret--maybe even a treasure--and she can't wait to see inside. When she meets the new owner and they spend time together, she can't deny the attraction. Could God be giving her another chance at happiness? Or is she betraying her late husband's memory by even thinking that way?
Owen Saunders bought the Hadley place to spite his cheating ex-wife. She'd always wanted to restore an old house in Smithville. Now he's going to do it without her. But if anything needs restoration, it is Owen's heart. Then he meets Brooke and her kids and finds himself tempted by love. Can he bring himself to trust a woman again?
Throw an eccentric uncle into the mix, along with the town's teenage troublemaker, and even a finicky cat--and one thing becomes clear: God is bringing them all together for a reason.
Don't you just love the title? I think whoever thought of the title to this book, "The House that Love Built" should receive an award. It isn't often that a book title gives you everything that you want to know about purchasing this book, "The House that Love Built" is a wonderful motivator. And you will not be disappointed. This is a truly charming romance. This is a book about what is important in life: family, faith and forgiveness. Ms. Wiseman knows how to create characters that live on the page and that we get to know and love. Get ready for an exciting read that will keep you flipping pages and keep you emotionally involved.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of Fun Surprises

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The House That Love Built" by Beth Wiseman is a book packed full of fun surprises! She starts with two broken people: a young widow with two children who’d been abandoned by her father as a young teenager and a recently divorced man who chooses to act out his bitterness toward his ex-wife by purchasing a large home in the small town where she’d always dreamed of living. Because this home is in need of many repairs, Owen, the divorced newcomer, quickly meets Brooke, the young widow, who just happens to own and run the local hardware store.
As these two become friends and strive to help each other work through their brokenness and toward forgiveness, they encounter one person after another after another in need of their love and compassion. Hunter, the troubled 17-year-old, is my favorite of these. He complicates the story greatly when Owen attempts to help him turn his life around only to learn that Brooke was emotionally wounded by Hunter and wants nothing to do with him.
Love, forgiveness, and emotional healing are the beautifully-explored themes of this book that I thoroughly enjoyed reading and most definitely recommend. I thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for the complimentary eCopy I received in exchange for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating story with fun twists and turns.

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie E
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This page turner is about a young widow, Brooke Holloway who is raising her two young children on her own. She wants nothing to do with love after losing her husband two years earlier. Owen Saunders is new in town. He is recently divorced and very bitter. He bought the Hadley Mansion in Smithville, the town his wife always wanted to move to, just to spite Virginia - his ex-wife.
When Brooke learns that Owen is the new owner of the Hadley Mansion she decides to befriend Owen so she can take a look around his home and maybe find the hidden bunker that was rumored to have been built by the first owner. Little did she know how much more she would find in the old house.
This book captivated me and held my interest through to the end. I laughed, I cried, and I swooned. The way the characters are meshed together kept me wanting to know more and more. I found myself up way past my bedtime reading "just one more page". If you like Christian romance this book is for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The House that Love Built

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had so much fun reading this book! Beth Wiseman always does a great job with her books and this was another incredible story from her!
Brooke and Owen both have major issues when the book begins. They are both dealing with incredible amounts of hurt, pain and baggage. I enjoyed how the author taught her characters about faith, forgiveness, love and redemption through the situations in this book. Brooke and Owen both learn to turn to God in the midst of struggle and that brings them both together in a powerful way.
This book has some very fun characters and exciting circumstances. It was definitely enjoyable to read! I also loved that the book is long and the author took the time to fully and completely write out her story. I didn't feel like any of it was cut short. Beth Wiseman hit a great balance of a long book that keeps the readers interest!
Can't wait to read more from Beth!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The House That Love Built by Beth Wiseman

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is not about the Amish that Beth usually writes about. Brooke has lost her husband (the love of her life), has two children, runs the family hardware store. Owen Saunders moves to Smithville, Tx, buys the biggest house in town to remodel (its also one of the oldest). Hunter is a young man that Owen hires to help with the remodeling. There are several diffent storylines going on but they do all come together & it works. Think ex-wife, baby, children, old house with problems, Hunter's problems, then steps in Uncle Denny who is a character in himself. Brooke's mom is in a retirement home and they call Brooke about some man spending the night, making out with her mother in the parking lot. Did I forget to mention, that the old house has a hidden bunker or so legend says. The legned says its a treasure of the heart. The rest I leave up to you. Beth Wisemand always shows her humor, growth in faith, characters that come alive and you feel like you know. Enjoy - this book is worth you time to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The House That Love Built by Beth Wiseman

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunday, March 17, 2013
The House That Love Built by Beth Wiseman
Thomas Nelson sent me a free copy of The House That Love Built by Beth Wiseman. With a modern day setting of Smithville, TX, the reader immediately feels like she is part of the small town. Owen has just bought an old mansion in Smithville. His wife's dream was always to restore an old house into a Bed 'N Breakfast. Yet when she is caught cheating with his best friend, Owen decides to continue her plan on his own. Brooke is a young widow, raising 2 children while operating a hardware store. When their paths cross, there is a connection that neither is ready for. Brooke doesn't want to be disloyal to her first husband, and Owen has vowed to never trust another woman. He has always wanted children, but his ex-wife refused. Although Brooke grew up without a father in her life, she knows her children need a father figure in their lives. Owen enjoys being with them, especially when looking for a rumored treasure in the old mansion. Brooke and Owen both draw closer to God and start to wonder if maybe this is part of His plan all along. I had only read Amish novels by Beth Wiseman, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I was sucked in right away and enjoyed this book very much! The setting was real life and there was a lot of action. Centered around family, I would recommend it to anyone!
Posted by basketballorange301 at 10:51 AM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Charming

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The House that Love Built by Beth Wiseman is utterly charming but than again I am a huge sucker for cutesy romance novels. I love the idea that two people can come together even if they themselves do not think love is for them. A lot of the time two people need a helping hand to get them to see the love. This is the charming story about Brooke and Owen, two individuals dealing with what life has thrown at them and what is being given to them. Reading this novel only cemented my belief that I thoroughly enjoy Beth Wisemen's style of writing and that I have to travel to Texas one day very soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful story of love and forgiveness

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only read Amish fiction by Beth Wiseman and I was curious to read a different genre from her. I have enjoyed Wiseman's novels and "The House that Love Built" is one that I enjoyed so much as well! First of all - I love the cover of this book! The cover caught my attention as I love the scene on the cover, looking down the driveway toward the house, just love it! I really enjoyed "spending time" with the characters in this book and watching the relationship grow between Owen and Brooke. I felt as if I was there with them in the hardware store and discussing the home and working on it together with them along with trying to figure out the mystery. Both Owen and Brooke fight their feelings, but they know that they cannot fight what God is doing in their hearts and in their lives. This is such a touching love story and such a great message of forgiveness which can be a struggle, but so important.
*Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishers for a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love is a powerful thing!

Date:March 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherry K
Location:Kansas
Brooke Holloway lives in the cozy little town of Smithville, Texas. She lost her husband to a drunk driver two years ago but she's happy running the family hardware store, raising her two kids and looking after her mother. Owen Saunders only bought the old Hadley mansion to spite his cheating ex-wife because she always wanted to fix-up an old mansion in Smithville. He's bitter and vows never to love or trust another woman. Then he meets Brooke at the hardware store and they both find themselves intrigued with each other. Brooke tells Owen about the mystery surrounding the mansion. As they spend time together, trying to figure out the mystery, fixing up the house and getting to know each other, Brooke feels like she might be betraying her husband and Owen doesn't want to walk down 'lovers lane' again. As if things weren't complicated enough, they're also dealing with a troubled teen, a scaredy black cat, a traveling uncle, Brooke's mom and even Owens ex. But the old mansion that was known by it's first owner as 'the house that love built', just might live up to it's name. Can God use fixing up an old mansion to fix the hearts of those involved in the project?
What a thoroughly enjoyable story. It was loaded with charm yet covered some pretty tough subjects with it's root in forgiveness. Lets face it, we all can struggle with that so it was interesting to watch how each one dealt with their situation. I appreciate how the author so deftly brings to light how God can use us even when we're struggling. That was encouraging. Most of us are familiar with the verse 'love covers a multitude of sins' but you really see that verse brought to light in this story in a beautiful way. Love is a powerful thing! Though this is not a fast-paced story, it's one that certainly keeps you involved all the way through. The whole mystery surrounding the mansion was like hunting for lost treasure and I think it added a great element to the story. The relationship between all of the characters and their emotions felt true to life and spot on! You'll find yourself rooting for each one as you're reading along. These are folks that will linger with you long after you turn the last page. And I must say, I not only loved the ending but there was a twist I did not expect that just beautifully brought everything together. I loved the cover, loved the story and loved the message! Great job, Beth Wiseman! I would love to see more of these type stories from this author.
*This complimentary copy was provided by Thomas Nelson through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Thomas Nelson (April 2, 2013)
ISBN-10: 1595548890
ISBN-13: 978-1595548894
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good storyline...

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
HSCottage
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have mixed feelings about this book. Over all, I enjoyed the book. I don't read a lot of contemporary christian books, I usually read christian historical fiction, so I am not sure if my issues with this book are normal for this kind of book. I felt there were some scenes that really were pushing it for a christian book. The way that the character Owen was checking out Brooke, talking about her tight fitting shirt, or the times when its described how he grabs her hips. I am use to reading that and more in non-christian books, but I felt a bit uncomfortable reading it in a christian book. It just didn't seem right.
I know it seems like I didn't like the book, but I really did. The story line was really good. The characters had some depth. The story at the end between Brooke and her dad Harold, moved me.
I do think the book is worth the read. I may try out another book from the author out of curiosity.
I received this book from booksneeze.com for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE HOUSE THAT LOVE BUILT

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
raeann68
Location:Mansfield OHIO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THE HOUSE THAT LOVE BUILT
Hi, I received this book for free from www.booksneeze.com.
With the promise that I would read and review it.
I have read many of Beth Wiseman’s books. This was a very good book showing forgiveness.
The Home That Love Built
Beth Wiseman
Booke Holloway is a single mom to Spencer and Meghan. Her Husband had passed away a couple years ago. Brooke works at the local hardware store. Her husband had his own store, which is right across the street from the hardware store. Brooke is struggling with letting go.
Owen Saunders is new to town. He just bought a big old house. Being single, people in this small town wonder why he would buy such a huge house. He tells them he just wants to take his time and fix it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The House That Love Built
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Healing Love

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Wiseman hooked me with her excellent Amish fiction. But she has proven her ability to write excellent fiction in more than one genre. The House that Love Built is her second non-Amish novel, and it was a delight to read.
Brooke, Owen, and the other characters come alive on the pages. A troubled teenager and an offbeat uncle add variety and depth to the story, providing a balance of trouble and humor. As the characters deal with loss and betrayal, hope, love, and healing come at just the right time. A bit of small-town mystery around an old house and a bonding of an eclectic "family" rounds out this very enjoyable story.
Thanks to the BookSneeze blogging program for providing this ebook in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>