Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Paradise War, Song of Albion Series #1

Thomas Nelson The Paradise War, Song of Albion Series #1

A breach has opened between the worlds, and---quite by accident---an American graduate student at Oxford stumbles through! In the savagely beautiful Otherworld, Lewis finds himself caught in an epic struggle between light and darkness---a struggle that will determine the fate of his own world. The first volume in the Song of Albion trilogy.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Paradise War, Song of Albion Series #1
Review 1 for The Paradise War, Song of Albion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT!

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
extremehousewife
Location:San Angelo, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this series and I very much would reread these books and suggest them to friends to read as well. Totally worth the cost for all three!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Paradise War, Song of Albion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
shirl
Location:New Mexico
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was actually trying out the e-books as we were thinking of going to that instead of hard copy. There was not a big selection of free e-books on the site so thought I would just try this one. What a surprise. The book was very good and I will probably buy the next books in the trilogy. The download was easy to read on the computer. However, I believe I will enjoy the e-reader even more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Paradise War, Song of Albion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Less than expected...

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Caro
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book comes in waves. The first chapter or two was boring, then it got really interesting. Then it got boring again. I got it for free from ChristianBook.com, but if I had paid for it I would have been a little miffed, unless it gets better and stays good. I have determined to finish it, but I'm having to force myself to do so. Lawhead has several other books that I greatly enjoyed. I don't intend to ever read this one again. Nor do I intend to read any other books in the series. It moves so slowly that I'm having to re-read a little just to remember what's going on. There were entire pages that I may have only read 1 or 2 paragraphs. The book leaves you with a stight cliff hanger & it doesn't bother me in the slightest that I don't know how it's going to end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Paradise War, Song of Albion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas
ARTHUR was the first book I read that was authored by Stephen Lawhead. Definitely interesting, but slightly confusing. THE PARADISE WAR answered many questions, and it opened up a whole world full of magic and wonder. Enter the world of the ancient Celts. I very much enjoyed this book. For several reasons. First, I am Celtic. I am one-quarter Irish. Arthur Pendragon has always been my favorite mythical hero. Learning that he was historical thrilled me. Second, I am a history minor at my college. Learning about Celtic culture and history was enthralling. These books were very well-written and told a very good story. And by the way, the word that some have hyped up on as being foul and profane is not. It is a legitimate BIBLICAL word meaning 'illegitimate son.' I do not like the word, but it is not cursing. I heartily recommend this book. It is my favorite of his works.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Paradise War, Song of Albion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
noelle knutson
I read the trilogy when it was first published, and just finished reading them for the second time. These are amazing books. So well written and very entertaining.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Paradise War, Song of Albion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
This book was dull, weird, had a little bad language, and had lots of gore - enought to make a fan of Frank Peretti and NCIS go pale. This book is totally NOT worth the read. Use your money wisely and go buy some other book!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Paradise War, Song of Albion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
nataliagortova
Sadly I only made it through the first fifty pages of this book. It could have been excellent but the offensive language was too much. Granted, the first three or four words are only meaningful to me because I am British and they are culturally meaningful--words such as 'pillock' wouldn't mean much to an American. But when I got to b*&%$tard I had to put the book down. I'm shocked that Thomas Nelson would publish such a book.Very sad.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Paradise War, Song of Albion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
charlotte
This book is awesome, never read a better book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.