Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3

Thomas Nelson Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3

Despite the heartaches of her childhood, Sophie, a gifted writer, is determined to return to her home town of Hickory Ridge, Tennessee after years of being away to resurrect the local newspaper that so enchanted her as a girl.

An accomplished businessman and architect, Ethan Heyward has built a majestic resort in the mountains above Hickory Ridge, drawing wealthy tourists from all over the country. Yet his childhood holds tragedy that he would rather keep buried.

When Sophie interviews Ethan for the paper, he is impressed with her intelligence and astounded by her beauty. She's equally intrigued with him but fears he will reject her if he learns about her shadowed past. Just as she summons the courage to tell him, Ethan's own past unexpectedly and violently catches up with him, threatening not only his life but their budding romance.

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 1894%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Review 1 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
This review is fromEvery Perfect Gift - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Christian Romance

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ready for a sweet, Christian read? This is definitely it! Dorothy Love is one of those authors you can always count on to deliver quality romances where the characters quietly rely on God--or at least learn to rely on Him--and the romance never comes across as sappy. She is a skilled writer, and you will always find the story uplifting and completely appropriate.
In this story, several issues are covered that are not often covered in Christian historical romances. She covers women's issues, mixed race, prejudice, and the poor, to name a few. She doesn't mince words, and the romance is exactly as it should be. There is never any doubt about how the story will end, but she does add some bumps along the way that make it quite entertaining. This is a book that is delightful to read!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Christian Romance!

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dorothy Love has done a great job with Every Perfect Gift, the third and final book of her hickory Ridge Romance series. When I requested this book for review, I was not aware that it was the third in the series. So, I will admit to being a little nervous at starting the story. Would I have any idea what was going on? Could I understand the background stories to adequately do justice to reading and reviewing this book? The answer to both questions is a resounding yes! Not only does this book do fine as a stand alone, it has made me very interested in going back and reading the two stories that precede it.
The two main characters in this story, Sophie and Ethan, are just so likeable. They both have secrets from their past that haunt them. These things that loom in their memories were things out of their control but that impact them and the way they interact with each other.
Sophie returns to the town that she was raised in to start up a newspaper. She faces plenty of challenges throughout the book that she much persevere through. In the course of her reporting, she meets Ethan, who has designed and is in charge of the completion on a large resort in the area. He faces many challenges of his own throughout the story as well. Ethan and Sophie are drawn to each other and their attraction and growing love are so well written. However, if they are to ever hope for happiness together, they must face the secrets of their past. A wonderful story that I would recommend to any reader of Christian romance.
I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

COMPELLING CHARACTERS

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sophie returns to Hickory Ridge determined to make her mark as a journalist.
Ethan is a talented architect and is in charge for building the Blue Smoke Resort. But when Sophie's editorial puts his job in danger unexpected events unfold. Will Sophie and Ethan find where their hearts belong?
Even though it is the third in a series, Every Perfect Gift stands well on it's own. I loved how the characters where compelling and complex, struggling to reconcile their pasts and forgive.
I loved how their were unexpected twists to the story. The characters where truly engaging and I really came to care for them, which kept me reading because I wanted to know what would happen next.
Overall, a well paced story that engages and entertains, with characters that made me love them. A lovely book, that I wouldn't be shy to recommend.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good balance of love and adventure

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christy G
Location:Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every Perfect Gift by Dorothy Love is set in the early settled America, when towns are growing by leaps and bounds. Sophie moves back to Hickory Ridge, TN and sets up a newspaper, hoping to make a name for herself after having left town as a child on bad terms. But its a struggle when the man who owns most of the town is threatened by her success and her goal of finding a story for the paper about his newest endeavor, a resort in the mountains. While fighting to find her way, she falls in love with the architect of the resort and has to deal with her past before she can find peace with her new place in life.
I did enjoy this story line, and characters, but I could tell this was one later in a series, and wished I could have read the other books first. I felt like I was catching up, trying to figure out who all the characters were. The story had a great balance between a love story and a story of determination and courage in the midst of struggles. I loved the main character of Sophie and would like to read the earlier books in the series to hear about her beginnings in the town and her childhood.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Perfect Gift is a Perfect Read!

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
believer
Location:Omaha, NE
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sophie spent her early years in Hickory Ridge's orphanage, then moved to Texas. She returns to start a newspaper, but also to deal with some of the hurt from her past. She finds a big change - a resort is being built on the Ridge. The builder is handsome Ethan Heyward, who's also hiding some childhood pain.
How do I love thee, Every Perfect Gift? Too many ways to count!
-The multifaceted romance. Sophie and Ethan's stories interweave with an amazing push-pull.
-The town of Hickory Ridge. What fun to return to the familiar town and its beloved people. I especially enjoyed seeing Caleb Stanhope, the little stinker, grow up into a responsible adult - it happens!
-Historical details, including newspaper printing, work camps, and opposition to the infirmary, give depth to the story. I love learning when I read!
-Excellent writing brought the story to life - I'm ready to move to Hickory Ridge.
-A cover as gorgeous as the story.
I wish this series would continue!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Perfect Gift

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Sadie Caldwell was a child she left Hickory Hollow with her new adoptive parents Ada and Wyatt Caldwell to start her new life in Texas. Now many years later she has returned to Hickory Ridge, Tennessee where she is still haunted by her unhappy childhood. Sadie is the new owner of the local newspaper Hickory Ridge Gazette. It will be a challenge with the old equipment but she is ready for that challenge.
She has enjoyed reuniting with several of her old friends and hopes all the old prejudices from some of the other towns people was left buried in the past.
She finally opens for business and is very interested in interviewing the manager of the new luxurious resort Blue Smoke, Ethan Heyward . It will make a great article for the Gazette.
Ethan was surprised to find out that S. R. Caldwell was not a man but an attractive woman and the new owner of the Gazette. After the interview he had every intention of spending more time with Sadie Caldwell. He noticed she was a little standoffish with him but wasn't sure why.
Sadie got the impression that Ethan was prejudice against some of his workers. He also acted like he was suffering from some dark secret. But it was apparent he was very intelligent and talented. The resort was a great accomplishment and would be an asset to Hickory Ridge and it's businesses.
In this final book of this series the author writes the conclusion of Hickory Ridge with two generations. The author focused on the trials and tribulations of women in the workplace. Even though there will always be people that are prejudiced against someone or something the author brings them into the new generation growing with the times. Book three was the perfect gift!
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
This review is fromEvery Perfect Gift - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well-crafted story

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Avid Reader
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I want to start by saying that Every Perfect Gift by Dorothy Love is a wonderful story. But I also want to warn you that it is book 3 in a series (Hickory Ridge Romances) and though it technically could stand alone, there is a lot of back-story hinted at in it. I haven't read the other books in the series so I did feel rather lost and confused at times. That being said, if read after the other two books, this is a story worth reading.
Sophie Caldwell has returned to the town of Hickory Ridge, where she spent her childhood. She hopes that she can move beyond her bad memories as she focuses on a single purpose-- restarting the local newspaper. She is completely focused...until a man named Ethan Heyward enters her life.
Ethan is the mastermind behind the architecture of the beautiful Blue Smoke resort that has just been built. When he agrees to give newspaper reporter "S.R.Caldwell" an interview and a tour of the resort, he has no idea what he is getting in for.
Sophie and Ethan are drawn to each other, but so much stands in their way. It seems that they have hardly anything in common-- or do they? Each struggles with the desire to keep their past and secrets hidden. But what is more certain to tear them apart, revealing their secrets or keeping them hidden?
Every Perfect Gift is well-written and suspenseful. It explores themes such as the acceptance of modern medicine, how laborers were treated at the time, and how much our pasts really shape our present.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely read with subtle underlying plots

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cover of Every Perfect Gift absolutely drew me. I could hardly wait to start reading. The scene, the gown, the lady are all absolutely stunning.
Hickory Ridge, Tennessee, is the former home of Sophie Robillard. Her former life in Hickory Ridge was rife with loneliness, discord, abandonment, mistrust as she, an orphaned child of mixed parentage (although several generations past), coped. Finally, loving guardians Ada and Wyatt Caldwell took her under their wings and they moved to Texas ­­­­where she grew to adulthood. Her dream of owning a newspaper and writing for it came to fruition when the Caldwell's financed the purchase of the Hickory Ridge Gazette.
Sophie found the people more accepting of her this second time around, though her life was not without opposition. Still she struggled with the "secret" of her parentage and mixed blood.
Hickory Ridge was facing destitution until a new resort called Blue Smoke was developed. That is the impetus that brought Ethan Heyward, co-developer of Blue Smoke, into the life of Sophie.
The interactions of imported labor for the building of Blue Smoke, the poor families of the mountains, local residents, and the hard-hearted owner of Blue Smoke run head-to-head with Sophie and her quest to better the lives of people. Soon she finds herself in a cauldron of discord.
Drawn together romantically, Sophie and Ethan must come to grips with their own personal issues and problems before they can further any relationship between themselves.
This is a lovely read with subtle underlying plots. Though this is the final in a series of stories of characters in Hickory Ridge, it is a fine stand-alone novel.
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of this book for the purpose of rendering my honest, unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Discover the power of keeping secrets!!!

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The problem with secrets is that they are hard to hide and even more difficult to keep hidden. That's just what Sophie Caldwell and Ethan Heyward are figuring out. Both have moved to Hickory Ridge to try and find new beginnings despite their past. For Sophie Caldwell, she has returned to try her hand at running the local paper, The Hickory Ridge Gazette. She had worked for several newspaper companies in the past and with some luck and an open mind she is hoping that people will be willing to overlook her age and the fact she is a woman to give her a fair chance. With an eye for the truth and strong determination to report the fact, Sophie soon finds herself the town's advocate for a women's infirmary. But with lack of funds and the support of the local men of the town, it is unlikely it will be anything but front page news despite the overwhelming need to provide better care for the women and children in town.
Ethan Heyward is trying to put his best foot forward in making a name for himself in Hickory Ridge as the new manager of Blue Smoke, a glamorous resort geared to bring money and the wealthy to stay for vacations in the small town. He is hoping it will bring the vital blood back into the town that seems barely able to hang on. He finds himself enchanted by the beauty and strength of Sophie Caldwell and seems drawn to her in a most unusual way. However when she happens upon a riot during the construction of the resort, she feels compelled to report the truth even though it is simply the opinion of one local worker. Will Sophie's search for the truth uncover more than just the growing popularity of the resort or will she be pulled into a much bigger story that Ethan is trying to keep undercover and hidden.
In the novel Every Perfect Gift by Dorothy Love, the reader is taken back into the town of Hickory Ridge, Tennessee to find strong grit and determination despite overcoming difficult circumstances for both our main characters. They both compliment one another with their secrets and only have to discover that sooner or later, in evidently the truth will always come out. They are both given ample opportunity to share their secrets with one another but soon make more excuses and lies to keep their secrets buried and hidden. Sophie is your historical version of a women's rights advocate even though it still 1886 and the need for women to become accepted as much more than a wife and provider is still many years away from becoming a reality. I love her determination to dig deep when other women may have packed up and went running for the safety and comfort of home. It is that strength that I believe will lead Ethan to find romance and love in Sophie while allowing her the freedom to continue in her passions as a newspaper reporter/owner of the Gazette. How it turns out? Well, you'll have to pick up a copy of this one to find out.
I received Every Perfect Gift by Dorothy Love compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. This is the third book in the Hickory Ridge Romance Series and I can only hope for more by this talented author. This story is charming, heart-warming and truly captivating for the die hard Christian Historical Romance fan. You will not be disappointed. This one can be read as a stand alone but once you read this one, you'll want to go back and check out Beyond All Measure, Book 1, and Beauty for Ashes, the second in this series. For me, I easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and each one is completely different but worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great conclusion to this series!

Date:December 8, 2012
Well, thanks to Dorothy Love for helping me finally get over my month-long reading slump! Every Perfect Gift was the perfect conclusion to the Hickory Ridge Romance series. We met Sophie Caldwell in Beyond All Measure. She is now all grown up and returns to Hickory Ridge to re-open the local newspaper. When she meets Ethan Heyward, she wonders if he will be able to accept her and her less than idyllic childhood.
I loved getting to know Sophie as an adult! While in some respects, she's come into her own, she still struggles with the sting of rejection from the town where she grew up. It's really amazing to watch how she continues to grow and puts aside her own judgments and prejudices against the townspeople of Hickory Ridge. The romance between Ethan and her is sweet. At times it drove me crazy that they wouldn't just be open with each other, but I can understand not knowing if you can trust someone or not. Trust is earned after all!
The one thing that kept me from just loving this book was that at times it seemed like some of the story lines didn't really fit well together. The author seemed to focus on one story for a while and then hop over to another one. While they did mesh, it wasn't as seamless as I like.
Overall, though, the book was very enjoyable and—as I said before—helped me get over my reading slump that I've been in for about a month now! And while these books would definitely be more enjoyable to read in order, I think you would still be able to follow along just fine reading this one without the others in the series. I look forward to reading more by Dorothy Love—hopefully in the near future! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity and Thomas Nelson in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hickory Ridge Romance Finale

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the third and final book in this series, I have read them all and enjoyed! We have met Sophie before, and love that now we have her story. We are reunited with some of the friends we had come to love, and meet some new and many endearing ones.
Sophie Robillard Caldwell is now all grown up and is facing her fears. Having grown up in Hickory Ridge, TN in their orphanage, she wants to now reopen the local newspaper. Her life in this town was not a very happy one, but she is holding her head high, and has finished her educations.
Ethan Heyward has been hired to build and oversee Blue Smoke Resort. He has done a splendid job, and it has been acclaimed. When Sophie appears for an interview...sparks fly. Yes Ethan is taken with Sophie, but they are both fighting their past demons, and we read along hoping that each will make the right decisions.
Loved the view into 1880's living, and rebuilding after the Civil War. Don't miss this conclusion to this sweet series.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance, Secrets and Forgiveness = Great Read

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dorothy Love in her new book, “Every Perfect Gift book coverEvery Perfect Gift” Book Three in the Hickory Ridge Romance series published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the lives of Sophie Caldwell and Ethan Heyward in Hickory Ridge, Tennessee in 1886.
From the back cover: Ethan and Sophie long to share a future together. But the secrets they’re not sharing could tear them apart.
Sophie Caldwell has returned to Hickory Ridge, Tennessee, after years away. Despite the heartaches of her childhood, Sophie is determined to make a home, and a name, for herself in the growing town. A gifted writer, she plans to resurrect the local newspaper that so enchanted her as a girl.
Ethan Heyward’s idyllic childhood was shattered by a tragedy he has spent years trying to forget. An accomplished businessman and architect, he has built a majestic resort in the mountains above Hickory Ridge, drawing wealthy tourists from all over the country.
When Sophie interviews Ethan for the paper, he is impressed with her intelligence and astounded by her beauty. She’s equally intrigued but fears he will reject her if he learns about her shadowed past. Just as she summons the courage to tell him, Ethan’s own past unexpectedly and violently catches up with him, threatening not only his life but their budding romance.
As human beings what is the one thing we all like to keep? The answer, secrets. What is the one thing that God knows that we should not keep because it is detrimental to, not only our health, but our relationships as well? You guessed it, secrets. What is the one thing that Sophie and Ethan have in common? Of course, secrets. “Every Perfect Gift” is a story about guilt, bad choices and forgiveness. Both Sophie and Ethan made mistakes in their past and it takes God to work out everything in their lives and set them straight for their future. Ms. Love is an excellent writer and makes all her characters believable and you care deeply for them as she deftly unfolds the plot before us. This is a nice romance with great themes. I liked this book and am sorry to say goodbye to Hickory Ridge as this is the last book in this series but I am looking forward to Ms. Love’s next book which will be set in South Carolina.
12 Days of Gifts with Dorothy Love’s “Home for the Holidays” Contest and Facebook Party {12/13}
Dorothy Love is celebrating the new book in her Hickory Ridge Romance series, Every Perfect Gift with a “Home for the Holidays” 12 Days of Gifts contest.
Celebrate the holidays with Dorothy Love and her protagonist, Sophie Caldwell, as they count down the days to Dorothy’s author chat party with 12 Days of Gifts! Dorothy will be giving away copies of Every Perfect Gift and other holiday essentials, as well as key items from the book that Sophie would have worn during or used to celebrate the holidays (a beautiful, red shawl, Victorian ornaments, stockings). It’s all happening on Dorothy’s Facebook page. She’ll post a new giveaway each day.
So bring on the Christmas cheer with Dorothy and the “Home for the Holidays” 12 Days of Gifts. Then join Dorothy on the evening of December 13 for her author chat party! During the party, Dorothy will announce the 12 winners from the Home for the Holidays giveaway and host an author chat about Every Perfect Gift and favorite Christmas traditions. Oh, and she’ll be giving away lots of fun prizes. RSVP today.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2012
Every Perfect Gift is the third and final book in the Hickory Ridge series. This story takes place during 1886 in Hickory Ridge, Tennessee. Sophie Caldwell returns to her hometown after years of living in Texas with her guardians, Wyatt and Ada. Sophie has a true gift for writing and returns to Hickory Ridge to breathe life into the local newspaper, the Hickory Ridge Gazette. When Sophie interviews Ethan Heyward regarding the building of the prestigious Blue Smoke resort she becomes smitten with him. The feeling is mutual as Ethan cannot seem to get Sophie off of his mind. As the story continues we learn that both Ethan and Sophie have secrets from their pasts that plagued them. Both are unsure if these secrets will hinder their future together.
This was the first book that I have read by Dorothy Love and I really enjoyed it. Although it was the third book in the series, I believe it is a stand-alone read as I have not read the other two books. However, the other two books may have helped me further in my understanding of some of the characters. I would recommend there are many lessons learned. This book illustrates how one person can change a person’s life in many different ways, both for the good and the bad. Also, it shows that so often what we fear the most never comes past. Finally, we learn that many times we pray for something that once received is not really what we want at all. It may be worth noting that there is a short reading group guide at the end of the book for those who may be interested.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Series Conclusion

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dorothy Love brings her Hickory Ridge series to an end with this one and she does a fine job of it, too!
Sophie is back in Hickory Ridge after moving away with Ada and Wyatt Caldwell , who adopted her in the first book. Sophie has been called names many times and fears she is of mixed blood.
Ethan Heyward is in Hickory Ridge, overseeing the building of a fancy resort. Sophie likes him but fears he won't return the feelings when he finds out who or what she is.
This book lets us see that God loves us and works out our problems despite all our fears and worries.
Don't hesitate to purchase this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

return to Hickory Ridge

Date:November 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christmas time in Hickory Ridge with Sophia Caldwell is a great place to be. Although this is totally a stand alone story, we met Sophia in Beauty for Ashes, and it was great to revisit her, as she too returns to Hickory Ridge after growing up in Texas.
The story is told so effortlessly that without noticing, you are involved with the lives of the people in the village. I am eager to go visit to see the Blue Smoke resort that was built in the late 1800s and the office of the newspaper The Gazette that is Sophia's dream.
Learn with Sophia that people can change, and going back home is not always a bad thing. My heart was squeezed when some of the people were rude to her because of perseptions, and when I read of how her year in the orphanage had been, but then I also rejoiced as friends from the past, as well as new friends accepted her, and paved the way for her in the community.
To say this novel deals with relationships would be simplistic, as all novels dealing with life do that, but this one deals with prejudice and suspicion. It really shows that you should believe nothing of what you hear and only half of what you see (which was a favorite quote of my Dad's). This was truly a great novel, and I read it in one day, hesitating as I got to the last half of the book because I didn't want it to end! Enjoy!
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publisher through their Booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to make a positive critique, and the opinions in this post are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Rather Predictable

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There are some reviews that are just hard to write. Reviews for good books come easily, as I must admit, so do reviews for bad books. But the in-between/nothing-special-but-not-terrible books are perhaps the ones I find the most challenging to write. And Every Perfect Gift was one of those books. Technically, there wasn't anything wrong with it or the author’s actual writing. But it had one deadly flaw for me: I found it boring. The story was very....generic. It seemed like every other Christian Romance out there. The heroine-struggling-to-succeed-in-a-man’s-world, the hero-with-secretive-and-hurting-past is just a too-common occurrence in the genre to really be original. This could have been saved had the rest of the book been amazing, but the characters and the rest of the plot didn't capture my attention really any more than the book’s main premise did. I had to make myself get through the first half of the book, and then it did get my attention and I hoped that I would enjoy the rest. But no, my interest tapered down not long after as the plot settled back into predictability. For that reason, I’m rating Every Perfect Gift a 5 on a scale of 10.
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delightful Read from a Newer Author

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ihopeyoudance
Location:Kansas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Perfect Gift by Dorothy Love is a historical novel set in 1886 Tennessee. Sophie Caldwell returns to the town she grew up in while living in an orphanage. Sophie is quite the writer and after working for a newspaper in Texas she decides to start one in Hickory Ridge in order to prove to herself and others that she is a capable woman. While reporting on a the new Blue Smoke resort in town she meets Ethan Heyward who she can't seem to get out of her mind. Sophie and Ethan both have clouded past that they have no desire to discuss or think about but seem to follow them everywhere they go. Will they learn to settle with the past before moving on with their future?
I discovered that Every Perfect Gift is the third and final book to the Hickory Ridge novels and that they are Dorothy Love's debut novels. I haven't read the first two books so I'm sure some of the characters in the book I didn't know as much as I could. You can definitely read this book alone from the first two books though. The cover is absolutely beautiful and one of the best I think I have ever seen, especially for a winter novel. I loved the concept of Sophie starting her own newspaper and following her around while she reported on stories. I enjoyed the characters and main plot to the story, although it is extremely predictable. The story is a little slow going but still an enjoyable read. I will be looking into the other two books to add to my reading list.
"I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishing through their Booksneeze program. This is my honest opinion of the book."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Every Perfect Gift, Hickory Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pursuing Dreams, Developing Gifts

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Sophie Caldwell has moved back to Hickory Ridge to follow her dreams about running a small town newspaper. It wouldn’t have been her first choice – her childhood memories aren’t good and she is hoping the townspeople have forgotten the rumors that followed her as a child. Ethan Heyward is an accomplished businessman and architect who is helping put Hickory Ridge on the map. He and his rich partner are building a lavish resort in the mountains above the town which will draw wealthy tourists from all over. But Ethan too is hiding a childhood secret. And although these two are attracted to each other immediately, there’s a lot of baggage and prejudice in the way.
Dorothy Love has written an enjoyable story. The characters were well developed, with believable reactions to the joys and sorrows of their pasts and strength of character that enabled them to push on to a brighter future. The description of the social times was well crafted as well, displaying the contrasts of good people with the strong prejudices of the day. Many post-Civil War stories depict the pioneers who literally left the painful past behind. Every Perfect Gift stands out as a story about those who stayed, rebuilding both towns and their dreams.
I enjoyed this concluding book to the Hickory Ridge series. While I have read earlier books in the series, I would say that Every Perfect Gift also read well as a stand-alone story.
.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.