Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black

Thomas Nelson The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black

The Voice is a faithful dynamic equivalent translation that reads like a story with all the truth and wisdom of God’s Word.

Through compelling narratives, poetry, and teaching, The Voice invites readers to enter into the whole story of God with their heart, soul, and mind, enabling them to hear God speaking and to experience His presence in their lives. Through a collaboration of more than 120 biblical scholars, pastors, writers, musicians, poets, and artists, The Voice recaptures the passion, grit, humor, and beauty that is often lost in the translation process. The result is a retelling of the story of the Bible in a form as fluid as modern literary works, yet remaining painstakingly true to the original manuscripts.

Features include:
  • Italicized information added to help contemporary readers understand what the original readers would have known intuitively
  • In-text commentary notes include cultural, historical, theological, or devotional thoughts
  • Screenplay format, ideal for public readings and group studies
  • Book introductions
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
30 out of 3586%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Review 1 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just starting

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Penny Pincher
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My goal will be to read through the Voice in thre next two years. I have read bits and pieces, so am getting used to the format. I know it will be an interesting and inspiring experience. I try to read through a new or different translation every year. I look forward to God revealing Himself in new and fresh ways this coming year.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Hand-crafted Genuine leather = Fail

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sam I am
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:male
This review is for the hand-crafted leather cover version only.
The hand-crafted leather is cheap and is roughly cut like with a dull cutting instrument. The first one I received had a crooked cover too. The second one had a nice chunk missing in the back. Both had the same rough edges.
Wouldn't take much to damage this cheap leather, put on in a hurry. Can't believe this is being sold here. F- for the hand-crafted leather cover.
The book pages were fine. No problems there. I am sticking to the hard cover.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Voice helps bring the Scriptures alive for me.

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerry
Location:Jackson, MS
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read The Voice every day as a part of my personal time alone with God. It helps to bring the scriptures alive for me. It is also great as a supplement to my study bible. I hope The Voice will soon be available in a full audio addition.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this translation.

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nico
Location:San Diego, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So pleased with this Bible. I love the way God speaks to me through the way this translation is written - still true to the original script, yet put in such a way that is so alive and personal. Very pleased with the quick delivery of my order and love the cover.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of A Kind

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Soundslikeajourney
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is a one of a kind translation that speaks volumes and inspires me everytime I read it! With its helpful background information, script-like format, and perfect-size print, this is a translation that I will/have shared with everyone I meet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome, the best Bible I have ever owned.

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
RhythmTripper
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is by far the best Bible I have ever read. Reading it is so simple and easy to understand. I find my time in the Word greatly enhanced with a deep sence of clairity that is often hard to come by in many translations.
Buy this Bible and get into God's Word. Romans 15:13 is one of my favorite verses and in The Voice it reads "I pray that God, the source of all hope, will infuse your lives with an abundance of joy and peace in the midst of your faith so that your hope will overflow through the power of the Holy Spirit."
Was that hard to understand? Get this Bible and get into learning what an awesome God we have, and what He has for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Solid Translation!

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
RevCanuck
Location:Upstate New York
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a pastor. As such, I have spent more than my fair share of time reading and studying different translations. Each have their strengths and weaknesses. The Voice Bible is no different. Rather than rely on traditional interpretations of Hebrew or Greek words, it attempts to bring essence of the original to today's language (eg :the use of "Voice" as a translation of the Greek logos instead of "Word").
Interestingly enough, many have derided the translation for not using "Jesus Christ", "apostles" or other traditional words. While you could consider it a "misrepresentation", is it really? The very term "Jesus Christ" was a translation of Jesus true name "Yeshua the Messiah". How is referring to Him as "Jesus the Anointed One" any different? It is refreshing to me to see a translation attempt to remain true to the source material and not be too concerned about conforming to tradition just because it's tradition. That's not to say that I don't use the term "Jesus Christ", but it is simply a name we ascribe to Him. So long as we do so with reverance and worship, I don't think He splits hairs (especially where Jesus is technically NOT his name!).
In the end, I really appreciated The Voice Bible and recommend it, especially if you are a new Christian or are looking for a refreshingly different approach to Bible translation!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the Bible to invest in

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
HorseLady
Location:Almont, ND
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these for myself. I've tried to read the Bible for years and always been stopped by an inability to understand what I am reading. That is why I LOVE this bible. It tells a story in modern language and makes reading, studying, and growing a really exciting experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This translation is from a Postmodern Perspective

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rev. Dr. Jack Fucci
Location:Middlesex, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I recommend that anyone interested in this translation read the introductions in the front of the book. You will notice that the translation is said to have been done by poets, musicians, artists as well as scholars. This sent up a red flag to me. I also sensed that the flavor of the description and the background of the publisher has a postmodern sense. I believe one review already given shows discernment. He gave it a 1 star and gives good reason. He mentioned Psalm 23 as translated in The Voice and said it seems a bit "New Age". This review is my opinion but I have done some research into Postmodernism and Emergent Church theology and I believe both are involved in this work. Be careful with this translation and research the publisher and the background of the work before you invest money into it. Just a word of caution. You don't need to take my word for it, but check it out for yourself.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dangerously Tricky

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Concerned Christian
As I read the sample and listened to the translation of Psalm 23 I felt nauseous and still do as I am writing this review. Although some parts sound wonderfully enlightening, the essence of God is lost. As a previous reviewer stated Jesus was not simple a VOICE. He was and IS THE WORD of God. That is a powerful title that when studied reveals the deity of Jesus. Omitting this is very dangerous. I would be very weary of this book as a new believer. It borders on new age teaching calling The Lord, the eternal in psalm 23. Why would that even need to be changed? We don't need to adapt the word of God to make it more appealing to people. It is the living breathing word of the Living God. He will not let it return to him void. Changing it is dangerous and futile. I pray that the people who buy it truly do find inspiration in it and are not lulled into believing that God is less than who He truly is.
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Location:Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful bible. It's the third one I've purchased, one for myself and 2 for gifts. I love the easy way the text reads, just like a story without missing any of the relevance. Makes bible reading much easier and even more enjoyable for me.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

stimulates meditation in God's Word

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
old gardener
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the format that shows changes in speakers. Appropriate notes placed in the scripture narrative indicated by being placed in box to show they are separate from Bible text help make reading come alive.
Cultural notes help my understanding of the events recorded.
Special word choices are explained to give clarity that aids understanding.
I find THE VOICE to be refreshing and inspiring as it brings me face to face with God and myself challenging me to walk following the voice of God.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing translation!

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
fWillow
Location:Bolingbrook, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love God's Word. I own KJV, NKJV, NIV'84, NIV2011, ESV, HCSB, Amplified, and now, The Voice. I also own several study Bibles. The Voice is the best overall, accurate translation of God's Word that I have ever read because it is so clear and easy to undestand. It also has an elegance to its writing style that I find beautiful, reverent and very satisfying. The one-of-a-kind handmade leather cover is a wonderful bonus. It would be great to see this in large print sometime!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is not the Bible

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric Smith
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife and I sampled the pages of this book to find out how it was translated and who participated in the translation; we then read the first chapter of the Gospel of John and were shocked and offended at the watered down, lack of reverence given to God's Holy Word. The Bible is not meant to be a new age story talking about a pining God pursuing us or a play to entertain us. John 1:1 calls Jesus Christ the Word, not the Voice! This is a very loose, suggestive translation that may be easy to read, but your understanding of God's attributes and man's sinfulness can get lost in the vague, new-age way it is written. Where is the discernment in Christianity in this country? How many times do we need to dumb down the powerful word of God to make salvation something someone can easily swallow instead of something they should repent and trust in? You don't have to buy this garbage to know how awful it is; true believers, run from this "version" of the Bible, because it is not the Bible at all.
-1point
19of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FANTASTIC!

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
BearCat
Location:Calgary, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I read how they were making these covers, I loved the idea. Where I worked - at The Mustard Seed Street Ministeries - they had a program where using donated leather, people trying to get going again, made leather journals for sale as a source of income. I have two of these bibles, one for myself and one as a gift to my pastor and I was really impressed not to mention humbled at the quality. These covers were made with love, care and creativity. Side by side you can see they are unique, each one an expression of the designers love for the Lord and His Word. That's just the cover! The translation is also really good. It is so clear to understand, but just as important is the fact that once you start reading, you become so wrapped up in the book that you can't put it down! Before you know it you've read 4 or 5 chapters and you don't want to stop! This is not a paraphrase, it's an approved translation done by over 100 scholars, pastors etc. Anyone who has lead Bible Studies and had to answer questions from new believers will love this translation as it explains things so well.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Translation/format is great; cover disappoints.

Date:October 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
twinkie02
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:female
I loved reading The Voice New Testament, and was excited to order the complete Bible. The translation/format is great in Bible study. However, I selected the hand crafted leather cover, (mine came in a pretty, green color,) but I am disappointed in the quality. The leather is stiff, and the edges are raw, rough and sharp. I finally bought a Bible cover for it, which will reduce the chances of getting scratched, or clothes getting snagged, from the edges of the Bible. Recommend the Bible, but not my selection of the cover.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good reading and insight - not for study

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
CO Woman
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoy the insight this bible provides, and the background. This IS NOT a study bible. Its best use is to help understand the setting and the way society functioned during biblical times. The leather cover is beautiful, but the edges are very rough - tends to catch on clothes. If I purchased it again I would get a regular standard leather cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blessed
Location:El Reno,OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent!!! I haven't been able to keep my eyes and nose out of it!!!! I've read the Bible but this definitely breaks it down and I'm understanding it more and the word is sticking to me!!! I've let several of my friends look at it and they've all went out and purchased it!!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
tammy
Location:Ramseur NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LOVE IT! My only complaint is that verse distinctions are difficult to find.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Voice Complete Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy to read, and understand.

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:Wishram, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you are reading in a small group, such as early morning devotionals like the "Daily Bread", this version really stands out.
The hard bound binding, which my wife prefers, appears to be very durable, and should hold up to daily use. I would highly recommend one of these beautifully written versions of the BIBLE.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>