Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1

Thomas Nelson The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1

Uncover a land that has been hidden for over a thousand years.

Beneath the land of Britain, a great army is sleeping. On a visit to an old church, Daniel Tully and Freya Reynolds awaken two ancient knights from a centuries-old slumber. They are kidnapped and taken to an undergound city that stands in peril, beseiged in all directions by a vicious warhost. Nidergeard is the only thing protecting the upper world's blissful ignorance of mythical forces that have been held at bay since the creation of the world. In order to return home, Daniel and Freya must strike at the heart of the opposer's power.

Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
10 out of 1283%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Review 1 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
clinton
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is difficult to follow and is somewhat confusing. There are too many odd names of characters and seemingly insignificant or meaningless information.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Totally Captivated Me!

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
tweezle
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freya and Daniel are closer than they will ever want to admit. The are connected in many ways: they went to the same school, they were both born on the same day, and they both went on the same class trip that ended up changing their lives forever.
From the beginning, Mr. Lawhead knew just how to capture my interest and he wove such a fantastical story that I read it in two sittings (and that was only because I had to sleep). Crossing between time periods and worlds, this story reminded me a little of "The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe" yet with more of an adult appeal.
The story focuses on three characters: Freya, Alex and Daniel and jumps between them as well as past and present. I found this switching kept me on my toes and very interested of what was going to happen next and to whom.
Fast paced and full of action, this book may be even better than Lawhead's father's "Bright Empire" series. I could be biased though, as I love books that center around "special" children that have a specific task they must accomplish. I'm really looking forward to the next book in the series as I need to know what these three will do next!!
This book was provided by the Book Sneeze program and was used in conjunction with CSFF Blog Tour. I was not required to write a positive review, but instead, one that gives my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a little confusing fantasy debut

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Freya and Daniel are on a school field trip to an old church when, in their boredom, they discover a passageway to a tunnel. They come upon two nights who had been sleeping for a thousand years. When the way back to their school group has vanished, the knights lead Freya and Daniel to a world below. The kingdom of the knights is being attacked by hideous beings with evil intent.
The evil will stop only when life leaves the leader Gad. But he has hidden his mortality. “Only if that mortality can be found and destroyed will Gad be vulnerable to attack.” (173) Only a mortal can destroy Gad's mortality – a mortal like Freya or Daniel.
The time is getting desperate. Evil is already beginning to rise on the surface of the earth. In the north of Great Britain, animals have been found slaughtered, people murdered and committing suicide.
Only Daniel or Freya can stop the rise of evil from below.
As the book progresses, we follow three stories. In the now, it is three years after the underground adventure. Freya is in college and Daniel is a wandering fellow. Their current stories converge then they are again separated as Daniel has “fallen” into another world and Freya battles evil on the surface. Interspersed with the (nearly) present story is the account of “before,” when Freya and Daniel were underground. Although it sounds a bit disjointed, in general, the storyline works. On occasion I would let the book lie for a couple of days and when I resumed reading, it would take me a while to figure out which time period I was reading. I would suggest you read this book through, not reading other novels along with it, as I am wont to do.
The spiritual lessons in the book are clear. There is evil and then there is very deceptive evil. There are also theological ideas to think about. For example, as Daniel wanders through a forest, he asks and the forest provides what he needs. “What he couldn't understand was whether the forest was creating these things for him on request or if they existed already and was just moving them into his path. Or if it was all just coincidence.” (208-209) Haven't we had the same kinds of thoughts about God's providence?
This is a good debut for a new fantasy author, following in his father's footsteps. I would have tightened up the telling of the various stories (“now,” “two weeks before,” “then,” etc.) but that did not bother me so much as I still enjoyed the overall story. I look forward to the sequel, as the evil has not yet been destroyed, only mortally wounded.
A reader's guide is included at the end of the book so this would be a fine choice of fantasy reading groups.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
This review is fromThe Realms Thereunder - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too confusing.

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
noblecharactergirl
Location:A Library, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Uncover a land that has been hidden for over a thousand years.
Beneath the land of Britain, a great army is sleeping. On a visit to an old church, Daniel Tully and Freya Reynolds awaken two ancient knights from a centuries-old slumber. They are kidnapped and taken to an underground city that stands in peril, besieged in all directions by a vicious warhost. Nidergeard is the only thing protecting the upper world's blissful ignorance of mythical forces that have been held at bay since the creation of the world. In order to return home, Daniel and Freya must strike at the heart of the opposer's power.
MY REVIEW
I finished the book, but I found it quite hard to, as it was very confusing. The story line was goofy, and you really need to read the next book in order to figure it out.
I wouldn't give this book more than 2 stars.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Sure Yet!

Date:October 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The back-cover description for The Realms Thereunder is not a very clear depiction of what this debut novel is all about. I can see why it struggled to encapsulate the essence of this story though, it is truly here, there and everywhere, with adventures into different worlds, flashbacks to the past, illusions, deception, underground travels, and even more than that.
When Daniel and Freya were schoolchildren in England they went inexplicably missing for a month or so. What they encountered during that time was passed off as hallucination – encounters with creatures of darkness and a hidden world under the earth. This story of their shared past unfolds alongside the story of their lives as adults, some eight-years-later, as they are drawn inexorably back into the conflict between good and evil.
I’m a fan of Christian fantasy novels (as long as they don’t contain ‘good’ magic-doers), but at this point in the series it’s a bit unclear how God comes into the swirling morass that Ross Lawhead has penned in this novel. There is also a wizard…of sorts. There isn’t really enough detail given for me to draw a firm conclusion on this fellow yet.
Actually, I’m not sure where I come down on this novel, it is more of a very extended prologue that only serves to draw our characters into the action, while revealing their past involvement. It is an interesting premise – intertwining many legends of Great Britain’s past with bits of Celtic mythology thrown in as well. I appreciate that many mythological figures are clearly pointed out as forces of darkness and not idolized, or made good in any way, as I was wondering how the author was going to include them.
I’ll have to read more of the series before I cast my final vote either way, so you’ll have to check back with me then! I can tell you that it certainly keeps your interest piqued with al the twists and turns.
Disclosure: I received a review copy of this title.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Good!

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to start out by saying, that I was rather unsure of this book at first. I found the first few chapters rather confusing and hard to follow. However once I picked up on the flow and layout of the book I was really able to enjoy it! By the end of the book I was absolutely in love with it and Cannot wait to read any sequels!
The story begins with two friends who stumble into a secret world while on a class trip. They end up spending almost a year struggling through this new world in order to find their way out again. Then we catch up to them later in life and again see these events of this secret world unfolding before them!
I thought the book was fantastic, it was kind of a mixture of "lord of the rings" and a Frank Paretti novel. It was quite entertaining, and really thought provoking as well.
I highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Realms Thereunder by Ross Lawhead

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
BroRandy
Location:Morgantown, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book review of The Realms Thereunder by Ross Lawhead.
Do you remember that old song that says, "Fairy tales can come true, it can happen to you"? In an interesting twist on the fairy tale, Ross Lawhead's book suggests the same thing.
The main characters, Daniel Tulley and Freya Reynolds, discover that the real world and the world of legends, myths, and fairy tales actually overlap.
As children, Daniel and Freya, stumbled into another realm while on a field trip. In this new realm, they awaken two knights who have been sleeping for 1000 years. In order to get back to modern day England, Daniel and Freya, have to help the good knights free their land of an evil force.
As adults, eight years later, Daniel and Freya are struggling to make sense of what happened. Daniel continues to battle dark forces that have crossed into our realm, while Freya is battling OCD. Freya is nearly paralyzed by the fear of returning to the other realm. Daniel yearns to be a hero. The two of them are still at the center of an epic (and almost eternal) battle.
Overall, I really enjoyed The Realms Thereunder. I admit I have often asked myself, "What if those legends aren't really legends after all." Or "What if those creatures truly existed. I have loved knights and swords since I was little. The elements of this story tapped into a part of my imagination that is rooted deep into my heart. Swords, knights, enchantments, and the destruction of evil. What's not to love. Then, Ross Lawhead, takes all of that (myth and legend) and slams it straight down in this world. Awesome!
If you spent your free time in high school reading King Arthur stories, you will love this book. If you didn't, you might find that you can still enjoy it. I will give this caveat, the author makes liberal use of flashbacks and flash-forwards. It doesn't really slow the story down, but if you aren't able to read it straight through (and most people can't), it can make it a bit harder remembering what has already happened in the story.
One other warning. This is the first book in a series. If you hate the idea of waiting a year (or two) to read the next one (or two), then you might want to hold off on checking it out. Or you could read it now, and then read it again later when the other books come out. It's up to you.
If you love fiction, and fantasy in particular, I encourage you to check this one out. If you hate fantasy or fiction or both, try broadening your horizons.
I was given this e-book by Thomas Nelson through Booksneeze.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Fine Addition to the Fantasy Canon

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
markn12
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first book of the Ancient Earth trilogy, The Realms Thereunder, is also author Ross Lawhead’s debut novel. It creates a well-thought out plot that alternates between two worlds, the world of present day Oxford and the timeless realm existing under the earth. His protagonists, the drifter Daniel Tully and the OCD student Freya Reynolds are on a quest to discover the source of the increasing evil that is manifesting itself in horrible and unsettling ways.
Though comparison with Lawhead’s father, author Stephen Lawhead is inevitable, one should try to read Realms for its own merits, which are many. A well-written and engaging read full of dark alleys, evil and malignant creatures, memorable characters and travel between alternate realities, it maintains a good pace and enough interest to hold this inveterate and opinionated reader of good fantasy captive.
The Realms Thereunder is a blend of ancient and modern day England and draws heavily from the country’s rich store of history and myth, creating a compelling landscape across which the author spreads his story of interweaving realities. For an exciting distraction from your own reality, I would heartily recommend this book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating story

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the story very fascinating, with lots of old British mythology. It captivates my interest from beginning till the end. The story moves between past and present, but I don't have much problem following the storyline. The plot is good. It is full of adventures, with some twists and turns, just made it hard for me to put down the book. I enjoy reading it very much. I admire Daniel and Freya who have the courage to fight the evil. The ending is good, made me can't wait for the next book in the series.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Realms Thereunder

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
SamG
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Realms Thereunder by Ross Lawhead is the first book in the Ancient Earth Series. This novel is about Daniel Tulley and Freya Reynolds and their adventure which started in a church when they were thirteen years old where they entered another world in which evil is taking over the city of Nidergeard. Eight years later, away from this other world back in their own, Daniel homeless and Freya in college are in separate circumstances forced to realize that they must go back to Nidergeard to continue the battle there.
At first the novel is switching back and forth between the time when Daniel and Freya are children and adults between their world and Nidergeard. It did not take very long to get used to the back and forth narrative and was quite enjoyable to read. The story had a few slow spots but for the most part the reading was quick and action packed. It is hard to read the first of a series knowing that it will be another year or so before the next installment, but I recommend that readers get into this series. I await the next book.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A promising start to a new fantasy series

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eight years ago, Daniel Tulley and Freya Reynolds disappeared while on a class field trip. When they reappear over two months later, they hide the truth about what really happened and attempt to move on with their lives. The secret of their visit to an underground city that has been protecting the world from evil seems destined to remain in the past until unseen forces appear that will make them confront their past and bring them to the realization that they must return to the underground city and rejoin the fight against evil.
Lawhead has written a story that is sweeping in scope, with a carefully crafted narrative full of adventure and suspense. I found the mix of the present with ancient mythology and fantastical creatures to be fascinating, and the characters he has created in Daniel and Freya are ones I look forward to revisiting in future installments in the series. However, while I enjoyed reading the book overall, I did find the flow to be somewhat interrupted in the way that the author switched back and forth between past scenes of what Daniel and Freye experienced as teenagers with their current situations. In my opinion, for what it is worth, I think I would have been more easily swept up into the story if perhaps the past had been written as one flowing narrative, followed by the present. However, I'm sure others may disagree with me, and I do appreciate what the author was trying to achieve by slowly revealing more and more to the reader until the unexpected twist comes near the end.
Readers who enjoy reading fantasy novels will no doubt enjoy this entertaining read. While the book is from a Christian publisher, it does not have overt themes of faith, but instead provides a classic battle between good versus evil, with themes of loyalty and having courage in the face of danger. Patience will be required as the ending will leave you longing to find out how the story continues in book 2!
I give this book a solid recommendation, and award it 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Realms Thereunder, The Ancient Earth Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
ryan
Location:ontario
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was said to be "[A] fantastically compelling novel mixing the best of fantasy, adventure, and intrigue" (C.J. Darlington) and that it is! I normally do not like fantasy books and I did not know this book was one until I started reading. Once I figured out it was a fantasy/adventure novel, I did not expect myself to enjoy it, but boy, was I wrong!
I have read two of Ross' fathers (Stephen Lawhead) and I found his work to be brilliant. Ross is equally talent, but the father and son have different writing styles.
This book takes place in Oxford, Scottland. It is the story of Freya Reynolds, a university student, and Daniel Tully, a homeless man. Almost ten years ago, Freya and Daniel were at a church when they were abducted by knights and taken to an ancient underground city. They were missing for 72 days and presummed dead, when they both end up in East Ayreshire, Scottland. The pair went their own ways and Freya ended up studying forklore at Oxford, while Daniel ended up on the streets. This story follows the duo through an action-packed plot line, with tons of twists, turns, and pure spooky
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.