Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fox Faith One Night with the King, DVD

Fox Faith One Night with the King, DVD

Step into the exotic world of the Persian court, where one courageous woman dares to speak truth on behalf of her people! Based on Tommy Tenney's blockbuster novel, this captivating film tells the story of how beautiful Esther rises from peasant to princess, captures the king's heart, defies his malevolent prime minister, and thwarts horrific plans for genocide. One Night with the King features an all-star cast that includes Peter O'Toole, Omar Sharif and John Rhys-Davies. Rated PG. Approx. 124 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Closed Captioned
  • English and Spanish Subtitles
  • Widescreen
Average Customer Rating:
4.196 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
12
20 out of 2291%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for One Night with the King, DVD
Review 1 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Takes Esther right from the bible to your living

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
sassynanny
Location:Cumming Ga
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you loved Moses and the Ten Commandment movie and any other biblical stories brought to television you will absolutely love this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

If only it would have stayed true to the Bible

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Location:West Central, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After watching this movie, here are my reactions: The characters, settings & wardrobes were excellent. The casting of characters was good - nothing of inappropriate content. This would have been a beautiful movie, if only it were scripturally accurate in ALL areas. This was not the Esther of the Bible who conducted herself with elegance, wisdom & poise. For example: when she enters the throne room uninvited, it is full of people & she is met with hostility & suspition. She is dripping wet after running through a rainstorm to get there. The drowned rat look - UGH! The king holds out his scepter at the last minute only to receive the scorn of his advisors. They tell the king Esther has dishonored him even worse that Vashti. Esther is close to fainting & cannot tell him why she came. This is not the majestic Esther that nobly & with courageous dignity enters the king's presence, with a plan so intricate, it could only have been of God. Movie is going into the trash. My children won't be watching it because it is not TRUTH.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a definite Yes

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ahuva
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this movie on my top shelf of DVDs. It's one of my favorite movies. All of the actors are excellent and it was well cast. I think the script is excellent. It is very multi-dimensional: romance, biblical, conflict, war, power, betrayal, etc. The scenery and setting was very authentic. I would highly recommend this movie!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
SS Teach
Location:Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly enjoyed One Night With the King, so much so that I invited my small group (Bible Study) and have a movie night out of it. Everyone was pleased with this DVD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this picture, and it a beautiful love story

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rugena McGauley-Bradley
Location:Washington D.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the story of Esther, it is a beautiful love story, The King was handsome, and Esther was beautiful, the Costumes were beautiful. The movie was also funny, had action, Haman, was a great villian, it was a good movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent movie

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
nanakids6
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A really well made movie. Finally a christian movie with great actors and excellent color. Made by the Crouches at TBN. A pretty good adaptation of the Bible story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deborah Keely
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you love the story of Esther - you will love this adaptation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Night With the King

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hadassah from Houston
Location:Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been my very favorite movie since it first came out from TBN...It depicts the time and era and exact culture of Susa of Persia now Iran during the life of Esther better known as Hadassah in the Palace of the King of Persia...
She is a young woman of virtue, principles, and of prayer who takes a stand to answer God's call to save her people--the Jews from slaughter by Haman and his evil plan to eradicate the Jews off the face of the earth. She is called "for such a time as this."
If you don't know the story and life of Esther in the Bible-or if you do know the story--you should certainly see this movie.
Hadassah
Houston
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tosha
Location:Holbrook, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One Night With The King is an amazing and inspirational film. I love how my daughter reacted to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must see

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vecie Tait
Location:Mobile, Al
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have ordered several of this DVD as gifts and still end up sharing mine with someone and it just keeps on going. Beautiful movie based on an amazing story - Esther.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great teaching tool for the book of Esther for teenagers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had to have my own copy.

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
peekaboo
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When the movie came out at the theater, I watched it three times. I was just caught up in the movie. When I saw it for sale on your website, I bought it immediately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fisherman
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well done movie. It tells the Biblical story of Esther in a dramatic and creative way that I enjoyed. Some Biblical purist may think that it is too creative; however, I believe that the Biblical account shows through the creativity and it helps me better understand Esther. Photography and scenery are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robby J
Location:Smithfield, VA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
The story of Esther is beautifully and magnificently portrayed in One Night with the King. The characters from the Bible, Esther, Mordecai, Haman, Xerxes, were all wonderfully portrayed as very real and relatable people rather than distant and aloof figures of the Bible and history. The writers and directors did a magnificent job of weaving the Biblical account of Queen Esther with the historic events surrounding her story. The scenery and costumes were incredibly and beautifully designed. I simply fell in love with this movie. It will always be one of my alltime favorite films.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good quality cinematography of a Biblical story

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alice
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that the movie starts with the history of the Israelites and Agag, thus setting up the tension for the story. Why did Haman hate the Jews so much was answered right from the start. Also, the life of the Jews in exile in Susa was portrayed honestly with the tension of being comfortable in Susa but yearning to return to Jerusalem. An enjoyable way to visualize how Esther and Mordecai saved the Jews in Persia.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was remarkable

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blessed Woman
Location:Riverdale, Ga
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“One night with a king” is one of my favorite Christian movies of all time. This movie is a drama, a love story, and an inspirational and heroic film all at once. It is a testament to women every where. The Characters in the movie portray the Bible story about Esther in her venture to become Queen. The movie brings the book of Esther to life. A Jewish orphan girl Odessa, who was raised by her uncle after her parents were assassinated, defeated the odds by becoming queen. Odessa told by uncle to conceal her Jewish identity became Esther. Answering the king’s decree, Esther exemplifies how humility wins the kings heart. Hammond, who was the Villon in the movie, was in the process of carrying out his plot to destroy the Jewish people. When Queen Esther discovered his intentions she placed her life on the line to save her people. The Story of Esther is one of the many stories that show the heroic actions of women during the Bible times, which was considered a male dominated time. The director really did a good job with recreating the Bible times in the scenery. I recommend this movie to women and little girls everywhere.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excelent Movie

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pablo Alcantara
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelent Movie. It fits with the book, although there are things that you have to study in the Bible to see if they are like the movie says....
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fergi
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent content. The portralof the characters was the best I have ever seen. Just a very good movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

why not stick to the Bible

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana Hammermeister
Location:Enumclaw, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to hear that another movie was done based on the Bible, but disappointed when I watched it and saw how "hollywoodized" it was. It really strayed in many ways from the Biblical account - I didn't feel it accurately portrayed the way Esther was or who Haman really was. If you really want to know the story of Esther, my best recommendation is to read the Bible!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for One Night with the King, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product!

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Frances Watson
Location:Cleburne, TX
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this movie the first time I saw it but when I wanted to buy it... things got difficult. Prices were really high, until I looked on christianbook.com. The price was reasonable and the quality was great! Now I can watch this movie whenever I want! Thank you CBD!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.