Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson An Amish Wedding

Thomas Nelson An Amish Wedding

Three Amish women yearn for the perfect wedding.

A Perfect Plan by Beth Wiseman
Priscilla King has been planning to marry Chester Lapp since she was sixteen years old, and when Chester proposes on Priscilla's nineteenth birthday, wedding plans begin immediately. What wasn't planned was all the problems the couple encounters as their big day approaches. A house disaster, a ruined wedding dress, and a sick attendant all make the couple wonder if God's sending them signs to call things off.

The Perfect Match by Kathleen Fuller
Naomi Fisher has had great success at matchmaking her family members and friends. Now with her sister's wedding right around the corner, Naomi wonders why she's able to find husbands for her friends and family, but not one for herself.

The Perfect Secret by Kelly Long
Rose Bender has recently become engaged to handsome but somber Luke Raber. She agrees out of a sense of duty and a willingness to settle for solid friendship as a basis for the engagement. But as she watches her friends' excitement over her soon-to-be- wedding, Rose wonders if there shouldn't be more to her relationship with Luke. She begins to examine Luke and his life more closely and is amazed when she stumbles upon a secret side of him that engages her mind and her heart.

Average Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for An Amish Wedding
Review 1 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you love and enjoy short stories ? An Amish Wedding is a collection of three short stories by three wonderful Amish Fiction writers - all surrounding the theme of Weddings. The first story which I personally enjoyed the most was The Perfect Secret by Kelly Long, in which we meet newly engaged couple Rose and Luke. Rose yearns for more excitement and passion in her heart and when she hears about a thief that has been stealing in the midst of the night , she longs to meet this thief as we learn he has been nicknamed "A Modern Day Robin Hood". Out one night, Rose stumbles across the thief and is surprised to discover that it is somebody she knows, as Rose starts to spend more time with the thief -will her heart's intentions sway from Luke to the Robin Hood ? Will Rose discover that her heart will not be satisfied with Luke or will she discover that sometimes you just have to peer really hard to discover what lies beneath the surface ? In the second tale "The Perfect Match" by Kathleen Fuller , we meet Naomi - her sister Priscilla is getting married and it seems that the whole female population is in "dating fever" . When Naomi's friend starts to fret about finding the perfect man , Naomi meets Zeke - Chester's cousin who is here for the wedding. In trying to be a good friend , Naomi sets Zeke up with Margaret but it won't be too long till she discovers she has feelings for him. Will Naomi put her notions about not dating aside for Zeke or will her friendship and loyalty stand in the way of her happiness ? In the last but not least tale is "The Perfect Plan" written by Beth Wiseman. The Perfect Plan is the tale of Priscilla and her upcoming nuptials to Chester, Priscilla just wants her day to be perfect. But when a number of incidents happen including a house disaster , ruined dresses and a sick attendant , it gets Priscilla thinking is she making the right decision to marry Chester or by these accidents happening is God testing her ? Find out all this and more in a wonderful collection and celebration of Amish Weddings
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
karen
Location:perth australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i really enjoyed these stories they were really easy to read,a real pleasure for me as i am really intrested in the amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Three is Better than One

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbara Beers
Location:Midlothian, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the way Beth Wiseman, Kelly Long, and Kathleen Fuller work their wonders together to take three seperate stories and give us one wonderful book. This book has a little of everything for everyone -- romance, suspence, happy ending -- and if you're a fan of amish fiction, it's a keeper!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an enjoyable book

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Wedding
Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, & Kelly Long
This is a book with interlinking stories about 3 Amish woman written by 3 authors. The first story is about a couple that has known each other their entire lives and are planning to marry. Along the way they discover some secrets about each other and that knowing things about each other is a good basis for building a relationship. The second story is about a young woman who has waited on the Lord to lead her to the man she is to marry. This man is brought into her life story takes off from there. The third story is about a couple that is engaged to marry and all the mishaps that occur on the way to the alter.
The three stories were pleasantly enjoyable. I found the first story to be my favorite of the three. I did like the 2nd and 3rd, which were easy reads. The entire book was well written and each story was links throughout the book. The majority of the characters were in each story and was interwoven to the point that you could not tell that they were written by three authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent book

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patty
Location:Cortland, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three stories by three authors of three Amish women who are connected. I couldn't put it down until all three stories had been read. It's a book I will read again next Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend - An Amish Wedding - Fun Read

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Three Amish women yearn for the perfect wedding.
In the first story "A Perfect Plan" by Beth Wiseman, Prisilla King is faced with so many distractions as she plans her wedding with Chester Lapp. She becomes a doubting Thomas and is afraid all these things are bad omen which is not in her belief. She pray for God's will be done if she is to marry Chester. Fear is our enemy it can cause us to be blinded to God's will.
I rate this story a five out of five.
In the second story "The Perfect Match" by Kathleen Fuller, Naomi Fisher has a gift for matchmaking. But this gift does not work for herself. She fears will be an old maid never to marry. But the tables turn on her when she is trying to be a matchmaker for a friend and a so called best man that is in town for her sisters wedding. She seemed to think her will was greater than God's will. II like the way the story unfolded.
I rate this story a five out of five.
In the third story "The Perfect Secret" by Kelly Long, Rose Bender is to marry Luke Raber.
But he is so laid back and somewhat boring. She was expecting a little more romance since they become engaged. Then things start to get strange when she starts fantasizing about him and he is fantasizing about her. But they can't seem to be honest with each other about their true feelings. This is a really cute story and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
I rate this story a five out of five.
*********
I highly recommend this book.
I rate this book a five out of five.
Disclosure:
I was provided a copy for review from Booksneeze. I was in no way compensated for my review it is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish romances meet troubles

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Talented writers of Amish fiction combine three touching stories in one volume to make An Amish Wedding a sweet read.
Kelly Long’s A Perfect Secret introduces the characters that reappear in the following two novellas, which continue and fill out the romantic tales of three Amish couples. This one focuses on Luke and Rose and a secret night thief, “Rob in the hood.” Will Rose’s longing for more than routine and Luke’s secrets sabotage their relationship? Can they trust each other?
Kathleen Fuller’s A Perfect Match pairs Naomi with visiting Zeke, who is in the community to help with his cousin’s new house and to serve at his wedding. Both are a bit older than the average marrying age, but drawn to each other. Hang-ups from their past could derail their budding romance, or can they overcome their difficulties to make a match?
Beth Wiseman’s A Perfect Plan shares the love story of Naomi’s sister Priscilla and Priscilla’s fiancé, Chester. Priscilla’s desire for order and perfection could drive the lovers apart rather than cement their upcoming marriage. Things keep going wrong, and Priscilla’s recurring hiccups seem to predict more problems. Can they each learn to rely on God and trust Him?
The book is easy to read and enjoy. I like how each author intertwined her portion with the others, making this 3-in-1 a complete picture. Authentic Old Order Amish recipes are included at the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Three Charming Tales of Alter Bound Amish

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Three Amish couples wrestle with doubts and hilarious situations in the days prior to their nuptials.
Each of the three novellas are interwoven with the story lines of the other making this book even sweeter. Because this is a novellas collection I will split my review into 3 parts, with a brief review of each story.
Perfect Secret is the first of the collection, and tells the tale of Rose Bender and her husband-to-be Luke. As the date grows closer so do Rose's suspicions that Luke is hiding something from her.
This story was hard for me to get into, and the story was a bit choppy at times. At times I questioned the logic behind some of the character's choices, but this is just my personal opinion. Perfect Secret the realms of doubt, and mistrust that can either hold people together or tear them apart.There are some scenes that will make you smile, right along with the characters :) If you love Amish fiction you'll enjoy this one.
Perfect Match. Naomi, who has made some good matches for others, attempts a match for a friend. But what happens when it all goes awry?
Well written with a clear, plot and characters that will endear themselves to you when you aren't looking, Perfect Match was my favorite of the three stories, and it's possibly because I got to see the connections being made between the two main characters, instead of it already being in place before the story began. The characters were well done, and I couldn't help but be utterly charmed each of them. Not only did the main characters stand out , but so did some of the side characters, most especially Margaret. I couldn't help but wish that Margaret's story had been expanded upon :)
Perfect Plan. What happens to a young Amish couple when everything seems to go wrong just weeks before their big day? For Priscilla and Chester, that's exactly what seems to happen, even to the point of them questioning whether they should even be together!
This was the story that tied them all together. Filled with humorous moments, and faith, Perfect Plan show us how, we should trust all our worries and cares to the Lord, rather than take them upon ourselves, because He alone can make things--and be--perfect. Chester and Priscilla want everything to be perfect for their wedding yet, worries and stress creep up on them at times. Filled with heartwarming moments and messages, sure to put a smile on your face :D
Overall this is a wonderful collection for the lovers of Amish fiction, out there, and for those who just want a great read. You won't want to miss An Amish Wedding!
Final Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review, which I have done my best to do here. T
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Three Beautifully Intertwined Love Stories

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jamie Little
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Wedding is a collection of three wonderful stories, each one written by a different well-known author of Amish fiction. Though the stories are all written by different authors, they are all intertwined with each individual story focusing on a different couple.
I really enjoyed reading this book. You might remember that I recently posted about a book that was rather short; I found it rushed and felt like there wasn't enough depth to the story. While each of the stories in this book are quite short, they are all intertwined so you get backstory on a variety characters even though each story mainly focuses on a few. I enjoyed be able to spend a bit of time with the characters without the story getting old. I also thought that this book might seem chopped up since it was written by three authors, but I found the stories to flow well and didn't have a hard time leaving off one story and picking up another.
I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Wedding, Three Stories

Date:December 6, 2011
This book contains three stories written by three different authors - Kelly Long, Kathleen Fuller, and Beth Wiseman. All three stories have the wedding of Priscilla King and Chester Lapp running through them.
Perfect Secret
Priscilla is friends with Rose Bender. Rose is going to be an attendant in her wedding. Rose and Luke Zook have been best friends forever. They are getting married a few months after Priscilla and Chester.. Suddenly, Rose is tired of the comfortable, safeness of Luke. She feels he hardly evens wants to touch her. Rose wants adventure and romance. She thinks Luke can't give her either of these.
There is a thief that has been stealing items from her community for a few months. One night, Rose decides to go into the woods and look for the thief. She comes upon a young man dressed in Englisch clothes. Unafraid, she asks if he is the thief. He admits that he is. She is very intrigued by the mystery of it all. She is also very attracted to this man and even kisses him. Rose discovers his identity and why he is stealing from the Amish, she even helps him in his quest.
Perfect Match
Naomi King is Priscilla's sister. She is 25 years old and still unmarried. She is very content with her life of living in the daddi haus behind her parent's and running a bakery from it. Margaret works with her. She wants to be married very badly. Priscilla, being the forever match maker, says she will find her a beau. Chester Lapp's cousin, Zeke Lapp, is in town for the wedding and meets both women. Naomi is very taken with Zeke, which is unbelievable to her. She decided to never love again ever since David left her. Priscilla keeps her promise and immediately get things "cooking" to set up Margaret and Zeke. There is only one problem - Zeke feels Naomi is the one for him.
Perfect Plan
Priscilla and Chester's wedding seems to run into one problem after the other. Nothing is going according to Priscilla's plans. First, the foundation of the house Chester is building for them didn't set right. Then there's electric and roof issues. They won't be able to move in as soon as they had planned after the wedding. Priscilla is convinced that all this "bad luck" is a sign from God that maybe they shouldn't be married. Chester also begins to feel the same when his boss accuses him of stealing money and fires him. Something happens that causes Chester to tell Priscilla he can't marry her. Priscilla discovers that she needs to fully trust in God's plan for her life.
The use of scripture throughout the stories reminded the characters that God was with them. I liked Perfect Secret and Perfect Match better than Perfect Plan. Perfect plan seemed to have too many problems that threatened Priscilla and Chester's wedding.. Besides the others already mentioned - Priscilla's wedding dress is destroyed by her little sister, her favorite relatives can't make the wedding, someone was hurt will working on their house, and she breaks a cherished dish. It still is a likable story. Perfect Secret had me thinking that Rose never took the time to really get to know Luke, even they knew each other forever. Luke was trying to be the person God wanted but his mother's death affected him more than he realized. Perfect Match was my favorite story. I liked Naomi and Zeke as soon they each were introduced in the story. They both put others before themselves. It is interesting how three different people can write a book that flows together. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys that love wins in the end, even if you already knew it would.
I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Love In The Air

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a quick enjoyable read! You will find several chuckles in these pages!
The stories are all different, but are weaved together as in everyday life.
Rose Bender is a bridesmaid in her friend Priscilla Kings wedding, along with Priscilla's sister Naomi.
In the first story "The Perfect Secret" by Kelly Long, we meet Rose and her intended Luke Raber. This one is a very different, not what one expects! We are taken on late night adventures, and some not so nice accidents. Also some very caring [???] bouquets of flowers!
In the second "The Perfect Match" by Kathleen Fuller, we meet Naomi and her friend Margaret. They meet Zeke Lapp, and even though Naomi is interested she decides to set him up with Margaret? You will wonder who will end up whom?? Or any for that matter!
The last is "A Perfect Plan" by Beth Wiseman, Priscilla King and Chester Lapp are getting married, and it seems that everything is happening to make them change their plans.
What you will find in all of these stories and a Wonderful faith in God, and learning to live their faith in believing and forgiveness!
Don't miss this one!
I was provided with a copy of this book by the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Weddings Abound!

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Wedding is a compilation of three novellas by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, and Kelly Long.
In A Perfect Secret, Kelly Long introduces Rose and Luke -- a young couple who have known each other all their lives and have been expected by everyone around them to be married some day. Rose begins to have doubts, though, as she realizes how predictable her relationship with Luke is and how much she wishes for excitement. When she encounters the thief who is plaguing her community, she finds her desire for adventure growing stronger and has even more questions about her future with Luke. While Rose looks for answers to her questions, her friend Priscilla runs into problems as she prepares for her own marriage to Chester Lapp.
Kathleen Fuller picks up the story of Priscilla's sister Naomi in A Perfect Match. When Chester's cousin Zeke comes to town for Priscilla's and Chester's wedding, Naomi puts her matchmaking skills to work with her friend Margaret. Things don't go as planned, though, and Naomi is surprised to find herself in the middle of a match-up. Still hurting from being abandoned by her first love, Naomi doesn't believe she is ready to trust again.
Beth Wiseman pulls the pieces together in A Perfect Plan. As the time approaches for Priscilla's and Chester's wedding, problems continue to grow and threaten to overshadow the love they have for each other. From an unexpected source, they are reminded of the meaning of true love and of God's plan for their lives.
Three stories, three authors -- one saga of intertwined lives. Kelly, Kathleen, and Beth all have their distinctive styles of writing but weave them together in a way that makes for a very enjoyable account of life, love, and faith. Fans of good Amish fiction should definitely enjoy this trio of stories from some of the best!
This book was provided free from Book Sneeze for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Triology

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose Bender is no ordinary Amish girl. She dreams of adventure and excitement in her life. She is happy to be engaged to her best friend Luke Lantz, but feels like something lacks. Luke and Rose have been best friends for many years that she already knows him so well. Her acceptance to his proposal would please both families. The two rich lands run parallel from each other, and she would bring a woman's touch to Luke's motherless home. Rose's young heart wishes that her fiancé was more romantic and mysterious instead of placid, faithful, and secure. As if Luke heard what her heart desired, he starts acting different. Rose is concerned and enjoying the "new" Luke. What is Lukes' secret? Will Rose find out? Will his secret tear them apart? What could be perfect about this secret?
Naomi had not thought about marriage for awhile, but with the sudden wedding fever, she longs for someone special. She is content with her thriving baking business and is happy for her little sister, Priscilla's, upcoming wedding. What more could she ask for, but her heart still yearns for her own love story. Chester, Priscilla's fiancé, invites his cousin to the wedding. As soon as Naomi and Zeke meet, they form a strong and unlikely bond. Will there be another wedding for the Amish community? Or will an obstacle from Naomi's' past detain their perfect match?
Priscilla is always neat and in control of everything. She is ecstatic about her upcoming wedding to her sweetheart, Chester. She has planned her wedding ever since she was sixteen, and after three years she is ready for her perfect wedding. Much to her dismay things are not going as she planned. Problems seem to arise rapidly; an attendant with poison ivy, problems with the new house, a failed celery crop, and a torn wedding dress. What ever happened to her perfect wedding? As more problems arise, the couple wonder if the problems are a sign from God to cancel the wedding. Will Priscilla learn to leave everything, even the small details, up to the Lord so he can bring about His perfect plan?
The Amish Wedding trilogy was a wonderful collaboration of three amazing writers in one. I enjoyed the fact that all three stories shared the same characters. The book felt as if it was written by one author not three. The first story Perfect Secret by Kelly Long was my favorite story out of the three. It was very suspenseful and intriguing. I thought the romance was a little too graphic. The characters and plot were very well described that you could easily picture the characters. This story threw more than one curveball at me.
The second story Perfect Match by Kathleen Fuller was my least favorite of the three. It was very interesting, but compared to the first it lacked a certain spark. I thought the romance was kind of predictable. I liked the fact that Zeke actually prayed and waited for God to bring him the perfect wife. I thought that was sweet.
The last book Perfect Plan by Beth Wiseman was my second favorite. I thought this was the most humorous and biblically based book. I laughed so much with each new calamity befalling the couple. This story taught the best message: Never allow something to rob you of your peace. Overall the three stories were very good. I recommend it to all readers!
I received this book for free from Book Sneeze in exchange for my honest opinion.
You may purchase this book at CBD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Wedding Novella by Beth lWiseman, Kelly L

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was provided to me by Book Sneeze in exchange for a review.
Book Description
A Perfect Plan by Beth Wiseman
Priscilla King has been planning to marry Chester Lapp since she was sixteen years old, and when Chester proposes on Priscilla's nineteenth birthday, wedding plans begin immediately. What wasn't planned was all the problems the couple encounters as their big day approaches. A house disaster, a ruined wedding dress, and a sick attendant all make the couple wonder if God's sending them signs to call things off.
The Perfect Match by Kathleen Fuller
Naomi Fisher has had great success at matchmaking her family members and friends. Now with her sister's wedding right around the corner, Naomi wonders why she's able to find husbands for her friends and family, but not one for herself.
The Perfect Secret by Kelly Long
Rose Bender has recently become engaged to handsome but somber Luke Raber. She agrees out of a sense of duty and a willingness to settle for solid friendship as a basis for the engagement. But as she watches her friends' excitement over her soon-to-be- wedding, Rose wonders if there shouldn't be more to her relationship with Luke. She begins to examine Luke and his life more closely and is amazed when she stumbles upon a secret side of him that engages her mind and her heart.
My Review
This book is A Novella of 3 different stories about Amish women and come across Love when they least suspect it. I loved this book how the stories all relate to one another, it’s like a HUGE story and you don’t even know that you are reading 3 different stories. I loved it, I had a hard time putting it down, I would definitely say that everyone needs to read this book.
I love Beth Wiseman, Kelly Long and Kathleen Fuller, you 3 are the best authors dealing with Amish that I have read in a long time. I think my favorite character has to be Naomi King in “A Perfect Match” by Kathleen Fuller. She thinks she is a matchmaker, but oh my goodness, the tables turn in her direction.
A GREAT book, and I would suggest this book to my family and friends. Thank you again, Beth, Kelly and Kathleen for giving us readers something to read that is so refreshing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Stories!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Wedding is comprised of three novellas written by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, and Kelly Long about the busy Amish wedding season. I've read two other collections like this one written by these talented authors, so I knew I was in for some good reading!! You might think that with three separate stories the characters couldn't be very developed, but that's what is great about this book-each of the individual stories are intertwined.
In A Perfect Secret by Kelly Long, Rose is preparing for her upcoming wedding to Luke, her best friend since childhood. She has some doubts and longs for mystery and excitement. Mystery finds her, and it threatens her engagement.
In A Perfect Match by Kathleen Fuller, Naomi is an independent single Amish woman helping her sister Priscilla prepare for her wedding. Having had her heart broken a few years back, she is not looking for love herself. She has to learn to accept God's will in her life and open her heart to love again.
In A Perfect Plan by Beth Wiseman, Priscilla (Naomi's sister and Rose's close friend) is in the final weeks before her wedding. Things are going wrong every time she turns around, and she and her fiance Chester question if they should be getting married.
I love Amish fiction, and An Amish Wedding lived up to my expectations. It is an easy read, hard to put down, and interesting to see how each of the authors intertwines the characters. There is a glossary at the front of the book to help you with some of the Amish dialect, and the back of the book has a Reading Group Guide and some yummy-sounding Amish recipes that were mentioned in the stories.
Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange from Booksneeze for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book, good job by the authors

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
court
Location:dallas, tx
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got amish wedding from booksneeze i loved the book, it was interesting to see how three authors wrote 3 books about the same time but using a different main charter it was fun to read what the others were going through while knowing what happened with the other girls and there beau. i love this book could barley put it down i got it as a e-book on my kindle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book and could hardly put it down. It amazes me how three authors can write stories that go together, does one write first, then the second, then the last one or do they get together and plot the characters and certain 'events' that take place? These stories are about three friends and take place during the same time span.
"A Perfect Secret" is a story about Rose and Luke, lifelong friends and neighbors who are engaged. This is very intriguing since they have both joined the church and Rose thinks she knows Luke better than anyone until she goes for a walk in the woods and sees an Englischer in the dark. At first she's frightened, but when she hears him talk she knows it's Luke, but why is he dressed like an Englischer and why did he steal her blueberry pies she had sitting on the porch railing to cool, she knows he stole them because he has blueberry stains on his shirt. Is he the Robin in the Hood that has been stealing from everyone and what is he up to? Luke knows Rose when he sees her but doesn't realize that she recognizes him. When he kisses her, Rose wishes Luke would kiss her that way. Will they make it to the alter or will this 'strangeness' come between them.
"A Perfect Match" is the story of Naomi, older than most single Amish women, they are both afraid of love. Naomi tries to play matchmaker for her friend Margaret, as she did for her sister Priscilla. This matchmaking effort doesn't work as well as it did for Priscilla and her now fiance Chester. Margaret gets all tongue tied and klutzy around men, so when Naomi plans a dinner for Margaret and Zeke, Zeke thinks he's invited to have dinner with Naomi so is really disappointed but tries to make the best of the situation. Margaret gets so flustered that she runs out on the dinner without telling Zeke good by. Does Margaret learn to feel comfortable around Zeke, does Zeke fall in love with Margaret and what about Naomi, what happens to the matchmaker?
"A Perfect Plan" ties it all together as it tells about everything that can go wrong and does go wrong while one couple is planning their wedding and their future together. Priscilla and Chester begin to second guess themselves about getting married because nothing is going along with the 'perfect plan' that Priscilla has. Chester has to deal with several mishaps to do with the house he's building for them, his brother breaks his wrist while working on the roof, Chester gets accused of stealing $200 from work, and loses his job. Priscilla starts getting hiccups frequently and soon connects them as a hint that something 'bad' is going to happen, all of Chester's troubles plus some of her own. Her little sister cuts up her wedding dress that she's just about finished stitching, she needed clothes, a hammock and blanket for her doll. Rose, one of her attendants is making beet jelly and forgets to use gloves so she has purple hands, she also comes in contact with poison ivy and she's highly allergic to it so she can't stop scratching. The biggest thing is that Chester can't find the marriage license two days before their wedding and is afraid to tell Priscella. Priscilla knows something is wrong but he refuses to tell her what so they start looking at everything that has happened and wonder, are they really supposed to get married. Lot's of things can happen in two days, guess you'll have to read it to find out if they make up, if they find the marriage license and if they get married.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Wedding is a charming book consisting of three novellas. It includes A Perfect Secret, by Kelly Long, A Perfect Match, by Kathleen Fuller, and A Perfect Plan, by Beth Wiseman. They are stories of Amish couples and the struggles they endure.
In the first story, Rose and Luke have been best friends since childhood. Rose accepts his rather matter of fact proposal, knowing that it will be beneficial to both families and feeling satisfied her extensive knowledge of Luke. She eventually realizes that she does not know him as well as she thought and the journey to remedy that is not an easy one.
In the second story, Naomi and Zeke meet when he comes to town to help his cousin. He feels an immediate attraction, but she tries to pair him off with a friend of hers instead. When the friend turns the situation around and brings Zeke and Naomi together, they discover a lasting love.
The last story tells of Priscilla and Chester. Their wedding has been planned, but everything that can go wrong does, causing them to wonder if they should go through with it. They doubt whether it can be God’s will with all of the setbacks. In the end, they find that God is guiding them through all of it.
This was a wonderful book. I enjoyed having the entire story to read in one sitting. I recommend it to all who enjoy Amish fiction.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Wedding Review

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
marybeth
Location:ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love books about the Amish, so when it became available through BookSneeze.com I grabbed it up. This is a very good book. I loved all three of the stories. Although they were separate stories , they were one. They were linked together perfectly. I love Beth Wiseman and have many of her books. This was no disappointment. She has wonderful writing style and as always I could not put the book down. It is a great read for anyone who is a fan of hers or of the Amish. I give it 5 Stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for An Amish Wedding
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I am a big fan of the Amish books. After visiting the Amish settlement in Berlin, Ohio it has made the books so much more real. It is so interesting to read about the rituals and their way of living.
This is another great Amish book and I love that there are three stories in one. It is great to hear about their wedding routines and rituals that they have to follow living in an Amish settlement. It is not something I could do but definitely admire those that do.
This is a great book that I would suggest to anyone that likes reading romance novels and Amish stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>