Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Chase DVD-Based Study Kit

Thomas Nelson Chase DVD-Based Study Kit

David was reckless, sinful, passionate, and humble. What can women learn from his broken life? Jennie Allen's interactive study highlights seven events in David's life to help you move beyond the appearance of godliness and open up your deepest self to God's love. Includes eight teaching videos, a 7-week study guide, leader's guide, and conversation cards.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Chase DVD-Based Study Kit
Review 1 for Chase DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the content

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Cananda
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Happy with the content of the book, well explained in how to run the study. Also loved the ASK questions provided. She has a great way of hitting home with powerful points. Would recommend this study to all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chase DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extraordinary!

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rachel Schick
Love, love, love this study. I led this study after leading another study be Jennie Allen called Stuck. I highly recommend both studies! This study is so well done in every way. The study guide (homework) is brilliant. It is deep and enriching without being laborious. The videos are superb in that they are brief yet rich in content. The discussion cards are a great accessory to the study. We rarely got to them as our conversations were quickly inspired by the study guide and video. The cards are wonderful conversation starters if you need them. I was so pleased with how easy it was to lead this study as the resources were so well done. I feel that, as a leader, a well executed study frees me up to go along on the adventure with my ladies, and I LOVE that! This study is deep, convicting, inspiring, Biblically sound, and totally doable, even for a busy lady!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chase DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Who are you running to..or from?

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
kelli b
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our bible study group has begun Chase by Jennie Allen. Some of the group realizes they are still running away while God is chasing them. While others have been overturned in their Spirit so desperately reaching/running to God, and we are only in our 2nd week of study! Our favorite part is the discussion cards and writing the letters to God. It is here when we share our souls that God meets us with an encompassing love that we feel so deep it washes all of our troubles away. He lets us chose whether we Chase Him or He Chases us with sweet pursuing love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chase DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great check for what you are chasing.

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle C
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I love about this product is it reaches out to different learners. Through the Study Guide participants can read/experience the material personally in the stories. In the See Videos, participants are gathered to a "starting" place for conversations to begin or continue. In the Ask Conversation Cards, they help prompt each person to share their experiences/opinions/beliefs. And the Leader's guide prepares the leader and helps each session move along easily even for the in-experienced small group leader.
The study asks you, "What are you chasing?" So often, we find ourselves caught up in the midst of EVERYTHING that is in our lives. Career, family, relationships, material possessions, meeting the expectations of others. Chase helped bring me back to the place I needed to be. Being more like David and chasing after God's heart.
So would I recommend Chase? Absolutely recommend this study. The workbook provides many thought provoking questions. That will help lead you to where you ought to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chase DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fresh way to encourage group discussion

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been leading women's small groups in some form or another off and on for about 15 years and Jennie Allen's new study, Chase, is definitely something unique. In order to really appreciate the beauty of what she's done here, you need to be willing to try something new in women's Bible study.
Radical idea---I know! And it's not that there was something particularly "broken" about other chasestudies for women. Beth Moore, Kay Arthur, Kelly Minter, Jennifer Rothschild, Priscilla Shirer, Lysa TerKeurst, etc. all have studies that I've loved and that have been life-changing opportunities for spiritual growth in me.
The unique difference between those studies and Chase was that I could do many of the other women's Bible studies (and have often enough) on my own sitting at my kitchen table with a cup of tea, a journal, and a Bible. Chase, though, is an entirely interactive study.
Some women will probably glance through the workbook and decide it just doesn't go as deep as other workbook-style studies. Her questions are very open-ended and rely more on personal reflection, which might be hard for those of who are more accustomed to the concrete format of fill-in-the-blank.
At the same time, I've found so many women who want to grow closer to God, but are easily overwhelmed by lengthy homework assignments. They are busy or just don't like reading and writing or maybe are already doing studies in other groups throughout the week. Because so much of the material in Chase is covered right there in the group time, it is accessible to a larger circle of women.
Many more traditional DVD-based women's Bible studies are also quite a costly investment for women's groups, especially in small churches. This study, though, is wonderfully affordable for even the smallest of gatherings.
The study itself is a 7-week focus on the life of David and how even when he got things terribly wrong, he always turned around and chased after God. In a world where we're tempted by busyness and culture, media, and even the church at times to chase a million things, maybe even a million "good" things, we need to stop and ask---am I really chasing after God and God alone? Have I gotten off track? Have I been distracted? These are the questions the study urges us to consider.
The depth of Chase, though, is in the group discussion. It truly has a fabulously new and fresh way of engaging women and getting them to share with others. Inside the kit is a leader guide, a member workbook, a DVD with 10-minute long teaching sessions to open each week, and then a box of question cards. Each week has its own assigned cards and group members simply pick them up and answer them, doing as many as time allows and interacting freely and without restraint. Questions on the cards range from personal reflection or application (In what ways have you been chasing God in your life?) to Scripture-based with verses and an opportunity to apply them to the discussion.
Even the brevity of the DVD sessions ensures that the time you spend in group together is mostly spent talking with another, rather than listening to a teaching for the bulk of the time and just spending a quick ten minutes wrapping up. The emphasis here always seems to be on maximizing the time you spend learning from and sharing with others.
Jennie comes across as relaxed and vulnerable, honest, real, transparent, and gently funny. In the videos, she talks to the camera rather than being filmed teaching a group of women, which feels particularly intimate---like grabbing a mug of coffee (which you see her do) or a cup of tea and chatting about God and Scripture and passion.
If you're looking for just an individual study to pick up and enjoy at your own kitchen table, this really isn't the format that's best for you. But if you can gather with a group of women, even if it's just three of you, Chase would be a great way of deepening your relationships with one another while encouraging the passionate pursuit of God above all else.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chase DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What are you chasing?

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eunice
Location:Iona Station, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chase is a Bible study driven by short video sessions, but the true value is in the workbook. Jennie Allen asks us to look at what drives us, what motivates us, and see where that differs from what God intends for us. Based on the life of David, it leads us to begin to chase after God as David did, developing our own “heart after God’s own heart”. We are encouraged to face our fears, to resolve our doubts; to look at the beliefs we are holding of who God is, and what He expects of us, in light of what He tells us in His Word.
The kit includes question cards which may be used to stimulate discussion, along with a leader guide for a group presentation. Some of the questions are very personal; the author is careful to emphasize the need for confidentiality among members of the group, as well as the need to refrain from group therapy.
I found chase to be a good tool for evaluating my own heart, seeing what is hindering my own head-long pursuit of God, so I can take steps to remove those things. In my opinion, this study would be most useful for an individual, or for a small group where there is already a degree of trust between the participants.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chase DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible Study!

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pursue and Recover
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Review
Chase
Chasing after the heart of God by Jennie Allen
This is a women’s bible study that utilizes DVD’s, Cards and Workbooks. Jennie Allen’s passion is to communicate a bigger God through writing and teaching. By creating raw relational conversations about struggles and hopes, her Bible studies aim to lead women to consider truth and how it applies to their lives.
She ask the question; “What are you chasing?” She says we are all chasing after something; something that we think will make us happy-comfort, success, a bigger hose or someone’s approval. But if we are all honest, it feels like trying to catch the wind.
A man after God’s own heart…David. David is the center piece of the study. David’s life is examined through colorful DVD’s that are thought provoking within themselves. Each session is broken down into four parts:
Study- a study guide is included: that uses projects, stories and Bible study to engage the mind and heart of the participants. An introduction session and Seven weeks of study is provided.
See- A short video with enlightening content is provided to start to provoke one to meet God and for transparency during conversations. The videos last from 8-12 minutes. No time to get bored!
Ask- Conversation Cards are provided to offer questions for spontaneous and authentic discussion time. Participants are able to choose questions that appeal to them.
Lead- There is a guide for the leader that prepares you to lead the study while providing encouragement.
This is a wonderful opportunity for individuals to search their hearts and grow deeper in their love for God. The study is designed for small groups but may be used in larger groups.
David is a great Biblical personality to study as it is portrayed in this study, he made mistakes but he still trusted God no matter what and he always returned back to God. This is a great tool to have; I look forward to using it in a small group session with friends. I found it refreshing in approach and content. I would recommend it to others. Kits may be purchased from christianbooks.com.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chase DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chase: Chasing After The Heart Of God, is a DVD based-study, written by Jennie Allen, that serves to strengthen the bond between God and His children by exploring the events that defined the life of David and the Psalms that flowed out of these experiences.
Jennie Allen’s teaching is refreshingly powerful. Her teaching within each of the video segments demonstrates her love for God and her desire to help His children progress within their Christian walk. Her knowledge of and love for the Word of God could not be more evident, as she easily translates and relates it to those watching.
Along with the eight video segments within this DVD study kit, there are other tools that greatly solidify the lessons and deepen the understanding of the participant’s relationship with God. The study guide is set up in a manner that will engage the heart and mind of the participant through projects, stories, and the study of the Bible, while conversation cards allow a time of spontaneous discussion to be formulated. To top off this magnificent study kit, there is a leader’s guide that allows for all the necessary preparation that will be needed.
This DVD study kit would make a wonderful addition to any personal library, but its ability to present the Word of God makes it an essential within any church. Thus, it is highly recommended.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chase DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this study!!

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Location:Austin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm tired of chasing things that don't satisfy. We all want tangible, quick fixes for our pain and struggles. We know that only God truly can fill the void yet we still pursue things of this earth. In this study, you will wrestle through those tendencies and study a man who chased after many things other than God. Yet his humility and faith made him someone who God called "a man after God's heart". Through Chase, Jennie will help you get to know this man, David, and will lead you to the only One who will satisfy your deepest longings. Jennie is an honest, vulnerable and bold teacher of the Word. You will be blessed! Grab some women and do this study!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chase DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

life changer take 2

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laura
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After experiencing life change through Jennie Allen's study STUCK, I knew CHASE would not disappoint. Through the study of scripture and the life of David and the thought compelling questions, God led me again to new thinking. Ways that I'd been so used to living in, thoughts I'd been so accustomed to believing, were blown away by watching David wrestle and TRUST. The way David knew his God and threw his life at His feet was fascinating. After studying, I would find myself in awe again of God and His amazing provisions, His amazing ways, and His amazing trustworthiness. I wanted to trust anew. The difference between me and David? David cashed in. He never let his fear have a voice vs. me and other believers who are so consumed with, whatever consumes us, that we are left mute, immobile, paralyzed and disabled-unable to experience the joy of abandon. In the end abandon to a trustworthy God found true joy! Totally worth your time and investment! Another life changer for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.